Menu
Notes & Works

Notes & Works

Zainul Abedin (1914–1976)

The Bengali painter Zainul Abedin, who began his career as an art teacher in undivided India, was jolted out of his privileged existence by the Bengal Famine of 1943–44. At the birth of Pakistan in 1947…

 More
Notes

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is proposed by documenta 14 curator Pierre Bal-Blanc in collaboration with the Greek choreographer Kostas Tsioukas, and performers and dancers Myrto Kontoni and…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: Tshiamo Naledi Letlhogonolo Pinky Mayeng (1993–2017)

hey friend,

we never met someone whose sense of time and space moved so mysterious

so independent of the chaos of this planet…

 More
Notes

Iver Jåks (1932–2007)

When Iver Jåks first saw the light of day on a mountain near the village of Karasjok in Northern Norway in 1932, the Sámi did not have a word for “art.” Life, art, and craft were the same; the word…

 More
Notes

Dimitris Pikionis (1887–1968)

When I first visited the Acropolis in 1959 I found myself walking virtually by accident on the adjacent landscape of Philopappou Hill and there I felt, with surprise, the almost literal movement of the…

 More
Notes

UNESCO declares al-Khalil/Hebron a World Heritage Site

My photographic work Occupation—currently on view at EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art as part of documenta 14—traces the destruction of Palestinian livelihood in the city of al-Khalil/Hebron…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: Lala Rukh (1948–2017)

by Natasha Ginwala

During a visit to Lahore in September 2015, we converged in Lala’s home; the door to her backyard garden lay open and a light breeze drifted in. I soon learned that this garden had been transformed into…

 More
Notes

Christopher D’Arcangelo (1955–1979)

In 1974, at the age of nineteen, Christopher D’Arcangelo embarked on a series of paintings using rudimentary stenciled letters painted on a monochrome ground. Inspiration for the series came, at least…

 More
Notes

ANTIDORON. The EMST Collection at Museum Fridericianum

ANTIDORON. The EMST Collection at Museum Fridericianum, part of documenta 14, marks the first extensive presentation of the collection of the EMST–National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens…

 More
Notes

Abdurrahim Buza (1905–1986)

Abdurrahim Buza is one of the most respected Albanian painters whose career spanned the years before and after WWII. Buza was born in 1905 in Skopje (today Macedonia) in a family originally from Gjakova…

 More
Notes

Sound and Music, June 19–23
Jakob Ullmann / Alvin Lucier / Charles Curtis

During the week of June 19-23, 2017 documenta 14's sound and music program offers various concerts that provide a focus on and contextualization of the work of German composer Jakob Ullmann and American…

 More
Notes

Hallucinations / Live / Cinema / Festival

June 22–24, 2017
Greek Film Archive (Tainiothiki), Athens…

 More
Notes

TV Politics

A documenta 14 film program with Alberto Grifi, Isuma Productions, Sarah Maldoror, Alanis Obomsawin, Nagisa Oshima, Mohamed Soueid
June 22–September 15, Grosses BALi
8:30 pm, unless noted otherwise…

 More
Notes

Wang Bing: Retrospective

A documenta 14 film program and exhibition
June 7–September 17, Gloria-Kino, daily

documenta 14 presents a full retrospective of Wang Bing’s films with an accompanying exhibition of archival materials…

 More
Notes

David Perlov: Retrospective

A documenta 14 film program and exhibition
June 7–September 17, Grosses BALi, daily

When Israeli filmmaker David Perlov died, he left behind dozens of Hefte (Notebooks), filled with epigrams, texts for…

 More
Notes

André Pierre (1915–2005)

Take Grand Bois (1975), with its overlap of fluid, gesticulating branches of the tree/God; or Imamou (1970s), the stature and mysterious prominence of the rooster looking on/in at the ceremony for Agoue…

 More
Notes

Drawing a Line through Landscape: The Tent

by Nikhil Chopra

When seen from a distance, there is a constant glow within the tent as if it has a warm light switched on. In the day, the drawing is backlit and at night, when the oil lamps burn inside, it lights up…

 More
Notes

Keeper of the Art That Kept Him: David Schutter in Conversation with Dieter Roelstraete

Dieter Roelstraete: The story of the Gurlitt Estate has been an ongoing curatorial concern of documenta 14’s. For some time now you have sailed on an independent course of artistic research into the…

 More
Notes

Departing for Drawing a Line through Landscape

by Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra departing for part 2 of Drawing a Line Through Landscape, Athens, May 13, 2017, photo: Angelos Giotopoulous…

 More
Notes

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, born in 1949, was a Massachusetts-based filmmaker who used her Super-8 camera and acute self-awareness to forge a radically intimate mode of first-person cinema. Although she…

 More
Notes

Studio 14: Greece: a (non-) European Country
by Yannis Almpanis

During a recent Eurogroup meeting, some European finance ministers allegedly told Euclid Tsakalotos that, while he may be right in protesting against the terms imposed by the IMF, he will ultimately have…

 More
Notes

The Day of Judgment

by Abounaddara

Abounaddara has agreed to share this film with documenta 14; it is one of over 300 films produced on a weekly basis by an anonymous collective of Syrian filmmakers. By sharing these films on our website…

 More
Works

David Perlov (1930–2003)

When Israeli filmmaker David Perlov died, he left behind dozens of Hefte (notebooks), filled with epigrams, texts for films, biographical notes, images interwoven with texts, and texts with images. Yet…

 More
Notes

Maria Lai (1919–2013)

While living with her aunt and uncle near Cardedu in the Sardinian countryside due to poor health, as a child Maria Lai traced bold sketches on the walls of their kitchen with charcoal from the fireplace…

 More
Notes

Listening Space

Listening Space is a program of events that attempts to explore and understand sound outside established hierarchies of music production and performance. In the project’s diverse concerts, lectures…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: Beau Dick (1955–2017)

by Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick was given the name “Walis Gwy Um,” which means “big, great whale” in the Kwak’wala language. His carvings tap into the supernatural, as though everything he made is invested with spirit…

 More
Notes

Studio 14

Studio 14 is a research and a workplace driven by a multiplicity of different subjects; capable of giving rise to certain configurations; a process involving the fields of art, education, and politics; and oriented towards the forms of knowledge that circulate and are produced in those fields…

 More
Notes

Dignity has never been photographed

by Abounaddara

Dignity isn’t well regarded at the moment. It’s seen as a normative concept, difficult to gauge and even more difficult to reconcile with artistic practices that tend to strive for emancipation from norms. It’s also a political argument that has been made by reactionaries and enemies of artistic freedom. Finally, it is an ideal that goes against the tide of nihilism in this atmosphere of triumphant post-truth…

 More
Notes

Meanwhile, Aboubakar Fofana contributes a text-ile to The documenta 14 Reader

by Monika Szewczyk

It took artist Aboubakar Fofana one day to set up a fructose-based indigo vat at the Mentis Center for the preservation of traditional textile techniques at 6 Polyfimou Street in Athens. It was December…

 More
Notes

The Transit of Hermes

by Ross Birrell

The Athens-Kassel Ride—a mobile, participatory, human-equine ensemble performed over 100 days—is a 3000 km equestrian long ride across Europe linking the two cities of documenta 14…

 More
Notes

Listening to Matanzas

by Neil Leonard and Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons

The former plantation of Álava in the Matanzas province of Cuba evokes sound before one hears it. In January 2017, we went there to record local musicians and were told to meet them near the bell tower…

 More
Notes

Something is Rotten

by Abounaddara

Something is rotten in the state of the media. Rotten to the point that today a man accused of war crimes can summon mainstream media to announce that reality has debunked their narrative, delighting in…

 More
Notes

John Berger: Between Permanent Red and the Black Box of the Universe

by Nikos Papastergiadis

Artist, art critic, novelist, and poet John Berger (1926–2017) died on January 2 at the age of 90. documenta 14 remembers his insights and influence…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016)

by Alvin Lucier

I first met Pauline Oliveros in 1965 in Cleveland, Ohio. Pianist David Tudor had been asked to perform a concert at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland and invited Pauline and I to join him. I…

 More
Notes
by Artur Żmijewski

The makeshift refugee camp in Calais, in the vicinity of the French port and hulking concrete bunkers, was known as the Jungle. According to different estimates, it gave shelter to nine or ten thousand…

 More
Notes

Elegy for Annie Pootoogook (1969–2016)

by Candice Hopkins

Annie Pootoogook was from the Arctic near the North Pole. Her community is called Kinngait in Inuktitut—the language of Inuit people—and Cape Dorset in English. Annie passed away a few days ago. Police…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: Ben Patterson (1934–2016)

by Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

This script is not a eulogy. Actually you can't write a eulogy about someone you loved dearly, but didn't really know. This script is for, on, of, about, and with Ben Patterson and the vacuum he leaves…

 More
Notes

In Memoriam: K. G. Subramanyan (1924–2016)

by Natasha Ginwala

As the days pass by
And you gain in years

The past does not keep you captive.
—K. G. Subramanyan, from “A Near Vision” (Poems: Rhymes of Recall, Seagull Books, 2014)

A visionary artist and pedagogue…

 More
Notes

We Are Dying—Take Care of the Right to the Image

by Abounaddara

In the spring of 2011, Syrians rose up against a dictatorship inherited from another era. Schoolchildren wrote “The emperor wears no clothes!” on the walls. Young people streamed into the streets and…

 More
Notes

A Confession of Love

by Artur Żmijewski

On 25 October 2015, Polish parliamentary elections were won decisively by the Law and Justice (PiS) party. A few months earlier, in May of last year, the party’s candidate Andrzej Duda won the presidential…

 More
Notes

The Syrian who wanted the Revolution

by Abounaddara

The Syrian who wanted the revolution is not in opposition. S/he does not belong to the system of opposition, the product of a power struggle in Assad’s Syria. S/he did not go out onto the streets to…

 More
Notes

Honeymoon in Chaospolis & (Not very) proper names

by Mustapha Benfodil

To Paris!
To all the victims
of liberticidal barbarity…

Honeymoon in Chaospolis

We met each other in Tunis
We loved each other in Gaza
We missed each other in Beirut
We kissed in Paris
We got married in Algiers
We…

 More
Notes
“The thirtysomething and fortysomething generations in the Arab world (to which I belong) are the children of a generation that once believed they could change the world and reverse the order of their societies. They fought to realize their dream and were defeated. We, their offspring, have come into adulthood and consciousness of the world as their dreams and defeats have resulted in sinister schemes of despotism. All they had left to give us to face the world and guard us against the torment of its ruthlessness was their sorrow. Thus has sorrow become our skin: the skin of our cities, the skin of our voices, the skin that warms, and with which we love.”
—Rasha Salti
Notes

2 Minutes for Syria

by Abounaddara

Since the spring of 2011, the beginning of a popular revolution in Syria, the Abounaddara Collective has released a short film on the Internet each Friday. This day, devoted to leisure and prayer in the…

 More
Works

An Ideal, or We Will All Die

by Abounaddara

A hideous crime was carried out in the name of God on the 13th of November in Paris. The presumed killers are French or Belgian citizens who do not identify with their national communities or with common…

 More
Notes

A letter from the documenta 14 team, following the attacks in Beirut on November 12 and Paris on November 13, 2015

We arrived in Beirut last Thursday morning, November 12. On that day, two blasts hit the southern suburb of the city, leaving 43 people dead and 239 wounded. On Friday, November 13, a series of coordinated…

 More
Notes
„Als Ludwig I. von Bayern in seiner philhellenischen Begeisterung seinen Sohn Otto samt der bayrischen Bürokratie auf den Thron des neuen, befreiten Griechenland setzte, schiffte sich sein Minister Rudhard, ein Sohn Passaus, von seiner Heimatstadt aus direkt nach Athen ein; er trank während der Reise aus einem eigens mitgeführten Bierfaß und sang dabei bajuwarische Lieder, in denen ein Hans Jörgl hinter seiner Liesl herläuft. Die in Griechenland eingesetzte Bavarokratie sorgte in Athen sogleich für die Eröffnung einer großen Brauerei sowie von Lokalen, die — wie von Wastlhuber, der geheime Ministerial-Kanzlei-Konzipist, sagte — ,Athen in eine Vorstadt Münchens’ verwandelten.“
—Claudio Magris
Notes
“There are two ways of seeing the ways of seeing the world. One is one way and the other is another. And nobody knows: ‘Is there, anywhere, one way of seeing the two?’”
—Stefan Themerson
Notes

Menu
Notizen & Arbeiten

Notizen & Arbeiten

Abdurrahim Buza (1905–1986)

Abdurrahim Buza war einer der angesehensten Maler Albaniens, dessen Karriere sich von der Zeit vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg bis zwei Jahrzehnte danach erstreckte. Buza wurde 1905 in Skopje (heute Mazedonien)…

 Mehr
Notizen

Klang und Musik, 19.-23. Juni
Jakob Ullmann / Alvin Lucier / Charles Curtis

Während der Woche vom 19. bis zum 23. Juni 2017 bietet das Sound- und Musikprogramm der documenta 14 eine Reihe von Konzerten, deren Schwerpunkt auf dem Werk und der Kontextualisierung des deutschen Komponisten…

 Mehr
Notizen

Hallucinations / Live / Cinema / Festival

22.–24. Juni 2017
Griechisches Filmarchiv (Tainiothiki), Athen…

 Mehr
Notizen

David Perlov: Retrospektive

Ein Filmprogramm und eine Ausstellung der documenta 14 in den BALi-Kinos
7. Juni – 17. September, täglich

Bei seinem Tod hinterließ der israelische Filmemacher David Perlov Dutzende von Heften, die…

 Mehr
Notizen

Wang Bing: Retrospektive

Ein Filmprogramm und eine Ausstellung der documenta 14 im Gloria-Kino
7. Juni – 17. September, täglich

Die documenta 14 präsentiert eine vollständige Retrospektive der Filme von Wang Bing sowie eine…

 Mehr
Notizen

TV Politics

Ein Filmprogramm der documenta 14 mit Alberto Grifi, Isuma Productions, Sarah Maldoror, Alanis Obomsawin, Nagisa Oshima und Mohamed Soueid in den BALi-Kinos
22. Juni – 15. September

Mit dem Entstehen…

 Mehr
Notizen

André Pierre (1915–2005)

Man betrachte Grand Bois (1975) mit seinen Überlagerungen von bewegt gestikulierenden Zweigen des Baumes/Gottes; oder die Haltung und das mysteriöse In-den-Vordergrund-Treten des Hahnes in Imamou (1970er…

 Mehr
Notizen

Drawing a Line Through Landscape: Das Zelt

von Nikhil Chopra

Aus der Ferne sieht man ein ständiges Leuchten im Zelt, als ob ein warmes Licht eingeschaltet worden wäre. Am Tage ist die Zeichnung von hinten beleuchtet, in der Nacht, wenn im Innern die Öllampe brennt…

 Mehr
Notizen

Aufseher der Kunst, die ihn gefangen hielt: David Schutter im Gespräch mit Dieter Roelstraete

Dieter Roelstraete: Der documenta 14 war die Geschichte um die Sammlung Gurlitt ein beständiges kuratorisches Anliegen. Seit einiger Zeit nun hast du einen eigenständigen Kurs künstlerischer Forschung…

 Mehr
Notizen

Departing for Drawing a Line through Landscape

von Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra bricht auf zum zweiten Teil von Drawing a Line Through Landscape, Athen, 13. Mai 2017, Foto: Angelos Giotopoulous…

 Mehr
Notizen

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, die 1949 in Massachusetts geboren wurde, war eine Filmemacherin, die ihre Super-8-Kamera und ihre scharfe Selbstwahrnehmung einsetzte, um eine radikal intime Form des subjektiven…

 Mehr
Notizen

Studio 14: Griechenland, ein (nicht) europäisches Land
von Yannis Almpanis

Während eines Treffens der Eurogruppe sollen mehrere europäische Finanzminister ihrem griechischen Kollegen Euclid Tsakalotos angeblich erklärt haben, dass er mit seinen Einwänden gegen die Bedingungen…

 Mehr
Notizen

My Name is Bashar

von Abounaddara

Abounaddara hat sich bereit erklärt, diesen Film mit der documenta 14 zu teilen; er ist einer von 300 Filmen, die auf wöchentlicher Basis von einem anonymen Kollektiv syrischer Filmemacher_innen produziert…

 Mehr
Arbeiten

David Perlov (1930–2003)

Als der israelische Filmemacher David Perlov starb, hinterließ er Dutzende Hefte, deren Seiten mit Epigrammen, Texten für Filme, biografischen Notizen, Bildern zu Texten und Texten zwischen Bildern gefüllt…

 Mehr
Notizen

Maria Lai (1919–2013)

Als Maria Lai wegen ihres schlechten Gesundheitszustandes als Kind bei ihrer Tante und ihrem Onkel unweit von Cardedu in Sardinien auf dem Land lebte, malte sie mit Holzkohle aus dem Herd kräftige Zeichnungen…

 Mehr
Notizen

Listening Space

Das Programm des Listening Space zielt darauf, Klang außerhalb etablierter Hierarchien der Musikproduktion und -aufführung zu erkunden. Die in Konzerten, Vorträgen und Performances vorgestellten Formen…

 Mehr
Notizen

Studio 14

Studio 14 ist ein Recherche- und Arbeitsraum, der von einer Vielfalt verschiedener Akteur_innen bespielt wird. Diese Akteur_innen arbeiten an der Herstellung einer bestimmten Konfiguration, ein Prozess, der in den Feldern von Kunst, Erziehung und Politik arbeitet und Formen von Wissen in Anspruch nimmt, die dort produziert werden und zirkulieren…

 Mehr
Notizen

Zum Gedenken an Beau Dick (1955–2017)

von Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick erhielt den Namen „Walis Gwy Um“, was in der Sprache Kwank‘wala „großer, mächtiger Wal“ bedeutet. Seine Schnitzarbeiten schöpften aus dem Übernatürlichen, als sei alles, was er…

 Mehr
Notizen

Würde hat man noch nie fotografiert​

von Abounaddara

Die Würde genießt heute kein hohes Ansehen. Sie wird als normatives Konzept begriffen, schwierig einzuschätzen und noch schwieriger mit künstlerischen Praktiken in Übereinstimmung zu bringen, die sich von Normen und Regeln befreien wollen. Es handelt sich dabei auch um ein politisches Argument, das von reaktionären Gegner_innen künstlerischer Freiheit vorgebracht wurde. Und schließlich ist die Würde ein Ideal, das in einer Atmosphäre, in der das Postfaktische triumphiert, gegen den nihilistischen Strom geht…

 Mehr
Notizen

Unterdessen steuert Aboubakar Fofana eine Text-ilie zum documenta 14 Reader bei

von Monika Szewczyk

Einen Tag brauchte der Künstler Aboubakar Fofana, um am Mentis Zentrum für die Bewahrung traditioneller Textiltechniken in der Polyfimoustraße 6, Athen, seine fructosebasierte Indigo-Küpe aufzubauen…

 Mehr
Notizen

The Transit of Hermes (Die Durchreise des Hermes)

von Ross Birrell

The Athens-Kassel Ride – ein mobiles, partizipatorisches, menschlich-pferdeartiges, 100 Tage andauerndes Ensemble – ist ein 3000 km langer Wanderritt durch Europa, der die zwei Städte der documenta 14 miteinander verbindet…

 Mehr
Notizen

Matanzas zuhören

von Neil Leonard und Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons

Die frühere Álava-Plantage in der Provinz Matanzas auf Kuba beschwört ihren Klang, ehe man ihn tatsächlich hört. Im Januar 2017 besuchten wir die Plantage, um die dort aktiven Musiker_innen aufzunehmen, und man empfahl uns, sie beim Glockenturm zu finden…

 Mehr
Notizen

Etwas ist faul

von Abounaddara

Etwas ist faul im Staate der Medien. So faul, dass heutzutage ein Mann, den man der Kriegsverbrechen beschuldigt, die Mainstream-Medien in Anspruch nehmen kann um zu verlautbaren, dass die Wirklichkeit…

 Mehr
Notizen

John Berger: Between Permanent Red and the Black Box of the Universe

von Nikos Papastergiadis

Der Künstler, Kunstkritiker, Schriftsteller und Dichter John Berger (1926–2017) starb am 2. Januar im Alter von 90 Jahren. documenta 14 erinnert an seine Einsichten und seinen Einfluss…

 Mehr
Notizen

Zum Gedenken an Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016)

von Alvin Lucier

Ich habe Pauline Oliveros 1965 in Cleveland, Ohio kennengelernt. Der Pianist David Tudor sollte ein Konzert an der dortigen Case Western Reserve University geben und lud Pauline und mich zur Mitwirkung…

 Mehr
Notizen
von Artur Żmijewski

Das improvisierte Flüchtlingslager in Calais nahe dem Hafen und dem Strand mit den massiven Betonbunkern kannte man als den „Dschungel“. Gemäß Schätzungen soll es zwischen neun- und zehntausend…

 Mehr
Notizen

Elegie für Annie Pootoogook (1969–2016)

von Candice Hopkins

Annie Pootoogooks Heimat war die Arktis nahe dem Nordpol. Der Name ihrer Siedlung ist, auf Inuktitut, der Sprache der Inuit, Kinngait, auf Englisch Cape Dorset. Annie ist vor einigen Tagen verstorben…

 Mehr
Notizen

Zum Gedenken an Ben Patterson (1934–2016)

von Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Dieses Manuskript ist keine Trauerrede. Man kann gar keine Trauerrede über jemanden schreiben, den man sehr gemocht hat, aber kaum kannte. Dieses Manuskript ist für, handelt von, entstand mit Ben Patterson…

 Mehr
Notizen

Zum Gedenken an K. G. Subramanyan (1924–2016)

von Natasha Ginwala

Da die Tage vorüberziehen
Und du an Jahren gewinnst

Hält die Vergangenheit dich nicht gefangen
– K. G. Subramanyan, aus „A Near Vision“, in: Poems: Rhymes of Recall, Seagull Books 2014

Nach jahrzehntelangem…

 Mehr
Notizen

Wir sterben – Schützt das Recht am eigenen Bild!

von Abounaddara

Im Frühling 2011 erhoben die Syrer sich gegen eine überkommene Diktatur. Schüler_innen schrieben an die Mauern: Der Kaiser ist nackt. Mit dem Ruf nach Würde und Freiheit stürmten junge Leute die Straße…

 Mehr
Notizen

Eine Liebeserklärung

von Artur Żmijewski

Am 25. Oktober 2015 entschied die Partei Recht und Gerechtigkeit (PiS) die Parlamentswahlen in Polen klar für sich. Ein paar Monate früher bereits, im Mai letzten Jahres, hatte Andrzej Duda, ein Kandidat…

 Mehr
Notizen

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte

von Abounaddara

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte, ist kein Oppositioneller. Er – oder sie – ist keine Angehörige des Oppositionssystems, das nichts anderes ist als das Ergebnis eines Machtkampfes im Syrien Assads…

 Mehr
Notizen

Flitterwochen in Chaospolis & (Nicht sehr) saubere Nomen/Namen

von Mustapha Benfodil

Für Paris!
Für alle Opfer
der freiheitsbedrohenden Barbarei …

Flitterwochen in Chaospolis


Wir haben uns in Tunis kennengelernt
Wir haben uns in Gaza geliebt
Wir haben uns in Beirut verpasst
Wir haben uns…

 Mehr
Notizen
„Die heute Dreißig- oder Vierzigjährigen in der arabischen Welt (zu denen auch ich gehöre) sind Kinder einer Generation, die einstmals glaubte, sie könnte die Welt verändern und ihre Gesellschaftssysteme umgestalten. Sie kämpften für die Verwirklichung ihres Traumes und erlitten eine Niederlage. Wir, ihre Nachkommen, wurden erwachsen und mussten erkennen, dass die Welt ihrer Träume und Niederlagen sich in eine Welt düsterer und bedrohlicher Machenschaften der Tyrannei verwandelt hatte. Alles, was sie uns noch mitgeben konnten, damit wir imstande wären, dieser Welt gegenüberzutreten und uns vor den Peinigungen ihrer Mitleidlosigkeit zu schützen, waren ihr Schmerz und ihr Kummer. So sind Schmerz und Kummer zu unserer Haut geworden: zur Haut unserer Städte, zur Haut unserer Stimmen, zu der Haut, die wärmt, und zu der Haut, mit der wir lieben.“
—Rasha Salti


***

​Les trentenaires et quarantenaires du monde arabe – générations auxquelles j’appartiens – sont les enfants de ceux qui ont crût qu’ils pouvaient changer le monde et bouleverser l’ordre de leurs sociétés. Ils ont lutté pour réaliser leurs rêves et ils ont été vaincus. Nous, leurs descendants, sommes arrivés à l’âge adulte et à la conscience du monde alors que leurs rêves et défaites ont résulté en systèmes despotiques. Tout ce qu’ils nous ont légué pour nous confronter au monde et nous prémunir contre les tourments de son impitoyable cruauté, c’est leur tristesse. Et cette tristesse a ainsi vêtu notre peau: la peau de nos villes, la peau de nos voix, la peau qui tient au chaud et avec laquelle nous aimons.
—Rasha Salti

Notizen

2 Minutes for Syria

von Abounaddara

Seit Frühling 2011, dem Beginn des Volksaufstands in Syrien, hat das Abounaddara Collective an jedem Freitag einen Kurzfilm im Internet veröffentlicht. Dieser Wochentag, der in der arabischen Welt der…

 Mehr
Arbeiten

Ein Ideal, oder wir werden alle sterben

von Abounaddara

Am 13. November wurde in Paris im Namen Gottes ein abscheuliches Verbrechen begangen. Die mutmaßlichen Mörder sind französische oder belgische Staatsangehörige, die sich weder mit den Menschen ihrer…

 Mehr
Notizen

Brief des Teams der documenta 14 zu den Anschlägen vom 12. und 13. November 2015 in Beirut und Paris

Letzten Donnerstag, am Morgen des 12. November, kamen wir in Beirut an. Später, am gleichen Abend, erschütterten zwei Explosionen die südlichen Vororte der Stadt. 43 Menschen wurden getötet, mehr als…

 Mehr
Notizen
„Als Ludwig I. von Bayern in seiner philhellenischen Begeisterung seinen Sohn Otto samt der bayrischen Bürokratie auf den Thron des neuen, befreiten Griechenland setzte, schiffte sich sein Minister Rudhard, ein Sohn Passaus, von seiner Heimatstadt aus direkt nach Athen ein; er trank während der Reise aus einem eigens mitgeführten Bierfaß und sang dabei bajuwarische Lieder, in denen ein Hans Jörgl hinter seiner Liesl herläuft. Die in Griechenland eingesetzte Bavarokratie sorgte in Athen sogleich für die Eröffnung einer großen Brauerei sowie von Lokalen, die — wie von Wastlhuber, der geheime Ministerial-Kanzlei-Konzipist, sagte — ,Athen in eine Vorstadt Münchens’ verwandelten.“
— Claudio Magris
Notizen
“There are two ways of seeing the ways of seeing the world. One is one way and the other is another. And nobody knows: ‘Is there, anywhere, one way of seeing the two?’”
—Stefan Themerson
Notizen