Elective Affinities: Diaries as a space of histories
with Murat İssi, Katerina Tselou, and Arnisa Zeqo

JUL
14
Discussion
8 pm
Gennadius Library, Souidias 61, Athens

This public presentation takes the work developed by Banu Cennetoğlu for documenta 14 in Athens as a departure point for opening a discussion on diaries—the intimate annotations of one’s life—as a source for alternative historical narratives.

Gurbet’in Güncesi: Yüreğimi Dağlara Nakşettim (Gurbet’s Diary: I Engraved My Heart into the Mountains) is the name of Gurbetelli Ersöz’ diary, kept by her between July 27, 1995 and October 8, 1997.

Gurbetelli Ersöz (1965–1997) was a Kurdish journalist and freedom fighter. In 1993, she became the first female editor-in-chief of the Turkish newspaper Özgür Gündem, which focused on Kurdish issues. The newspaper’s headquarters in Istanbul were raided on December 10, 1993 and more than ninety people were detained. Editor-in-chief Ersöz and seventeen of her colleagues were arrested. After thirteen days of heavy torture, she was sentenced to a prison term of three years and nine months. Although she was released in June 1994, she was exhausted and forbidden from practicing her profession. In July 1995, she decided to join the guerrilla forces.

Written in Turkish, Gurbet’in Güncesi: Yüreğimi Dağlara Nakşettim was first published in 1998 by Mezopotamien Verlag in Neuss, Germany and in 2014 by Aram Yayınevi in Diyarbakır, Turkey. As of February 26, 2017, there were 151 journalists in prison and 177 media and news outlets have been closed in Turkey. Hundreds of books have been banned. Ersözʼ diary, which is one of them, is both a personal account and a factual document looking at forty years of an on-going war and its many allies.

Gurbetelli Ersöz was killed on October 8, 1997 in Southern Kurdistan.

Banu Cennetoğlu lives and works in Istanbul and Berlin. She explores the political, social, and cultural dimension of the production, representation, and distribution of knowledge and asks how it feeds into a society’s collective thought to become part of its ideology. Recent exhibitions include It is obvious from the map, REDCAT, Los Angeles (2017); documenta 14, Athens and Kassel (2017); and The Restless Earth, Fondazione Nicola Trussardi, Milan (2017). She participated in the 10th Gwangju Biennale (2014); Manifesta 8, Murcia, Spain (2010); 53rd Venice Biennale/Pavilion of Turkey (2009); 3rd Berlin Biennale (2008); 1st Athens Biennale (2007); and the 10th Istanbul Biennale (2007). In 2006, she initiated BAS, a ­project space in Istanbul focusing on the collection and production of artists’ books and printed matter.

Dr. Murat İssi was born in 1974 in northern Kurdistan / Turkey. He studied Mathematics in Turkey and later completed his studies in Greece in the department of political science and history of Panteion University. He taught Greek-Turkish relations at Democritus University in Thrace. In addition to translating Gurbetelli Ersöz’s diary, I Engraved My Heart into the Mountains, he has translated books into Turkish, Greek, and Kurdish and has published numerous articles in academic and non-academic journals. His book Kurdish Nationalism. Sociopolitical Concepts and Islam, 1898-1918 will be published in Papazisis Editions in 2017. He lives and works in Athens.

Katerina Tselou is the assistant to the artistic director and curatorial advisor of documenta 14. She was co-curator and coordinator of the curatorial team for the 4th Athens Biennale (2013), curator of visual arts at the National Theater of Greece (2009–2013), and exhibition coordinator and international relations and film distribution manager at Argos, Center for Art and Media in Brussels (2007–2008). She has organized projects as an independent curator in Greece, collaborating with institutions such as the European Film Festival and the Theater of the South. Katerina Tselou lives and works in Athens.

Arnisa Zeqo is an art historian based in Athens. In 2011, she cofounded rongwrong, a space for art and theory in Amsterdam. Recently she was curator-in-residence at the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College, where she focused on works of art at the edge of the performative and authored the conceptual essay “Let’s Spit on Szeemann.” Zeqo is part of the team of documenta 14 in Athens as the coordinator of education.

Posted in Public Education
Related

The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook

with Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk, and Katerina Tselou

Please join documenta 14 Artistic Director Adam Szymczyk and Editor-in-Chief of Publications Quinn Latimer in celebrating the publications of The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook (both Prestel…

 More
Calendar

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

with Yannis Hamilakis and Arnisa Zeqo

(Starting at the pavilion and then walking towards the hill)

Is modernity our antiquity? This was a question posed by documenta 12 in 2007. In light of the social, political…

 More
Calendar

#5 documenta 6
​From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

with Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris see their point of departure as the year 1977. At documenta 6, which was held that year and curated by Manfred Schneckenburger, were presented diverse…

 More
Calendar

Blood Memory

with Lala Meredith-Vula and Arnisa Zeqo

In the 1990s, a civil movement organized at grassroots level by students and villagers to try to reconcile the thousands of feuding families around Kosova. These blood feuds were based on an old law that…

 More
Calendar

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

with Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones, and Arnisa Zeqo

We warmly invite you to the inauguration of The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión. This Society takes the work and methods of Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as a starting point in order…

 More
Calendar

The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión

Coordinated by Arnisa Zeqo

Je m’appelle Ulises
et toi comment t’appelles-tu?

The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión takes the work and methods of the Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as…

 More
Public Programs
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Elective Affinities: Diaries as a space of histories
mit Murat İssi, Katerina Tselou und Arnisa Zeqo

JUL
14
Diskussion
20 Uhr
Gennadius-Bibliothek, Souidias 61, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Ausgangspunkt dieser öffentlichen Präsentation ist die von Banu Cennetoğlu für die documenta 14 in Athen entwickelte Arbeit, um eine Diskussion über Tagebücher – intime Anmerkungen zum eigenen Leben – als Quelle alternativer historischer Narrative zu eröffnen.

Gurbet'in Güncesi: Yüreğimi Dağlara Nakşettim (Gurbets Tagebuch: Ich gravierte mein Herz in die Berge) lautet der Titel von Gurbetelli Ersöz’ Tagebuch, das sie von 27. Juli 1995 bis 8. Oktober 1997 führte.

Gurbetelli Ersöz (1965–1997) war eine kurdische Journalistin und Freiheitskämpferin. 1993 wurde sie die erste weibliche Herausgeberin der türkischen Tageszeitung Özgür Gündem, die sich vor allem mit kurdischen Fragen befasste. Am 10. Dezember 1993 wurde im Hauptsitz der Zeitung in Istanbul eine Razzia durchgeführt, mehr als 90 Menschen wurden in Gewahrsam genommen. Die Herausgeberin Ersöz und 17 ihrer Kollegen wurden verhaftet. Nach dreizehn Tagen massiver Folter wurde sie zu einer Freiheitsstrafe von drei Jahren und neun Monaten verurteilt. Auch wenn sie im Juni 1994 entlassen wurde, war sie entkräftet, und ihr wurde jede weitere Ausübung ihres Berufs verboten. Im Juli 1995 beschloss sie, sich der Guerillatruppe anzuschließen.

Das auf Türkisch verfasste Tagebuch Gurbet'in Güncesi: Yüreğimi Dağlara Nakşettim wurde zuerst 1998 im deutschen Mezopotamien-Verlag, Neuss, veröffentlicht, 2014 auch in der Türkei bei Aram Yayınevi, Diyarbakır. Bis zum 26. Februar 2017 wurden in der Türkei 151 Journalisten verhaftet und 177 Medien- und Nachrichtenorganisationen geschlossen. Hunderte von Büchern wurden verboten. Ersöz’ Tagebuch, eines der verbotenen Bücher, ist ein persönlicher Bericht und ein faktenbasiertes Dokument, das auf vierzig Jahre eines andauernden Krieges und dessen viele Beteiligte blickt.

Am 8. Oktober 1997 wurde Gurbetelli Ersöz im südlichen Kurdistan getötet.


Banu Cennetoğlu lebt und arbeitet in Istanbul und Berlin. Sie beschäftigt sich mit den politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Dimensionen der Produktion, Repräsentation und Distribution von Wissen sowie mit der Frage, wie Wissen in das kollektive Denken der Gesellschaft eingeht, um Teil ihrer Ideologie zu werden. Neuere Ausstellungen u. a.: It is obvious from the map, REDCAT, Los Angeles (2017); documenta 14, Athen und Kassel (2017); und The Restless Earth, Fondazione Nicola Trussardi, Mailand (2017). Sie war Teilnehmerin der 10. Gwangju Biennale (2014); Manifesta 8, Murcia, Spanien (2010); 53. Venedig Biennale/Türkischer Pavillon (2009); 3. Berlin Biennale (2008); 1. Athen Biennale (2007); und 10. Istanbul Biennale (2007). 2006 gründete sie BAS, einen Projektraum in Istanbul, der sich auf die Sammlung und Produktion von Künstlerbüchern und -schriften konzentriert.

​Dr. Murat İssi wurde 1974 in Nord-Kurdistan / Türkei geboren. Zunächst studierte er Mathematik in der Türkei, später absolvierte er ein Studium an der Fakultät für Politikwissenschaft und Geschichte der Panteion-Universität in Griechenland. Er lehrte griechisch-türkische Beziehungen an der Demokrit-Universität Thrakien. Neben Gurbetelli Ersöz’ Tagebuch, I Engraved My Heart into the Mountains, hat İssi weitere Bücher ins Türkische, Griechische und Kurdische übersetzt und zahlreiche Artikel in akademischen wie nichtakademischen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht. Sein Buch Kurdish Nationalism. Sociopolitical Concepts and Islam, 1898–1918, wird 2017 bei Papazisis Editions erscheinen. Er lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

​Katerina Tselou ist Assistentin des Künstlerischen Leiters und Kuratorische Beraterin der documenta 14. Sie war Ko-Kuratorin und Koordinatorin des kuratorischen Teams der 4. Athen Biennale (2013), Kuratorin für bildende Kunst am Nationaltheater Griechenland (2009–2013) sowie Ausstellungskoordinatorin und Verantwortliche für internationale Beziehungen und Filmdistribution bei Argos, Center for Art and Media, in Brüssel (2007–2008). Als unabhängige Kuratorin hat sie Projekte in Griechenland organisiert und mit Institutionen wie dem European Film Festival und dem Theater of the South zusammengearbeitet. Katerina Tselou lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

​Arnisa Zeqo ist Kunsthistorikerin und lebt in Athen. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des seit 2011 bestehenden Raums für Kunst und Theorie rongwrong in Amsterdam. Zuletzt hatte sie ein Aufenthaltsstipendium als Kuratorin am Center for Curatorial Studies des Bard College, wo sie sich mit Kunstwerken an der Grenze des Performativen beschäftigte und den konzeptionellen Essay Let’s Spit on Szeemann verfasste. Als Koordinatorin der Vermittlung ist Zeqo Teil des Teams der documenta 14 in Athen.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
Verwandte Einträge

Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

mit Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk und Katerina Tselou

Feiern Sie mit Adam Szymczyk, dem Künstlerischen Leiter der documenta 14, und der Chefredakteurin der Publikationen, Quinn Latimer, die Publikationen Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

 Mehr
Kalender

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

mit Yannis Hamilakis und Arnisa Zeqo

(Ausgangspunkt ist der Pavillon und dann gehen wir den Hügel hinauf)

Ist die Moderne unsere Antike? Diese Frage wurde im Jahr 2007 bei der documenta 12 gestellt. Angesichts…

 Mehr
Kalender

#5 documenta 6
From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

mit Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris setzen im Jahr 1977 an, nämlich bei der von Manfred Schneckenburger kuratierten documenta 6. Sie präsentieren verschiedene künstlerische Multimedia-Experimente…

 Mehr
Kalender

Blood Memory

mit Lala Meredith-Vula und Arnisa Zeqo

In den 1990er Jahren versuchte eine basisdemokratische Bürgerbewegung aus Studenten und Dorfbewohnern rund um Kosovo, tausende in Fehden verstrickte Familien miteinander zu versöhnen. Die Blutfehden…

 Mehr
Kalender

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body

mit Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones und Arnisa Zeqo

Herzlich möchten wir zur Eröffnung der Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión einladen. Die Gesellschaft macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises Carrión (1941–89)…

 Mehr
Kalender

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión

Koordiniert von Arnisa Zeqo

Je m’appelle Ulises
et toi comment t’appelles-tu?

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises…

 Mehr
Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.