Dimitris Pikionis (1887–1968)

View from the main road leading to Filopappou Hill, depicting the initial phase of Dimitris Pikionis’s redevelopment of the paths, 1954–58, photograph, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archive, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athens

When I first visited the Acropolis in 1959 I found myself walking virtually by accident on the adjacent landscape of Philopappou Hill and there I felt, with surprise, the almost literal movement of the ground as my frame was drawn by the tactile resistance of the paving, up and down the undulating labyrinth of the terrain; a site designed so as to be experienced as much by the body as by the eyes. Equally surprising were the stone-paved terraces and benches and, above all, the wood-framed temenos and tea pavilion, built adjacent to the reconstructed Loumbardiaris church. These last seemed as though they had been drawn from Japan over eons of time via the cultural sieve of Byzantium. I did not realize at the time that this staging ground was not quite finished and that the seventy-two-year-old architect was still supervising the work.

The last half-century has changed our way of looking at architecture and we now see the twentieth century as a much more complex trajectory and thus we are compelled to reassess what our modern movement has wrought and where we stand in relation to its multifarious strands. In this process figures who were once prominent now recede, and those who were previously obscure emerge into the light. Pikionis is one of these latter-day luminaries, whose resonant work takes us back to a radiant world, where the “thingness” of things, to paraphrase Heidegger, come into their own. Pikionis’s ontic initiation dates from his frequent visits in the 1920s to the Rhodakis House on the island of Aegina—a long since ruined stone house with naive symbolic embellishments and cryptic inscriptions on its walls, including the legendary “Ah Vah” which, was once told, signifies an inchoate expression of ecstasy.

View of the Saint Dimitrios Loumbardiaris courtyard and the path leading to Filopappou Monument, 1954–58, photograph, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archive, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athens

When we look back over the total span of his career we may see it as an oscillation that first emerged as a modern interpretation of the Greek neoclassical spirit, as we find in his Karamanos House of 1925 and which later turned into a modernizing apotheosis with his Lycabettus School of 1933. Thereafter Pikionis broke with modernity through his reinterpretation of the Macedonian vernacular as we find this in his Potamianos House in Philothei, completed in 1955. This disruption came a point of no return, when the architect arrived at a dematerialized manner that was at once Greek and anti-Greek; Greek in the sense that it was integrated into the unique Greek amalgam of landscape, climate, and light and anti-Greek in that its inspiration lay elsewhere, in the far-flung islands of Honshu or in the equally remote islands of the archaic pre-Hellenic Aegean under a timeless sun. This metaphysical yet popular syntax began to emerge with his designs for the un-realized Aixoni housing settlement, near Glyfada, dating from the early ’50s. This manner, surprisingly evocative of the “wattle” culture of the nomadic Greek Sarakatsan people, reached its clearest formulation in the Arestedis Pourris House built at Maroussi in 1953. Of such enigmatic autochthonous forms, his granddaughter Alexandra Papageorgiou has written:

He was stringently against the use of Western forms which are more representative of science and technology, and more tolerant of Eastern forms which are closely related to the ideals of a spiritual world. He admired the scale, form and materials of elements found in Japanese architecture, such as bamboo. He employed similar methods of construction, for example he elevated the ground floor of the Loumbardiaris pavilion and used stone footings at the base of its columns…1

Of the same generation as Le Corbusier and Mies van der Rohe, Pikionis was one of the first architects to realize that a regionally inflected culture could only be sustained in a post-vernacular age through the admixture of sympathetic alien cultures, just as Greek archaic sculpture had once been fertilized by Egypt. Thus the paving of Philopappou bears an uncanny relationship to the stone causeways of Zen temples, its overall patterns breaking across the curvature of the site so as to deny any perspectival anticipation of movement thereby engendering a seemingly infinite sequence of seams and gulleys in conjunction with the counter changing stonework.

Dimitris Pikionis (wearing white) working on the Saint Dimitrios Loumbardiaris courtyard, 1954–58, photograph, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archive, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athens

It is his ecological insistence on the interdependency of culture and nature, which gives Pikionis’s work a critical significance that is as relevant now as it was fifty years ago. For it totally repudiates our habitual fixation on the freestanding technical and/or aesthetic object, not to mention our destructive, Promethean attitude towards nature. While Pikionis realized very little in his life time—some six houses, a school, a theater, a park, a playground, and an apartment building—he nevertheless strove for an ontological architecture in which both subject and society would be mutually redeemed. Like Constantin Brancusi, Luis Barragán, and Carlo Scarpa, Pikionis invariably worked within tightly bounded domains, such as the oneiric children’s playground that he built in the Athenian suburb of Philothei in 1965. Close to the “not yet” of Ernst Bloch, Pikionis’s architecture was an architecture of hope. While he was only too aware of the harshness that was enveloping his beloved Greece, he nonetheless maintained the vision of a Mediterranean “other,” a Baudelairean sense of luxe, calme et volupté shimmering in the light, after the demise of technology.

—Kenneth Frampton


A version of this text first appeared in Dimitris Pikionis, Architect 1887­–1968: A Sentimental Topography (London: Architectural Association, 1989).

Stonemasons working on the Saint Dimitrios Loumbardiaris courtyard, 1954–58, photograph, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archive, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athens

1Alexandra Papageorgiou, “Pikionis and His Work,” thesis submitted to the Rhode Island School of Design, Department of Architecture, 1982.

Posted in Notes on 07.18.2017
Related

Dimitris Pikionis

Dimitris Pikionis studied architecture in Munich and fine arts in Paris, and then returned to Greece, where he taught at the National Technical University of Athens. His oeuvre includes buildings and urban…

 More

Dimitris Pikionis (1887–1968)

Sicht vom Hauptweg zum Filoppapou-Hügel, wo die erste Phase von Dimitris Pikionis' Neugestaltung der Pfade zu sehen ist, 1954–58, Fotografie, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archiv, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athen

Als ich 1959 zum ersten Mal die Akropolis besichtigte, fand ich mich beinahe zufällig in der angrenzenden Landschaft des Philopappou Hügels wieder. Dort fühlte ich zu meiner Überraschung nahezu wortwörtlich die Erde beben, während ich mich über die taktile Begegnung mit dem Pflaster und durch die ondulierten Pfade des dortigen Labyrinths navigierte. Es handelte sich um einen Ort, der ebenso mit dem Körper wie mit den Augen zu erleben war. Ebenso überraschend waren die steingepflasterten Terrassen und Bänke und insbesondere das holzgerahmte Temenos und das Teehäuschen, das neben der restaurierten Loumbardiaris Kirche stand. Beides schien aus einem Japan der Vorzeit gezeichnet und durch das kulturelle Sieb von Byzanz zu uns gelangt zu sein. Damals war mir nicht bewusst, dass diese Bühne noch nicht ganz fertig gestellt war und dass ein 27-jähriger Architekt die Arbeit beaufsichtigte.

Die vergangenen fünfzig Jahre haben unsere Sicht auf die Architektur verändert. Heute sehen wir das zwanzigste Jahrhundert wesentlich vielschichtiger und sind dementsprechend gezwungen, neu zu bewerten, was die Moderne geleistet und was sie angerichtet hat und wo wir heute im Verhältnis zu ihren mannigfachen Strängen stehen. Dabei treten Figuren in den Hintergrund, die zuvor als prominent galten, während andere, ehemals unbedeutende Akteure nun ins Rampenlicht treten. Pikionis ist einer dieser jüngst zu Berühmtheit gelangten, dessen Werk uns in eine strahlende Welt entführt, wo die „Dinghaftigkeit“ der Dinge, um mit Heidegger zu sprechen, zu ihrem Recht kommt. Pikionis’ ontische Initiation datiert aus seinen zahlreichen Besuchen im Haus Rhodakis auf der Insel Ägina während der 1920er Jahre – ein mittlerweile seit Langem verfallenes Steinhaus mit naiven symbolischen Verzierungen und kryptischen Inschriften, wie dem legendären „Ah Vah“, das, wie man erzählt, ein roher Ausdruck von Ekstase ist.

Sicht auf den Sankt Dimitrios Loumbardiaris Innenhof und den Pfad, der zum Filopappou-Monument führt, 1954–58, Fotografie, courtesy des Agni Pikioni Archivs, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athen

Blicken wir auf seine gesamte Karriere zurück, so lässt sich diese als ein Oszillieren betrachten, das zuerst als moderne Interpretation der griechischen Neoklassik auftrat, wie etwa an seinem Haus Karamanos von 1925 abzulesen ist, und das später mit seiner Lycabettus-Schule von 1933 zu einer Apotheose der Moderne wurde. Danach brach Pikionis mit der Moderne und lieferte eine Neuinterpretation der vernakulären mazedonischen Architektur. Ein Beispiel hierfür bietet sein 1955 fertiggestelltes Haus Potamianos in Philothei. Dieser Bruch wurde zu einem Wendepunkt, als der Architekt zu einer entmaterialisierten Bauweise fand, die zugleich griechisch und anti-griechisch war: griechisch in dem Sinn, dass sie in ein unverkennbar griechisches Amalgam aus Landschaft, Klima und Licht integriert war, und anti-griechisch in dem Sinn, dass ihre Inspiration anderenorts zu finden war, nämlich in den von einer zeitlosen Sonne beschienenen, weit entfernten Inseln von Honshu oder der vorzeitlich archaischen, prähellenischen Ägäis. Diese metaphysische und doch populäre Syntax trat erstmals in seinen Plänen für die nicht realisierte Siedlung Aixoni, nahe Glyfada, in den frühen 1950er Jahren in Erscheinung. Die Bauweise erinnert überraschend stark and die „Flechtwerk“-Kultur des griechischen Nomadenstamms der Sarakatsanen und erlangte ihre deutlichste Ausformulierung im Haus Arestedis Pourris, das 1953 in Maroussi erbaut wurde. Seine Enkelin Alexandra Papageorgiou schrieb hinsichtlich dieser rätselhaft autochthonen Formen:

Er war strikt gegen die Verwendung von westlichen Formen, die eher für Wissenschaft und Technik stehen, und hatte mehr für östliche Formen übrig, die enger an das Ideal einer spirituellen Welt orientiert sind. Er bewunderte Maßstab, Form und Materialien in der japanischen Architektur, wie etwa die Verwendung von Bambus. Er setzte ähnliche Bautechniken ein, wenn er beispielsweise das Erdgeschoss des Loumbardiaris-Pavillon anhob und Steinbasen für dessen Säulenbasen verwendete ...1

Pikionis gehörte derselben Generation wie Le Corbusier und Mies van der Rohe an und war einer der ersten Architekten, die sich darüber klar wurden, dass eine regional geprägte Kultur in einem post-vernakulären Zeitalter nur dann aufrechterhalten werden kann, wenn man Kulturen mischt, die zwar einander fremd, aber sich doch wohlgesinnt sind, wie etwa die archaische griechische Bildhaukunst von der ägyptischen befruchtet worden war. So weist die Pflasterung des Philopappou eine geradezu unheimliche Beziehung zu den Steindämmen der Zen-Tempel auf, wenn die übergreifenden Muster sich über der Wölbung brechen, sodass alle perspektivische Erwartung von Bewegung versagt bleibt und so eine scheinbar unendliche Abfolge von Nähten und Wasserrinnen in Verbindung mit alternierend versetzten Mauerwerkstrukturen hervorgerufen wird.

Dimitris Pikionis (in weiß) arbeitet am Sankt Dimitrios Loumbardiaris Innenhof, 1954-58, Fotografie, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archiv, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athen

Es ist sein ökologisch motiviertes Beharren auf der wechselseitigen Abhängigkeit von Kultur und Natur, die Pikionis’ Werk eine entscheidende Bedeutung verleiht, die heute so relevant ist wie vor fünfzig Jahren. Denn sie verwirft unsere gewohnte Fixierung auf das freistehende technische und/oder ästhetische Objekt vollständig, ganz zu Schweigen von unserer destruktiven, prometheischen Haltung gegenüber der Natur. Zwar baute Pikionis vergleichsweise wenig zu Lebzeiten – ungefähr sechs Häuser, eine Schule, ein Theater, ein Park, ein Spielplatz und ein Apartmenthaus –, so strebte er dennoch nach einer ontologischen Architektur, in der Subjekt und Gesellschaft sich wechselseitig berücksichtigt sehen konnten. Wie Constantin Brâncuși, Luis Barragán und Carlo Scarpa arbeitete Pikionis ausnahmslos in eng umgrenzten Bereichen, wie etwa der traumartige Spielplatz, den er 1965 im Athener Vorort Philothei baute. Dicht an dem „Noch-Nicht“ Ernst Blochs war Pikionis’ Architektur eine Architektur der Hoffnung. Zwar war er sich der Härte nur allzu bewusst, die sein geliebtes Griechenland umfing, doch hielt er die Vision eines mediterranen „Anderen“ aufrecht, einen Baudelaireschen Sinn von „luxe, calme et volupté“, die im Licht funkeln – nach dem Untergang aller Technik.

—Kenneth Frampton

Eine Version des vorliegenden Texts erschien erstmals in Dimitris Pikionis, Architect 1887–1968: A Sentimental Topography, London: Architectural Association, 1989.

Steinmetze arbeiten am Sankt Dimitrios Loumbardiaris Innenhof, 1954–58, Fotografie, courtesy Agni Pikioni Archiv, © Dimitris Pikionis A.M.K.E., Athen

Aus dem Englischen von Volker Ellerbeck

1Alexandra Papageorgiou, Pikionis and His Work, Dissertation, eingereicht am Fachbereich für Architektur an der Rhode Island School of Design, 1982.

Gepostet in Notizen am 18.07.2017
Verwandte Einträge

Dimitris Pikionis

Dimitris Pikionis studierte Architektur in München und Kunst in Paris, um dann nach Griechenland zurückzukehren, wo er an der Nationalen Technischen Universität in Athen lehrte. Sein Werk beinhaltet…

 Mehr