Christopher D’Arcangelo (1955–1979)

Christopher D’Arcangelo, Post No Art (ca. 1975)
, paint on etched glass
, private collection, Berlin, installation view, ​documenta Halle, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

In 1974, at the age of nineteen, Christopher D’Arcangelo embarked on a series of paintings using rudimentary stenciled letters painted on a monochrome ground. Inspiration for the series came, at least in part, from the linguistic turn in the advanced art practices to which he was then exposed. The previous year he had begun working as an assistant at the John Weber Gallery, a pioneer of the burgeoning art district of SoHo, where he fostered a number of close friendships and working relationships with artists such as Stephen Antonakos and Daniel Buren. Stenciled letters were a device D’Arcangelo’s father, Allan D’Arcangelo, had employed in his paintings a little over a decade earlier, although when the elder D’Arcangelo came to prominence as a Pop artist in 1962, they had all but disappeared—no doubt too indelibly associated with the work of his renowned peers, Jasper Johns and Robert Indiana, to carry full signatory weight.

The paintings from 1974 each contain a rudimentary sentence, which begins by addressing the viewer with an anaphora (a rhetorical device in which successive sentences begin with the same line or phrase): “WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING…” The subject of the independent clauses that follow alternates between the artist and the viewer to produce two distinct sequences. The first sequence pictures, in each case, the artist undertaking a different rudimentary activity (twenty, according to preparatory notes), which purportedly takes place at the moment of the painting’s reception: for example: “WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING THE ARTIST IS THINKING OF HIS PAST.” The series then extends to the second sequence, in which the same activities are now delegated to the viewer: “WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING YOU ARE THINKING OF YOUR PAST.” One activity in both sequences, however, stands apart—the making of the painting itself. In the first sequence, the painting in question reads: “WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING THE ARTIST IS MAKING THE PAINTING.” While that sentence conflates the moment of the painting’s production with its reception, in the second sequence it goes one step further and conflates artist and viewer: “WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING YOU ARE MAKING THE PAINTING.” As such, its place in the series corroborates, not without a certain degree of acuity, Marcel Duchamp’s understanding of the “creative act” as completed in the act of reception. The two sequences in the series conclude with separate statements that further underline the Duchampian relinquishment of the artist’s handwork as the primary purveyor of meaning. Quoted here from D’Arcangelo’s preparatory notes, the first statement reads: “On the [date] the artist took all the stencils that were used to make these paintings and wrapped them in a bundle and threw them off the George Washington Bridge”; the second statement differs only by a change in location—this time, New York’s “East River.”

The candidness with which D’Arcangelo opted to jettison the materials used to produce his stencil paintings proved decisive; from then on, he would, it seems, abandon conventional object-making altogether. The stenciled letters nevertheless remained—although he transferred their inscription from the traditional media of paper and canvas to his own body. He was clearly aware, in so doing, of that shift’s inherent erotic charge. A black-and-white photographic close-up, presumably from late 1974 or early 1975, reveals as much, in what is undoubtedly an image of D’Arcangelo’s hand: while the latter veils his partner’s otherwise naked groin, uppercase stenciled letters adorn his wrist with the word “ART.” The image’s eroticism is made all the more salient by the fact that his partner, Cathy Weiner, then studying photography, not only served as model but, moreover, co-authored the image. The erotic suggestiveness of marking the body henceforth persisted when D’Arcangelo moved the inscriptive surface from his hand to his back, for it not only eschewed his hand as authorial mark-maker, but also now relied on another—presumably his partner—to stencil him; primarily through her photographic documentation, Weiner would, furthermore, continue to be his work’s primary witness.

While the stenciled letters can be placed in an artistic lineage that includes his father’s early Pop paintings, another line, although less immediately legible, underpins the statement D’Arcangelo chose to inscribe on his back. His previous work had foregrounded the discursive conditions of painting: that is, in its most elementary state, as an activity whose meaning derives from its relation to other activities. Now the discursive paradox, hitherto at play between artist and viewer, shifts to the first-person pronoun in a paradoxical utterance—at once constative and performative—which conflates, ex improviso, artist with anarchist:

WHEN I STATE THAT
I AM AN ANARCHIST, I MUST
ALSO STATE THAT I
AM NOT AN
ANARCHIST
TO BE IN KEEPING
WITH THE
(….) IDEA
OF
ANARCHISM
LONG LIVE
ANARCHISM

While D’Arcangelo’s statement first appears at a clear remove from the linguistic statements and phrases of his older conceptualist peers, it nevertheless borrows from them, and does so shrewdly. Firstly, the ellipsis (with four instead of the conventional three dots) in parentheses no doubt derives from the work of Lawrence Weiner, where it variously serves in Weiner’s “statements” of the same period—as it does for D’Arcangelo—to indefinitely suspend any closure of meaning.1 In so doing, it serves to extend, as did D’Arcangelo’s stenciled paintings, the Duchampian delegation of the “creative act” to the viewer, which Weiner had stressed in his inaugural “Statement of Intent” from 1969:

1. The artist may construct the piece
2. The piece may be fabricated
3. The piece need not be built

Each being equal and consistent with the intent of the artist the decision as to condition rests with the receiver upon the occasion of receivership.

A similar play of difference and equivalence underscores D’Arcangelo’s anarchist statement. In contrast with Weiner, however, that play extends beyond the discursive object to encompass the enunciating subject, given that it encompasses both the open, elliptical meaning of anarchism (as discursive object), on the one hand, and D’Arcangelo’s anarchist (dis)identification (as enunciative subject) on the other. As such, it occasions a far less consistent set of choices for receivership. Yet, like Weiner’s earlier exemplar, D’Arcangelo’s statement immediately took on programmatic status and, henceforth accompanied, in various forms (stenciled, stamped, and typewritten), all his subsequent works up until his only “official” participation as an exhibiting artist in a group show at Artists Space in September 1978.

Secondly, the paradox inherent in D’Arcangelo’s statement (“WHEN I STATE THAT I AM… I MUST ALSO STATE THAT I AM NOT…”) is clearly indebted to the work of Ian Wilson. In 1969, Wilson designated oral communication as his unique medium, having hitherto relinquished the discrete object for the spoken word alone. D’Arcangelo had, on a number of occasions, assisted Wilson in rehearsing his “Known and Unknown” discussions, which Wilson had begun in 1972. In a notebook entry, penned just prior to formulating his anarchist statement, D’Arcangelo applies Wilson’s dialectical formula of “the known and unknown” to anarchism: “There can be no communist, socialist, or Marxist in a Capitalist society. An anarchist can exist in any social system because his is in both the known (the existing social system) and the unknown (no social system).”

Encouraged by Wilson’s recourse, in formalizing his verbal practice to Greek philosophy, D’Arcangelo read Plato’s most notoriously difficult dialogue Parmenides, from which Wilson had derived the title of his discussions. It is the final sentence of Parmenides—and no doubt the most enigmatic in the entire Socratic canon—that is inscribed, not unlike a “quotation without quotation marks,” at the heart of D’Arcangelo’s anarchist statement: “Let us say,” Parmenides concludes, “whether one is or is not, it and the others both are and are not, and both appear and do not appear all things in all ways, both in relation to themselves and in relation to others.”2 To which a young Socrates replies, as the dialogue comes to an end: “Very true.”3 Indeed, in an early draft of his statement, D’Arcangelo had placed the word “TRUE” within parenthesis—albeit, like the word ANARCHISM, stenciled upside down:

WHEN I STATE THAT
I AM AN ANARCHIST, I MUST
ALSO STATE THAT I
AM NOT AN
ANARCHIST
TO BE IN KEEPING
WITH THE
(TRUE) IDEA
OF
ANARCHISM

In its final elliptical form, however, the statement takes on the added meaning of “anarchism without adjectives”—the ellipsis thus marking the place of an absent adjective that would otherwise qualify D’Arcangelo’s “IDEA OF ANARCHISM.” As such, it recalls the deployment of the term ”anarchism without adjectives” as an epithet of non-sectarianism in the anarchist movement of the late nineteenth century, beginning in Spain, where it originated in the writings of the Cuban-born Fernando Tarrida del Mármol, and several decades later in the U.S., where it was adopted, in principle, by Voltairine de Cleyre.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to ascertain whether D’Arcangelo knew of the term or not; his only apparent historical reference to anarchism appears in a note, penned in 1975, in which he openly borrows from Pierre-Joseph Proudhon’s renowned rallying cry “property is theft.” By way of a simple syllogism, D’Arcangelo’s note, headed by Proudhon’s name, bluntly comments on the commodification of art: “Property is theft. Art is property. Art is theft.” It is not improbable, however, that D’Arcangelo knew of Proudhon’s penchant for “antinomical thinking,” as George Woodcock portrays “the direct ancestor of the organized anarchist movement”4 in his seminal study—widely available as a paperback in the 1970s—Anarchism: A History of Libertarian Ideas and Movements. At the beginning of a chapter devoted to Proudhon titled “The Man of Paradox,” Woodcock notes that the first self-proclaimed anarchist “passionately avoided the encouragement of any party or sect to support his views and […] proudly displayed the fluctuations and contradictions of his thought as evidence of its vitality.”5

Paradox aside, what distinguishes D’Arcangelo’s statement with considerable salience—not least of all from his older conceptualist peers—is, as such, his engagement with the word anarchism. Nothing prior to 1975 indicates that an artist would consider employing that term as a central and conspicuous element in their work. That decision is, indeed, altogether unprecedented. For, in the wider culture, it transgresses a near century-long vilification of anarchism as a political movement and philosophy. Indeed, since the beginning of the twentieth century, the American public had largely assimilated the anti-anarchist rhetoric that had begun—in a time of intense class-war ideology—with the Haymarket Massacre (in 1886) and had culminated (in 1901) in response to the assassination of President William McKinley. In a speech to Congress two years later, McKinley’s successor, Theodore Roosevelt, portrayed anarchism as “a crime against the whole human race.” Although McKinley’s assassin, Leon Czolgosz, was U.S. born and had acted alone, Congress subsequently passed the first of several immigration acts that sought to exclude entry to the U.S. of any person “who disbelieves in or is opposed to all organized government.” These eventually led to two of the most renowned advocates of anarchism, Emma Goldman and Alexander Berkman, being extradited from the U.S. to the Soviet Union in 1919.

Yet, in 1975, D’Arcangelo’s deployment of the term also breached a more tacit prohibition in the context of the post-war American avant-garde; that is, against the earlier, historical avant-garde’s claim to equate aesthetic innovation with social transformation. In his detailed reading of the controversy surrounding Daniel Buren’s censored work for the Sixth Guggenheim International Exhibition in 1971, “The Turn of the Screw: Daniel Buren, Dan Flavin, and the Sixth Guggenheim International Exhibition,” art historian Alexander Alberro writes: “Whatever overt ideological positions the avant-garde initially might have been identified within its European forms were substituted with a model of the avant-garde that was perceived by many to be nothing more than an implementation of the market principles of capitalist economy. These factors did much to popularize the notion that avant-garde art was in principle indistinguishable from any other range of commodities in capitalist economy and therefore non-threatening.”6

It so happens that D’Arcangelo was acutely aware of that very notion, as affirms an undated poster from 1974–75. Stenciled with silver spray paint on newsprint paper, it reads:

THE IDEA THAT TODAY THERE IS NO AESTHETIC MOVEMENT RULING THE VISUAL
ARTS IS INCORRECT.
CAPITALISM RULES.
IS THIS NECESSARY?

That statement stands as a timely response to the emerging debates within advanced art theory over artistic pluralism in the 1970s. Yet, D’Arcangelo’s anarchist statement proves even more opportune, for it wittingly breaches the cultural prohibition on anarchism less than two years ahead of its transgression in popular culture with the advent of Punk. The Sex Pistols’ “Anarchy in the U.K.,” when it was released to an unsuspecting British public in November 1976, made that transgression all the more blatant, not only because it reiterates the popular myth that conflates anarchism with terrorism (the song’s lyrics briefly listing the acronyms of the armed insurgencies of the day), but also, with added vitriol, the words “anarchist” and “antichrist.” This is not to suggest any existing conduit between D’Arcangelo’s emergence as an artist in 1975 and the aesthetics of punk, as it emerged over the following two years. Yet it is nevertheless uncanny that every one of the tropes or signifiers D’Arcangelo deployed in the illicit actions he undertook in New York’s major art museums beginning in January 1975 would inadvertently turn up, in one way or another, in that context. Perhaps this is not so uncanny in light of Dick Hebdige’s apt description of the accouterments of Punk as “tokens of a self-imposed exile”7—that is, as so many signs of subservience turned against itself.

—Dean Inkster


This text is an excerpted version of “Anarchism without Adjectives: On the Work of Christopher D’Arcangelo 1975–1979,” which in turn stems from my work on the exhibition of the same title, which I co-curated with Sébastien Pluot in collaboration with Pierre Bal Blanc at the CAC Brétigny, Brétigny-sur-Orge, France (July–August 2011); Richard Birkett and Stefan Kalmár at Artists Space, New York, USA (September­–October 2011); Xabier Arakistain and Beatriz Herraez at the Centro Cultural Montehermoso, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain (December 2011–January 2012); Mihnea Mircan at Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerp, Belgium (September 2012); and Michèle Thériault at the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University, Montreal, Canada (September 4–October 26, 2013).

1See Benjamin Buchloh, “The Posters of Lawrence Weiner,” in Neo-Avantgarde and Culture Industry (Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 2000), 564; see also Lawrence Weiner, General & Specific Works (Villeurbanne: Le Nouveau Musée/Institut d'art contemporain, 1993).

2Plato, Parmenides, 166c, in Plato, Complete Works, ed. John M. Cooper, trans. Mary Louise Gill and Paul Ryan (Indianapolis: Hackett, 1997), 397.

3Ibid.

4George Woodcock, Anarchism: A History of Libertarian Ideas and Movements (Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1963), 98.

5Ibid.

6Alexander Alberro, “Daniel Buren, Dan Flavin, and the Sixth Guggenheim International Exhibition,” October 80 (Spring, 1997):  61.

7Dick Hebdige, Subculture: The Meaning of Style (London: Routledge, 1979), 2.


Posted in Notes on 07.07.2017
Related

Christopher D’Arcangelo

In 1975, Christopher D’Arcangelo (1955–1979) undertook a series of unauthorized actions in New York’s major museums. The anarchist statement that accompanied them as well as all of D’Arcangelo’s…

 More

Christopher D’Arcangelo (1955–1979)

Christopher D’Arcangelo, Post No Art (um 1975)
, farbe auf Ätzglas
, Privatsammlung, Berlin
, Installationsansicht, ​documenta Halle, Kassel, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

1974, im Alter von 19 Jahren, begann Christopher D’Arcangelo mit der Herstellung einer Reihe von Bildern, bei denen er einfache Buchstabenschablonen auf einen monochromen Hintergrund setzte. Die Inspiration zu der Serie rührte zumindest teilweise aus dem Linguistic Turn in der künstlerischen Praxis der Avantgarde, mit der er damals in Berührung kam. Im Jahr zuvor hatte er als Assistent in der John Weber Galerie begonnen, die seit 1971 eine Vorreiterrolle im aufblühenden Kunstmarkt SoHos einnahm und wo er Freundschaften und Arbeitsbeziehungen mit Künstlern wie Stephen Antonakos oder Daniel Buren pflegte. Schablonierte Buchstaben gehörten zu jenen Elementen, die Allan D’Arcangelo, der Vater des Künstlers, ein Jahrzehnt zuvor in seinen Bildern verwendet hatte. Als dieser 1961 als Pop-Art-Künstler Prominenz erlangte, waren sie jedoch aus seinem Werk so gut wie wieder verschwunden. Sie waren fraglos zu unauflöslich mit dem Werk seiner berühmten Kollegen Jasper Johns und Robert Indiana verknüpft, um noch Signalwirkung entfalten zu können.

Die Bilder von 1974 enthalten jeweils einen einfachen Satz, der sich als Anapher (ein rhetorisches Stilmittel, bei dem aufeinanderfolgende Sätze mit derselben Wortfolge oder Wendung beginnen) an den Betrachter wendet: „WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING …“ Das Subjekt, das den Satz vervollständigt, alteriert, ist einmal der Künstler, einmal der Betrachter, sodass zwei unterschiedliche Sätze erscheinen. Die erste Sequenz stellt den Künstler vor, der eine elementare Tätigkeit (gemäß den vorbereitenden Notizen sind es zwanzig an der Zahl) verrichtet, die vermeintlich im Moment der Bildrezeption stattfindet, zum Beispiel: „WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING THE ARTIST IS THINKING OF HIS PAST.“ In der zweiten Sequenz wird die Tätigkeit auf den Betrachter übertragen: „WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING YOU ARE THINKING OF YOUR PAST.“ In beiden Sequenzen nimmt eine Tätigkeit einen besonderen Platz ein – die Verfertigung des Bildes selbst. In der ersten Sequenz ist auf dem fraglichen Bild zu lesen: WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING THE ARTIST IS MAKING THE PAINTING.“ Dieser Satz verschmilzt den Moment der Bildproduktion mit dem der Bildrezeption, wobei er in der zweiten Sequenz noch einen Schritt weitergeht und Künstler und Betrachter miteinander verschmilzt: „WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING AT THIS PAINTING YOU ARE MAKING THE PAINTING.“ So gesehen, bekräftigt die Position dieses Satzes innerhalb der Reihe scharfsinnig die Auffassung Marcel Duchamps, dass der „kreative Akt“ erst durch den Akt seiner Rezeption vervollständigt werde. Die beiden Sequenzen der Reihe schließen jeweils mit separaten Aussagen ab, was den Duchampschen Verzicht, in der Arbeit des Künstlers ein grundlegendes Mittel der Sinnstiftung zu sehen, noch zusätzlich unterstreicht. Die erste Aussage, hier zitiert nach den vorbereitenden Notizen D’Arcangelos, lautet: „Am [Datum] nahm der Künstler alle Schablonen, die zur Erstellung dieser Bilder verwendet wurden, packte sie zu einem Bündel zusammen und warf sie von der George-Washington-Brücke“; die zweite Aussage unterscheidet sich nur durch die Veränderung der Ortsangabe – dieses Mal ist es der „East River“ in New York.

Die Freimütigkeit, mit der D’Arcangelo sich dafür entschied, die für die Erstellung seiner Schablonenbilder verwendeten Materialien zu entsorgen, erwies sich als überaus folgenreich. Danach verzichtete er offenbar völlig darauf, Objekte im herkömmlichen Sinn herzustellen. Die Schablonenbuchstaben behielt er jedoch bei – allerdings verlagerte er ihre Einschreibung von den traditionellen Medien Papier und Leinwand auf seinen eigenen Körper. Der erotischen Aufladung, die mit dieser Verschiebung einherging, war er sich durchaus bewusst. Eine Schwarzweiß-Nahaufnahme, wahrscheinlich von Ende 1974 oder Anfang 1975, zeigt das Bild einer Hand, die zweifellos D’Arcangelo gehört: Sie verdeckt die nackte Leiste seiner Partnerin, wobei das Handgelenk mit dem Wort ART – in Großbuchstaben – geschmückt ist. Die Erotik des Bildes wird umso augenfälliger, als seine Partnerin, Cathy Weiner, die seinerzeit Fotografie studierte, nicht nur als Modell fungierte, sondern auch als Mitautorin des Bildes in Erscheinung tritt. Die mit der Markierung des Körpers einhergehende erotische Vieldeutigkeit blieb auch bestehen, als D’Arcangelo die einzuschreibende Fläche von der Hand auf den Rücken verlegte. Damit umging er nicht nur die Hand als auktoriales Markierungswerkzeug, sondern war zudem auf jemand anderen angewiesen, der die Schablonen setzte – wahrscheinlich seine Partnerin. Weiner blieb überdies, vor allem durch ihre fotografische Dokumentation, die wichtigste Zeugin seiner Arbeit.

Die Schablonenbuchstaben können in eine künstlerische Abstammungslinie gestellt werden, die auch die frühen Pop-Gemälde von D’Arcangelos Vater einschließt, sie untermauern aber auch eine weitere, nicht unbedingt auf den ersten Blick zu erkennende Linie des Statements, das sich D’Arcangelo auf den Rücken schreiben ließ. Seine Arbeit hatte bislang die diskursiven Bedingungen der Malerei in den Vordergrund gestellt; das heißt, Malerei, in ihrem elementarsten Sinne, als Tätigkeit, deren Bedeutung aus ihrer Beziehung zu anderen Tätigkeiten erwächst. Jetzt verlagert sich das diskursive Paradox – bis dato ein Spiel zwischen Künstler und Betrachter – auf eine paradoxe, zugleich konstatierende und performative Äußerung in der ersten Person, in der Künstler und Anarchist völlig unvermutet miteinander verschmolzen werden.

WHEN I STATE THAT
I AM AN ANARCHIST, I MUST
ALSO STATE THAT I
AM NOT AN
ANARCHIST
TO BE IN KEEPING
WITH THE
(....) IDEA
OF
ANARCHISM
LONG LIVE
ANARCHISM1

Lässt sich D’Arcangelos Statement auf den ersten Blick als klare Abkehr von den linguistischen Aussagen und Wendungen seiner älteren Konzeptkunstkollegen auffassen, macht sie doch geschickt Anleihen bei ihnen. So ist die Auslassung in Klammern (mit vier Punkten anstatt der herkömmlichen drei) zweifellos aus dem Werk von Lawrence Weiner übernommen, wo sie verschiedentlich bei den „Statements“ Weiners aus jener Zeit – und wie bei D’Arcangelo auch – dazu dient, jegliche Bedeutungsfestschreibung endlos aufzuschieben.2 Damit weitet sie, wie D’Arcangelos Schablonenbilder, die Duchampsche Übertragung des „kreativen Akts“ auf den Betrachter aus, die Weiner in seiner „Absichtserklärung“ von 1969 herausstrich:

1. Der Künstler kann die Arbeit herstellen.
2. Die Arbeit kann angefertigt werden.
3. Die Arbeit braucht nicht ausgeführt zu werden.
Jede Möglichkeit ist gleichwertig und entspricht der Absicht des Künstlers, die Entscheidung über die Ausführung liegt beim Empfänger zum Zeitpunkt des Empfangs.3

Ein vergleichbares Spiel von Differenz und Äquivalenz betont das anarchistische Statement D’Arcangelos. Im Gegensatz zu Weiner allerdings geht es über das diskursive Objekt hinaus und schließt das sich äußernde Subjekt mit ein, insofern es einerseits sowohl die offene, elliptische Bedeutung des Anarchismus (als diskursivem Objekt) als auch D’Arcangelos anarchistische (Ent-)Identifizierung (als sich äußerndes Subjekt) umfasst. Als solches bietet es dem Empfänger ein weit weniger einheitliches Set an Wahlmöglichkeiten. Wie Weiners Muster früher nahm auch D’Arcangelos Statement sofort einen programmatischen Status ein und begleitete seither in unterschiedlicher Form (mit schablonierten Buchstaben, gestempelt und mit der Schreibmaschine) das gesamte nachfolgende Werk bis zu seiner einzigen „offiziellen“ Teilnahme als Künstler bei einer Gruppenausstellung im September 1978 im Artists Space.

Das D’Arcangelos Statement innewohnende Paradox („WHEN I STATE THAT I AM … I MUST ALSO STATE THAT I AM NOT …“), verdankt sich eindeutig dem Werk Ian Wilsons. Wilson erhob 1969 die mündliche Kommunikation zu seinem einzigen Medium und verzichtete fortan zugunsten des gesprochenen Wortes gänzlich auf den für sich allein stehenden Gegenstand. Bei mehreren Gelegenheiten hatte D’Arcangelo Wilson bei der Einstudierung von dessen „bekannt und unbekannt“-Diskussionen assistiert, die Wilson 1972 begonnen hatte. In einem Notizbucheintrag direkt vor seinem Anarchismus-Statement wendet D’Arcangelo Wilsons dialektische „bekannt–unbekannt“-Formel auf den Anarchismus an: „In einer kapitalistischen Gesellschaft kann es keinen Kommunisten, Sozialisten oder Marxisten geben. Ein Anarchist kann in jedem Gesellschaftssystem existieren, denn er befindet sich sowohl im Bekannten (dem existierenden Gesellschaftssystem) als auch im Unbekannten (keinem Gesellschaftssystem).“

Durch den Rückgriff auf Wilson, der seine Sprachpraxis anhand der griechischen Philosophie formalisierte, ermutigt, las D’Arcangelo Platons wegen seiner Schwierigkeit berüchtigten Parmenides-Dialog, dem Wilson auch den Titel seiner Diskussionen entnommen hatte. Gerade der letzte Satz des Parmenides – zweifellos der rätselhafteste des gesamten sokratischen Kanons – ist gewissermaßen wie ein „Zitat ohne Anführungszeichen“ dem Kern von D’Arcangelos anarchistischem Statement eingeschrieben: „So sei demnach dieses gesagt“ schließt Parmenides, „und auch, dass, wie es scheint, ob Eins nun ist oder nicht ist, es selbst und die Anderen, und zwar für sich sowohl als in Beziehung aufeinander, alles auf alle Weise ist und nicht ist und scheint sowohl als auch nicht scheint.“4 Worauf der junge Sokrates den Dialog beendet, indem er antwortet: „Vollkommen wahr.“5

Und in der Tat hat D’Arcangelo in einem frühen Entwurf seines Statements das Wort „TRUE“ in Klammern gesetzt – allerdings wie das Wort „ANARCHISM“ mit auf dem Kopf stehenden Buchstabenschablonen.

WHEN I STATE THAT
I AM AN ANARCHIST, I MUST
ALSO STATE THAT I
AM NOT AN
ANARCHIST
TO BE IN KEEPING
WITH THE
(TRUE) IDEA
OF
ANARCHISM

In seiner endgültigen, elliptischen Form nimmt das Statement noch zusätzlich die Bedeutung eines „Anarchismus ohne Adjektive“ an – die Auslassung markiert demnach den Ort eines abwesenden Adjektivs, das andernfalls D’Arcangelos „IDEA OF ANARCHISM“ einschränken würde. Das ruft die Entwicklung des Ausdrucks „Anarchismus ohne Adjektive“ in Erinnerung, der als Epitheton für einen nicht sektiererischen Anarchismus in der anarchistischen Bewegung des späten neunzehnten Jahrhunderts stand, ein Ausdruck, der seinen Ursprung in Spanien hatte und zum ersten Mal in den Schriften des auf Kuba geborenen Fernando Tarrida del Mármol auftauchte, und Jahrzehnte später in den USA dem Prinzip nach von Voltairine de Cleyre übernommen wurde.

Leider ist nicht mehr zu ermitteln, ob D’Arcangelo die Wendung kannte; die einzige historische Referenz auf den Anarchismus erscheint in einer 1975 verfassten Notiz, in der er unverblümt bei Pierre-Joseph Proudhons berühmtem Kampfruf „Eigentum ist Diebstahl“ Anleihen macht. D’Arcangelos Notiz, die als Überschrift Proudhons Namen trägt, polemisiert mittels eines einfachen Syllogismus gegen die Kommerzialisierung der Kunst: „Eigentum ist Diebstahl. Kunst ist Eigentum. Kunst ist Diebstahl.“ Allerdings ist es nicht unwahrscheinlich, dass D’Arcangelo von Proudhons Vorliebe für „antinomisches Denken“ wusste, mit der George Woodcock den „direkten Vorfahren der organisierten anarchistischen Bewegung“6 in seiner wegweisenden und in den Siebzigerjahren hoch gehandelten Studie Anarchism: A History of Libertarian Ideas and Movements charakterisierte. Am Anfang eines Proudhon gewidmeten Kapitels mit dem Titel „Ein Mann des Paradoxes“, bemerkt Woodcock, dass der erste selbsternannte Anarchist „leidenschaftlich darum bemüht war, den Zuspruch jeglicher Partei oder Sekte, die seine Ansichten unterstützen wollten, zu vermeiden und … voller Stolz die Schwankungen und Widersprüche seines Denkens als Ausweis seiner Vitalität verstanden wissen wollte.“7

Vom Paradox abgesehen, was D’Arcangelo mit seinem Statement so hervorstechen lässt – nicht zuletzt gegenüber seinen älteren Konzeptkunstkollegen –, ist seine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Wort Anarchismus. Vor 1975 gibt es kein Anzeichen dafür, dass ein Künstler diesen Begriff als zentrales und offenkundiges Element seiner Arbeit in Betracht gezogen hätte. Die Entscheidung dafür ist präzedenzlos. Denn sie setzt sich über eine in der Breitenkultur fast ein Jahrhundert währende Verunglimpfung des Anarchismus als politische Bewegung und Philosophie hinweg. Seit Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts war die amerikanische Öffentlichkeit mit der anti-anarchistischen Rhetorik imprägniert worden, die mit dem Haymarket-Massaker (1886) ihren Anfang genommen hatte und in der Reaktion auf die Ermordung Präsident William McKinleys (1901) kulminierte. In einer Rede vor dem Kongress zwei Jahre danach bezeichnete McKinleys Nachfolger Theodore Roosevelt den Anarchismus als „ein Verbrechen gegen die ganze menschliche Rasse“. Obwohl McKinleys Attentäter Leon Czolgosz, ein gebürtiger Amerikaner, seine Tat allein begangen hatte, verabschiedete der Kongress daraufhin das erste von mehreren Einwanderungsgesetzen, die dazu bestimmt waren, alle Personen, die „nicht an eine organisierte Regierungsform glauben oder gegen sie eingestellt sind“, von der Einreise in die USA auszuschließen. Dies führte schließlich dazu, dass zwei der bekanntesten Vertreter des Anarchismus, Emma Goldman und Alexander Berkman aus den USA in die Sowjetunion abgeschoben wurden.

Doch 1975 verletzte die Verwendung des Begriffs auch noch ein viel subtileres Verbot im Kontext der amerikanischen Nachkriegsavantgarde; nämlich dahingehend, dass er sich gegen den Anspruch der vorhergegangenen historischen Avantgarde-Bewegungen richtete, ästhetische Innovation mit gesellschaftlicher Veränderung gleichzusetzen. In The Turn of the Screw: Daniel Buren, Dan Flavin, and the Sixth Guggenheim International Exhibition, einer detaillierten Studie zu der Zensur-Kontroverse, die sich im Umfeld von Daniel Burens Arbeit für die Sechste Internationale Guggenheim-Ausstellung 1971 entspann, schreibt der Kunsthistoriker Alexander Alberro: „Mit welchen offenkundigen ideologischen Positionen die Avantgarde in ihren europäischen Ausprägungen anfangs auch identifiziert worden sein mag, sie wurden durch ein Modell der Avantgarde ersetzt, das für viele nichts anderes darstellte, als eine Implementierung der Marktprinzipien kapitalistischer Ökonomie. Auch aufgrund dieser Faktoren verbreitete sich die Vorstellung, dass die Avantgardekunst in der kapitalistischen Ökonomie im Grunde nicht von anderen Warenangeboten zu unterscheiden ist und deshalb keine Bedrohung darstellt.“8

D’Arcangelo war sich genau dieser Vorstellung bewusst, wie ein undatiertes Plakat von 1974/1975 bezeugt. Sein mit Silberspray und Schablonen auf Zeitungspapier aufgebrachter Text lautet:

THE IDEA THAT TODAY THERE IS NO AESTHETIC MOVEMENT RULING THE VISUAL
ARTS IS INCORRECT.
CAPITALISM RULES.
IS THIS NECESSARY?9

Das ist eine zeitgemäße Antwort auf die in der avancierten Kunsttheorie der 1970er aufkommenden Debatten über künstlerischen Pluralismus. D’Arcangelos anarchistisches Statement erweist sich jedoch insofern umso angemessener, als es das kulturelle Anarchismus-Verbot bewusst durchbricht und zwar weniger als zwei Jahre bevor es mit dem Punk in der Populärkultur übertreten wurde. Der Song Anarchy in the U. K., der im November 1976 von den Sex Pistols auf ein argloses britisches Publikum losgelassen wurde, nahm diese Überschreitung um einiges unverfrorener vor, nicht nur weil er auf den Populärmythos zurückgreift, der den Anarchismus mit dem Terrorismus überblendet (der Songtext listet die Abkürzungen der bewaffneten Widerstandsgruppen jener Tage auf), sondern bissig auch die Worte „Anarchist“ und „Antichrist“ zusammenfügt. Hier soll keine Verbindung zwischen D’Arcangelos Erscheinen als Künstler im Jahr 1975 und der Ästhetik des Punk, wie sie in den zwei folgenden Jahren Gestalt annahm, herbeigeredet werden. Gleichwohl ist es unheimlich, dass die Bilder und Referenzen, die D’Arcangelo bei seinen illegalen Aktionen seit Januar 1975 in den großen Kunstmuseen New Yorks benutzte, in eben diesem Umfeld – zwar unabsichtlich – fast ausnahmslos auf die eine oder andere Weise wieder auftauchten. Und vielleicht so unheimlich auch wieder nicht, wenn man Dick Hebdiges Beschreibung der symbolischen Ausstaffierung des Punks folgt, die er zutreffend als „Zeichen eines selbst-auferlegten Exils“ beschreibt10 – das heißt, wie bei so vielen Attributen der Deklassierung, als gegen sich selbst gerichtet.

—Dean Inkster


Der vorliegende Text ist ein bearbeiteter Auszug aus Anarchism without Adjectives: On the Work of Christopher D’Arcangelo 1975–1979. Der Text resultierte aus meiner Arbeit an der Ausstellung gleichen Titels, die ich mit Sébastien Pluot in Zusammenarbeit mit Pierre Bal Blanc am CAC Brétigny, Brétigny-sur-Orge, Frankreich (Juli–August 2011); mit Richard Birkett und Stefan Kalmár am Artists Space, New York, USA (September–Oktober 2011); mit Xabier Arakistain und Beatriz Herraez am Centro Cultural Montehermoso, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spanien (Dezember 2011–Januar 2012); mit Mihnea Mircan an der Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen, Belgien (September 2012); und mit Michèle Thériault an der Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University, Montreal, Kanada (4. September–26. Oktober 2013) co-kuratiert habe.

Aus dem Englischen von Dirk Höfer

1Deutsch: „Wenn ich erkläre, dass ich ein Anarchist bin, muss ich auch erklären, dass ich kein Anarchist bin, um der Idee des Anarchismus zu entsprechen. Lang lebe der Anarchismus.“

2Siehe Benjamin Buchloh, „The Posters of Lawrence Weiner“, in: Neo-Avantgarde and Culture Industry, Cambridge, Mass., 2000, MIT Press, S. 564; siehe auch Lawrence Weiner, General & Specific Works, Villeurbanne 1993, Le Nouveau Musée/Institut D’Art contemporain.

3Zitiert nach Gerti Fietzek und Gregor Stemmrich (Hg.), Gefragt und gesagt. Schriften & Interviews von Lawrence Weiner 1968–2003, Ostfildern 2004, Hatje Cantz.

4Platon, Parmenides, 166c, in: Platon, Sämtliche Werke IV, hg. von Walter F. Otto, Ernesto Grassi, Gert Plamböck nach der Übersetzung von Friedrich Schleiermacher, Reinbek bei Hamburg 1958, Rowohlt, S. 102.

5Ebd.

6George Woodcock, Anarchism: A History of Libertarian Ideas and Movements, Harmondsworth 1963, Penguin, S. 98.

7Ebd.

8Alexander Alberro, „Daniel Buren, Dan Flavin, and the Sixth Guggenheim International Exhibition“, in: October 80 (Frühjahr 1997), S. 61.

9Deutsch: „Der Gedanke, dass es heute keine in der Bildenden Kunst vorherrschende ästhetische Bewegung gibt, ist falsch. Es herrscht der Kapitalismus. Ist das notwendig?“

10Dick Hebdige, Subculture: The Meaning of Style, London 1979, Routledge, S. 2.

Gepostet in Notizen am 07.07.2017
Verwandte Einträge

Christopher D’Arcangelo

1975 unternahm Christopher D’Arcangelo (1955–1979) eine Reihe von unautorisierten Aktionen in den großen Museen New Yorks. Die anarchistischen Statements, die diese Aktionen sowie auch alle darauffolgenden…

 Mehr