Keimena #39: UHF42, episodes 1–2
by Mike Crane

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday September 11, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
UHF42, episodes 1–2, 2017, Palestinian Territories, 40 min.
Director: Mike Crane

UHF42 is an episodic tele-drama co-produced by artist Mike Crane and Wattan TV, the West Bank’s longest running 24-hour news station. Each of the six episodes depicts one day in a working week. Staff re-enact their jobs, turning the station’s cameras back on themselves, using their newsrooms and offices as sets for a drama about consumer debt in Ramallah, Palestine.

Crane first arrived at Wattan after reading about a 2012 raid in which the station’s transmitter was illegally confiscated by the Israeli military. This reduced the network’s terrestrial frequency, UHF42, forcing it to adapt to online platforms. There, Crane learned about Wattan’s dramatic narrative fictions and investigative reports portraying life under occupation. After visiting the station, he spent a year working with the writers and technicians to create a new series about maintaining this historic frequency.

UHF42 depicts how, for many Palestinians, social mobility is improved through the purchase of cars, homes, and luxury goods. Yet it also locks workers into multiple jobs to repay exorbitant interest rates. The series considers how debt simultaneously limits and expands perception, framing this through the regimens of time and space imposed by the military occupation.

While UHF42 is intended to be exhibited in timed segments, the first two episodes are broadcast consecutively here for the first time. Through this format Crane encourages Greek spectators to perceive their own debt relations through the constant stream of images provided by Wattan’s 24-hour coverage of occupied life.

–Shama Khanna, curator and writer

Posted in Public TV on 09.11.2017

Keimena #39: UHF42, Episoden 1–2
von Mike Crane

Aufgrund von Urheberrechtsbeschränkungen kann nur ein kurzes Segment des Films hier gezeigt werden.

Montag, 11. September 2017, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
UHF42, Episoden 1–2, 2017, Palästinensergebiete, 40 Min.
Regie: Mike Crane

UHF42 ist ein Fernsehdrama in Episoden, das von dem Künstler Mike Crane und Wattan TV, dem am längsten bestehenden Nachrichtensender des Westjordanlands, der 24 Stunden sendet, koproduziert wurde. Jede der sechs Episoden zeigt einen Tag der Arbeitswoche. Die Mitarbeiter_innen präsentieren das Reenactment ihrer Jobs, drehen die Kameras um 180 Grad und auf sich selbst und verwandeln dabei ihre Redaktionsräume und Büros in Bühnen, auf denen sich das Drama der Konsument_innenverschuldung in Ramallah, Palästina, abspielt.

Erstmals stieß Crane durch einen Bericht über die Razzia im Jahr 2012 auf Wattan TV. Im Zuge dieser Razzia hatte das israelische Militär die Sendeanlage des Senders konfisziert. Das hatte eine Beschränkung der terrestrischen Frequenz UHF42 zur Folge, und der Sender war dazu gezwungen, Onlineplattformen einzurichten. Auf diesen Plattformen erfuhr Crane dann von den spektakulären narrativen Fiktionen und über die investigative Berichterstattung des Senders vom Leben in der Okkupation. Nach einem persönlichen Besuch arbeitete er ein Jahr mit Autor_innen und Techniker_innen zusammen, um eine neue Serie zu kreieren, die von der historischen Erhaltung der Frequenz handelte.

UHF42 zeigt, wie gesellschaftliche Mobilität für viele Palästinenser_innen durch den Verkauf von Autos, Wohnungen und Luxusgütern möglich und erhöht wird. Das zwingt aber auch die Arbeiter_innen zu Mehrfachjobs, um die horrenden Zinssätze bedienen zu können. Die Serie setzt sich damit auseinander, wie die Verschuldung die Wahrnehmung gleichzeitig einschränkt und erweitert. All das wird von einem erzwungenen Zeit-und-Raum-Regime der militärischen Besetzung eingerahmt.

Während UHF42 normalerweise in kürzeren einzelnen Teilen gezeigt werden soll, werden hier erstmals die ersten beiden Episoden unmittelbar nacheinander gesendet. Mit diesem Format ermutigt Crane das griechische Publikum, die eigenen Schulden-Relationen im unablässigen Bilderstrom von Wattans 24-stündiger Berichterstattung vom Leben unter der Besetzung wahrzunehmen.

–Shama Khanna, Kuratorin und Autorin

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 11.09.2017