Menu
Latest

Keimena #28: Don Giovanni

Carmelo Bene’s 1971 film Don Giovanni is not an adaptation of a famous Don Juan story. Instead, the film critically investigates the multifaceted legend of the wealthy male sinner who seduces one woman after another. This is a film about Don Juanism…

 More
Public TV

About

Keimena: a documenta 14 Film Program on ERT2, airing Mondays at midnight from December 19, 2016 to September 18, 2017

Keimena is a weekly broadcast of films presented by the Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation (ERT), and organized by documenta 14. By relying for its presentation on ERT, Greece's public television broadcaster, the project aims to extend documenta 14’s scope into viewers’ homes, imagining and constituting new and different communities, contexts, and contingencies.

Keimena’s program focuses on the fields of experimental documentary and fiction, presenting films whose approaches and topics engage social, political, and poetic concerns and whose concepts, themes, and positions are in dialogue with the overall curatorial visions of documenta 14.

Television, both public and private, is a key factor in Greece’s recent history and development. Its importance in mediating and reflecting upon the country’s current socio-economic predicament cannot be overstated. Despite suffering severe budget cuts which affected its operability, ERT remains the official “public” medium, especially in Greece’s collective consciousness; ERT’s controversial closure in 2013 as part of austerity measures generated immediate and extensive protests nationwide.

While TV viewing can appear to be a solitary activity, it is also—especially when compared to online surfing and streaming habits—a synchronized and therefore collective experience that happens in real time. Like visiting an exhibition, it too requires prior programmatic commitment from the viewer and facilitates the subsequent sharing of the experience. Such structural qualities and the fundamental principles of public service broadcasting—including a sense of community, distance from vested interests, and attention to social minorities—are as essential to Keimena as the individual themes of the many films included in the series.

The films are chosen both for their pertinent subject matter, as well as for the singular filmic forms they present. Each provides a reflection on some of the most invisible, fleeting, and quotidian aspects of human social relations as well as those of global structures of power. Each film develops its own unique language to reflect the intangible reality it presents. The program includes films dating back to the 1970s, recent productions, and new films commissioned by documenta 14. All of them tackle contemporary issues pertinent to life in Greece and elsewhere in times of economic hardship and social unrest.

Given the exceptional quality and rarity of the films presented, the Keimena curators hope that the program quickly establishes itself as a weekly highlight for Greek cinephiles and the broader public. Keimena aims to be one of the most exciting presentations of film culture on television worldwide, offering direct access to a range of feature-length and short experimental documentary and fiction films by prominent independent filmmakers and artists that have restricted availability elsewhere.

Keimena functions within the guidelines of ERT and of public service broadcasting, and its content engages the television viewer over a period of nine months of regular weekly programming. In the same way that a film is introduced before being screened at a film festival, or artworks in a museum exhibition are accompanied by an informative label, Keimena broadcasts are preceded by short introductions that offer a broad reading and contextualization that complements and enriches the viewing session. Written by international authors—film and art critics, philosophers, journalists, filmmakers, and other experts who have a unique knowledge and insight into a particular film—these introductions are as much an integral part of the programming effort as the films themselves.

Keimena runs on ERT2 every Monday at midnight; the duration of the broadcasts varies according to the running time of the films. Additionally, the films will be available for streaming within Greece via webtv.ert.gr for seven days after each broadcast. All films are presented in their original language with Greek subtitles.
 

Credits

Keimena is a documenta 14 Film Program, curated by Hila Peleg and Vassily Bourikas.

Project Coordination: Konstantinos Frangopoulos (Venia Vergou: May 2016–February 2017)
Editorial Coordination: Antonia Rahofer

Editor: Filipa Ramos
Assistant Editor: Ben Eastham
Copy Editors (Greek): Lenia Mazaraki, Fotini Lazaridou-Hatzigoga
Translation and subtitles: Tony Moser, Giorgos Giannakopoulos, Yannis Andreou, Yannis Papadakis, Pelagia Tsinari

Postproduction: StudioBauhaus, Athens

Opening sequence concept and design: Mevis & Van Deursen, Amsterdam
Opening sequence realization: Blommers / Schumm, Amsterdam
Music in the opening sequence: Mort Aux Vaches: Untitled 4 by Pan Sonic and Charlemagne Palestine, 2015

Previous Broadcasts

Keimena #27: He Who Eats Children, Atlantis, and TRYPPS #7 (Badlands)

by Ben Russell

Ben Russell—the director of Trypps #7 (Badlands), Atlantis, and He Who Eats Children—is an itinerant filmmaker. From Vanuatu to Rhode Island, he reaffirms and interrogates the affinities between cinema and travel that have existed since the medium’s earliest years. No matter where he shoots, at stake is a reckoning with otherness—with other psychic states, other ways of living, other cultures—and with the cinema itself…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #26: Leviathan

by Véréna Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel’s Leviathan revolutionizes cinema’s documentary tradition. The film turns the cinematic gaze into an immersive experience that offers a hallucinatory, unsettling, and crude depiction of modern industrial fishery…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #25: Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams (2016) was conceived and produced by the Karrabing Film Collective, an extended family whose Indigenous lands stretch across the western coast of Australia’s Northern Territory…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #24: Ának Araw

by Gym Lumbera

Gym Lumbera’s Ának Araw begins with words on the screen: a procession of basic English nouns accompanied by pictographic representations. These are followed by their live-action representations, subtitled in Tagalog. Words, but no dialogue…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #23: Mababangong bangungot (Perfumed Nightmare)

by Kidlat Tahimik

Perfumed Nightmare is directed by the self-taught filmmaker Kidlat Tahimik, who also plays the lead role. It tells the story of a humble, small-town lad who drives a “jeepney,” one of the trucks left behind by the US military that are still the main form of public transportation in the Philippines…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #22: Ernste Spiele I–IV (Serious Games I–IV)

by Harun Farocki

Images of war pervade our screens, streaming in real time, impossible to ignore. Harun Farocki’s Serious Games reminds us that this spectacle is only one aspect of the mediatization of combat: the image does not simply picture war, but is also an instrument of warfare…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #21: Bamako

by Abderrahmane Sissako

Directed by the Mauritanian Abderrahmane Sissako and set in the capital of Mali, Bamako examines the links between global economic policies and everyday life. It follows a singer and her unemployed husband. In the yard of the house they share with other families, a court is in session. On trial are the global institutions accused of impoverishing Africa…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #20: Inventur – Metzstraße 11 and Logbook_Serbistan

by Želimir Žilnik

In the forty years between Inventur - Metzstrasse 11 and Logbook_Serbistan, Želimir Žilnik never ceased to give voice to the disenfranchised. Made in 1975, Inventur belongs to Žilnik's German period, when he fled Yugoslavia following the collapse of the “black wave” generation of Yugoslavian cinema of which the Serbian’ director was a key member…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #19: 48

by Susana de Sousa Dias

A face appears in Susana de Sousa Dias’ 48 — the profile of a young woman, a black-and-white photograph, taken decades ago. Her face is stern, proud, austere. Yet she weeps. She tells a tale of humiliation, frustration, and defeat. She has no name, no age, no flesh…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #18: Nespatřené (The Unseen)

by Miroslav Janek

“Sometimes I think I should give up, but life is for living,” says a blind boy in Miroslav Janek’s The Unseen. This award-winning documentary takes place in a school for blind children in Prague. For too long the disabled were hidden from the public eye, they were unseen. Janek’s film rectifies this by allowing the children to tell their own stories…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #17: Chamissos Schatten, Kapitel 1: Alaska und aleutische Inseln (Chamisso’s Shadow, Chapter 1: Alaska and Aleutian Islands)

by Ulrike Ottinger

Ulrike Ottinger’s Chamissos Shadow Chapter 1: Alaska and Aleutian Islands takes as its point of departure the accounts of Adelbert von Chamisso. The nineteenth-century botanist and poet was a voyager on the Romanzow research expedition, which aimed to find a passage between the Pacific and Atlantic oceans…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #16: Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention (Democracy Under AttackAn Intervention)

by Romuald Karmakar

In December 2011, ten German intellectuals met in Berlin to discuss the current political crisis: how democracy had been undermined, weakened, hollowed out, and perverted by the so-called free market and its functions…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #15: Baghé Sangui (The Garden of Stones)

by Parviz Kimiavi

The Garden of Stones, by Parviz Kimiavi, won the Silver Bear at the Berlin Film Festival in 1976. Born in Tehran in 1939 and now living in Paris, Kimiavi is a cult figure in the Iranian New Wave. He studied film and photography at l'École Louis Lumière in Paris and worked in French television before returning to Iran in 1969, where he became a pioneering figure in Iran’s alternative cinema scene…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #14: Elias Petropoulos: Enas kosmos ypogeios (Elias Petropoulos: An Underground World)

by Kalliopi Legaki

Elias Petropoulos, who died in 2003, was the first Greek folklore researcher, author, and historian to document underground cultures and figures shunned by official history. A restless, inquisitive spirit, he was the enemy of academicism and the establishment…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #13: Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance

by Alanis Obomsawin

Abenaki director Alanis Obomsawin’s film Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance focuses on a small Kanien'kéha:ka (Mohawk) community, unheard of by many Canadians until a protest began on March 10, 1990…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #12: Krisis

by Dimitri Venkov

Dimitri Venkov’s Krisis is based on a Facebook discussion on December 8, 2013, the day that “Leninopad,” the widespread demolition of monuments to Vladimir Lenin, kicked off in Ukraine. The first monument to be dismantled in Kyiv was made by Soviet sculptor Sergei Merkurov and was erected in 1946, while Stalin was still in power. The Ukrainian ultra-nationalist party Svoboda (Freedom) claimed responsibility…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #11: Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

by Narimane Mari

Bloody Beans, Narimane Mari’s first feature-length film, is a dreamlike take on the violent spiral of Algeria’s recent history. Its force and beauty is that it does not employ a straightforward historical narrative, but instead re-enacts the past through play…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #10: Rabo de Peixe (Fish Tail)

by Joaquim Pinto and Nuno Leonel

Joaquim Pinto and Nuno Leonel’s film Rabo de Peixe portrays an island within an island.” Rabo de Peixe is a fishing village, located on the island of São Miguel, which hosts the largest community of traditional fisheries in the Portuguese archipelago of the Azores. The re-edit of their 2003 film combines ethnographic observation and sociological investigation with a diaristic style and a nostalgic tone to portray the male members of two generations of fishermen from Rabo de Peixe and their daily lives, ambitions, and struggles…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #9: The Forgotten Space

by Allan Sekula and Noël Burch

American artist Allan Sekula made The Forgotten Space after he was invited to create a work of art in a public space. He thought it important to understand television as such a public space and set out to make a film for national television with his co-director, the Paris-based American film theorist Noël Burch…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #8: Ku Qian (Bitter Money)

by Wang Bing

“Time is money (bastard)” sang the Swans in 1986. The same refrain—deprived of its punk rage—drives the subjects of Wang Bing’s Bitter Money. The film follows country people moving to the city to be employed as textile workers on daily or seasonal contracts…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #7: Manazil bela abwab (Houses Without Doors)

by Avo Kaprealian

Houses without Doors is a subjective, intimate chronicle of the survival of a Syrian-Armenian family in Aleppo as the civilian uprising devolved into an armed conflict between 2011 and 2014. Like many in Syria, director Avo Kaprealian felt compelled to document the extraordinary events of the uprising…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #6: Voilà l'enchaînement

by Claire Denis

How two people come apart can be as compelling to watch as what brings them together. In Clarie Denis’ film Voilà l’enchaînement, the fissures in a relationship between a black man (Alex Descas) and a white woman (Norah Krief) are apparent from the first scene. Longing for more closeness, and caressing his shoulder, she asks him to tattoo her name on his body. He gently refuses: “for you it means eternity, for me it means branded.” Does the friction of this early exchange—still light enough to be softened with an embrace, but opening a crack of enmity—set in motion what comes next…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #5: Verzió

by Miklós Erdély

Miklós Erdély’s Version gravitates around Tiszaeszlár, a small East Hungarian village where in 1882 a young maid went missing and was later found dead in the river. The local Jewish community was accused of ritually murdering her. The blood libel trial that followed ignited anti-Semitic propaganda, agitation, and later pogroms in Austria-Hungary that gained worldwide attention…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #4: La Mort de Louis XIV

by Albert Serra

Albert Serra’s The Death of Louis XIV is an exquisite meditation on death, dignity and voyeurism that unfurls like a baroque tapestry. Visionary Catalan filmmaker and artist Albert Serra is contemporary cinema’s master historicist…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #3: Oncle Bernard—L’anti-leçon d’économie

by Richard Brouillette

Depicted in Richard Brouillette’s Oncle Bernard – A Counter-Lesson in Economics, Bernard Maris, who wrote under the pseudonym of Uncle Bernard in his “Charlie Hebdo” column, had the mission of unmasking the professional fabricators of the economy—those who, every day, wherever we are, fill us with the same rubbish, draped in a phony pseudo-science whose goal is to disguise the mechanisms of that power which enslaves us…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #2: Sleepless Nights Stories

by Jonas Mekas

Sleepless Nights Stories originated from my reading of the One Thousand and One Nights. While my stories, unlike the Arabian tales, are all from the real life, they too, at some points wander into somewhere else, beyond the everyday routine reality…

 More
Public TV

Keimena #1: From Gulf to Gulf to Gulf

by CAMP

CAMP’s From Gulf to Gulf to Gulf describes a journey on the high seas. A group of sailors from the Kutch district in western India—along with fellow seafarers from southern Iran and the Pakistani provinces of Sindh and Balochistan—transport goods and livestock in wooden vessels across the Persian and Aden gulfs…

 More
Public TV

Menu
Aktuell

Keimena #19: 48

von Susana de Sousa Dias

In Susana de Sousa Dias’ Film 48 taucht ein Gesicht auf — das Profil einer jungen Frau, ein Schwarz-Weiß-Foto, das vor Jahrzehnten aufgenommen wurde. Ihr Gesicht ist streng, stolz und herb. Doch sie weint. Sie erzählt eine Geschichte von Erniedrigung, Enttäuschung und Niederlage. Sie hat keinen Namen, kein Alter, keinen Körper…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Über

Keimena: Ein Filmprogramm der documenta 14 auf ERT2, jeden Montag um Mitternacht, vom 19. Dezember 2016 bis zum 18. September 2017

Keimena ist ein wöchentliches Filmprogramm, das von dem griechischen Fernsehsender ERT ausgestrahlt und von der documenta 14 gestaltet wird. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit der öffentlichen Fernsehanstalt Griechenlands ERT versucht das Projekt die Reichweite der documenta 14 ins Zuhause der Zuschauer_innen zu erweitern und so neue und andere Öffentlichkeiten, Kontexte und Kontingenzen zu schaffen.

Das Programm der Keimena-Reihe widmet sich dem experimentellen Dokumentar- und Spielfilm. Es präsentiert Filme, deren Ansätze gesellschaftliche, politische und poetische Anliegen betreffen und deren Konzepte, Themen und Positionen mit den übergreifenden kuratorischen Visionen der documenta 14 im Dialog stehen.

Die Rolle des öffentlichen und privaten Fernsehens ist für die neuere Geschichte und Entwicklung Griechenlands nicht zu unterschätzen. Seine Bedeutung in der Vermittlung und Reflektion der derzeitigen sozioökonomischen Lage des Landes ist enorm. Trotz der schweren budgetären Einschnitte, die seinen Betrieb beeinträchtigt haben, bleibt der Fernsehsender ERT das offizielle „öffentliche“ Medium, nicht zuletzt für das kollektive Bewusstsein Griechenlands. Die umstrittene Schließung von ERT im Jahr 2013 im Rahmen der Sparmaßnahmen führte sofort zu ausgedehnten landesweiten Protesten.

Erscheint Fernsehen zunächst als eine einsame Aktivität, so ist es doch auch – vor allem, wenn man es mit dem Surfen und Streamen im Internet vergleicht – eine synchronisierte und daher kollektive Erfahrung in Echtzeit. Ähnlich wie bei einem Ausstellungsbesuch muss sich die Betrachterin vorab für ein Programm entscheiden, und kann die Erfahrung daraufhin mit anderen teilen. Strukturelle Qualitäten wie diese und die basalen Prinzipien einer öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehanstalt – zu denen ein gewisser Gemeinschaftssinn, Abstand von Ansichten bestimmter Interessengruppen und ein ausgewogener Umgang mit gesellschaftlichen Minderheiten gehören – sind genauso grundlegende Einflüsse für Keimena wie die Themen der zahlreichen Filme, die in der Reihe gezeigt werden.

Die Auswahl der Filme erfolgt aufgrund der Relevanz ihrer Themen sowie ihrer singulären filmischen Form. Sie reflektieren einige der unsichtbarsten, flüchtigsten und alltäglichsten Aspekte menschlichen Soziallebens genauso wie die globaler Machstrukturen. Jeder Film entwickelt und präsentiert seine eigene einzigartige Sprache als Echo einer ungreifbaren Realität. Teil des Programms sind Filme, deren Entstehungsdaten bis in die 1970er Jahre zurückreichen, ebenso wie neue Filmarbeiten, die von der documenta 14 in Auftrag gegeben wurden. Sie alle reflektieren zeitgenössische Themen, die in Zeiten ökonomischer Härte und gesellschaftlicher Unruhe in Griechenland wie auch anderswo relevant sind.

Die Kurator_innen hoffen, dass sich die Reihe dank der außerordentlichen Qualität und des Seltenheitswerts der gezeigten Arbeiten schnell zum wöchentlichen Höhepunkt für griechische Filmliebhaber_innen ebenso wie für eine breitere Öffentlichkeit entwickeln wird. Keimena hat den Anspruch, weltweit eine der aufregendsten Präsentationen von Filmkultur im Fernsehen zu sein. Zahlreiche abendfüllende Spielfilme ebenso wie kürzere experimentelle Dokumentarfilme von wichtigen Filmautor_innen und Künstler_innen werden unmittelbar zugänglich gemacht, die anderswo nicht leicht verfügbar sind.

Keimena folgt den Leitlinien von ERT und denen öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunks und versucht mit seinen Inhalten und dem wöchentlichen Programm das Interesse der Fernsehzuschauer_innen über einen Zeitraum von neun Monaten zu wecken. Wie bei Filmfestivals, bei denen vor der Vorstellung kurz in die einzelnen Filme eingeführt wird, oder Museumsausstellungen, wo Kunstwerke mit Informationen versehen werden, gehen auch den Filmen der Keimena-Reihe kurze Einführungen voraus, die einen allgemeinen Abriss präsentieren und den jeweiligen Film in einen Kontext einbetten, der die darauffolgende Betrachtung des Films ergänzt und bereichert. Die Einführungen werden von internationalen Film- und Kunstkritiker_innen, Philosoph_innen, Journalist_innen und anderen Autor_innen verfasst, die besonderes Wissen zu den jeweiligen Filmen mitbringen. Die Einführungen sind in gleichem Maße integraler Bestandteil der Programmgestaltung wie die Filme selbst.

Keimena läuft immer montags um Mitternacht auf ERT2. Die Länge der Sendung hängt von der Länge des jeweils gezeigten Films ab. Nach den jeweiligen Ausstrahlungsterminen sind die Filme weitere sieben Tage auf webtv.ert.gr von Griechenland aus verfügbar. Alle Filme werden in Originalsprache mit griechischen Untertiteln gezeigt.


Credits

Keimena ist ein Filmprogramm der documenta 14, kuratiert von Hila Peleg und Vassily Bourikas.

Projektkoordination: Konstantinos Frangopoulos (Venia Vergou: Mai 2016–Februar 2017)
Redaktionskoordination: Antonia Rahofer

Redaktion: Filipa Ramos
Redaktionsassistenz: Ben Eastham
Korrektorat (Griechisch): Lenia Mazaraki, Fotini Lazaridou-Hatzigoga
Übersetzungen und Untertitel: Tony Moser, Giorgos Giannakopoulos, Yannis Andreou, Yannis Papadakis, Pelagia Tsinari

Postproduktion: StudioBauhaus, Athen

Konzept und Gestaltung der Eröffnungssequenz: Mevis & Van Deursen, Amsterdam
Realisierung der Eröffnungssequenz: Blommers / Schumm, Amsterdam
Musik der Eröffnungssequenz: Mort Aux Vaches: Untitled 4 von Pan Sonic und Charlemagne Palestine (2015)

Vorherige Filme

Keimena #18: Nespatřené (The Unseen)

von Miroslav Janek

„Manchmal denke ich mir, ich sollte aufgeben – aber man soll das Leben leben“, sagt ein blinder Junge in Miroslav Janeks The Unseen. Dieser preisgekrönte Dokumentarfilm spielt in einer Schule für sehbehinderte Kinder in Prag. Lange Zeit blieben Menschen mit körperlichen Beeinträchtigungen dort dem Blick der Öffentlichkeit entzogen, sie waren nicht sichtbar. Janeks Film korrigiert dies nun und ermöglicht es den Kindern, ihre eigenen Geschichten zu erzählen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #17: Chamissos Schatten, Kapitel 1: Alaska und Aleutische Inseln

von Ulrike Ottinger

Ulrike Ottingers Chamissos Schatten, Kapitel 1: Alaska und Aleutische Inseln nimmt Aufzeichnungen von Adelbert von Chamisso zum Ausgangspunkt. Der Botaniker und Dichter des 19. Jahrhunderts war ein Mitreisender der Romanzow-(Rurik-)Forschungsexpedition, deren Ziel es war, die Nordwestpassage zwischen dem Pazifischen und dem Atlantischen Ozean zu finden…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #16: Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention (Democracy Under AttackAn Intervention)

von Romuald Karmakar

Im Dezember 2011 trafen sich zehn deutsche Intellektuelle in Berlin, um die aktuelle politische Krise zu besprechen und zu diskutieren, auf welche Weise die Demokratie vom so genannten freien Markt und seiner Funktionsweise untergraben, geschwächt, ausgehöhlt und pervertiert wurde…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #15: Baghé Sangui (The Garden of Stones)

von Parviz Kimiavi

Baghé Sangui von Parviz Kimiavi gewann 1967 bei den Berliner Filmfestspielen den Silbernen Bären. Der 1939 in Teheran geborene Kimiavi lebt heute in Paris und ist für die iranische New Wave eine Kultfigur. Er studierte an der École Louis-Lumière in Paris Film und Fotografie und arbeitete für das französische Fernsehen, ehe er 1969 wieder in den Iran zurückkehrte, wo er zum Pionier des dortigen Alternativkinos wurde…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #14: Elias Petropoulos: Enas kosmos ypogeios (Elias Petropoulos: An Underground World)

von Kalliopi Legaki

Der im Jahr 2003 verstorbene Elias Petropoulos war der erste griechische Volkskundler, Autor und Historiker, der Untergrundkulturen und Figuren, die von der offiziellen Geschichtsschreibung ignoriert wurden, dokumentiert hat. Als rastloser und wissbegieriger Geist war er dem Akademismus abhold und Feind jedes Establishments…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #13: Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance

von Alanis Obomsawin

Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance, ein Film der Regisseurin Alanis Obomsawin, widmet sich einer kleinen Kanien’kéha:ka-(Mohawk-)Gemeinschaft, die auch den meisten Kanadiern unbekannt geblieben war, bis am 10. März 1990 die Proteste begannen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #12: Krisis

von Dimitri Venkov

Dimitri Venkovs Film Krisis basiert auf einer Diskussion auf Facebook vom 8. Dezember 2013. Das war der Tag des „Leninopad“, an dem zahlreiche Lenin-Denkmäler in der Ukraine demontiert und gestürzt wurden. Das erste Denkmal, das man in Kiew abbrach, hatte der sowjetische Bildhauer Sergej Merkurow geschaffen; aufgestellt wurde es 1946, als Stalin immer noch an der Macht war. Die ukrainische ultra-nationalistische Partei Svoboda (Freiheit) übernahm für diesen Akt die Verantwortung…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #11: Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

von Narimane Mari

Loubia Hamra ist Narimane Maris erster Spielfilm, eine traumartige Einstellung auf die Gewaltspirale in Algeriens jüngster Vergangenheit. Seine Kraft und Schönheit liegen darin begründet, dass er nicht geradeheraus ein geschichtliches Narrativ in Anschlag bringt, sondern Vergangenheit als Spiel wiederholt…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #10: Rabo de Peixe (Fish Tail)

von Joaquim Pinto und Nuno Leonel

Joaquim Pintos und Nuno Leonels Film Rabo de Peixe porträtiert „eine Insel auf einer Insel“. Rabo de Peixe, ein Fischerdorf auf der Insel São Miguel, bildet die größte Gemeinschaft von Menschen auf den portugiesischen Azoren, die noch der traditionellen Fischerei nachgehen. Der Neuschnitt des Films, der ursprünglich aus dem Jahr 2003 stammt, verbindet ethnografische Beobachtung mit soziologischer Recherche. In tagebuchartigem Stil und nostalgischem Ton werden die männlichen Angehörigen zweier Generationen von Fischern in Rabo de Peixe und ihr Alltag, ihre Wünsche und ihre Kämpfe abgebildet…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #9: The Forgotten Space

von Allan Sekula und Noël Burch

Der US-amerikanische Künstler Allan Sekula schuf The Forgotten Space als Antwort auf die Einladung, ein Kunstwerk für den öffentlichen Raum zu entwerfen. Er vertrat die Ansicht, dass es wichtig sei, das Fernsehen als einen solchen öffentlichen Raum zu betrachten, und machte sich gemeinsam mit seinem Co-Regisseur, dem in Paris lebenden US-amerikanischen Filmtheoretiker Noël Burch, daran, einen Film für das staatliche kanadische Fernsehen zu drehen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #8: Ku Qian (Bitter Money)

von Wang Bing

1986 sangen die Swans: Time is money (bastard). Dieser Refrain ist es, der die Menschen in Wang Bings Ku Qian – allerdings ohne die Wut des Punks – antreibt. Der Film folgt Menschen aus einer ländlichen Region, die sich in die Stadt aufgemacht haben, um sich dort auf der Basis von Tages- oder Saisonverträgen als Textilarbeiter zu verdingen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #7: Manazil bela abwab (Houses Without Doors)

von Avo Kaprealian

Houses Without Doors ist die subjektive und intime Chronik des Überlebens einer syrisch-armenischen Familie in Aleppo zwischen 2011 und 2014, als der zivile Aufstand sich zu einem bewaffneten Konflikt auswuchs. Wie viele andere in Syrien fühlte sich der Regisseur in der Pflicht, die außergewöhnlichen Ereignisse während dieses Aufstands zu dokumentieren…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #6: Voilà l'enchaînement

von Claire Denis

Wie zwei Menschen auseinandergehen, kann ebenso fesseln wie sie zu beobachten, wenn sie einander begegnen. In Claire Denis’ Film Voilà l’enchaînement sind die Risse im Beziehungsverhältnis zwischen einem dunkelhäutigen Mann (Alex Descas) und einer weißen Frau (Norah Krief) von der ersten Szene an offensichtlich. Sie, die sich nach mehr Nähe sehnt, fragt ihn, während sie seine Schulter liebkost, ob er sich ihren Namen auf den Körper tätowieren lassen würde. Sanft verneint er: „Für dich bedeutet das Ewigkeit, für mich wäre es ein Brandzeichen.“ Die Friktion, die schon in diesem frühen Austausch zutage tritt – noch ist sie keine starke und könnte mit einer Umarmung aus der Welt geschafft werden, wenngleich sie bereits auf eine tiefe, feindselige Spaltung vorausweist –: setzt sie hier in Bewegung, was auf sie folgen wird…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #5: Verzió

von Miklós Erdély

Miklós Erdélys Version kreist um Tiszaeszlár, ein kleines Dorf im Osten Ungarns, in dem 1882 ein junges Mädchen verschwindet und später tot im Fluss gefunden wird. Die örtliche jüdische Gemeinde wird des Ritualmords beschuldigt. An dem Gerichtsverfahren, das auf diese Ritualmordanklage folgt, entzünden sich in Österreich-Ungarn antisemitische Propaganda, Verhetzung und später dann Pogrome, die weltweit Aufsehen erregen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #4: La Mort de Louis XIV

von Albert Serra

Albert Serras The Death of Louis XIV ist eine erlesene Meditation über den Tod, die Würde und den Voyeurismus, die sich wie ein barocker Gobelin entfaltet. Im Kino der Gegenwart ist der visionäre katalanische Regisseur und Künstler Albert Serra der unbestrittene Meister des Historizismus…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #3: Oncle Bernard—L’anti-leçon d’économie

von Richard Brouillette

Richard Brouillette stellt in seinem Film Oncle Bernard – A Counter-Lesson in Economics Bernard Maris vor. Maris verfasste unter dem Pseudonym Oncle Bernard seine Kolumne für das Magazin „Charlie Hebdo“ und verfolgte dabei die Absicht, die professionellen Macher der Wirtschaft zu demaskieren – all jene, die uns tagtäglich, egal, wo wir uns aufhalten, mit demselben Müll abfüllen, verpackt in die Leerformeln einer Pseudowissenschaft, die die Mechanismen der Macht verbergen sollen, die uns versklaven…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #2: Sleepless Nights Stories

von Jonas Mekas

Die Sleepless Nights Stories haben ihren Ursprung in meiner Lektüre von Tausendundeiner Nacht. Obwohl meine Geschichten, anders als die arabischen Erzählungen, alle dem richtigen Leben entstammen, schweifen auch sie an manchen Stellen anderswohin ab, lassen die Realität der Alltagsroutine hinter sich…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Keimena #1: From Gulf to Gulf to Gulf

von CAMP

Der Film From Gulf to Gulf to Gulf von CAMP nimmt uns mit auf eine Hochseereise. Eine Gruppe Matrosen aus dem Bezirk Kachchh in Westindien – gemeinsam mit ihren Kollegen aus dem südlichen Iran und aus den pakistanischen Provinzen Sindh und Belutschistan – befördert in Holzschiffen Waren und Nutztiere über den Persischen Golf und den Golf von Aden…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen