Keimena #30: Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik
by Kornél Szilágyi (Igor Buharov)

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday July 10, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik, 2015, Hungary, 60 min.
Director: Kornél Szilágyi (Igor Buharov)

This film can be streamed on demand for seven days after the broadcast on ERT2. Please note that the films are presented in their original language with Greek subtitles, and can be streamed from within Greece only.


In Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik by Kornél Szilágyi (also known as Igor Buharov), the many languages of Serbian-Hungarian poetess, actress, and visual artist Katalin Ladik come together. There is a language we all understand, of Ladik telling the story of her life. This is interspersed with the language of her poems—words that drift, float, and arrive like water in the bay of Hvar Island, Croatia, from where we see her reciting the words: “Who steps on cinder / under the sky / is gliding. / Our passions burn her / to ashes day by day / and fall into the foam.”

We see the language of Ladik’s body as the main instrument in her performances onstage, in shamanistic gatherings in 1960s Novi Sad, and as a stark yet seductive presence at Happenings. Yet the most exquisite part of her language, of her body, we hear: the voice. It vibrates, shrieks, rotates, comes from the head, the throat, the belly—all the high and low tones manifest in Ladik’s great instrument.

From the early 1970s, Ladik transformed “found” materials such as sewing instructions, newspaper clippings, and computer circuits into visual scores for musical performance. She “reads” these scores with every part of her voice, giving breath to the everyday references in the collages. In doing so, Ladik turns image into poetry into performance into music.

But she always returns to her first love—language. The words of her life and her poetry, the articulations of her body, and the infinitesimally complex language of her voice.

—Hendrik Folkerts, Curator documenta 14

Posted in Public TV on 07.10.2017

Keimena #30: Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik
von Kornél Szilágyi (Igor Buharov)

Aufgrund von Urheberrechtsbeschränkungen kann nur ein kurzes Segment des Films hier gezeigt werden.

Montag, 10. Juli 2017, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik, 2015, Ungarn, 60 Min.
Regie: Kornél Szilágyi (Igor Buharov)

Dieser Film kann sieben Tage lang nach der Ausstrahlung auf ERT2 auf Abruf gestreamt werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Filme in Originalsprache mit griechischen Untertiteln gezeigt werden, und nur innerhalb Griechenlands online gestreamt werden können.


In Sound Cage: A Portrait of Katalin Ladik von Kornél Szilágyi (der auch unter dem Namen Igor Buharov bekannt ist) treffen die vielen Sprachen der serbisch-ungarischen Dichterin, Schauspielerin und bildenden Künstlerin Katalin Ladik aufeinander. Es gibt da eine Sprache, die wir alle verstehen und in der Ladik die Geschichte ihres Lebens erzählt. Diese Sprache ist durchsetzt von der Sprache ihrer Gedichte — Worte, die treiben, verfließen und anbranden gleich dem Meer an der Küste der Insel Hvar in Kroatien, wo wir sie sehen, wenn sie die folgenden Worte rezitiert: „Wer auf die Asche tritt / unter dem Himmel / gleitet. / Unsere Leidenschaften verbrennen sie / zu Staub Tag für Tag / und stürzen in den Schaum.“

An dieser Stelle können wir die Sprache von Ladiks Körper als das hauptsächliche Instrument ihrer Bühnenperformances, bei den schamanischen Zusammenkünften in Novi Sad während der 1960er Jahre und als die schroffe, aber dennoch verführerische Präsenz während all dieser Happenings betrachten. Den am meisten auserlesenen Teil ihrer Sprache und ihres Körpers jedoch hören wir: ihre Stimme. Sie zittert, kreischt, rotiert, kommt aus dem Kopf, der Kehle, dem Bauch – alle diese hohen und tiefen Töne manifestieren sich als das große Instrument Katalin Ladiks.

Seit den frühen 1970er Jahren transformiert Ladik vorgefundenes Material wie Nähanleitungen, Zeitungsausschnitte und Schaltkreise von Computern zu visuellen Partituren für musikalische Performances. Diese Partituren „liest“ sie mit jedem Teil ihrer Stimme, lässt die Alltagsreferenzen in den Collagen atmen. Und indem sie dies tut, verwandelt Ladik das Bild zum Gedicht zur Performance zu Musik.

Doch stets kehrt sie zu ihrer ersten Liebe zurück — zur Sprache. Zu den Worten ihres Lebens und ihrer Dichtung, zu den Artikulationen ihres Körpers und zur unendlich komplexen Sprache ihrer Stimme.

—Hendrik Folkerts, Kurator documenta 14

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 10.07.2017