Menu
documenta 14: Daybook

Publications

An interest in language and reading and address—its uses and abuses and affects, as public rhetoric or private literary production—has led the documenta 14 publications program forward. The documenta 14 publications explore language itself; they do not simply employ it in the service of aesthetic, political, and discursive regimes. The disparate forms that language takes—as letters, stories, parables, essays, diaries, speech acts, legal documents, propaganda, poetry, and hybrid literary other—and the ways in which these forms structure our being in and reading of the world, have all found their way into the documenta 14 publications. These include the documenta 14 journal South as a State of Mind; The documenta 14 Reader, a critical anthology exploring issues of economy, language, and the coloniality of power; and the documenta 14: Daybook, devoted to the commissioned artists in the documenta 14 project. Each of these publications articulates larger art-historical and political concerns while focusing on the daily activities and practices of artists and writers and the forms of resistance to be found therein.

documenta 14: Daybook

The documenta 14 Daybook emphasizes the 163 calendar days of the exhibition in Athens and Kassel in 2017—a first-time extension of the usual 100-day documenta project—and the personal and subjective nature of the spectator’s relationship to them. Each documenta 14 artist is granted a day in the Daybook, which includes a newly commissioned text as well as images selected by the artist specifically for the publication…

 More
Publications

The documenta 14 Reader

The main book of documenta 14 takes the form of a Reader, evoking the various meanings associated with the term. The documenta 14 Reader explores—in essay, allegory, poem, historical document, and hybrid literary other—the discursive and practical concerns of the project, such as debt and gift, the financialization of the future, economies of the exhibition, and languages without remainder…

 More
Publications

South as a State of Mind

South as a State of Mind is a magazine founded by Marina Fokidis in Athens in 2012. From early 2015, the magazine temporarily became the documenta 14 journal, publishing four special issues edited by Quinn Latimer, documenta 14’s editor-in-chief of publications, and Adam Szymczyk, documenta 14's artistic director. The fourth and final guest issue will be published in the summer of 2017…

 More
Publications

Menu
documenta 14: Daybook

Publikationen

Das Publikationsprogramm der documenta 14 hat sich in seinen verschiedenen Erscheinungsformen durch das Interesse an Sprache, Lektüre und Rede – ihren Gebrauch, ihren Missbrauch sowie ihre Wirkungsmacht in öffentlicher Rhetorik oder privatem literarischen Schaffen –, leiten lassen. In den Publikationen der documenta 14 wird die Sprache selbst zum Gegenstand der Erkundung; sie wird nicht einfach ästhetischen, politischen oder diskursiven Regimen unterworfen. All die verschiedenen Formen, in denen Sprache erscheint – als Brief, Geschichte, Parabel, Essay, Tagebuch, Sprechakt, amtliches Dokument, Propaganda, Poesie sowie anderen literarischen Hybriden – und in denen sie unser Sein in der Welt und die Art, wie wir sie lesen, strukturiert, haben Eingang in die Veröffentlichungen der documenta 14 gefunden. Dazu gehören das Magazin South as a State of Mind und Der documenta 14 Reader, eine kritische Anthologie, die Fragen der Ökonomie, der Sprache und der Kolonialität der Macht behandelt, sowie das documenta 14: Daybook, das den an der documenta 14 beteiligten Künstler_innen gewidmet ist. In diesen Publikationen kommen weit gesteckte kunsthistorische und politische Anliegen zum Ausdruck, wobei ihr Fokus auf den täglichen Aktivitäten und Praktiken der Künstler_innen und Autor_innen und den darin erscheinenden Formen des Widerstands liegt.

documenta 14: Daybook

Das documenta 14 Daybook betont mit seiner tagebuchartigen Struktur sowohl die 163 Kalendertage der Ausstellung – eine erstmalige Verlängerung der traditionell 100 Tage dauernden documenta – als auch den persönlichen und subjektiven Zugang der Besucher_innen zum Geschehen. Allen documenta Künstler_innen wurde im Daybook ein Tag überlassen, der im Buch sowohl einen in Auftrag gegebenen Text beinhaltet, als auch von den Künstler_innen speziell für die Publikation ausgewählte Bilder…

 Mehr
Publikationen

Der documenta 14 Reader

Die zentrale Publikation der documenta 14 erscheint als Reader oder Lesebuch, und lässt damit die verschiedenen Lesarten dieses Begriffs anklingen. Der documenta 14 Reader erforscht in Essays, Allegorien, Gedichten, historischen Rechtsdokumenten und anderen, hybriden literarischen Formen die diskursiven Anliegen des Projekts…

 Mehr
Publikationen

South as a State of Mind

Das Magazin South as a State of Mind wurde 2012 von Marina Fokidis in Athen gegründet. Seit Anfang 2015 ist es für insgesamt vier Sonderausgaben das Magazin der documenta 14. Herausgeber sind Quinn Latimer, Chefredakteurin der Publikationen, und Adam Szymczyk, Künstlerischer Leiter der documenta 14. Die vierte und letzte Sonderausgabe erscheint im Sommer 2017…

 Mehr
Publikationen