David Perlov (1930–2003)

David Perlov, Untitled (ca. 2000–03), film photograph, 30 × 46 cm, courtesy of the artist’s family

David Perlov, Untitled (ca. 2000–03), film photograph, 30 × 46 cm, courtesy of the artist’s family

When Israeli filmmaker David Perlov died, he left behind dozens of Hefte (notebooks), filled with epigrams, texts for films, biographical notes, images interwoven with texts, and texts with images. Yet in the early 1970s, as commissions to make films became scarce and he found himself in a deepening creative impasse, Perlov started conceiving an alternative that was a new ethical and aesthetic way of his own: a Tagebuch, a Diary—not in literature but in film. To the then-local demand for a Zionist message devoid of complexity, Perlov responded with a prolonged autobiography, unfinished in principle. In its abstraction from the personal, he replied with a close-up of the personal as his starting point. He wrote in a notebook:

I buy a camera
I want to start filming
by myself and for myself
Above all in anonymity
It takes time to learn
how to do it

Here an artist’s personal crisis touches a collective fracture: as Perlov began working on the film, the Yom Kippur War of October 1973 broke out. Its first signs were captured by his camera through a window—the anxiety of worshipers exiting the synagogue across the street and listening to the mobilization calls of the army reserves on their transistor radios. In the history of cinema, no precedent exists for a personal diary in which war is an integral part: here the intimate—generally identified with the space of the individual and the home—became radical, public, political.

In 2013, filmmaker and researcher Anan Barakat dedicated his book on the new wave of Palestinian cinema to Perlov, as well as to Mustafa Abu Ali, Mahmoud Darwish, and Jean-Luc Godard, adding in an interview that although these artists spoke politics and thought politics they still created high-quality art.

Excerpt from David Perlov, Diary (1973–1983), source: Re-Voir

Perlov was forty-three when he began filming Diary, and was almost seventy when he completed it. His opus, like Marcel Proust’s or Robert Musil’s, spreads through time—worlds within worlds, complex realities, incorporating its surroundings. Perlov did not deny the subjective; after all, it is the story of his life that streams through the film and his voice that accompanies it throughout. But that is not its essence. The title Diary points to the everyday, to repetition—not to dramas. This is a working travel diary that exposes more and more realities, and only through this accumulation is the political revealed as a new form, as an option for transgression.

—Galia Bar Or

Posted in Notes on 04.28.2017
Related

David Perlov

Filmmaker David Perlov was born in Rio de Janeiro in 1930 and passed away in Tel Aviv in 2003. In 1957, he made his first short film, Old Aunt China, an animation based on sarcastic drawings and texts…

 More

In Search of Ladino

by David Perlov

David Perlov, In Search of Ladino, 1981, Israel, 60 min, Hebrew and Ladino with English subtitles
With Yael Perlov, Rena Molho, and Itamar Gov

Developed by Jews who were expelled from Spain and found refuge…

 More
Calendar

Memories of the Eichmann Trial

by David Perlov

June 16, 8:30 pm

David Perlov: Retrospective
David Perlov, Memories of the Eichmann Trial (1979), Israel, 60 min., Hebrew with English subtitles
Presentation by Mira Perlov and Galia Bar Or…

 More
Calendar

documenta 14 Film Program daily screenings – Fridays

with Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov, and Wang Bing

10 am

Wu ming zhe (Man with No Name), Wang Bing, 2010, Hong Kong (PR China), 92 min., Mandarin with English subtitles, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, 1957, France, 12 min. English, BALi-Kinos

Reminiszenzen…

 More
Calendar

Diary Part 1 and 2

by David Perlov

June 15, 8:30 pm

David Perlov: Retrospective
​David Perlov, Diary Part 1 and 2 (1973–80), Israel, approx. 100 min. English with German subtitles
Presentation by Yael Perlov…

 More
Calendar

documenta 14 Film Program daily screenings – Thursdays

with Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov, and Wang Bing

10 am

Fu yu zi (Father and Sons), Wang Bing, 2014, Hong Kong (PR China)/France, 97 min., Mandarin with English subtitles, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, 1957, France, 12 min. English, BALi-Kinos

Reminiszenzen…

 More
Calendar

David Perlov (1930–2003)

David Perlov, Ohne Titel (ca. 2000–03), Filmfotografie, 30 × 46 cm, courtesy die Familie des Künstlers

David Perlov, Ohne Titel (ca. 2000–03), Filmfotografie, 30 × 46 cm, courtesy die Familie des Künstlers

Als der israelische Filmemacher David Perlov starb, hinterließ er Dutzende Hefte, deren Seiten mit Epigrammen, Texten für Filme, biografischen Notizen, Bildern zu Texten und Texten zwischen Bildern gefüllt waren. In den frühen 1970er Jahren, als die Auftragslage für Regisseure schlecht war, geriet er in eine kreative Sackgasse. Aus dieser befreite er sich mit einem Alternativentwurf, der auch eine neue ethische und ästhetische Herangehensweise darstellte: ein Tagebuch — aber kein literarisches, sondern ein filmisches. Auf die damals in Israel übliche Forderung nach einer zionistischen Botschaft, frei von aller unnötigen Komplexität, antwortete Perlov mit einer fortgesetzten Autobiografie, die grundsätzlich unabgeschlossen bleiben sollte. Dort, wo man vom Persönlichen absehen wollte, wählte er als Antwort und Ausgangspunkt ein Close-up aufs Persönliche. In einem seiner Hefte schrieb er:

Ich kaufe eine Kamera
Ich will selbst und für mich filmen
Vor allem anonym
Es wird eine Weile dauern bis ich weiß
wie man das schafft

Hier streift die persönliche Krise eines Künstlers einen kollektiven Umbruch: als Perlov an seinem Film zu arbeiten begann, brach im Oktober 1973 der Jom-Kippur-Krieg aus. Seine ersten Vorzeichen wurden von Perlovs Kamera durch ein Fenster festgehalten — angsterfüllte Gläubige, die eine Synagoge auf der anderen Seite der Straße verlassen und aus ihren Transistorradios den Aufrufen zur Mobilmachung der Reservisten lauschen. In der Geschichte des Kinos gibt es kein anderes Beispiel eines persönlichen Filmtagebuchs, für das ein Krieg wesentlicher Bestandteil ist: hier wird das Vertrauliche — das üblicherweise mit dem Raum des Individuellen und dem Zuhause gleichgesetzt wird — radikal, öffentlich, politisch.

Im Jahr 2013 widmete der Filmregisseur und Forscher Anan Barakat sein Buch The New Wave of Palestinian Cinema David Perlov; und neben diesem auch Mustafa Abu Ali, Mahmud Darwisch und Jean-Luc Godard. In einem Interview merkte er dazu an, dass diese Künstler alle politische Aussagen treffen und politisch denken, dabei aber hochkarätige Kunst schaffen.

Auszug aus David Perlov, Diary (1973–1983), Quelle: Re-Voir

Als Perlov anfing Diary zu drehen, war er dreiundvierzig Jahre alt, als er den Film beendete, beinahe siebzig. Sein Opus erstreckt und dehnt sich wie das von Marcel Proust oder Robert Musil durch die Zeit — Welten innerhalb von Welten, komplexe Realitäten, die sich mit ihren Umgebungen vereinigen. Perlov hat das Subjektive nicht verleugnet; letztlich ist es sein Leben, das durch den Film hindurchströmt, und es ist seine Stimme, die diesen dabei stets begleitet. Doch das ist nicht das Wesentliche. Der Titel Diary verweist auf das Alltägliche, deutet die Wiederholung an — und nicht das Drama. Wir haben es hier mit einem fortwährenden Reisetagebuch zu tun, das mehr und mehr Wirklichkeiten freisetzt; und durch ein solches Ansammeln und Anwachsen offenbart sich das Politische als neue Form, als Möglichkeit zur Überschreitung.

— Galia Bar Or

Aus dem Englischen von Andreas L. Hofbauer

Gepostet in Notizen am 28.04.2017
Verwandte Einträge

David Perlov

Der Filmemacher David Perlov wurde 1930 in Rio de Janeiro geboren und starb im Jahr 2003 in Tel Aviv. 1957 drehte er seinen Kurzfilm Old Aunt China, ein Animationsfilm, der auf den sarkastischen Zeichnungen…

 Mehr

In Search of Ladino

von David Perlov

David Perlov, In Search of Ladino, 1981, Israel, 60 Min. Hebräisch und Ladino mit englischen Untertiteln
In Anwesenheit von Yael Perlov, Rena Molho und Itamar Gov

Die Sprache Ladino entstand in der Gemeinschaft…

 Mehr
Kalender

Memories of the Eichmann Trial

von David Perlov

16. Juni, 20:30 Uhr

David Perlov: Retrospective
David Perlov, Memories of the Eichmann Trial (1979), Israel, 60 min. Hebr. mit engl. Untertiteln
Mit einer Präsentation von Mira Perlov und Galia Bar Or…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Freitags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Wu ming zhe (Mann ohne Namen), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China), 2010, 92 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender

Diary Part 1 und 2

von David Perlov

15. Juni, 20:30 Uhr

David Perlov: Retrospective
David Perlov, Diary Part 1 und 2 (1973–80), ca. 100 min. Engl. mit dt. Untertiteln
Mit einer Präsentation von Yael Perlov…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Donnerstags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Fu yu zi (Vater und Söhne), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China)/Frankreich, 2014, 97 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender