The Parliament of Bodies: Pile o´ Sápmi
with Máret Ánne Sara and Candice Hopkins

SEP
3
Discussion
8–9:30 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Live stream available

Photo: Matti Aikido and Mai-Lis Eira 

documenta 14 curator Candice Hopkins in conversation with artist Máret Ánne Sara about her artistic work Pile o´ Sápmi, the installation of 400 reindeer skulls exhibited at Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost). They’ll also be discussing the protection of Sámi reindeer herders and the artistic movement formed by the artist to follow public proceedings, initiated by her reindeer-herding brother Jovsset Ánte Sara, that challenge the Norwegian government’s reindeer culls in Norway.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Máret Ánne Sara

On February 1, 2016, the town of Tana in Sápmi/Northern Norway awoke to the sight of 200 reindeer heads piled into a pyramid in front of the Indre Finnmark District Court. This was the day that young…

 More
Artists

The Parliament of Bodies: The Strategy of Joy

with Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio, and Adam Szymczyk

A paradox lies at the heart of contemporary democratic societies concerning the center of the politics of representations of their parliaments: They have gradually turned into ensembles joined by fear…

 More
Calendar

The Gesture of Hospitality

with Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts, and Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio comments on rituals of hospitality within Māori culture and the political implications of being a host and being a guest.

 More
Calendar

In Memoriam: Beau Dick (1955–2017)

by Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick was given the name “Walis Gwy Um,” which means “big, great whale” in the Kwak’wala language. His carvings tap into the supernatural, as though everything he made is invested with spirit…

 More
Notes

Elegy for Annie Pootoogook (1969–2016)

by Candice Hopkins

Annie Pootoogook was from the Arctic near the North Pole. Her community is called Kinngait in Inuktitut—the language of Inuit people—and Cape Dorset in English. Annie passed away a few days ago. Police…

 More
Notes

#21 Outlawed Social Life

by Candice Hopkins

U'mista, in the Kwak'wala language, means the return of something or someone thought to be lost or taken. In Alert Bay and Cape Mudge, First Nations communities along the northwest coast of Canada repatriated…

 More
Calendar

Das Parlament der Körper: Pile o´ Sápmi
mit Máret Ánne Sara und Candice Hopkins

SEP
3
Diskussion
20–21:30 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Als Livestream verfügbar
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

documenta 14 Kuratorin Candice Hopkins im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Máret Ánne Sara über deren Werk Pile o´ Sápmi, eine Installation aus 400 Rentierschädeln, die in der Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost) gezeigt wird. Die beiden werden auch über den Schutz der samischen Rentierhalter_innen sprechen und über die künstlerische Bewegung von Sara, die ins Leben gerufen wurde, um den öffentlichen Anhörungen zu folgen, die von Jovsset Ánte Sara, der Rentierhalter und Bruder der Künstlerin ist, initiiert wurden. Mit ihnen soll die norwegische Regierung bewogen werden, die erzwungene Dezimierung der Rentierbestände in Norwegen einzustellen.

Foto: Matti Aikido und Mai-Lis Eira 

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Máret Ánne Sara

Als die Bewohner_innen der Stadt Tana in Sápmi (Nordnorwegen) am 1. Februar 2016 erwachten, fanden sie vor dem Bezirksgericht der Finnmark eine Pyramide aus 200 Rentierköpfen vor. An diesem Tag reichte…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Das Parlament der Körper: The Strategy of Joy

mit Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña und Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio und Adam Szymczyk

Im Kern der heutigen demokratisch verfassten Gesellschaften liegt eine Paradoxie, die das Wesen der Parlamente als Volksvertretungen und Deputiertenkammern betrifft: Sie sind schrittweise zu Versammlungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Gesture of Hospitality

mit Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts und Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio beschäftigt sich mit Ritualen der Gastfreundschaft in der Kultur der Māori und mit den politischen Konsequenzen, Gastgeber oder Gast zu sein.

 Mehr
Kalender

Zum Gedenken an Beau Dick (1955–2017)

von Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick erhielt den Namen „Walis Gwy Um“, was in der Sprache Kwank‘wala „großer, mächtiger Wal“ bedeutet. Seine Schnitzarbeiten schöpften aus dem Übernatürlichen, als sei alles, was er…

 Mehr
Notizen

Elegie für Annie Pootoogook (1969–2016)

von Candice Hopkins

Annie Pootoogooks Heimat war die Arktis nahe dem Nordpol. Der Name ihrer Siedlung ist, auf Inuktitut, der Sprache der Inuit, Kinngait, auf Englisch Cape Dorset. Annie ist vor einigen Tagen verstorben…

 Mehr
Notizen

#21 Outlawed Social Life

von Candice Hopkins

U'mista bedeutet in der Sprache Kwak'wala die Wiederkehr von etwas oder jemandem, der, die oder das als verloren oder geraubt galt. In Alert Bay und Cape Mudge haben First Nations-Gemeinden entlang der…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.