Keimena #27: He Who Eats ChildrenAtlantis, and TRYPPS #7 (Badlands)
by Ben Russell

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday June 19, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
He Who Eats Children, 2016, USA, 25 min.
Atlantis, 2014, USA/Malta, 24 min.
TRYPPS #7 (Badlands), 2011, USA, 10 min.
Director: Ben Russell

Ben Russell—the director of Trypps #7 (Badlands), Atlantis, and He Who Eats Children—is an itinerant filmmaker. From Vanuatu to Rhode Island, he reaffirms and interrogates the affinities between cinema and travel that have existed since the medium’s earliest years. No matter where he shoots, at stake is a reckoning with otherness—with other psychic states, other ways of living, other cultures—and with the cinema itself.

In Trypps #7 (Badlands), a woman drops acid in the dramatic landscape of Badlands National Park in the USA. What initially seems to be a record of an intensely subjective, psychedelic experience turns, by virtue of the mesmerizing rotations of a mirror, into an exploration of the camera’s capability to induce states of altered perception.

Fiction and nonfiction overlap and challenge one another in Atlantis. At once a documentary of place and a utopian fable, the film wanders across Malta to conjure the drowned paradise and question what an ideal society might look like.

He Who Eats Children is a surrealistic portrait of a Dutchman living in the Surinamese jungle. Through legend and play, Russell moves from the particular to the general, as a single man’s story pries open the inheritances of colonialism.

In Russell’s films, the moving image is a mediator in the encounter with otherness. In his hands, ethnographic cinema turns its back on the domination of life and the pseudo-scientific reproduction of appearances. Instead, it is aligned with transformation, revelation, and mutual implication.

—Erika Balsom, film scholar and lecturer

Posted in Public TV on 06.19.2017

Keimena #27: He Who Eats ChildrenAtlantis und TRYPPS #7 (Badlands)
von Ben Russell

Aufgrund von Urheberrechtsbeschränkungen kann nur ein kurzes Segment des Films hier gezeigt werden.

Montag, 19. Juni 2017, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
He Who Eats Children, 2016, USA, 25 Min.
Atlantis, 2014, USA/Malta, 24 Min.
TRYPPS #7 (Badlands), 2011, USA, 10 Min.
Regie: Ben Russell

Ben Russell, der Regisseur von Trypps #7 (Badlands), Atlantis und He Who Eats Children, ist ein Filmemacher auf Wanderschaft. Von Vanuatu bis Rhode Island betont und befragt er die Verwandtschaftsbeziehung zwischen dem Kino und dem Reisen, die seit den frühesten Jahren dieses Mediums besteht. Wo auch immer er dreht, immer muss mit dem Anderen gerechnet werden – mit anderen psychischen Zuständen, anderen Lebensweisen, anderen Kulturen, und nicht zuletzt mit dem Kino selbst.

In Trypps #7 (Badlands) schluckt eine Frau inmitten der spektakulären Landschaft des Badlands-Nationalparks in den USA LSD. Was anfänglich die Aufzeichnung einer intensiv subjektiven psychedelischen Erfahrung zu sein scheint, verwandelt sich vermittels der hypnotischen Drehungen eines Spiegels in eine Untersuchung, inwieweit die Kamera selbst veränderte Wahrnehmungszustände zu induzieren vermag.

In Atlantis überlagern sich Fiktion und Nonfiktion und fordern sich wechselseitig heraus. Atlantis ist zugleich Dokumentarfilm über einen Ort und utopische Fabel – der Film durchwandert Malta, um das versunkene Paradies wieder heraufzubeschwören und die Frage zu stellen, wie eine ideale Gesellschaft aussehen könnte.

He Who Eats Children ist das surreale Porträt eines Holländers, der im Dschungel Surinams lebt. Durch Legende und Spiel bewegt sich Russell vom Besonderen hin zum Allgemeinen, wenn er in der Geschichte eines einzelnen Mannes das Erbe des Kolonialismus aufbrechen lässt.

In Russells Filmen ist das Bewegtbild Vermittler beim Zusammentreffen mit dem Anderen. Unter seinen Händen wendet sich das ethnografische Kino von der Dominierung des Lebens und der pseudowissenschaftlichen Reproduktion des Augenscheins ab und richtet sich stattdessen auf Verwandlung, Enthüllung und gegenseitige Einflussnahme aus.

—Erika Balsom, Filmwissenschaftlerin und Dozentin

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 19.06.2017