Ben Russell

Ben Russell, Good Luck (2017), Super 16 mm film transferred to digital video, color and black-and-white, sound, 150 min., production still, Kiiki Negi, Suriname, June 2016, photo: Hélène Degrandcourt (top); production still, Bor, Serbia, March 2016, photo: Chris Fawcett (bottom)

Ben Russell, Black and White Trypps Number Three, 2007, digital video transferred from 35 mm film, Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Ben Russell, Good Luck, 2017, four-channel digital video installation, installation view, Fridericianum, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Ben Russell—filmmaker, artist, curator—challenges conventions of documentary representation from within to produce intense, hypnotic, and, at times, hallucinating experiences. His curatorial work follows his filmmaking, which unfolds between experimental cinema and a form of speculative ethnography; he calls it “psychedelic ethnography.”

Watching a film by Russell means going on a nonnarrative, ritualized journey, one that short-circuits the visceral subjective charge of psychedelia with ethnographic protocols of visualization and objectification. The particular power of his filmic work lies in underscoring the affinities and differences to be found between these two different states. An experience that he forges, on the one hand, through examining the cinematic apparatus itself and its potential for immersion and mimetic identification, and, on the other, by the very subjects and subject matter of his films, which often traverse the liminal and engage in altered states of consciousness and in secular practices of ritual and trance. “Transformative experiences,” Russell says, “go hand in hand with critical awareness of cinematic devices and their historically coded limitations.”

Born in 1976 in Massachusetts, Russell now lives in Los Angeles. He became known through his series Trypps (2005–10), in which he first worked with the physical experience of noise music. Nevertheless he quickly moved on “to include the various poles of action painting, avant-garde cinema, portraiture, stand-up comedy, global capitalism, and trance dance à la Jean Rouch,” as he notes. Several feature-length films, installations, live performances, and short films have followed. And, as the founder of the Magic Lantern screening series (among many others), Russell has conceived of and organized over one hundred thematic film and video programs. For documenta 14, he presents a new film project that examines the social and global scale of the politics of mineral extraction. It is a comparative film study about the communities of workers in an illegal, small-scale gold mine in Suriname and in a state-owned copper mine in Serbia. In addition, he has organized a four-day film and performance festival in Athens, titled HALLUCINATION(S), inviting independent filmmakers, musicians, visual artists, and film researchers to collectively unravel cinema’s hallucinatory potential.

—Hila Peleg

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The Mirror Stage – Four Films

by Ben Russell

A screening of four films by Ben Russell as part of the series Ton–Bild–Zeit: Filmemacher_innen und ihr Werk (Sound–Image–Time: Filmmakers and Their Work)

Ben Russell is an American media artist…

 More
Calendar

Ben Russell

Ben Russell, Good Luck (2017), Super-16-mm-Film überspielt auf digitales Video, Farbe und schwarz-weiß, Ton, 150 Min., Produktionsstill, Kiiki Negi, Surinam, Juni 2016, Foto: Hélène Degrandcourt (oben); Produktionsstill, Bor, Serbien, März 2016, Foto: Chris Fawcett (unten)

Ben Russell – Filmemacher, Künstler, Kurator – hinterfragt die Konventionen dokumentarischer Repräsentation von innen und lädt die Betrachter_innen zu intensiven, hypnotischen und bisweilen auch halluzinativen Erfahrungen ein. Ausgangsbasis seiner kuratorischen Arbeit sind seine Filme, die sich zwischen experimentellem Kino und spekulativer Ethnografie bewegen – der Künstler selbst spricht von „psychedelischer Ethnografie“.

Einen Film von Russell anzusehen bedeutet, sich auf eine ritualisierte Reise ohne durchgehendes Narrativ zu begeben, eine Reise, die die intuitive, subjektive Anmutung psychedelischer Erfahrungen mit ethnografischen Visualisierungs- und Objektifizierungsprotokollen kurzschließt. Der Hervorhebung von Ähnlichkeiten und Differenzen dieser beiden Zustände verdankt Russells filmisches Werk seine besondere Wirkung. Dies gelingt ihm durch die Ausschöpfung des Potenzials, das das Medium Film an sich bietet, und dessen Eigenschaft, den Betrachter tief in eine Materie eintauchen zu lassen und sich auf mimetische Weise damit zu identifizieren. Doch auch die Motive und Themen seiner Filme tragen dazu bei, die nicht selten die Grenzen veränderter Bewusstseinszustände überschreiten und sich profanen rituellen Praktiken und Trancezuständen hingeben. „Transformative Erfahrungen“, so Russell, „gehen Hand in Hand mit einem kritischen Gespür für die Möglichkeiten des Films und ihren historisch kodierten Begrenzungen.“

Russell, 1976 in Massachusetts geboren, lebt heute in Los Angeles. Bekannt wurde der Künstler durch seine „Trypps“-Serie (2005–2010), in der er anfänglich die physische Erfahrung von Noise-Musik thematisierte, sein Repertoire jedoch rasch auf „die unterschiedlichen Pole von Action-Painting, Avantgarde-Kino, Porträt, Stand-up-Comedy, globalem Kapitalismus und Trancetanz à la Jean Rouch“ erweiterte. Mehrere Lang- und Kurzfilme, Installationen und Live-Performances sollten folgen. Als Gründer unter anderem von der Filmscreening-Reihe Magic Lantern hat Russell zudem eine Reihe von mehr als hundert Themenfilmen und Videoprogrammen konzipiert und organisiert. Im Rahmen der documenta 14 präsentiert er ein neues Filmprojekt, das sich den sozialen Implikationen und globalen Dimensionen der Gewinnung von Bodenschätzen und der damit verbundenen Politik widmet. Die Filmstudie vergleicht die Situation von Arbeitern in einer kleinen, illegalen Goldmine in Surinam mit den Arbeitern einer staatlichen Kupfermine in Serbien. Darüber hinaus hat Russell unter dem Titel HALLUCINATION(S) auch ein viertägiges Film- und Performancefestival in Athen organisiert und unabhängige Filmemacher_innen, Musiker_innen, bildende Künstler_innen und Filmforscher_innen eingeladen, gemeinsam das halluzinatorische Potenzial des Kinos zu erkunden.

— Hila Peleg

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Mirror Stage – Vier Filme

von Ben Russell

Im Rahmen der Serie Ton–Bild–Zeit: Filmemacher_innen und ihr Werk werden vier Filme von Ben Russell gezeigt.

Ben Russell ist ein amerikanischer Medienkünstler und Kurator, dessen Arbeiten psychedelische…

 Mehr
Kalender