Synantiseis: #1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017
with Irene Gerogianni and Mary Zygouri

7:30 pm
11th Gymnasium of Nikaia, Petrou Ralli 182, 18454 Nikaia, Athens

ID 10008995 © documenta Archiv / Carl Eberth

Drawing on the tumultuous date 1968 and documenta 4 from the same year, artist Mary Zygouri and art historian Irene Gerogianni discuss the work of Maria Karavela (1938–2012)—a leading figure in Greek performance art known for her politically charged (re)presentations of history—and the contemporary reworking of one of her most complex pieces by Zygouri.

Performance art as well as an acknowledgement of the social movements that were gaining dynamic presence around the world were largely absent from documenta 4. Contemporary with—but largely detached from—the student revolts and other social upheavals, the exhibition was marked by internal crisis, with several founding members leaving the institution.

In a performative lecture held at a public school in the area of Nikaia, Gerogianni and Zygouri unfold the narratives created around Kokkinia 1979, Karavela’s emblematic project, which dealt with the history of the Greek Resistance and the Greek Civil War. The two speakers aim to detract from the absences within documenta 4 in order to highlight Karavela’s forceful presence within activist art practices of the time, as well as elucidate, through Zygouri’s own project The Round Up (2017), the political connotations of her work in relation to contemporary Greece and the present context of crisis.

The speakers are introduced by Marina Fokidis, Curatorial Advisor of documenta 14.

This event will be held in Greek. Please note that there will be no translation.

In collaboration with the Municipality of Nikaia—Ag. Ioannis Rentis.

Irene Gerogianni is an art historian and museologist. She is a PhD candidate at the Department of Architecture of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, where she is researching the first wave of performance art in Greece. She co-edited the book Maria Karavela (together with Christopher Marinos and Bia Papadopoulou, 2015). Gerogianni lives and works in Athens.

Artist Mary Zygouri employs various methodologies, always using performance as her fixed point of reference. Her actions, organized meticulously and thoroughly prepared, usually unfold in public spaces, provoking unpredictable outcomes and the viewers’ critical participation. Throughout the last decade, she has performed across Europe and for institutions such as the Dutch Art Institute, the Istanbul Foundation for Culture (IKSV), and the Cittadellarte–Fondazione Pistoletto. Zygouri lives and works between Greece and Italy.

Posted in Public Education

Mary Zygouri

Mary Zygouri researches, reenacts, and reconfigures the politics and poetics of the archive. She positions herself in its critical fissures, conflicts, and silences, bringing forth how “minor” histories…


School of Gesture - public moments

with Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis, and Mary Zygouri

May 16, 2017, 5 pm: Lou Forster May 17, 2017, 5 pm: Marina Fokidis May 19, 2017, 3 pm: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray May 19, 2017, 5 pm: Alexandra Bachzetsis May 21, 2017, 5 pm: Mary Zygouri What is…


The Round-up Project: Kokkinia 1979–Kokkinia 2017 \ M. Z. \ M. K.

by Mary Zygouri

Based on the performance Kokkinia by the late Maria Karavela (1938–2012), which took place at the same site in 1979, artist Mary Zygouri has developed a long-term community project and a performance…

Synantiseis: #1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017
mit Irene Gerogianni und Mary Zygouri

MÄR
3
19:30 Uhr
11th Gymnasium von Nikaia, Petrou Ralli 182, 18454 Nikaia, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

ID 10008995 © documenta Archiv / Carl Eberth

Vor dem Hintergrund des turbulenten Jahres 1968 und der 4. documenta im selben Jahr erörtern die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri und die Kunsthistorikerin Irene Gerogianni das Werk von Maria Karavela (1938–2012), einer der bedeutendsten Vertreterinnen der griechischen Performancekunst, die vor allem für ihre hochpolitischen historischen Aufarbeitungen bekannt wurde. Thema des Gesprächs ist unter anderem die zeitgenössische Neubearbeitung eines ihrer komplexesten Werke durch Mary Zygouri.

Performancekunst fehlte auf der 4. documenta weitgehend, ebenso wie eine Anerkennung der gesellschaftlichen Umwälzungen, die zu dieser Zeit rund um die Welt an Bedeutung gewannen. Die Ausstellung fand gleichzeitig mit – aber so gut wie unberührt von – den Studentenunruhen und anderen gesellschaftspolitischen Protesten statt. Sie war überschattet von einer inneren Krise, im Zuge derer mehrere Gründungsmitglieder die Institution verließen.

In dem performativen Vortrag an einer öffentlichen Schule in der Region Nikaia sprechen Gerogianni und Zygouri über die Geschichte von Kokkinia 1979, einem der bekanntesten Werke von Maria Karavela, das sich mit der Geschichte der griechischen Widerstandsbewegung und des griechischen Bürgerkriegs befasste. Die Vortragenden verlagern den Blickpunkt von den Leerstellen der 4. documenta hin zu Karavelas eindrücklicher Präsenz inmitten aktivistischer Kunstpraktiken der damaligen Zeit. Zudem werden sie anhand von Zygouris eigenem Projekt The Round Up (2017) die politische Bedeutung von Karavelas Arbeit im Zusammenhang mit Griechenland und dem heutigen Kontext der Krise herausarbeiten.

Die Teilnehmerinnen werden von Marina Fokidis, Kuratorische Beraterin der documenta 14, vorgestellt.

Die Veranstaltung findet auf Griechisch statt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung nicht übersetzt wird.

In Kollaboration mit der Stadt Nikaia–Ag. Ioannis Rentis.


Irene Gerogianni ist Kunsthistorikerin und Museologin. Sie ist zurzeit Doktorandin am Institut für Architektur der Aristoteles-Universität in Thessaloniki und erforscht dort die erste Welle der Performancekunst in Griechenland. Gemeinsam mit Christopher Marinos und Bia Papadopoulou hat sie 2015 das Buch Maria Karavela heraugegeben. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Mary Zygouri arbeitet mit unterschiedlichsten Methoden, die stets von der Performance ausgehen. Ihre Aktionen sind akribisch und gründlich vorbereitet und finden zumeist im öffentlichen Raum statt, wo sie die kritische Mitwirkung der Betrachter einfordern und oft zu unvorhersehbaren Ergebnisse führen. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren ist Zygouri als Performancekünstlerin weithin in Europa aufgetreten, unter anderem am Dutch Art Institute, an der Istanbuler Stiftung für Kultur und Kunst (IKSV) und an der Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Griechenland und Italien.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Mary Zygouri

Im Zentrum von Mary Zygouris Erkundungen, Inszenierungen und Rekonfigurationen steht die Politik und Poetik des Archivs, in dessen kritischen Einschränkungen, Konflikten und Verschwiegenheiten sich die…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

School of Gesture - public moments

mit Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis und Mary Zygouri

16. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Lou Forster 17. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Marina Fokidis 19. Mai 2017, 15 Uhr: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray 19. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Alexandra Bachzetsis 21. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Mary Zygouri…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Round-up Project: Kokkinia 1979–Kokkinia 2017 \ M. Z. \ M. K.

von Mary Zygouri

Ausgehend von der Performance Kokkinia der verstorbenen Maria Karavela (1938–2012), die im Jahr 1979 am selben Ort stattfand, hat die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Oberschüler_innen…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.