Synantiseis: #2 documenta 5
Showdown in Metaxourgio. Diskonekt vs. The Jazz Professor in: The Battle of ‘72
with Dieter Roelstraete and Nektarios Pappas

10 pm
BIOS, Pireos 84, 10435, Athens

Dieter Roelstraete and Nektarios Pappas take 1972 as their point of departure, the year of Harald Szeemann’s landmark documenta 5, which evolved into a highly debated model for contemporary exhibition practice and redefined the role of the curator. Roelstraete and Pappas will revisit 1972 as seen, or rather heard, through the lens of that year’s popular and not-so-popular music. Sideways glances cast upon the era’s art production and light-footed detours through the history of architecture, film, and philosophy complete the picture of 1972 as a pivotal year in recent history: one in which the meaning of documenta (and with it that of art) changed forever.

Dieter Roelstraete attempts to reconstruct the traces of aurally momentous events in the music of Miles Davis, Steely Dan, NEU!, Pharoah Sanders, Maurizio Pollini, Steve Reich, and Julius Hemphill, tying in Jacques Derrida’s Of Grammatology. Nektarios Pappas recalls 1972 through Hélio Oiticica’s Tropicália and his film Agrippina é Roma Manhattan, through the album 666 by Aphrodite’s Child, and the music of Peloma Mpokiou, NEU!, Frank Zappa, Fela Kuti, and Karlheinz Stockhausen’s lecture Four Criteria of Electronic Music.

This event will be held in English. Please note that there will be no translation.

Dieter Roelstraete is a Curator at documenta 14. He has held curatorial positions at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2011–14) and the Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp (M HKA) (2003–11). From 2007 to 2011 he taught at De Appel’s Curatorial Programme in Amsterdam and at the Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam. A former editor of Afterall and co-founder of the journal F.R. DAVID, Roelstraete has published extensively in numerous catalogs and journals, including Artforum, e-flux journal, frieze, and Texte zur Kunst. Roelstraete lives and works in Kassel.

Nektarios Pappas was born in 1972. From 1996 to 2010 he was the manager of Vinyl Microstore, a record store in Athens, which was the breeding ground for the record company Pop Art Records, Yuria Festival for independent music and film, and the internet radio station VM Radio. He is a student of Zafos Xagoraris at the Athens School of Fine Arts. His main field of research is sound installation and his practice aims to create logical inconsistencies in public space. Pappas lives and works in Athens.

Posted in Public Education

Keeper of the Art That Kept Him: David Schutter in Conversation with Dieter Roelstraete

Dieter Roelstraete: The story of the Gurlitt Estate has been an ongoing curatorial concern of documenta 14’s. For some time now you have sailed on an independent course of artistic research into the…


d14 Sessions #4

with Dieter Roelstraete

During a two-part session, Dieter Roelstraete employs a peripatetic, meandering approach. First, we engage in a short excursion, or rather a “poetic ramble through the landscape” of the city, spurred…


Night Shift #3

with Dieter Roelstraete

Synantiseis: #2 documenta 5
Showdown in Metaxourgio. Diskonekt vs. The Jazz Professor in: The Battle of ‘72
mit Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas

MÄR
9
22 Uhr
BIOS, Pireos 84, 10435, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Ausgangspunkt für Dieter Roelstraete und Nektarios Pappas ist das Jahr 1972, in dem Harald Szeemanns wegweisende documenta 5 stattfand. Diese documenta wurde zu einem der meistdiskutierten Beispiele zeitgenössischer Ausstellungspraxis und definierte die Rolle des Kurators und der Kuratorin neu. Roelstraete und Pappas nähern sich 1972 auf dem Umweg über die in diesem Jahr populäre oder weniger populäre Musik. Seitenblicke auf die Kunstproduktion dieser Zeit und leichtfüßige Exkursionen in die Geschichte ihrer Architektur, Filme und Philosophie vervollständigen das Bild des Jahres 1972 als einer Zeitenwende der jüngeren Geschichte, in der sich die Bedeutung der documenta (und mit ihr auch der Kunst) für immer veränderte.

Dieter Roelstraete versucht, Spuren bedeutsamer Hörereignisse in der Musik von Miles Davis, Steely Dan, NEU!, Pharoah Sanders, Maurizio Pollini, Steve Reich und Julius Hemphill zu sichern und sie in eine Verbindung mit Jacques Derrridas Grammatologie zu bringen.

Nektarios Pappas beginnt seine Erkundung des Jahres 1972 mit Hélio Oiticicas Tropicália und seinem Film Agrippina é Roma Manhattan, dem Album 666 von Aphrodite‘s Child, der Musik von Peomona Mpokiou, NEU!, Frank Zappa und Fela Kuti sowie Karlheinz Stockhausens Vorlesung Vier Kriterien der elektronischen Musik.

Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung nicht übersetzt wird.


Dieter Roelstraete ist Kurator der documenta 14. Er war Kurator am Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2011–14) und am Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst Antwerpen (M HKA, 2003–11). Von 2007 bis 2011 unterrichtete er im De Appel Curatorial Programme in Amsterdam und am Rotterdamer Piet Zwart Instituut. Er war Herausgeber von Afterall und Mitbegründer der Zeitschrift F.R. DAVID. Er hat umfangreich in Katalogen und Zeitschriften wie Artforum, e-flux journal, frieze und Texte zur Kunst publiziert. Roelstraete lebt und arbeitet in Kassel.

Nektarios Pappas kam im Jahr 1972 zur Welt. Von 1996 bis 2010 war er Geschäftsführer der Plattenhandlung Vinyl Microstore in Athen, wo die Plattenfirma Pop Art Records, das Yuria-Festival für unabhängige Musik- und Filmproduktionen sowie das Internetratios VM Radio ihre Anfänge haben. Er studiert zurzeit bei Tafos Xagoraris an der Athener Akademie der bildenden Künste. Sein Forschungsgebiet ist die Klanginstallation, und in seiner Arbeit versucht er, logische Unstimmigkeiten im öffentlichen Raum zu erzeugen. Pappas lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Aufseher der Kunst, die ihn gefangen hielt: David Schutter im Gespräch mit Dieter Roelstraete

Dieter Roelstraete: Der documenta 14 war die Geschichte um die Sammlung Gurlitt ein beständiges kuratorisches Anliegen. Seit einiger Zeit nun hast du einen eigenständigen Kurs künstlerischer Forschung…

 Mehr
Notizen

d14 Sessions #4

mit Dieter Roelstraete

Bei dieser zweiteiligen Session wählt Dieter Roelstraete eine peripatetische, mäandernde Herangehensweise. Zunächst unternehmen wir eine kurze Exkursion bzw. eine „dichterische Wanderung durch die…

 Mehr
Kalender

Nachtschicht #3

mit Dieter Roelstraete
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.