Keimena #36: Golden Eighties and No Home Movie
by Chantal Akerman

Due to copyright reasons we can only show film stills here. 

Monday August 21, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
Golden Eighties, 1986, France/Belgium/Switzerland, 96 min.
No Home Movie, 2015, Belgium/France, 115 min.
Director: Chantal Akerman

Chantal Akerman, the director of No Home Movie and Golden Eighties among other classics of independent cinema, died in October 2015. Her uncompromising career culminated in the singularly radical testament of her final feature film, No Home Movie.

Akerman’s irreverent debut as an 18-year old auteur, Saute ma Ville, was set in the kitchen of her parent’s home in Brussels. Her best known film, the 1975 feminist landmark Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles, unfurled almost entirely in the claustrophobic confines of a woman’s home.

So it seems only fitting that her career as a filmmaker should conclude with a loving, heart-rending portrait of her mother, the most probing scenes of which are set, once again, in a Brussels kitchen. A home movie, then—but also anything but, as it captures the artist trying to come to grips with a lifelong sense of homelessness. It concludes with a typically unsparingly, unsettling final scene.

That Akerman was able to paint a rosier picture of everyday life is attested in Golden Eighties. Here the daughter’s love for her mother (a Polish-born survivor of the Nazi extermination camps) and her parents is expressed in a deliciously lithe romantic musical comedy. Set in a vintage 1980s shopping mall, the film is full of autobiographical winks and double-entendres.

The two sides of Chantal Akerman will be missed for a long time to come.

—Dieter Roelstraete, Curator documenta 14

Posted in Public TV on 08.21.2017

Keimena #36: Golden Eighties und No Home Movie
von Chantal Akerman

Aufgrund von Urheberrechtsbeschränkungen können hier nur Filmstills gezeigt werden.

Montag, 21. August 2017, 24:00 Uhr auf ERT2
Golden Eighties, 1986, Frankreich/Belgien/Schweiz, 96 Min.
No Home Movie, 2015, Belgien/Frankreich, 115 Min.
Regie: Chantal Akerman

Chantal Akerman, die Regisseurin von No Home Movie und Golden Eighties sowie anderen Klassikern des unabhängigen Kinos, starb im Oktober 2015. Ihre kompromisslose und entschiedene Laufbahn als Filmemacherin kulminierte in dem einzigartig radikalen Testament ihres letzten Spielfilms No Home Movie.

Der respektlose Debutfilm Saute ma Ville (1968) der damals achtzehnjährigen Autorenfilmerin spielte in der Küche ihrer Eltern in Brüssel. Ihr bekanntester Film, der 1975 gedrehte feministische Meilenstein Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles, entfaltete sich beinahe zur Gänze in der beengenden Begrenztheit der Wohnung einer Frau.

Was scheint also naheliegender für den Abschluss einer solchen Karriere als Filmemacherin als das liebevolle und herzergreifende Porträt einer Mutter, dessen nachdrücklichste Szenen sich wieder in der Küche in Brüssel abspielen? Ein Home Movie also — und doch alles andere als das, denn No Home Movie fängt den konstanten Versuch der Künstlerin ein, mit ihrem Gefühl der Heimatlosigkeit fertigzuwerden. Und er endet mit einer typisch schonungslosen und verstörenden Schlusseinstellung.

Dass Akerman in der Lage war, auch ein heiteres Bild des Alltags zu zeichnen, bestätigt Golden Eighties. Hier wird die Liebe der Tochter zu ihrer Mutter (einer gebürtigen Polin und Überlebenden der Vernichtungslager der Nazis) und zu ihren beiden Elternteilen durch eine köstlich leichte, romantische Musicalkomödie zum Ausdruck gebracht. Der Film spielt in einem Einkaufszentrum der 1980er Jahre und enthält zahlreiche autobiografische Anspielungen und Zweideutigkeiten.

Man wird die beiden Seiten von Chantal Akerman noch sehr lange vermissen.

—Dieter Roelstraete, Kurator documenta 14

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 21.08.2017