André Pierre (1915–2005)

André Pierre, Grand Bois, ca. 1975, installation view, Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse, Athens, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

André Pierre, Imamou (1970s), installation view, Benaki Museum—Pireos Street Annexe, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Take Grand Bois (1975), with its overlap of fluid, gesticulating branches of the tree/God; or Imamou (1970s), the stature and mysterious prominence of the rooster looking on/in at the ceremony for Agoue, the Haitian God of water. What we meet in these paintings is a Vodou reality; a reality where principles such as depth, perspective, proportion, and harmony are not determined by how one believes the hubristic, biological “human” eye sees. The arrangement of all created things takes its cue from the presence of the divine, which—though present in all things—manifests strongly in one or another figure in each work.

In several of André Pierre’s paintings, we encounter what I feel to be the “vertical pressure” of a sensibility still rooted in the centrality of the divine and the commonplace descent of the divine onto the earthly plane. This vertical pressure is most palpably rendered through the metaphor and axis and axiom of the poto mitan (the central pole) which is sine qua non of the Vodou spiritual tradition. It is there in Le Delogement / Rouangol diyo lal le (late 1960s), amid the jumble and prolixity of color and detail, that we find an unwitting poto mitan, propping up a lean-to, seemingly cutting the painting in half. In Untitled (ca. 1977), it is the crucifix/cross. In other works, like Ceremony Ibo dans la Foret (late 1960s) it is man/God. Or in Ceremony with Issa and Suz (late 1960s), we encounter the beribboned poto mitan itself. Note in this painting how Issa (Issa El Saieh, gallery owner) and Suz (Suzanne Seitz, owner of the Hotel Oloffson)—despite the title of the piece—appear in the periphery of the composition, made conspicuous rather because of their ethnicity.

And even where this poto mitan is not present, it is present. Present for a people for whom presence is not synonymous with the physical or material. To understand the composition in each painting, we are to ask the clichéd question, “where is God in all of this?” The answer, of course, is in everything (tout chòz). In all things great and small—from the fluid limbs of trees, to the human-shaped flowers or the flower-shaped humans of Untitled; to the Lwa (spirits of Haitian Vodou) in Baron Samedi (ca. 1977) or Traitement Mystiquel de Erzuli par Agoue (late 1960s). Or sometimes not in a single thing, but in the small, humble, and multitudinous bodies of Vodou serviteurs teeming toward a wholeness of community required by the faith, as we see in Ceremony with Issa and Suz.

André Pierre, Baron Samedi (ca. 1977), installation view, Benaki Museum—Pireos Street Annexe, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis



The mystical concept of pwen (from French “point”) is useful here. Pwen refers to the precise point of contact between divine force and the earthly plane. The point is usually an “art object” created by those who believe. There is the chante pwen (the sung point), but more commonly, there are the Vèvè ground drawings that Vodou is famous for (surely art in their own right/rite), seen most clearly in Le Grand Assortor (1970s). What organizes the “presences”—not “objects”—in these detailed paintings is where divine presence is most strongly manifested. Obvious sometimes, but at others, mysteriously present; not in the center, but situated at the point where depth begins. Moving inward. Like in that venerable rooster of Imamou.


Who has eyes to see will see.

André Pierre, Le Grand Assortor (1970s), installation view, Benaki Museum—Pireos Street Annexe, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis


—Vladimir Lucien is a poet and writer based in St. Lucia.

Posted in Notes on 06.06.2017
Related

André Pierre

Born in Haiti, André Pierre (1916–2005) lived in Croix-des-Missions at the outer edge of Port-au-Prince and developed his oeuvre as a self-trained artist and respected Vodou priest while also involved…

 More

André Pierre (1915–2005)

André Pierre, Grand Bois, ca. 1975, Installationsansicht, Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

André Pierre, Imamou (1970er Jahre), Installationsansicht, Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis



Man betrachte Grand Bois (1975) mit seinen Überlagerungen von bewegt gestikulierenden Zweigen des Baumes/Gottes; oder die Haltung und das mysteriöse In-den-Vordergrund-Treten des Hahnes in Imamou (1970er Jahre), der seinerseits eine Zeremonie für Agoue, den haitianischen Gott des Wassers, betrachtet. Was uns in diesen Gemälden begegnet, ist eine Wirklichkeit des Voodoo. Eine Wirklichkeit, in der Prinzipien wie Tiefe, Perspektive, Proportion und Harmonie nicht vom Glauben an die anmaßende Sichtweise des biologisch „menschlichen“ Auges bestimmt werden. Das Arrangement alles Geschaffenen wird von der Präsenz des Göttlichen in Szene gesetzt. Diese Präsenz—obgleich sie in allen Dingen ist—offenbart sich in dieser oder jener Gestalt eindringlich in jedem Kunstwerk.

In zahlreichen Gemälden von André Pierre begegnet uns etwas, das ich den „vertikalen Druck“ einer Sensibilität nennen möchte, die immer noch in der Zentralität des Göttlichen wurzelt und in der alltäglichen Herabkunft dieses Göttlichen auf die Ebene des Irdischen. Dieser vertikale Druck wird dort offenkundig, wo Metapher, Achse und Axiom des poto mitan (Mittelpfosten) sichtbar werden, der eine unerlässliche Voraussetzung für die spirituelle Tradition des Voodoo darstellt. Man findet ihn in Le Delogement / Rouangol diyo lal le (späte 1960er Jahre) inmitten des Durcheinanders und der Weitschweifigkeit von Farbe und Detail; und gerade hier stoßen wir auf einen unbeabsichtigten poto mitan, der das Dach einer Hütte abstützt und das Bild scheinbar in der Mitte durchschneidet. In Untitled (ca. 1977) ist es das Kruzifix/Kreuz. In anderen Arbeiten wie Ceremony Ibo dans la Foret (späte 1960er Jahre) ist es der Mensch/Gott. Und in Ceremony with Issa and Suz (späte 1960er Jahre) treffen wir auf den mit Bändern geschmückten poto mitan höchstpersönlich. Bei diesem Gemälde fällt auf, wie Issa (Issa El Saieh, Galeriebesitzerin) und Suz (Suzanne Seitz, Besitzerin des Hotel Oloffson) — ungeachtet des Titels der Arbeit — am äußeren Rand der Komposition erscheinen und aufgrund ihrer Ethnizität beinahe unübersehbar gemacht werden.

André Pierre, Baron Samedi (ca. 1977), Installationsansicht, Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis



Und auch dort, wo dieser poto mitan nicht präsent ist, ist er es. Anwesend für ein Volk, für das Präsenz nicht gleichbedeutend mit physischer oder materieller Anwesenheit ist. Um die Komposition jedes einzelnen Bildes zu begreifen, müssen wir die Klischeefrage stellen: „Wo ist in all dem Gott?“ Die Antwort lautet selbstverständlich: in allem (tout chòz). In allen großen und kleinen Dingen —von den fließenden Baumästen zu den Menschen in Untitled, die die Gestalt von Blumen angenommen haben; bis hin zu den Loas (den Geistern des haitianischen Voodoo) in Baron Samedi (ca. 1977) oder Traitement Mystiquel de Erzuli par Agoue (späte 1960er Jahre). Zuweilen haust er in keinem einzelnen Ding, sondern in den kleinen, bescheidenen und dicht gedrängten Körpern der Voodoo-serviteurs, die, wie der Glaube es verlangt und wir in Ceremony with Issa and Suz sehen können, zur Ganzheit einer Gemeinschaft sich versammeln.

Das mystische Konzept des pwen (das Wort stammt vom franz. point für Punkt) ist in diesem Zusammenhang hilfreich. Pwen bezieht sich auf den exakten Berührungspunkt von göttlicher Macht und irdischer Ebene. Dieser Punkt ist für gewöhnlich ein „Kunstobjekt“, das von denjenigen geschaffen wird, die glauben. Es gibt den chante pwen (den gesungenen Punkt), üblicherweise sind es jedoch die Vèvè genannten Bodenzeichnungen, für die der Voodoo berühmt ist (ganz gewiss Kunst aus eigenem Recht/Ritus) und die man am markantesten in Le Grand Assortor (1970er Jahre) zu sehen bekommt. In diesen detailreichen Gemälden werden die „Anwesenheiten“ — und nicht die „Objekte“—von dem Ort aus gegliedert, an dem sich die göttliche Präsenz am deutlichsten manifestiert. Manchmal augenfällig, dann wiederum auf geheimnisvolle Weise, nicht ins Zentrum, sondern an den Punkt gerückt, wo die Tiefe beginnt und sich nach innen kehrt. Wie im Fall des ehrwürdigen Hahnes in Imamou.

Wer Augen hat zu sehen, der sehe.

André Pierre, Le Grand Assortor (1970er Jahre), Installationsansicht, Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

— Vladimir Lucien ist Dichter und Schriftsteller. Er lebt auf St. Lucia.

Aus dem Englischen von Andreas L. Hofbauer

Gepostet in Notizen am 06.06.2017
Verwandte Einträge

André Pierre

André Pierre (1916–2005), geboren auf Haiti, lebte in Croix-des-Missions am äußeren Rand von Port-au-Prince und schuf sein Werk als autodidaktischer Künstler und hoch angesehener Voudun-Priester…

 Mehr