Live and Die as Eva Braun
with Roee Rosen, Marcel Schwierin, and Henriette Gallus

SEP
12
Book Presentation and Discussion
7–8 pm

Artist Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin, director of the Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art, will present some of the provocative and evocative texts from their publication Live and Die as Eva Braun and Other Intimate Stories, followed by a discussion, in which the audience is encouraged to participate. The book launch will be introduced and moderated by Henriette Gallus, Head of Communications for documenta 14, and followed by book signing with the artist Roee Rosen.

Live and Die as Eva Braun and Other Intimate Stories is a bilingual edition of short writings by Roee Rosen. At the heart of this collection are three provocative texts extracted from important artworks by Rosen, offered here as genre-defying literature at the intersection between reality and fiction, speculative narrative and historical-political critique, humor and eroticism. The three texts are complemented by three of Rosen’s short political-aesthetic essays.

One of these projects, Live and Die as Eva Braun (1995–97), stirred up a political controversy when first shown in Israel, and was later recognized by many as a watershed work concerning the representation of trauma, Nazism, and the Holocaust. It was shown again at documenta 14 in Athens. Rosen’s unique cinematic production, reflected in his film shown in Kassel, The Dust Channel, is exemplified by two full scripts included in the collection: Hilarious and The Confessions of Roee Rosen.

The book was co-edited by Marcel Schwierin and Edit Molnár to accompany Rosen’s first ever survey show in Germany at the Edith-Russ-Haus in Oldenburg in 2016.


Painter, novelist, and filmmaker Roee Rosen (b. 1963, Rehovot, Israel) is an astute critical voice in Israel. While his work deals primarily with the representation of desire and structural violence, Rosen has created an artistic universe that treacherously undermines the normative implications of identities and identifications through fictionalization, irony, and revision. In untold variations, he typically links current Israeli and world politics with mythical and political references to European and Jewish history. Using a vast array of fictional characters and iconographic motifs and codes, Rosen frequently refers to, and transforms, not only the canon of the historical avant-garde and transgressive traditions from the Marquis de Sade to Georges Bataille, but also popular media, political propaganda, and classic children’s fairy tales.

Marcel Schwierin is a curator, filmmaker, and co-founder of the Werkleitz Biennial, the experimental film database cinovid, and the Arab Shorts festival in Cairo. His films include The Images (experimental, 1994) and Eternal Beauty (documentary, 2003). He has regularly curated for the Werkleitz Biennial, the Goethe-Institut, and the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, among others. From 2010–2015 he was the curator of film and video for transmediale. Since 2015 he is has been the director, together with Edit Molnár, of the Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art in Oldenburg.

Posted in Calendar
Related

Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen—painter, novelist, and filmmaker—is an astute critical voice in Israel. While his work deals primarily with the representation of desire and structural violence, Rosen, born in 1963, has…

 More
Artists

The Parliament of Bodies: The Strategy of Joy

with Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio, and Adam Szymczyk

A paradox lies at the heart of contemporary democratic societies concerning the center of the politics of representations of their parliaments: They have gradually turned into ensembles joined by fear…

 More
Calendar

“documenta 14. Weltkunst - Eine Reise”

with Henriette Gallus, Natascha Pflaumbaum, and Mounira Al Solh

ARTE, documenta 14, and the Kunsthochschule Kassel cordially invite you to the film premiere of documenta 14: Weltkunst—Eine Reise (ARTE/hr, 2017, 52 min.) on Monday, June 12 at 7 pm.

One hundred and…

 More
Calendar

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

with Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art) present an evening dedicated to the premiere of Rosen’s new film The Dust Channel, the launch of his new book Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 More
Calendar

Translating Europe

with Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani, and Roee Rosen

Translation is a buzzword in our increasingly hybrid, diasporic, border-crossing societies, and at the same time a highly ambiguous term, since it simultaneously represents the operation by which national…

 More
Calendar

Live and Die as Eva Braun
mit Roee Rosen, Marcel Schwierin und Henriette Gallus

SEP
12
Buchvorstellung und Diskussion
19–20 Uhr
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Der Künstler Roee Rosen und der Leiter des Edith-Russ-Hauses für Medienkunst, Marcel Schwierin, stellen provokante und aussagekräftige Texte aus ihrem Buchprojekt Live and Die as Eva Braun and Other Intimate Stories vor. Die Besucher_innen sind eingeladen, sich an der anschließenden Diskussion zu beteiligen. Einführung und Moderation der Buchpräsentation übernimmt Henriette Gallus, Leiterin der Kommunikation der documenta 14. Abschließend wird Roee Rosen sein Werk signieren.

Live and Die as Eva Braun and Other Intimate Stories ist eine zweisprachige Ausgabe kurzer, von Roee Rosen verfasster Texte. Das Herzstück des Sammelbands bilden drei provokante Texte aus Rosens wichtigsten Arbeiten. Es handelt sich dabei um eine genre-überschreitende Literatur an der Schnittstelle zwischen Realität und Fiktion, spekulativer Narrative und historisch-politischer Kritik sowie Humor und Erotik. Ergänzt werden diese Texte durch drei kurze, politisch-ästhetische Essays des Künstlers.

Eines dieser Projekte, Live and Die as Eva Braun (1995–97), hat bei seiner Präsentation in Israel für Aufruhr gesorgt, wurde jedoch später von vielen als bahnbrechend bezeichnet, was die Darstellung von Traumata, Nazismus und Holocaust betrifft. Es wurde auf der documenta 14 in Athen gezeigt. Rosens einzigartige kinematografische Produktion, die sich auch in seinem in Kassel präsentierten Film The Dust Channel widerspeigelt, wird durch zwei vollständig in dem Sammelband abgedruckte Drehbücher (Hilarious und The Confessions of Roee Rosen) veranschaulicht.

Das Buch erschien 2016 anlässlich der ersten Werkschau Rosens in Deutschland im Edith-Russ-Haus in Oldenburg. Mitherausgeber_innen waren Marcel Schwierin und Edit Molnár.


Der Maler, Autor und Filmemacher Roee Rosen (geb. 1963 in Rehovot, Israel) ist eine scharfsinnige, kritische Stimme im heutigen Israel. Rosen, der in seinen Arbeiten in erster Linie Begehren und strukturelle Gewalt darstellt, schuf ein künstlerisches Weltbild, das mithilfe von Fiktionalisierungen, Ironie und Revisionen auf boshafte Weise normative Auswirkungen von Identitäten und Identifikationen unterläuft. In unzähligen Abwandlungen verknüpft Rosen auf eine für ihn typische Art und Weise aktuelle politische Entwicklungen in Israel und auf der ganzen Welt mit mythischen und politischen Bezügen zur europäischen und jüdischen Geschichte. Rosen, der auf ein großes Spektrum an fiktiven Figuren und ikonischen Motiven und Kodierungen zurückgreift, involviert und transformiert nicht nur den Kanon der historischen Avantgarde und grenzüberschreitender Traditionen von de Sade bis George Bataille, sondern auch populäre Medien, politische Propaganda und klassische Kinderbücher.

​Marcel Schwierin ist Kurator, Filmemacher und Mitbegründer der Werkleitz Biennale, der Datenbank cinovid für Experimentalfilm und Videokunst und des Arab Shorts Festivals in Kairo. Zu seinen Filmen zählen Die Bilder (Experimentalfilm, 1994) und Ewige Schönheit (Dokumentarfilm, 2003). Er kuratiert u. a. regelmäßig die Werkleitz Biennale, Ausstellungsprojekte des Goethe-Instituts und die Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen. Von 2010–2015 war er Kurator für Film und Video der transmediale. Seit 2015 leitet er zusammen mit Edith Molnár das Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst in Oldenburg.

Gepostet in Kalender
Verwandte Einträge

Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen – Maler, Autor und Filmemacher – ist ein scharfsinniger israelischer Kritiker, dessen Arbeiten sich hauptsächlich mit der Darstellung von Begehren und struktureller Gewalt auseinandersetzen…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Das Parlament der Körper: The Strategy of Joy

mit Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña und Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio und Adam Szymczyk

Im Kern der heutigen demokratisch verfassten Gesellschaften liegt eine Paradoxie, die das Wesen der Parlamente als Volksvertretungen und Deputiertenkammern betrifft: Sie sind schrittweise zu Versammlungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

„documenta 14. Weltkunst – Eine Reise“

mit Henriette Gallus, Natascha Pflaumbaum und Mounira Al Solh

ARTE, die documenta 14 und die Kunsthochschule Kassel laden ein zur Premiere des Films „documenta 14. Weltkunst – Eine Reise“ (ARTE/HR 2017, 52 Min.) am Montag, 12. Juni um 19.00 Uhr.

160 Künstlerinnen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

mit Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst) widmen diesen Abend der Premiere von Rosens neuem Film The Dust Channel und dem Erscheinen seines neuen Buchs Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 Mehr
Kalender

Translating Europe

mit Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani und Roee Rosen

„Übersetzung“ ist einerseits ein Modewort in unseren zunehmend hybriden, grenzüberschreitenden Gesellschaften, andererseits ein höchst mehrdeutiger Begriff. Denn Übersetzung ist der Vorgang, bei…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.