Maria Lai (1919–2013)

Maria Lai, Geografia (Geography, 1986), velvet and thread, 160 × 250 cm, photo: P.P.Pinna, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d’Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Geografia (Geography, 1994), fabric and thread, 160 × 250 cm, photo: P.P.Pinna, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d’Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

While living with her aunt and uncle near Cardedu in the Sardinian countryside due to poor health, as a child Maria Lai traced bold sketches on the walls of their kitchen with charcoal from the fireplace. She entered school at nine and found it difficult to read and spell until a sensitive teacher (the poet and writer Salvatore Cambosu, who later became her mentor and a close friend) instructed her to read verse aloud and just follow the rhythm of utterances and silences. For Lai, born in 1919 and raised in an insular culture where the oral played a crucial role—especially in the social realms in which women’s voices dominated—it was the spoken word that bridged her gap between illiteracy and literacy.

As an artist, the articulation of language rested at the core of her practice. If the subject of Lai’s first pencil and ink drawings, exhibited in 1957 at the Galleria L’Obelisco in Rome (where she had moved in ’56), was Sardinian women silently at work, later she turned to stitches, fabric patches, and threads hanging loose from the surface of her works to create powerful “asemantic writings,” as poet and curator Mirella Bentivoglio defines them. In 1971, after a long withdrawal from the art scene, a show at the Galleria Schneider in Rome revealed a new direction: with the cycle of Telai (Looms) she deconstructed the framed canvas, creating sculptures where painting and weaving intertwined, through which the vital legacy of her “archaic” roots was translated into the vocabulary of contemporary art.

Other abstract compositions ensued, like the large Tele cucite (Sewn canvases), Lavagne (Blackboards), Geografie (Geographies), Lenzuoli (Sheets), in recursive cycles. Instead of the typewriter so commonly used by the concrete poets of her time, Lai chose the sewing machine to abstract her signs and “letters,” and to record their undecipherable, illegible twirls. She baked books out of bread and clay and sewed others from incipit to end on soft fabric or paper. When Lai was asked by the municipality of Ulassai, her birthplace, to create a war memorial, she proposed instead a “monument for the living”: Legarsi alla montagna (To Tie Oneself to the Mountain). In 1981, she seamed together the entire village by making a blue ribbon fashioned from jeans fabric run from house to house, all the way up to the top of the impending mountain, as in an ancient folk tale. This “social sculpture” was followed by other public actions and works in Aggius, Camerino, Orotelli, Siliqua, and Villasimius, as well as by new open air projects in Ulassai. In parallel, Lai collaborated with theater companies, ran workshops in schools, and voiced her story in artist books such as La barca di carta (The paper boat, Arte Duchamp, Cagliari, 1996), whose pages “strain to tie together the threads of a reasoning on making, reading and redefining art,” in the artist’s words. She died in 2013 in Cardedu.

—Barbara Casavecchia

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (To Tie Oneself to the Mountain, 1981/2013), ink on photographs of Lai’s intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Photo: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private collection © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d’Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (To Tie Oneself to the Mountain, 1981/2013), ink on photographs of Lai’s intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Photo: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private collection © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d’Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (To Tie Oneself to the Mountain, 1981/2013), ink on photographs of Lai’s intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Photo: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private collection © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Man, Museo D’arte Provincia di Nuoro

Posted in Notes on 04.18.2017
Related

Maria Lai

Sardinian artist Maria Lai’s oeuvre is closely interwoven with literature and poetry, both formally and as related to content. Writer Salvatore Cambosu (1895–1962) was an important mentor and friend…

 More

Maria Lai (1919–2013)

Maria Lai, Geografia (Geografie, 1986), Samt und Faden, 160 × 250 cm, Foto: P.P.Pinna, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d'Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Geografia (Geografie, 1994), Stoff und Faden, 160 × 250 cm, Foto: P.P.Pinna, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d'Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Als Maria Lai wegen ihres schlechten Gesundheitszustandes als Kind bei ihrer Tante und ihrem Onkel unweit von Cardedu in Sardinien auf dem Land lebte, malte sie mit Holzkohle aus dem Herd kräftige Zeichnungen an die Küchenwände. Erst im Alter von neun Jahren begann sie damit, eine Schule zu besuchen. Sie hatte Schwierigkeiten mit dem Lesen und dem Buchstabieren, bis ein einfühlsamer Lehrer (der Dichter und Schriftsteller Salvatore Cambosu, der später ihr Mentor und enger Freund werden sollte) sie anwies, Gedichte laut vorzutragen und dabei einfach dem wechselnden Rhythmus von betonten Silben und Schweigen zu folgen. Für Lai, die 1919 geboren wurde und auf der Insel in einer Kultur aufwuchs, für die das Orale eine entscheidende Rolle spielte – vor allem in den sozialen Wirklichkeiten, die von der Stimme der Frauen bestimmt wurden –, überbrückte das gesprochene Wort den Spalt zwischen Analphabetentum und Bildung.

Als Künstlerin stand für sie später der Ausdruck der Sprache im Zentrum ihrer Praxis. Die Sujets von Lais ersten Bleistift- und Tintenzeichnungen, die 1957 in der Galleria L’Obelisco in Rom gezeigt wurden (dorthin war sie 1956 gezogen), waren noch sardische Frauen, die sich still in ihre Arbeit vertiefen; später wandte sie sich Strickarbeiten, Stoffflecken und Fäden zu, die lose von der Oberfläche ihrer Arbeiten herabhingen, gleich kühnen „asemantischen Schriften“, wie es die Dichterin und Kuratorin Mirella Bentivoglio genannt hatte. 1971, nach einem längeren Rückzug aus der Kunstszene, brachte eine Ausstellung in der Galleria Schneider in Rom eine ganz neue Richtung ans Licht: Mit dem Zyklus Telai (Webstühle) dekonstruierte Lai die gerahmte Leinwand und schuf Skulpturen, bei denen Malerei und Webkunst ineinander übergingen und durch die ihre Erfahrungen, ihre „archaischen“ Wurzeln, in das Vokabular zeitgenössischer Kunst übersetzt wurden.

Weitere abstrakte Kompositionen, etwa die großen Tele cucite (Genähte Leinwände), Lavagne (Tafeln), Geografie (Geografien), Lenzuoli (Laken), folgten in immer wieder neu ansetzenden Zyklen. Statt der Schreibmaschine, die von den Dichtern der Konkreten Poesie ihrer Zeit so geschätzt wurde, wählte sich Lai die Nähmaschine, um ihre Zeichen und „Buchstaben“ zu extrahieren und ihre unentzifferbaren, unleserlichen Schnörkel aufzuzeichnen. Sie buk Bücher aus Brot und Ton, andere wieder nähte sie von Anfang bis Ende aus weichem Stoff oder Papier. Als Lai von der Stadtverwaltung von Ulassai, ihrem Geburtsort, gefragt wurde, ob sie ein Denkmal für die im Krieg Gefallenen schaffen wolle, schlug sie stattdessen ein „Denkmal für die Lebenden“ vor: Legarsi alla montagna (Sich selbst an den Berg binden). 1981 säumte sie ein ganzes Dorf ein und nähte es zusammen, indem sie ein blaues Band aus Jeansstoff von Haus zu Haus verlaufen ließ und bis zum Gipfel der umgebenden Berge, wie es eine uralte Volkssage erzählt. Dieser „Sozialen Skulptur“ folgten weitere öffentliche Aktionen und Arbeiten in Aggius, Camerino, Orotelli, Siliqua und Villasimius sowie neue Außen-Projekte in Ulassai. Parallel dazu arbeitete Lai mit Theaterkompanien zusammen, hielt Workshops in Schulen ab und verlieh ihrer Geschichte in Künstlerbüchern wie La barca di carta (Das Boot aus Papier, Arte Duchamp, Cagliari, 1996) Stimme, dessen Seiten „die Fäden einer Reflexion über das Machen, das Lesen und die Neudefinition von Kunst zusammenspannen wollen“, wie es die Künstlerin selbst ausgedrückt hat. Lai starb 2013 in Cardedu.

— Barbara Casavecchia

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (Sich an einen Berg binden, 1981/2013), Tinte auf Fotografien von Lais Intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Foto: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private Sammlung © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d'Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (Sich an einen Berg binden, 1981/2013), Tinte auf Fotografien von Lais Intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Foto: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private Sammlung © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy MAN_Museo d'Arte della Provincia di Nuoro

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (Sich an einen Berg binden, 1981/2013), Tinte auf Fotografien von Lais Intervention To Tie Oneself to the Mountain (1981), Ulassai, Italy. Foto: Piero Berengo Gardin. Private Sammlung © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Man, Museo D’arte Provincia di Nuoro

Aus dem Englischen von Andreas L. Hofbauer

Gepostet in Notizen am 18.04.2017
Verwandte Einträge