Synantiseis: #4 documenta 9
Now in 1992
with Pier Luigi Tazzi, Denys Zacharopoulos, and Monika Szewczyk

MAY
8
7:30–9 pm
Avdi Square, Avdi Square, Athens

Thomas Schütte, Die Fremden, 1992, print

We asked two curators of documenta IX—Pier Luigi Tazzi and Denys Zacharopoulos—what it felt like to work during the fall of Communism, and their responses have been surprising. They avoid cliché and theorization, making for fascinating conversation. They juxtapose art making and history making with an intuitive, spontaneous, and joyful handling of chaos (not on the “right side of history”). This resonates profoundly with the contemporary moment, when news headlines declare multiple crises (migration, economy, democracy), revealing a deeper crisis of spirit, libido, and imagination. Making full use of Sanja Ivekovic’s evolving Monument to Revolution on Avdi Square (located steps away from the Municipal Gallery currently directed by Denys Zacharopoulos), we gather to imagine a future borne out of this complex continuous present and to make a toast. Moderated by documenta 14 curator Monika Szewczyk.


Denys Zacharopoulos is an art historian and art critic. He studied history and theory of art in France. He directed the Domaine de Kerguéhennec, Brittany, co-directed documenta 9 in 1992, and curated the French Pavilion at the Venice Biennale in 1999. He has been an advisor for many public collections, the General Inspector of the French Ministry of Culture, and a professor in Geneva, Grenoble, Vienna, Amsterdam, Lesbos, and Athens. Zacharopoulos has authored numerous studies on art. He lives and works in Greece.

Pier Luigi Tazzi was born in Colonnata, Florence, Italy, in 1941. He lives in Capalle, Florence, and NongPrue, ChonBuri, Thailand. An art critic and curator, he has been president of the non-profit organization Fondazione Lanfranco Baldi, Pelago, since 1998, and was a founding member of Cantiere Toscana, in 2016.

Monika Szewczyk is a curator of documenta 14 and a member of the Army of Beautiful Women, among many other things.

Posted in Public Education
Related

Meanwhile, Aboubakar Fofana contributes a text-ile to The documenta 14 Reader

by Monika Szewczyk

It took artist Aboubakar Fofana one day to set up a fructose-based indigo vat at the Mentis Center for the preservation of traditional textile techniques at 6 Polyfimou Street in Athens. It was December…

 More
Notes

d14 Sessions #5

with Monika Szewczyk and Irena Haiduk

The future of Europe as a present. During this session, students are invited to make a present together. A present for the composer Fredric Rzewski in the form of a recorded conversation. Rzewski is an…

 More
Calendar

Night Shift #4

with Monika Szewczyk
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Synantiseis: #4 documenta 9
Now in 1992
mit Pier Luigi Tazzi, Denys Zacharopoulos und Monika Szewczyk

MAI
8
19:30–21 Uhr
Avdi–Platz, Avdi–Platz, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Thomas Schütte, Die Fremden, 1992, print

Wir haben zwei Kuratoren der documenta IX – Pier Luigi Tazzi und Denys Zacharopoulos – gefragt, wie es sich für sie angefühlt hat, in den Jahren des kommunistischen Zusammenbruchs zu arbeiten, und bekamen überraschende Antworten. Die beiden mieden Klischees ebenso wie Theoretisierungen und erwiesen sich als faszinierende Gesprächspartner. Sie sahen das Kunst- oder auch Geschichte-Machen als intuitiven, spontanen und freudvollen Umgang mit dem Chaos (ohne jede Gewissheit, auf der „richtigen Seite“ der Geschichte zu stehen). Das hat uns heute, da die Schlagzeilen immer neue Krisen verkünden (Krisen der Einwanderung, der Wirtschaft, der Demokratie) und sich unter deren Oberfläche tiefere Krisen des Geistes, der Libido, der Fantasie erahnen lassen, noch oder wieder viel zu sagen. Wir nutzen das im Entstehen begriffene Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković (nur wenige Schritte entfernt von der zurzeit von Denys Zacharopoulos geleiteten Städtischen Galerie) ganz in seinem Sinne, indem wir uns dort versammeln, uns eine aus den Verwirrungen der Gegenwart hervorgehende Zukunft ausdenken und darauf anstoßen. Moderiert von documenta 14-Kuratorin Monika Szewczyk.


Denys Zacharopoulos ist Kunsthistoriker und Kritiker. Er hat in Frankreich Geschichte und Theorie der Kunst studiert. 1992 war er Leiter der Domaine de Kerguéhennec in der Bretagne und Kurator der documenta 9. 1999 kuratierte er den französischen Pavillon der Kunstbiennale in Venedig. Er war als Berater zahlreicher öffentlicher Sammlungen tätig, außerdem als Generalinspektor des französischen Kultusministeriums und Universitätsprofessor in Genf, Grenoble, Wien, Amsterdam, Athen und auf Lesbos. Zacharopoulos hat zahlreiche kunstwissenschaftliche Arbeiten veröffentlicht. Er lebt und arbeitet zurzeit in Griechenland.

Pier Luigi Tazzi kam 1941 in Colonnata, Florenz, Italien, zur Welt und lebt heute in Capalle, Florenz, sowie in NongPrue, ChonBuri, Thailand. Der Kunstkritiker und Kurator ist seit 1998 Vorsitzender der gemeinnützigen Organisation Fondazione Lanfranco Baldi in Pelago. 2016 war er Gründungsmitglied von Cantiere Toscana.

Monika Szewczyk ist unter anderem Kuratorin der documenta 14 und Mitglied – unter anderem – der Army of Beautiful Women.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Unterdessen steuert Aboubakar Fofana eine Text-ilie zum documenta 14 Reader bei

von Monika Szewczyk

Einen Tag brauchte der Künstler Aboubakar Fofana, um am Mentis Zentrum für die Bewahrung traditioneller Textiltechniken in der Polyfimoustraße 6, Athen, seine fructosebasierte Indigo-Küpe aufzubauen…

 Mehr
Notizen

d14 Sessions #5

mit Monika Szewczyk und Irena Haiduk

Die Zukunft Europas als ein Gegebenes. In dieser Session sind die Teilnehmer_innen eingeladen, gemeinsam ein Geschenk zu fabrizieren: ein Geschenk für den Komponisten Fredric Rzewski in Form eines aufgenommenen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Nachtschicht #4

mit Monika Szewczyk
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.