Synantiseis: #7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?
with Yannis Hamilakis and Arnisa Zeqo

MAY
30
8–9:30 pm

(Starting at the pavilion and then walking towards the hill)

Modernist ruin, photo: Vincent Verhoef

Is modernity our antiquity? This was a question posed by documenta 12 in 2007. In light of the social, political, and aesthetic/artistic developments in the intervening years, it is worth returning to this question now, since it invites us to reflect on modernity as an archaeological period, as a phase that can be examined through its materiality and temporality. What does an archaeology of modernity look like? Is there an archaeology of the contemporary? Does revisiting the early modern break or “quarrel” with antiquity serve us well in the present? And what does it mean to go beyond such linear conceptions of temporality and instead imagine a multitemporal materiality, defined by coexistence rather than succession? These are some of the questions that we engage with in this discussion, which explores the role of antiquities and the material past as well as the significance of ancient and contemporary ruins in Greece today. Finally, marking ten years since the publication of the book The Nation and its Ruins: Antiquity, Archaeology and National Imagination in Greece, we reflect on how the colonial/national nexus once defining the archaeological has changed in the era of the “indebted man,” global migration, and the “reception crisis” of the global North.

The conversation takes place only in English.


Yannis Hamilakis is Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology and Professor of Modern Greek Studies at Brown University, where he teaches courses on decolonizing classical antiquity, archaeological ethnography, contemporary migration, and the military-archaeology complex. He has authored, edited, and coedited 15 books and anthologies, including the Nation and its Ruins (2007), Archaeology and the Senses (2013), Camera Kalaureia: An Archaeological Photo-ethnography (2016; with Fotis Ifantidis), and Archaeologies of Forced and Undocumented Migration (2017).

Arnisa Zeqo is an art historian based in Athens. In 2011 she cofounded rongwrong, a space for art and theory in Amsterdam. Recently she was curator in residence at Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College, where she focused on works of art at the edge of the performative and authored the conceptual essay “Let’s Spit on Szeemann.” Zeqo is part of the team of documenta 14 in Athens as coordinator of education.

Posted in Public Education
Related

Blood Memory

with Lala Meredith-Vula and Arnisa Zeqo

In the 1990s, a civil movement organized at grassroots level by students and villagers to try to reconcile the thousands of feuding families around Kosova. These blood feuds were based on an old law that…

 More
Calendar

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

with Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones, and Arnisa Zeqo

We warmly invite you to the inauguration of The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión. This Society takes the work and methods of Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as a starting point in order…

 More
Calendar

The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión

Coordinated by Arnisa Zeqo

Je m’appelle Ulises
et toi comment t’appelles-tu?

The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión takes the work and methods of the Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as…

 More
Public Programs

Synantiseis: #7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?
mit Yannis Hamilakis und Arnisa Zeqo

MAI
30
20–21:30 Uhr
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

(Ausgangspunkt ist der Pavillon und dann gehen wir den Hügel hinauf)

Modernist ruin, Foto: Vincent Verhoef

Ist die Moderne unsere Antike? Diese Frage wurde im Jahr 2007 bei der documenta 12 gestellt. Angesichts der gesellschaftlichen, politischen und ästhetisch/künstlerischen Entwicklungen, die seitdem stattgefunden haben, ist es heute wieder angebracht, auf diese Frage zurückzukommen, lädt sie uns doch dazu ein, die Moderne als einen archäologischen Zeitabschnitt zu betrachten, der auf der Basis seiner Materialität und Zeitlichkeit einer Untersuchung unterzogen werden kann. Wie sieht eine Archäologie der Moderne aus? Gibt es eine Archäologie des Zeitgenössischen? Kann uns eine Neubetrachtung des frühmodernen Bruchs oder „Streits“ mit der Antike in der Gegenwart nützlich sein? Und was würde es bedeuten, wenn man eine solche lineare Auffassung der Zeitlichkeit hinter sich ließe und sich stattdessen eine multitemporale Materialität vorstellen würde, die weit mehr durch Koexistenz denn durch Abfolge bestimmt wäre? Das sind einige der Fragen, denen wir uns widmen wollen bei dieser Diskussion, die der Rolle der Antike und der materiellen Vergangenheit wie auch der Bedeutung der alten und neuen Ruinen im heutigen Griechenland nachgeht. Und schließlich setzen wir uns anlässlich der Erstveröffentlichung des Buches The Nation and Its Ruins: Antiquity, Archaeology and National Imagination in Greece von Yannis Hamilakis vor zehn Jahren damit auseinander, auf welche Weise eine koloniale/nationale Verknüpfung, die einst das Archäologische bestimmte, sich in einer Ära des „verschuldeten Menschen“, globaler Migration und der „Willkommenskrise“ verändert hat.

Das Gespräch findet ausschließlich in englischer Sprache statt.


Yannis Hamilakis ist Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology und Professor of Modern Greek Studies an der Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, wo er zu den Schwerpunkten Dekolonisierung der klassischen Antike, archäologische Ethnografie, Migration in der Gegenwart und militärisch-archäologischer Komplex lehrt. Er hat 15 Bücher verfasst, herausgegeben oder mitherausgegeben. Dazu zählen u. a. The Nation and Its Ruins (2007), Archaeology and the Senses (2013), Camera Kalaureia: An Archaeological Photo-ethnography (2016; mit Fotis Ifantidis) sowie Archaeologies of Forced and Undocumented Migration (2017).

Arnisa Zeqo ist Kunsthistorikerin und lebt in Athen. 2011 war sie Mitbegründerin von rongwrong, einem Raum für Kunst und Theorie in Amsterdam. Zuletzt arbeitete sie als Curator-in-Residence am Center for Curatorial Studies am Bard College in Annandale-on-Hudson, wo sie sich auf das Kunstschaffen an der Grenze des Performativen konzentrierte und den konzeptuellen Essay „Let’s Spit on Szeemann“ verfasste. Zeqo gehört als Koordinatorin des Vermittlungsprogramms zum Team der documenta 14 in Athen.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Diaries as a space of histories

mit Murat İssi, Katerina Tselou und Arnisa Zeqo

Ausgangspunkt dieser öffentlichen Präsentation ist die von Banu Cennetoğlu für die documenta 14 in Athen entwickelte Arbeit, um eine Diskussion über Tagebücher – intime Anmerkungen zum eigenen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Blood Memory

mit Lala Meredith-Vula und Arnisa Zeqo

In den 1990er Jahren versuchte eine basisdemokratische Bürgerbewegung aus Studenten und Dorfbewohnern rund um Kosovo, tausende in Fehden verstrickte Familien miteinander zu versöhnen. Die Blutfehden…

 Mehr
Kalender

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

mit Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones und Arnisa Zeqo

Herzlich möchten wir zur Eröffnung der Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión einladen. Die Gesellschaft macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises Carrión (1941–89)…

 Mehr
Kalender

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión

Koordiniert von Arnisa Zeqo

Je m’appelle Ulises
et toi comment t’appelles-tu?

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises…

 Mehr
Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.