Synantiseis: #3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017
with Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou

MAR
14
8 pm
Experimental Stage (-1), Rex Theater, Panepistimiou 48, 10564, Athens

Thanasis Chondros and Alexandra Katsiani, Penumbra, 1983

Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou suggest 1982, the year of documenta 7, as a stage to navigate the legacy of various performance histories. While the 1960s and 1970s were defining moments in the history of post-war performance and body art, the early 1980s ushered in a new era of post-performance, post-feminism, and the work of the Pictures Generation, framed by the political spectrum of the Thatcher and Reagan governments. This transition is evident in the somewhat reactionary choices made in documenta 7, curated by Rudi Fuchs. Yet it also advances the question of how we, in the year 2017, relate to the legacies and histories of those years prior to 1982—now fully canonized through extensive representation in museum collections and art history education, while often mythologized as representing a moment of endless potential and freedom. Folkerts and Papakonstantinou explore these legacies through the work of a number of artists from that period vis-à-vis contemporary artists whose practice is built on a dialogue with their generational precedents.

The event will take place in English and Greek with translations into both languages.


Hendrik Folkerts is a Curator at documenta 14. He was curator of Performance, Film, and Discursive Programs at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam (2010–14) and coordinator of the Curatorial Programme at De Appel in Amsterdam (2009–11). His texts have been published widely in journals and magazines such as Artforum, South as a State of Mind, The Exhibitionist, and Metropolis M, as well as in exhibition catalogues. Folkerts lives and works in Kassel.

Eirini Papakonstantinou is a curator at the State Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki, organizing and coordinating exhibitions, performances, workshops, classes, and music events. Since 2009 she has curated the Thessaloniki Performance Festival, which is part of the Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art. Her texts have been published widely in exhibition catalogues and journals. Papakonstantinou lives and works in Thessaloniki.

Posted in Public Education
Related

The Parliament of Bodies: The Strategy of Joy

with Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio, and Adam Szymczyk

A paradox lies at the heart of contemporary democratic societies concerning the center of the politics of representations of their parliaments: They have gradually turned into ensembles joined by fear…

 More
Calendar

Gordon Hookey: Summoning Time. Painting & Politikill Transition in MURRILAND!

with Gordon Hookey, Johannes Fabian, Ali Moraly, Vivian Ziherl, and Hendrik Folkerts

Taking the work of Gordon Hookey in Kassel and Tshibumba Kanda Matulu in Athens as a point of departure, this public conversation between Hookey, Frontier Imaginaries curator Vivian Ziherl, and anthropologist…

 More
Calendar

The Gesture of Hospitality

with Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts, and Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio comments on rituals of hospitality within Māori culture and the political implications of being a host and being a guest.

 More
Calendar

The Way of the Spirit

with Khvay Samnang, Nget Rady, Erin Gleeson, and Hendrik Folkerts

A discussion on the human body as a way to navigate and map land, as a physical and spiritual territory.

 More
Calendar

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

with Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones, and Arnisa Zeqo

We warmly invite you to the inauguration of The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión. This Society takes the work and methods of Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as a starting point in order…

 More
Calendar

d14 Sessions #3

with Hendrik Folkerts

Having curated the Performance, Film & Discursivity programs at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam from 2010–15, Hendrik Folkerts shares his experience of working with the spatialization and articulation…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Synantiseis: #3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017
mit Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou

MÄR
14
20 Uhr
Experimental Stage (-1), Rex Theater, Panepistimiou 48, 10564, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Thanasis Chondros und Alexandra Katsiani, Penumbra, 1983

Hendrik Folkerts und Eirini Papakonstantinou nutzen das Jahr 1982, in dem die documenta 7 stattfand, zum Einstieg in ihre Erkundung verschiedener Performancetraditionen. Während die 1960er und 1970er Jahre prägend für die Geschichte der Performance wie auch der Body Art nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg waren, begann mit den frühen 1980ern eine neue Ära von Post-Performance, Postfeminismus und der Pictures Generation im Kontext der Thatcher- und Reagan-Regierungen. Diese Verschiebung wurde auch in den relativ reaktionären Positionen der von Rudi Fuchs kuratierten documenta 7 deutlich. Doch sie wirft auch die Frage auf, wie wir uns heute zum Erbe und zur Geschichte dieser Jahre vor 1982 verhalten sollen. Denn diese sind inzwischen vollständig durch umfangreiche Ausstellungen und Aufnahme in die Sammlungen von Museen sowie in die Kunstgeschichte kanonisiert und werden zugleich immer wieder als Momente unendlichen Potenzials und grenzenloser Freiheit mythisch überhöht. Folkerts und Papakonstantinou erschließen dieses Erbe anhand der Arbeiten einiger Künstlerinnen und Künstler der Zeit, insbesondere in Gegenüberstellung mit zeitgenössischen Künstler_innen, die in ihrer Arbeit den Dialog mit den vorangegangenen Generationen suchen.

Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch und Griechisch mit Übersetzungen in beide Sprachen statt.


Hendrik Folkerts ist Kurator der documenta 14. Er war Kurator für Performance, Film und öffentliche Programme am Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam (2010–14) sowie Koordinator des De Appel Curatorial Programme (2009–11). Zahlreiche seiner Texte erschienen in Zeitschriften wie Artforum, South as a State of Mind, The Exhibitionist und Metropolis M sowie in Ausstellungskatalogen. Folkerts lebt und arbeitet in Kassel.

Eirini Papakonstantinou ist Kuratorin am Staatlichen Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Thessaloniki, wo sie Ausstellungen, Performances, Workshops, Seminare und Musikveranstaltungen organisiert und koordiniert. Seit 2009 kuratiert sie das Thessaloniki Performance Festival als Teil der Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art. Ihre Texte erscheinen in verschiedenen Ausstellungskatalogen und Zeitschriften. Papakonstantinou lebt und arbeitet in Thessaloniki.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Das Parlament der Körper: The Strategy of Joy

mit Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña und Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio und Adam Szymczyk

Im Kern der heutigen demokratisch verfassten Gesellschaften liegt eine Paradoxie, die das Wesen der Parlamente als Volksvertretungen und Deputiertenkammern betrifft: Sie sind schrittweise zu Versammlungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Gordon Hookey: Summoning Time. Painting & Politikill Transition in MURRILAND!

mit Gordon Hookey, Johannes Fabian, Ali Moraly, Vivian Ziherl und Hendrik Folkerts

Ausgehend von den Werken Gordon Hookeys in Kassel und Tshibumba Kanda Matulus in Athen, diskutieren Hookey, Vivian Ziherl, die Kuratorin von Frontier Imaginaries, und der Anthropologe Johannes Fabian über…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Gesture of Hospitality

mit Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts und Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio beschäftigt sich mit Ritualen der Gastfreundschaft in der Kultur der Māori und mit den politischen Konsequenzen, Gastgeber oder Gast zu sein.

 Mehr
Kalender

The Way of the Spirit

mit Khvay Samnang, Nget Rady, Erin Gleeson und Hendrik Folkerts

Eine Diskussion über den menschlichen Körper als Möglichkeit, Land als physisches und spirituelles Territorium zu navigieren und zu kartieren.

 Mehr
Kalender

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

mit Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones und Arnisa Zeqo

Herzlich möchten wir zur Eröffnung der Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión einladen. Die Gesellschaft macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises Carrión (1941–89)…

 Mehr
Kalender

d14 Sessions #3

mit Hendrik Folkerts

Als Kurator der Programme im Bereich Performance, Film & Discursivity am Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam von 2010 bis 2015 spricht Hendrik Folkerts hier über seine Erfahrung mit der räumlichen Gestaltung…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.