Synantiseis

Beginning in March and running through June 2017, Synantiseis, a series of public conversations in Athens, introduces documenta through personal stories, reflections, narratives and experiences, film screenings, talks, performances, and DJ sets. How can an exhibition of contemporary art offer multiple perspectives on our global situation? Should exhibitions always respond to the social, cultural, and political realities of daily life? What are the world events that have made an impact on the developments of previous documenta exhibitions, and what impact have these exhibitions had?

documenta 14 Synantiseis invites the public to participate in a series of interdisciplinary sessions to foster a dialogue between the context of documenta exhibitions and the socio-political transformations that have taken place in Greece and the world as a whole. These presentations use different conversation formats to engage the public’s imagination, addressing subjects as varied as political speech and the (de)construction of national identity, resistance through performance art and music, film as poetry, the future of exhibition-making, archiving history, and mourning the past.

Synantiseis is part of aneducation, the public education program of documenta 14. All conversations are conducted in either English or Greek, often with translations into the other language, and take place in different venues across Athens.

Invited Contributors:
Clare Butcher, Panos Charalampous, Marina Fokidis, Hendrik Folkerts, Eirini Gerogianni, Yannis Hamilakis, Georgia Kotretsos, Eirini Papakonstantinou, Nektarios Pappas, Christoph Platz, Gene Ray, Dieter Roelstraete, Monika Szewczyk, Pier Luigi Tazzi, Katerina Tselou, Zafos Xagoraris, Denys Zacharopoulos, Arnisa Zeqo, and Mary Zygouri

Posted in Public Education
Related

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

with Yannis Hamilakis and Arnisa Zeqo

(Starting at the pavilion and then walking towards the hill)

Is modernity our antiquity? This was a question posed by documenta 12 in 2007. In light of the social, political…

 More
Calendar

#6 documenta 10
ek

with Clare Butcher and Georgia Kotretsos

We were not a destination, not part of the extended map. There was land, but we were not en route. The South was not news but still posed a logistical challenge for the usual professionals in transit…

 More
Calendar

#5 documenta 6
​From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

with Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris see their point of departure as the year 1977. At documenta 6, which was held that year and curated by Manfred Schneckenburger, were presented diverse…

 More
Calendar

#4 documenta 9
Now in 1992

with Pier Luigi Tazzi, Denys Zacharopoulos, and Monika Szewczyk

We asked two curators of documenta IX—Pier Luigi Tazzi and Denys Zacharopoulos—what it felt like to work during the fall of Communism, and their responses have been surprising. They avoid cliché and…

 More
Calendar

#3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017

with Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou

Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou suggest 1982, the year of documenta 7, as a stage to navigate the legacy of various performance histories. While the 1960s and 1970s were defining moments in…

 More
Calendar

#2 documenta 5
Showdown in Metaxourgio. Diskonekt vs. The Jazz Professor in: The Battle of ‘72

with Dieter Roelstraete and Nektarios Pappas

Dieter Roelstraete and Nektarios Pappas take 1972 as their point of departure, the year of Harald Szeemann’s landmark documenta 5, which evolved into a highly debated model for contemporary exhibition…

 More
Calendar

#1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017

with Irene Gerogianni and Mary Zygouri

Drawing on the tumultuous date 1968 and documenta 4 from the same year, artist Mary Zygouri and art historian Irene Gerogianni discuss the work of Maria Karavela (1938–2012)—a leading figure in Greek…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Synantiseis

Synantiseis findet von März bis Juni 2017 als öffentliche Gesprächsreihe in Athen statt, während derer die documenta anhand von persönlichen Geschichten, Reflexionen, Erzählungen und Erlebnissen, Filmvorführungen, Vorträgen und DJ-Sets vorgestellt wird. Wie kann eine Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst mehrfache Perspektiven auf unsere globale Lage eröffnen? Sollten Ausstellungen immer zu gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und politischen Alltagswirklichkeiten Stellung nehmen? Welche Weltereignisse haben sich auf die Entwicklung früherer documenta Ausstellungen ausgewirkt, und welche Wirkung hatten umgekehrt diese Ausstellungen?

documenta 14 Synantiseis lädt zur Teilnahme an einer Serie interdisziplinärer Begegnungen ein, die einen Dialog zwischen dem Kontext der documenta Ausstellungen und den aktuellen gesellschaftlich-politischen Umwälzungen in Griechenland und auf der ganzen Welt in Gang bringen wollen. Um die Vorstellungskraft des Publikums einzubeziehen, nutzen die einzelnen Präsentationen verschiedene Gesprächsformate. Sie behandeln so verschiedene Themen wie die politische Rede und die (De-)Konstruktion nationaler Identität, den Widerstand mit den Mitteln der darstellenden Kunst und Musik, Film als Dichtung, die Zukunft des Ausstellungsmachens, das Archivieren der Geschichte und Trauer um die Vergangenheit.

Synantiseis ist Teil von „eine Erfahrung“, dem öffentlichen Vermittlungsprogramm der documenta 14. Alle Gespräche finden auf Englisch oder Griechisch mit Übersetzungen zwischen diesen Sprachen und an verschiedenen Veranstaltungsorten in ganz Athen statt.

Eingeladene Teilnehmer_innen:
Clare Butcher, Panos Charalampous, Marina Fokidis, Hendrik Folkerts, Eirini Gerogianni, Yannis Hamilakis, Georgia Kotretsos, Eirini Papakonstantinou, Nektarios Pappas, Christoph Platz, Gene Ray, Dieter Roelstraete, Monika Szewczyk, Pier Luigi Tazzi, Katerina Tselou, Zafos Xagoraris, Denys Zacharopoulos, Arnisa Zeqo und Mary Zygouri.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

mit Yannis Hamilakis und Arnisa Zeqo

(Ausgangspunkt ist der Pavillon und dann gehen wir den Hügel hinauf)

Ist die Moderne unsere Antike? Diese Frage wurde im Jahr 2007 bei der documenta 12 gestellt. Angesichts…

 Mehr
Kalender

#6 documenta 10
ek

mit Clare Butcher und Georgia Kotretsos

Wir waren kein Reiseziel, man fand uns auf keiner detaillierten Karte. Land gab es wohl, doch es lag nicht auf dem Weg. Der Süden war zwar nichts Neues, doch immer noch stellte er für die Transitspezialisten…

 Mehr
Kalender

#5 documenta 6
From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

mit Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris setzen im Jahr 1977 an, nämlich bei der von Manfred Schneckenburger kuratierten documenta 6. Sie präsentieren verschiedene künstlerische Multimedia-Experimente…

 Mehr
Kalender

#4 documenta 9
Now in 1992

mit Pier Luigi Tazzi, Denys Zacharopoulos und Monika Szewczyk

Wir haben zwei Kuratoren der documenta IX – Pier Luigi Tazzi und Denys Zacharopoulos – gefragt, wie es sich für sie angefühlt hat, in den Jahren des kommunistischen Zusammenbruchs zu arbeiten, und…

 Mehr
Kalender

#3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017

mit Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou

Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou nutzen das Jahr 1982, in dem die documenta 7 stattfand, zum Einstieg in ihre Erkundung verschiedener Performancetraditionen. Während die 1960er und 1970er…

 Mehr
Kalender

#2 documenta 5
Showdown in Metaxourgio. Diskonekt vs. The Jazz Professor in: The Battle of ‘72

mit Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas

Ausgangspunkt für Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas ist das Jahr 1972, in dem Harald Szeemanns wegweisende documenta 5 stattfand. Diese documenta wurde zu einem der meistdiskutierten Beispiele zeitgenössischer…

 Mehr
Kalender

#1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017

mit Irene Gerogianni und Mary Zygouri

Vor dem Hintergrund des turbulenten Jahres 1968 und der 4. documenta im selben Jahr erörtern die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri und die Kunsthistorikerin Irene Gerogianni das Werk von Maria Karavela (1938–2012)…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.