Menu
aneducation

Peppermint, aneducation space documenta 14, Museumsnacht Kassel 2016,

photo: Mathias Völzke

Public Education

aneducation

What shifts? What drifts? What remains?

documenta 14 is not a spaceship coming to land in Athens before moving on to Kassel. Rather this willful estrangement from one city to another and what drifts between them through this project relies on collective forms of action and individual capacities that emerge from the context and builds friendships as it grows. During the making of documenta 14, aneducation develops a process based approach to projects through research, meeting with people, listening and conversing, walking, reading, and looking that acknowledges the development of the mind and the body. A desire to shift the ways in which art, artists, and publics encounter one another within specific contexts is the point from which we embark on an open road of discovery. To learn from the context in which we situate ourselves means to observe the activity of and associate with groups and individuals with whom we find confluent affinities. The aneducation program for Learning from Athens positions itself as a form of exchange between the team, artists, and various forms of public that not only gathers knowledge but also disperses it—like a living organism that breathes and expels the air which it inhabits. aneducation develops projects with collectives, institutions, schools, universities, art colleges, and neighborhoods expanding upon key questions and motivations at the heart of documenta 14. Compelled by the working title Learning from Athens, aneducation is an integrated approach towards the public inviting them to journey with us.

aneducation is what remains after documenta 14 comes to an end.

Methodologies

aneducation researches and adopts the methodologies and approaches of a number of teachers, artists, and thinkers from a variety of periods and backgrounds.… More

Annemarie and Lucius Burckhardt (1930­–2012, Switzerland; 1925–2003, Switzerland)
Occupying the Lehrcanapé (“professorial sofa”) at the Gesamthochschule Kassel (now Kassel University) in the Department for the Study of Town Planning/Landscape Planning and practising so-called strollology, the Burckhardts inspired students not only to have a bird’s eye view of the city plan, but also to understand it on a 1:1 scale. What does it mean to walk within the cityscape and how does this change our perception of how to plan for the city? Coming from a background in sociology, the Burckhardts believed that the relationship between the planner or the architect, the city and its people could have a profound effect on the way that we plan for the future—not by asking what needs to be built but “who is planning the planning?” Thinking about the relationship between the kiosk, the tram stop, and the zebra crossing, the Burckhardts’ approach to educating students began with a return to the source of our mobility within the city.


Lina Bo Bardi (1914–1992, Italy)
The Italian-born architect, writer, and publisher Lina Bo Bardi spent the most of her professional career in Brazil. Having devoted her practice to the planning and building of public spaces, she is best known for the Museu de Arte de São Paulo, SESC Pompeia, and the Museu de Arte Moderna da Bahia. Bo Bardi approached notions of publicness, participation, locale, collectivity, and the ever-shifting status of documents and ruins in her architectural practice and scenographic work. Her core interests included how to keep the remnants of pasts—material, social, or oral—accessible, acknowledged, and relevant with a present context. How to work within existing structures? What is the relationship between the document, monument, and collective action? And drawing from this, how to account for the ephemeral moment of transformation? How to discern the diversity and dialectics of the public as audience and collaborator non-hierarchically? And finally, how to form affinities while maneuvering independently within fraught political circumstances?


Oscar and Zofia Hansen (1922–2005, Finland; 1924–2013, Poland)
“We have come to Otterlo to ask and try to answer a simple question: What do we have in common, and how are we to fight for it?,” wrote Oskar and Zofia Hansen in “The Open Form in Architecture—The Art of the Great Number.” Critical of the standardization of architectural forms in social housing, urban planning, and even education in Poland’s postwar period, the Hansens are both credited for the above-quoted manifesto, delivered at the 1959 CIAM gathering in the small Dutch town of Otterlo. As opposed to the “closed form” seen in functionalist responses to growing urban communities—whereby citizens became numbers to be housed, educated and employed—“open form” as an attitude rather than a doctrine, recognized the position of “the individual within the collective,” making them “indispensable in the creation of [their] own surroundings.” Only a few registrations of the Hansens’ “didactic tools” or “apparatuses” exist, mostly captured in photographs or the memories of students as strange analogue contraptions—some weblike and boxy, but always complex in structure, transformable, processual, even playful, and relational—set within a network of affinities and differences between the bodies negotiating them.


Ulises Carrión (1941–1989, Mexico)
Living in Mexico, Ulises Carrión began to write from an early age, after which he graduated in English Literature in the United Kingdom before moving to Amsterdam in the 1970s. Perhaps the labyrinthine structure of the city provided him with the conceptual tools for considering communication flows. During this time, Carrión shifted his approach to literature and started asking artist friends to send him a book that they had recently made. These “bookworks” made by artists soon became an extensive archive, and were displayed in Other Books and So, a small space in the center of Amsterdam. Carrión also travelled extensively in Europe and developed a series of performances; a film festival about Lilia Prado; a series of paper works; the radio broadcast “Trios and Boleros”; and a new commission for Dutch state television. In 1984, he travelled to New York and made a window installation at the independent space Franklin Furnace together with his friend Frans Gribelling. Just before his death in 1989, the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam acquired a considerable portion of the archive of Other Books and So, and in 2015 the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College in upstate New York acquired the rest.

Synantiseis

Beginning in March and running through June 2017, Synantiseis, a series of public conversations in Athens, introduces documenta through personal stories, reflections, narratives and experiences, film screenings, talks, performances, and DJ sets. How can an exhibition of contemporary art offer multiple perspectives on our global situation? Should exhibitions always respond to the social, cultural, and political realities of daily life? What are the world events that have made an impact on the developments of previous documenta exhibitions, and what impact have these exhibitions had?… More

documenta 14 Synantiseis invites the public to participate in a series of interdisciplinary sessions to foster a dialogue between the context of documenta exhibitions and the socio-political transformations that have taken place in Greece and the world as a whole. These presentations use different conversation formats to engage the public’s imagination, addressing subjects as varied as political speech and the (de)construction of national identity, resistance through performance art and music, film as poetry, the future of exhibition-making, archiving history, and mourning the past.

Synantiseis is part of aneducation, the public education program of documenta 14. All conversations are conducted in either English or Greek, often with translations into the other language, and take place in different venues across Athens.

Invited Contributors:
Clare Butcher, Panos Charalampous, Marina Fokidis, Hendrik Folkerts, Eirini Gerogianni, Georgia Kotretsos, Eirini Papakonstantinou, Nektarios Pappas, Christoph Platz, Gene Ray, Dieter Roelstraete, Monika Szewczyk, Adam Szymczyk, Katerina Tselou, Zafos Xagoraris, Denys Zacharopoulos, Arnisa Zeqo, and Mary Zygouri.

Summer Intensives

A selection of “pointy objects“ contributed by students to Panos Charalambous’s sound performance, Summer Intensive, Kunsthochschule Kassel, July 20, 2016, photo: Liebschuh

Artist Panos Charalampous guiding an experimental exercise, Summer Intensive, Kunsthochschule Kassel, July 20, 2016, photo: Liebschuh

Artist Zafos Xagoraris tests a hydrophone with students, Summer Intensive, Kunsthochschule Kassel, July 20, 2016, photo: Nektarios Pappas

Artist Rebecca Belmore leads a performative exercise with participants of the Summer Intensive, Auepark, Kassel, July 27, 2016, photo: aneducation

documenta 14 Curator Dieter Roelstraete presents the Gong Show, Summer Intensive, Halle2, Kassel, July 20, 2016, photo: aneducation

documenta 14 Curatorial Advisor Candice Hopkins shows students how to build contact microphones, Summer Intensive, Kunsthochschule Kassel, July 22, 2016, photo: Liebschuh

Artist Joar Nango shares the practice of Yoiking with participants of the Summer Intensive, Kunsthochschule Kassel, July 21, 2016, photo: aneducation

During the course of one year, a seasonal cycle of “intensive” courses is carried out by documenta 14 aneducation in collaboration with learning institutions in Athens, Kassel, and international partners. The Summer Intensives are based on a summer school model whereby thirty to forty participants from different cities and disciplinary backgrounds have the opportunity to come together and exchange learning models as well as their personal practices over an intense period of time with the guidance of special guests. These programs are led by questions and topics present within the practices of artists and other contributors to the documenta 14 project.… More

July 18–29, 2016
Hosted by the Kunsthochschule Kassel and Universität Kassel

documenta 14 Summer Intensive—School of Listening is a site of learning that includes listening sessions, sound walks, lectures, performances, screenings, and of course sound and music, housed in an ancient or contemporary ruin. During a ten-day program, guided by the questions “What shifts? What drifts? What remains?,” contributors to documenta 14 share their practices of listening in fields as diverse as architecture, composition, performance, and history. The Summer Intensive—School of Listening includes students from Kunsthochschule Kassel, Universität Kassel, Musikakademie Kassel, and the Athens School of Fine Arts.

Further Activities

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint

“And if someone were to dig us up in two thousand years, once all knowledge of our written language had disappeared, the cityscape would be the only thing by which we might be judged.”
—Lucius Burckhardt, Stadtplanung und Demokratie (1957)…

 More
Public Education

Kulturagent Project

The Kulturagent Project is a collaboration between documenta 14 and eight schools in Kassel and Nordhessen. From September 2016, the "Kulturagent" of documenta 14, Juliane Gallo, extends support to establish…

 More
Public Education

d14 Sessions

Shape-shifting, disorientation, and a search for new coordinates are amongst the layers of the d14 Sessions. Beginning in the summer semester 2016, these weekly sessions are led by the documenta 14 team…

 More
Public Education

Night Shift

Night Shift is an intermittent program of nocturnal activities exploring how the body responds to the shift from day to night and vice versa. In the build-up to the opening of documenta 14, aneducation…

 More
Public Education

Methodos/Übungen/Exercises

28 March–7 April 2016

“From Pireaus to the Polytechnion,” a walk with students of the Athens School of Fine Arts and artist Zafos Xagoraris up Athens’s…

 More
Public Education

Mapping Kassel

April 18–22, 2016

…In that Empire, the Art of Cartography attained such Perfection that the map of a single Province occupied the entirety of a City, and the map of the Empire, the entirety of a Province…

 More
Public Education

House of Commons

House of Commons is a series of gatherings with educators, artist collectives and cultural spaces, social initiatives, and community leaders in Kassel and Athens. We are interested in how cultural operators…

 More
Public Education
+ 1 More

Menu
Eine Erfahrung

Peppermint, „eine Erfahrung"-Raum documenta 14, Museumsnacht Kassel, 2016, 

Foto: Mathias Völzke

Vermittlungsprogramm

Eine Erfahrung

Was verschiebt sich? Was treibt? Was bleibt?

Die documenta 14 landet nicht wie ein Raumschiff in Athen, bevor sie nach Kassel weiterzieht. Sie ist vielmehr eine gewollte Verfremdung von einer Stadt zur anderen und in allem, was bei diesem Projekt zwischen beiden hin- und hertreibt. Sie ist ein Projekt, das auf kollektive Aktion und individuelle Fähigkeiten angewiesen ist, die aus dem Kontext heraus entstehen. Während sie wächst, wachsen auch Freundschaften. Daher entwickelt „eine Erfahrung“ einen von Künstler_innen geleiteten, prozessbasierten Ansatz: basierend auf Recherche, persönlichen Begegnungen, Zuhören und Austausch, Spazieren, Lesen und Betrachten und in Einbeziehung sowohl des Geistes als auch des Körpers. Die Begegnung zwischen Kunst, Kunstschaffenden und der Öffentlichkeit ist unser Ausgangspunkt, von dem aus wir uns auf eine Reise mit unbekanntem Ziel begeben und dabei von Gruppen und Individuen lernen, mit denen wir Synergien entwickeln. Das Programm „eine Erfahrung“ für Von Athen lernen positioniert sich als eine lebendige Währung, die zwischen dem Team, den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und den verschiedenen Öffentlichkeiten ausgetauscht werden kann. Es soll nicht nur Wissen sammeln, sondern auch in Umlauf bringen: wie ein lebender Organismus, der die Luft, in der er sich bewegt, sowohl einatmet als auch ausstößt. „Eine Erfahrung“ entwickelt gemeinsame Projekte mit Bildungseinrichtungen sowie künstlerischen und nachbarschaftlichen Initiativen, die mit den Projekten von Künstler_innen der documenta 14 und den Kernfragen der Ausstellung in Verbindung stehen. Gemäß dem Arbeitstitel Von Athen lernen wählt „eine Erfahrung“ einen integrativen Zugang zur Öffentlichkeit und lädt diese ein, uns auf der Reise zu begleiten.

„Eine Erfahrung“ ist das, was bleibt, wenn die documenta 14 endet.

Methodologien

„Eine Erfahrung“ greift Methodologien und Ansätze verschiedener Lehrender, Künstler_innen und Theoretiker_innen aus diversen Zeiten und Disziplinen auf.… Mehr

Annemarie und Lucius Burckhardt (1930–2012, Schweiz; 1925–2003, Schweiz)
Annemarie und Lucius Burckhardt waren Inhaber des Lehrcanapés an der Gesamthochschule Kassel (heute: Universität Kassel) im Fachbereich Architektur, Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung. Im Namen ihrer Spaziergangswissenschaft ermutigten sie Studierende, Stadtplanung nicht nur aus der Vogelperspektive, sondern auch im Maßstab 1:1 zu verstehen. Was bedeutet es, in der Stadtlandschaft spazieren zu gehen, und wie verändert dies unsere Vorstellung vom Planen für die Stadt? Als Soziologen waren die Burckhardts überzeugt, dass die Beziehung zwischen Planer_innen oder Architekt_innen und der Stadt und ihren Bewohner_innen von entscheidender Bedeutung für Zukunftsplanung sein könnte – die Frage sei demnach nicht, was gebaut werden müsse, sondern: „Wer plant eigentlich das Planen?“ Indem die Burckhardts etwa über das Verhältnis von Kiosk, Straßenbahnhaltestelle und Zebrastreifen nachdachten, setzten sie in der Lehre wieder bei den Ursprüngen unserer Mobilität in der Stadt an.


Lina Bo Bardi (1914–1992, Italien)
Die in Italien geborene Architektin, Autorin und Verlegerin Lina Bo Bardi verbrachte den Großteil ihrer Berufslaufbahn in Brasilien. Sie widmete ihre Arbeit dem Planen und Bauen öffentlicher Einrichtungen. Am bekanntesten wurden das Museu de Arte de São Paulo, das SESC Pompeia und das Museu de Arte Moderna da Bahia. Bo Bardi befasste sich in ihrer architektonischen und szenografischen Arbeit mit Konzepten von Öffentlichkeit, Partizipation, Örtlichkeit und Kollektivität, außerdem mit dem steten Wandel in der Bedeutung von Dokumenten und Ruinen. Eine ihrer Hauptinteressen galt der Frage, wie man stoffliche, gesellschaftliche oder mündliche Relikte der Vergangenheit wieder zugänglich macht und ihnen Anerkennung und Relevanz im Kontext der jeweiligen Gegenwart verschafft. Wie geht man mit bestehenden Strukturen um? Wie verhalten sich Dokumente, Denkmäler und kollektives Handeln zueinander? Und in weiterer Folge: Wie verhält man sich zum flüchtigen Moment von Transformation? Wie entwickelt man einen Scharfblick für die innere Vielfalt und Dialektik von Öffentlichkeit als Publikum und Mitstreiterin, ohne auf sie herabzusehen? Und schließlich: Wie schafft man Verbindungen, während man zugleich unabhängig bleiben und unter schwierigsten politischen Umständen seinen Weg gehen will?


Oskar und Zofia Hansen (1922–2005, Finnland; 1924–2013, Polen)
„Wir sind nach Otterlo gekommen, um eine einfache Frage zu stellen und zu beantworten: Was haben wir gemeinsam, und wie kämpfen wir dafür?“, schrieben Oscar und Zofia Hansen in ihrem Architekturmanifest „The Open Form in Architecture – The Art of the Great Number“. Die Hansens kritisierten Standardisierung architektonischer Formen, sei es im sozialen Wohnungsbau, in der Stadtplanung, oder in der Architekturausbildung in Polen nach dem 2. Weltkrieg. Sie präsentierten ihr Manifest während der CIAM-Tagung von 1959 in der kleinen niederländischen Stadt Otterlo. Die „offene Form“ stand für sie im Gegensatz zur „geschlossenen Form“ rein funktionalistischer Lösungen für wachsende Stadtbevölkerungen, bei denen aus Bürger_innen bloße Zahlen wurden, die man behausen, erziehen und beschäftigen musste. Die „offene Form“ war eher eine Haltung als eine Doktrin. Sie anerkannte „den Stellenwert des Individuums im Kollektiv“ und betrachtete seine Mitwirkung als „unverzichtbar für die Gestaltung der eigenen Wohnumgebung“. Von den „Lehrwerkzeugen“ oder „Apparaten“ der Hansens sind nur wenige Aufzeichnungen erhalten, zumeist in Form von Fotografien oder Erinnerungen ihrer Studierenden. Es handelte sich um eigenwillige analoge Gerätschaften – manche waren netzartig, andere schachtelförmig, doch stets waren sie komplex, wandelbar, prozesshaft, sogar spielerisch, und standen in Bezug zu anderen Objekten, eingebunden in ein Netz von Ähnlichkeiten und Differenzen zwischen den Körpern, die sie benutzten.


Ulises Carrión (1941–1989, Mexiko)
In Mexiko geboren und aufgewachsen, begann Ulises Carrión schon früh zu schreiben. Er studierte in Großbritannien englische Literatur und zog in den 1970er Jahren nach Amsterdam. Möglicherweise war es die labyrinthische Struktur der Innenstadt von Amsterdam, die ihn mit dem begrifflichen Werkzeug für die Analyse von Kommunikationsflüssen versah. In dieser Zeit änderte sich sein Umgang mit Literatur. Er begann, befreundete Künstler_innen zu bitten, ihm ein Buch zu schicken, das sie unlängst produziert hatten. Aus diesen einzelnen „bookworks“ von Künstlern wuchs mit der Zeit ein umfangreiches Archiv heran, dessen Bestände im kleinen Kunstraum Other Books and So in der Amsterdamer Innenstadt ausgestellt wurden. Carrión reiste ausführlich durch Europa und schuf eine Reihe von Performances, ein Filmfestival über Lilia Prado, eine Serie von Papierarbeiten, die Radiosendung „Trios and Boleros“ und eine Auftragsarbeit für den niederländischen öffentlichen Rundfunk. 1984 reiste er nach New York und richtete gemeinsam mit seinem Freund Frans Gribelling im unabhängigen Kunstraum Franklin Furnace eine Fensterinstallation ein. Kurz vor seinem Tod 1989 erwarb das Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam einen erheblichen Teil des Archivs von Other Books and So, und im Jahr 2015 kaufte das Center for Curatorial Studies am Bard College im Staat New York den verbleibenden Bestand.

Synantiseis

Synantiseis findet von März bis Juni 2017 als öffentliche Gesprächsreihe in Athen statt, während derer die documenta anhand von persönlichen Geschichten, Reflexionen, Erzählungen und Erlebnissen, Filmvorführungen, Vorträgen und DJ-Sets vorgestellt wird. Wie kann eine Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst mehrfache Perspektiven auf unsere globale Lage eröffnen? Sollten Ausstellungen immer zu gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und politischen Alltagswirklichkeiten Stellung nehmen? Welche Weltereignisse haben sich auf die Entwicklung früherer documenta Ausstellungen ausgewirkt, und welche Wirkung hatten umgekehrt diese Ausstellungen?… Mehr

documenta 14 Synantiseis lädt zur Teilnahme an einer Serie interdisziplinärer Begegnungen ein, die einen Dialog zwischen dem Kontext der documenta Ausstellungen und den aktuellen gesellschaftlich-politischen Umwälzungen in Griechenland und auf der ganzen Welt in Gang bringen wollen. Um die Vorstellungskraft des Publikums einzubeziehen, nutzen die einzelnen Präsentationen verschiedene Gesprächsformate. Sie behandeln so verschiedene Themen wie die politische Rede und die (De-)Konstruktion nationaler Identität, den Widerstand mit den Mitteln der darstellenden Kunst und Musik, Film als Dichtung, die Zukunft des Ausstellungsmachens, das Archivieren der Geschichte und Trauer um die Vergangenheit.

Synantiseis ist Teil von „eine Erfahrung“, dem öffentlichen Vermittlungsprogramm der documenta 14. Alle Gespräche finden auf Englisch oder Griechisch mit Übersetzungen zwischen diesen Sprachen und an verschiedenen Veranstaltungsorten in ganz Athen statt.

Eingeladene Teilnehmer_innen:
Clare Butcher, Panos Charalampous, Marina Fokidis, Hendrik Folkerts, Eirini Gerogianni, Georgia Kotretsos, Eirini Papakonstantinou, Nektarios Pappas, Christoph Platz, Gene Ray, Dieter Roelstraete, Monika Szewczyk, Adam Szymczyk, Katerina Tselou, Zafos Xagoraris, Denys Zacharopoulos, Arnisa Zeqo und Mary Zygouri.

#1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017

mit Irene Gerogianni und Mary Zygouri

Vor dem Hintergrund des turbulenten Jahres 1968 und der 4. documenta im selben Jahr erörtern die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri und die Kunsthistorikerin Irene Gerogianni das Werk von Maria Karavela (1938–2012)…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

#2 documenta 5
Showdown in Metaxourgio. Diskonekt vs. The Jazz Professor in: The Battle of ‘72

mit Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas

Ausgangspunkt für Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas ist das Jahr 1972, in dem Harald Szeemanns wegweisende documenta 5 stattfand. Diese documenta wurde zu einem der meistdiskutierten Beispiele zeitgenössischer…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

#3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017

mit Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou

Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou nutzen das Jahr 1982, in dem die documenta 7 stattfand, zum Einstieg in ihre Erkundung verschiedener Performancetraditionen. Während die 1960er und 1970er…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Sommer-Intensivkurse

Eine Auswahl an „spitzen Objekten“, zusammengetragen von Studierenden für eine Sound-Performance von Panos Charalambous, Sommer-Intensivkurse, Kunsthochschule Kassel, 20. Juli 2016, Foto: Liebschuh

 

Künstler Panos Charalampous leitet eine experimentelle Übung, Sommer-Intensivkurse, Kunsthochschule Kassel, 20. Juli 2016, Foto: Liebschuh

Künstler Zafos Xagoraris testet ein Hydrophon mit Studierenden, Sommer-Intensivkurse, Kunsthochschule Kassel, 20. Juli 2016, Foto: Nektarios Pappas

Künstlerin Rebecca Belmore leitet eine performative Übung mit Teilnehmer_innen der Sommer-Intensivkurse, Auepark, Kassel, 27. Juli 2016, Foto: „eine Erfahrung"

documenta 14 Kurator Dieter Roelstraete presentiert die Gong-Show, Sommer-Intensivkurse, Halle2, Kassel, 20. Juli 2016, Foto: „eine Erfahrung"

Candice Hopkins, Kuratorische Beraterin der documenta 14, zeigt Studierenden, wie man Kontaktmikrofone baut, Sommer-Intensivkurse, Kunsthochschule Kasse, 22. Juli 2016, Foto: Liebschuh

Künstler Joar Nango zeigt den Teilnehmer_innen der Sommer-Intensivkurse die Technik des Joik, Kunsthochschule Kassel, 21. Juli 2016, Foto: „eine Erfahrung"

Im Verlauf eines Jahres veranstaltet die documenta 14 „eine Erfahrung“ gemeinsam mit Bildungseinrichtungen in Athen und Kassel sowie mit anderen internationalen Partnerinnen einen Saisonzyklus von „Intensiv“-Kursen. Die Sommer-Intensivkurse beruhen auf einem universitären Sommerkurs-Modell. Jeweils 30 bis 40 Teilnehmer_innen unterschiedlicher örtlicher und disziplinärer Herkunft begegnen einander, um sich über Bildungsmodelle und die eigene Arbeit in konzentrierter Form unter Anleitung von Gastdozent_innen auszutauschen. Diese Veranstaltungen werden von Fragen und Themen bestimmt, die auch die Arbeit der Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie anderer Mitwirkender der documenta 14 prägen.… Mehr

18.–29. Juli 2016
In den Räumen der Kunsthochschule Kassel und der Universität Kassel

Der documenta 14 Sommerintensivkurs – Schule des Zuhörens ist ein Ort des Lernens, der Hörübungen, Klangspaziergänge, Vorträge, Performances, Filmvorführungen und selbstverständlich Ton und Musik beinhaltet. Er findet in einer alten oder zeitgenössischen Ruine statt. Im Lauf des zehntägigen Programms, am Leitfaden der Fragen „Was verschiebt sich? Was treibt? Was bleibt?“ entlang berichten Mitwirkende der documenta 14 von ihren Praktiken des Hörens auf so verschiedenen Gebieten wie Architektur, Komposition, Performance und Geschichte. Teilnehmerinnen des Sommerintensivkurses – Schule des Zuhörens sind Studierende der Kunsthochschule Kassel, der Universität Kassel, der Musikakademie Kassel und der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Schulprogramm: „Material Matters“

Eine Bibliothek der Materialien und Objekte im Dialog mit Kunstwerken…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Unpacking Burckhardt im Peppermint

„Und wenn man uns in 2000 Jahren einmal ausgräbt, und die Kenntnis unserer Schrift ist verlorengegangen, so wird man uns nach nichts anderem beurteilen können als nach dem Stadtbild.“
—Lucius Burckhardt, Stadtplanung und Demokratie (1957)…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Kulturagent-Projekt

Ab September 2016 startet in Kassel und im Landkreis an acht Schulen erstmals das Projekt „Ein Kulturagent für die documenta 14“, mit der Kulturagentin Juliane Gallo. Ziel des Projektes ist es, bei…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

d14 Sessions

Formwandlung, Orientierungsverlust und die Suche nach neuen Koordinaten sind einige der thematischen Schichten der d14 Sessions. Beginnend mit dem Sommersemester 2016, veranstalten d14 Mitwirkende und…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Nachtschicht

Die Nachtschicht ist ein Zwischenprogramm abendlich-nächtlicher Aktivitäten zur Erkundung der Frage, wie sich unser Körper auf die Veränderungen zwischen Tag und Nacht und umgekehrt einstellt. Im Vorfeld…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Methodos/Übungen/Exercises

28. März–7. April 2016

„Von Piräus zum Polytechnion“, ein Spaziergang mit Studierenden der Kunsthochschule Athen und dem Künstler Zafos Xagoraris…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

Kassel kartieren

18.–22. April 2016

…In jenem Reich erlangte die Kunst der Kartographie eine solche Vollkommenheit, dass die Karte einer einzigen Provinz den Raum einer Stadt einnahm und die Karte des Reichs den einer…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm

House of Commons

Das House of Commons ist eine Reihe von Zusammenkünften zwischen Lehrerinnen und Lehrern, Künstler_innenkollektiven und Kunsträumen, gesellschaftlichen Initiativen und Vertreter_innen verschiedener…

 Mehr
Vermittlungsprogramm
+ 2 Mehr