Abdurrahim Buza (1905–1986)

Abdurrahim Buza, Self-portrait, 1934, oil on panel, collection National Gallery of Arts, Tirana, installation view, Nikos Hadjikyriakos-Ghika Gallery, Benaki Museum, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Abdurrahim Buza is one of the most respected Albanian painters whose career spanned the years before and after WWII. Buza was born in 1905 in Skopje (today Macedonia) in a family originally from Gjakova (Kosova). He lost his parents at the age of nine. Relatives helped ensure that he received his primary education in the city of Shkodra and then in Tirana and Elbasan. Later he was awarded a fellowship from the government of Zog I, King of the Albanians and went to study abroad at the Fine Art Academies in Turin and Florence and in the atelier of Galileo Chini, from 1928–­1933. After returning to Albania, Buza—together with sculptor Odhise Paskali and painter Andrea Kushi—established the first drawing school in the country in Tirana in 1933. Later he taught at the technical gymnasium “Harry Fultz” and the artistic lyceum “Jordan Misja” in Tirana, where he educated several generations of artists until his retirement in 1966.

There are a few characteristics that distinguish Buza’s oeuvre, mainly related to his style of painting and to the thematic choices that permeate his work. Although a realist in essence, Buza carried with him the influence of his teacher Chini, an Italian artist, decorator, and scenographer who was involved in the Art Nouveau or “Liberty” style, as it was known in Italy. Such influence can be traced in Buza’s approach to color, but also in the accentuated outlines of the figures populating his compositional tableaus. Buza operated with a rich palette that in many cases reminds us of Pierre Bonnard or impressionist color dynamics. His subjects—be they figures, portraits, self-portraits, or still lives—are often painted in a warm light in an attempt to capture the Mediterranean spectrum, characteristic of Albania.

Abdurrahim Buza, Shqipëria vallzon (Albania is dancing, 1971), oil on panel, 72.5 x 69.5 cm, collection National Gallery of Arts, Tirana

Buza worked on somewhat neutral subjects in his paintings, focusing mainly on portraiture, and rituals and folklore (though historical figures and events are also part of his repertoire). On one hand, this choice of subjects allowed him to almost freely explore the psychological lives of the characters in his portraits or self-portraits (for example in Self-portrait (1934) or Malësori (Highlander, 1957)), without having to abide by the demands for representation set by the regime. On the other hand, his works are defined by expressive drawing in which bodies seem to always exist in an unnatural state of movement, at times even defying gravity. We encounter this feat in many compositional tableaus, including The Refugees (1957) and later works such as Azem Galica dhe luftetaret (Azem Galica and the fighters, 1976), Shqipëria vallzon (Albania is dancing, 1971), and Lojëra popullore (Traditional games, 1971). It is as if he’s always trying to make the bodies speak and tell the story, not through words, minor elements or backgrounds (they’re usually dark), but rather by twisting and turning and connecting them with each other, to create some kind of uninterrupted social choreography of movement.

—Edi Muka

Abdurrahim Buza, Lojëra popullore (Traditional games, 1974), oil on panel, 122 x 103 cm, collection National Gallery of Arts, Tirana

Posted in Notes on 06.19.2017
Related

Abdurrahim Buza (1905–1986)

Abdurrahim Buza, Self-portrait, 1934, Öl auf Leinwand, Sammlung Nationale Kunstgalerie, Tirana, Installationsansicht, Galerie Nikos Hadjikyriakos-Ghika, Benaki-Museum, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Abdurrahim Buza war einer der angesehensten Maler Albaniens, dessen Karriere sich von der Zeit vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg bis zwei Jahrzehnte danach erstreckte. Buza wurde 1905 in Skopje (heute Mazedonien) geboren; seine Familie stammte ursprünglich aus Gjakova (Kosovo). Mit neun Jahren verlor er seine Eltern. Verwandte kümmerten sich um ihn und sorgten dafür, dass er zuerst in Shkodra, dann in Tirana und Elbasan die Schule besuchen konnte. Später erhielt er ein Stipendium von der Regierung von Zogu I., dem König der Albaner, und studierte 1928–1933 an den Kunstakademien in Turin und Florenz sowie im Atelier von Galileo Chini. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Albanien 1933 gründete Buza – zusammen mit dem Bildhauer Odhise Paskali und dem Maler Andrea Kushi – die erste Kunstschule des Landes in Tirana. Später lehrte er an der Technischen Oberschule „Harry Fultz“ und der Kunstschule „Jordan Misja“ in Tirana, wo er bis zu seiner Pensionierung 1966 mehrere Generationen von Künstler_innen ausbildete.

Buzas Œuvre zeichnet sich insbesondere durch seinen Malstil sowie die Wahl der Sujets aus, die sich durch seine Arbeit ziehen. Auch wenn Buza im Wesentlichen Realist war, blieb der Einfluss seines Lehrers, des italienischen Künstlers, Innenarchitekten und Bühnenbildners Chini, der dem Jugendstil oder, wie er in Italien hieß, dem „Liberty“-Stil verbunden war, immer erkennbar. Dieser Einfluss lässt sich nicht nur in Buzas Umgang mit Farbe feststellen, sondern auch in den akzentuierten Konturen der Figuren, die seine kompositorischen Tableaus bevölkern. Buza arbeitete mit einer reichhaltigen Palette, die uns häufig an Pierre Bonnard oder die Farbdynamik der Impressionisten erinnert. Seine Sujets – seien es Figuren, Porträts, Selbstporträts oder Stillleben – sind oft in warmen Farben ausgeführt und versuchen das mediterrane Spektrum einzufangen, das für Albanien so charakteristisch ist.

Abdurrahim Buza, Shqipëria vallzon (Albanien tanzt, 1971), Öl auf Leinwand, 72,5 x 69,5 cm, Sammlung Nationale Kunstgalerie, Tirana

Buza wählte für seine Gemälde relativ neutrale Sujets und konzentrierte sich hauptsächlich auf das Porträt sowie auf Rituale und Folklore (auch wenn historische Figuren und Ereignisse ebenfalls zu seinem Repertoire gehörten). Einerseits erlaubte ihm diese Wahl der Sujets, sich in seinen Porträts oder Selbstporträts beinahe ungehindert mit dem psychologischen Leben der Figuren zu befassen –wie etwa in Selbstporträt (1934) oder Malësori (Bergbewohner, 1957) –, ohne sich den Forderungen des Regimes nach Repräsentation fügen zu müssen. Andererseits sind seine Arbeiten durch expressive Zeichnung charakterisiert, wobei die Körper stets in einem unnatürlichen Bewegungszustand zu existieren scheinen, bisweilen sogar die Schwerkraft überwinden. Dies lässt sich in vielen Kompositionen entdecken, darunter Die Flüchtlinge (1957) sowie spätere Arbeiten wie Azem Galica dhe luftetaret (Azem Galica und die Kämpfer, 1976), Shqipëria vallzon (Albanien tanzt, 1971) und Lojëra popullore (Traditionelle Spiele, 1971). Es scheint, als habe Buza immer versucht, die Körper sprechen und die Geschichte erzählen zu lassen, nicht durch Worte, Accessoires oder Hintergründe (die üblicherweise dunkel gehalten sind), sondern vielmehr, indem er sie drehte und wendete und miteinander verband, um so eine Art ununterbrochener sozialer Choreografie der Bewegung zu schaffen.

– Edi Muka

Abdurrahim Buza, Lojëra popullore (Traditionelle Spiele, 1974), Öl auf Leinwand, 122 x 103 cm, Sammlung Nationale Kunstgalerie, Tirana

Aus dem Englischen von Robert Schlicht

Gepostet in Notizen am 19.06.2017
Verwandte Einträge