The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión: Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body
with Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones, and Arnisa Zeqo

We warmly invite you to the inauguration of The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión. This Society takes the work and methods of Mexican artist Ulises Carrión (1941–89) as a starting point in order to explore cultural strategies and practices at the intersection between literature, performance art, conceptual art, and life. The Society opens up ways of research and thinking about art, culture, and the stories circulating through unread pages, through regular meetings with artists, curators, writers, fans and scholars alike. More than just a discussion of the work of the artist, the meetings try to challenge the participants’ political imagination in the manner of Carrión. On this first evening, documenta 14 team members Hendrik Folkerts and Arnisa Zeqo will perform a reading from the work of Carrión, followed by the keynote lecture Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body by art and performance historian Amelia Jones.

Reading of Works by Ulises Carrión
With Hendrik Folkerts and Arnisa Zeqo
7–7:45 pm

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or, The Conceptual Body
Talk by Amelia Jones followed by a discussion
8—10 pm
Amelia Jones’s talk discusses how in histories of Western contemporary art, conceptualism has been articulated as a very separate movement from that of body or performance art: the two modes of production are seen as driven by completely different concerns. Focusing on the process of encountering that certain art practices, such as that of Ulises Carrión, put into play, Jones discusses our current perspective, in which the radical rights movements of the 1960s and 70s are being reevaluated. She argues that the most complex and productive works from this period intersected conceptual and embodied concerns in ways that began to transform the basic question of art’s value, meaning, and role in society. Paying attention to the tensions between concept, body, event, and “art” that surfaced around 1960 in the Western world allows for a more profound understanding of how conceptualism, performativity, and the body mutually affect and inform each other in art staged as “event.”

Following the lecture, Hendrik Folkerts and Arnisa Zeqo will moderate a discussion with Amelia Jones.


Amelia Jones is Robert A. Day Professor at Roski School of Art and Design, University of Southern California. A curator, theorist, and historian of art and performance, her recent activities include the anthology Otherwise: Imagining Queer Feminist Art Histories (co-edited with Erin Silver) (2016), “On Trans/Performance,” a special issue of Performance Research (2016), the edited volume Sexuality (2014), and the exhibition Material Traces: Time and the Gesture in Contemporary Art, Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Montréal, 2013. Jones lives and works in Los Angeles.

Hendrik Folkerts, documenta 14 Curator, was Curator of Performance, Film, and Discursive Programs at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam from 2010–15. He studied art history at the University of Amsterdam, specializing in contemporary art and theory, feminist practices, and performance. Folkerts is the co-editor of Stedelijk Studies #3 titled “The Place of Performance” (with Sophie Berribi) (2015), and of The Shadowfiles #3, “Curatorial Education” (with Ann Demeester and Edna van Duyn) (2013). Folkerts is based in Kassel.

Arnisa Zeqo is an educator and art historian currently working on aneducation of documenta 14. She studied Art History and Philosophy at the University of Amsterdam. There, in 2011, she co-founded rongwrong, a space devoted to art and theory. In 2015 she was Curator in Residence at Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College, where she focused on the performances of Ulises Carrión and wrote the conceptual essay “Let’s spit on Szeemann” (2015). Zeqo lives and works in Athens.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Gordon Hookey: Summoning Time. Painting & Politikill Transition in MURRILAND!

with Gordon Hookey, Johannes Fabian, Ali Moraly, Vivian Ziherl, and Hendrik Folkerts

Taking the work of Gordon Hookey in Kassel and Tshibumba Kanda Matulu in Athens as a point of departure, this public conversation between Hookey, Frontier Imaginaries curator Vivian Ziherl, and anthropologist…

 More
Calendar

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

with Yannis Hamilakis and Arnisa Zeqo

(Starting at the pavilion and then walking towards the hill)

Is modernity our antiquity? This was a question posed by documenta 12 in 2007. In light of the social, political…

 More
Calendar

Blood Memory

with Lala Meredith-Vula and Arnisa Zeqo

In the 1990s, a civil movement organized at grassroots level by students and villagers to try to reconcile the thousands of feuding families around Kosova. These blood feuds were based on an old law that…

 More
Calendar

The Gesture of Hospitality

with Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts, and Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio comments on rituals of hospitality within Māori culture and the political implications of being a host and being a guest.

 More
Calendar

The Way of the Spirit

with Khvay Samnang, Nget Rady, Erin Gleeson, and Hendrik Folkerts

A discussion on the human body as a way to navigate and map land, as a physical and spiritual territory.

 More
Calendar

#3 documenta 7
1982/Performance Legacies/2017

with Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou

Hendrik Folkerts and Eirini Papakonstantinou suggest 1982, the year of documenta 7, as a stage to navigate the legacy of various performance histories. While the 1960s and 1970s were defining moments in…

 More
Calendar

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión:
Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body
mit Hendrik Folkerts, Amelia Jones und Arnisa Zeqo

Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Herzlich möchten wir zur Eröffnung der Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión einladen. Die Gesellschaft macht das Werk und die Taktiken des mexikanischen Künstlers Ulises Carrión (1941–89) zu ihrem Ausgangspunkt, um kulturelle Strategien und Praktiken an der Schnittstelle von Literatur, Performance, Konzeptkunst und Leben zu erkunden. Sie versucht der Forschung und dem Nachdenken über Kunst und Kultur und den Geschichten, die auf ungelesenen Seiten zirkulieren, neue Wege zu bahnen und hält daher regelmäßige Treffen mit Künstler_innen, Kurator_innen, Wissenschaftler_innen und Fans ab. Dabei geht es nicht so sehr um eine Diskussion von Carrións Werk; vielmehr zielen die Treffen darauf ab, die politische Vorstellungskraft der Teilnehmer_innen im Sinne des Künstlers herauszufordern. Am ersten Abend werden die documenta 14 Teammitglieder Hendrik Folkerts und Arnisa Zeqo aus dem Werk Carrións lesen. Im Anschluss daran spricht die Kunst- und Performance-Historikerin Amelia Jones in ihrem Vortrag über Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body.

Lesung von Werken von Ulises Carrión
Mit Hendrik Folkerts und Arnisa Zeqo
19–19:45 Uhr

Encountering: Gesture as Event, or The Conceptual Body
Vortrag von Amelia Jones mit anschließender Diskussion
20–22 Uhr

Dieser Vortrag von Amelia Jones geht der Frage nach, inwieweit in den Geschichten der westlichen Gegenwartskunst die Konzeptkunst als eine Bewegung bestimmt wurde, die mit der Körper- oder Performance-Kunst wenig gemein hat: beiden Produktionsformen lägen dieser Deutung nach vollkommen verschiedene Absichten zugrunde. Jones beschäftigt sich mit dem Sich-Begegnen, eine Praxis, die unter anderem von Ulises Carrión ins Spiel gebracht wurde. Jones diskutiert die heutige Perspektive einer Neubewertung der radikalen Bürgerrechtsbewegungen der 1960er und 1970er Jahre und argumentiert, dass die komplexesten und wirkmächtigsten Arbeiten dieser Periode diejenigen sind, die die Anliegen von Konzept und Verkörperung überkreuzten, was in Folge zu einer Transformation der grundsätzlichen Frage hinsichtlich des Werts der Kunst, ihrer Bedeutung und ihrer Rolle für die Gesellschaft führte. Betrachtet man die Spannungen zwischen Konzept, Körper, Ereignis und „Kunst“, die um 1960 herum in der westlichen Welt auftauchten, dann gestattet dies ein tieferes Verständnis davon, wie Konzeptkunst, Performance und Körper sich wechselseitig in einer Kunst, die als „Ereignis“ inszeniert wird, beeinflussen und informieren.

Die auf den Vortrag folgende Diskussion wird von Hendrik Folkerts und Arnisa Zeqo moderiert.


Amelia Jones ist Professorin und hat den Robert A. Day-Lehrstuhl an der Roski School of Art and Design der University of Southern California inne. Sie ist Kuratorin, Theoretikerin und Kunst- und Performance-Historikerin. Jones ist Mitherausgeberin des Sammelbandes Otherwise: Imagining Queer Feminist Art Histories (mit Erin Silver) (2016) sowie Herausgeberin von „On Trans/Performance“, einer Sonderausgabe von Performance Research (2016) und des Bandes Sexuality (2014). Zuletzt organisierte sie die Ausstellung Material Traces: Time and the Gesture in Contemporary Art, Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Montréal, 2013. Jones lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles.

Hendrik Folkerts ist Kurator der documenta 14. Zuvor war er von 2010 bis 2015 am Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam Kurator für Performance und Film und verantwortlich für das Diskursprogramm. Er studierte an der Universität von Amsterdam Kunstgeschichte, wobei er sich auf zeitgenössische Kunst und Theorie, feministische Praktiken und Performance spezialisierte. Folkerts ist Mitherausgeber von Stedelijk Studies #3 mit dem Titel „The Place of Performance” (mit Sophie Berribi) (2015) und von The Shadowfiles #3, „Curatorial Education” (mit Ann Demeester und Edna van Duyn) (2013). Folkerts lebt in Kassel.

Arnisa Zeqo ist Pädagogin und Kunsthistorikerin. Zurzeit arbeitet sie als Vermittlungskoordinatorin für die documenta 14. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der Universität Amsterdam. Dort war sie 2011 Mitbegründerin von rongwrong, einem Raum für Kunst und Theorie. 2015 war sie Curator in Residence am Center for Curatorial Studies des Bard College in New York, wo sie sich mit den Performances von Ulises Carrión beschäftigte und ihren konzeptuellen Essay „Let’s spit on Szeemann“ (2015) verfasste. Zeqo lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Das Parlament der Körper: The Strategy of Joy

mit Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña und Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio und Adam Szymczyk

Im Kern der heutigen demokratisch verfassten Gesellschaften liegt eine Paradoxie, die das Wesen der Parlamente als Volksvertretungen und Deputiertenkammern betrifft: Sie sind schrittweise zu Versammlungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Diaries as a space of histories

mit Murat İssi, Katerina Tselou und Arnisa Zeqo

Ausgangspunkt dieser öffentlichen Präsentation ist die von Banu Cennetoğlu für die documenta 14 in Athen entwickelte Arbeit, um eine Diskussion über Tagebücher – intime Anmerkungen zum eigenen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Gordon Hookey: Summoning Time. Painting & Politikill Transition in MURRILAND!

mit Gordon Hookey, Johannes Fabian, Ali Moraly, Vivian Ziherl und Hendrik Folkerts

Ausgehend von den Werken Gordon Hookeys in Kassel und Tshibumba Kanda Matulus in Athen, diskutieren Hookey, Vivian Ziherl, die Kuratorin von Frontier Imaginaries, und der Anthropologe Johannes Fabian über…

 Mehr
Kalender

#7 documenta 12
Is Modernity Our Antiquity?

mit Yannis Hamilakis und Arnisa Zeqo

(Ausgangspunkt ist der Pavillon und dann gehen wir den Hügel hinauf)

Ist die Moderne unsere Antike? Diese Frage wurde im Jahr 2007 bei der documenta 12 gestellt. Angesichts…

 Mehr
Kalender

Blood Memory

mit Lala Meredith-Vula und Arnisa Zeqo

In den 1990er Jahren versuchte eine basisdemokratische Bürgerbewegung aus Studenten und Dorfbewohnern rund um Kosovo, tausende in Fehden verstrickte Familien miteinander zu versöhnen. Die Blutfehden…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Gesture of Hospitality

mit Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts und Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio beschäftigt sich mit Ritualen der Gastfreundschaft in der Kultur der Māori und mit den politischen Konsequenzen, Gastgeber oder Gast zu sein.

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.