The Parliament of Bodies: Communism will be the collective management of alienation*
with Nadia Bou Ali, Ray Brassier, Dimitra Kotouza, Mattin, and Paul B. Preciado

SEP
5
Workshop
8–11:30 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Live stream available

Previous revolutionary theories thought that it was possible to live in unalienated conditions. However, the question of mediation and how we understand ourselves is being radically challenged today: technology accelerates certain forms of socialization but also shapes our interactions and the way we think; neuroscience challenges the notion of selfhood and computers know more about ourselves than we do. The concept of alienation is back, this time without its connotations of authenticity. What does it mean to be a subject in conditions of real subsumption when our most intimate details are being commodified (from our DNA to our choices and social relations on the internet)? Where is our room for agency? These questions are preliminary requisites in order to answer how we might develop a common idea of what emancipation means. Alienation is a helpful concept because it forces us to ask what is being alienated, what is producing alienation, and what can be done about it ­– which inevitably touches on the question of subjectivity. Answering this might help us better understand what is and could be a political subject today. Representative democracy produces its own forms of democratic alienation. The refugee crisis shows that it cannot deal on the national level politically, yet it is difficult to generate forms of collectivity strong enough to change the course of things. An ongoing tension occurs between the lack of vision for the future – which makes people return to questions of identity (such as race and nationality) – and an economic situation pushing more and more people to the limits. This is a time bomb, which urges questions of collectivity beyond identity and a reconsideration of the notion of universalism in opposition to the universal equivalent of money.

*This sentence comes from Samo Tomšič at the Historical Materialism Conference in Beirut, March 2017


Nadia Bou Ali is Assistant Professor at the Civilization Studies Program and the Sociology Anthropology Department at the American University of Beirut. She is currently completing a book entitled In the Hall of Mirrors on the intellectual history of liberalism in Arab thought (Edinburgh University Press, forthcoming 2017) and co-editing the volume Lacan contra Foucault: Subjectivity, Sex, and Politics (Bloomsbury Press, 2018). Her research and teaching interests revolve around: Arab Marxism, critical social theory, and psychoanalysis.

​Ray Brassier obtained his PhD in philosophy from the University of Warwick in 2001. From 2002 to 2008 he was a Research Fellow at Middlesex University’s Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy. Since 2008, he has been a member of the philosophy faculty at the American University of Beirut. He is the author of Nihil Unbound: Enlightenment and Extinction (Palgrave Macmillan, 2007) and the English translator of works by Alain Badiou and Quentin Meillassoux.

​Dimitra Kotouza is a writer and researcher who lives in the UK. Her most recent and forthcoming published work is on racialized and gendered abjection and the psychic borders of identity in the crisis, the bio-policing of borders and sexuality under neoliberal governmentality (The Body of the Governed, Rowman and Littlefield, forthcoming 2018) new forms of labor activism (Journal of Labor and Society), the relationship between Greek movements and migrants (Beyond The Greek Crisis, PM Press), and the question of the overcoming of capitalist social forms, identities, and technologies under conditions of “real subsumption” (What Is to Be Done Under Real Subsumption, Mute Books). From 2011–15 she wrote her doctoral thesis (University of Kent), entitled Surplus Citizens, on the contradictions faced by social struggles in the Greek crisis and the fetishism of the nation-state. She is a member of the editorial collectives of the journals Mute and Endnotes, and since 2015 she has been an adjunct or fixed-term lecturer in various UK universities.

​Mattin is an artist from Bilbao – currently living in Berlin – working with noise and improvisation. His work seeks to address the social and economic structures of experimental sonic and artistic production through live performance, recordings, and writing. Using a conceptual approach, he aims to question the nature and parameters of improvisation, specifically the relationship between the idea of “freedom” and the constant innovation that it traditionally implies, and the established conventions of improvisation as a genre. He is finishing a PhD at the University of the Basque Country under the supervision of Ray Brassier and Josu Rekalde. Along with Anthony Iles, he edited the book Noise & Capitalism (Arteleku Audiolab, 2009) and they are currently editing the forthcoming book What is to be Done Under Real Subsumption? In 2012, CAC Brétigny and Taumaturgia published Unconstituted Praxis, a book collecting his writing plus interviews and reviews from performances that he has been part of. Both books are available online. Mattin is taking part in documenta 14.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Mattin

In the desire to explore noise and improvisation in social and political terms, Mattin, along with publishing books, sets up situations for the “exhibition as concert.” This took form, for example…

 More
Artists

Sovereign Bodies: A New History of Sexuality in Three Chapters

with Paul B. Preciado

Whereas Michel Foucault’s history of sexuality relied on the notion of “biopolitics” to understand the modern formation of political sexual subjects, this seminar takes as a starting point the constitutive relationship between “necropolitics” and sexual and gender identities…

 More
Calendar

#0 Introduction

by Adam Szymczyk, Paul B. Preciado, and Andreas Angelidakis
Calendar

d14 Sessions #8

with Paul B. Preciado

During this session, writer, philosopher, and curator Paul B. Preciado talks about the transformation of gender and sexual politics within the context of neoliberal societies, and about the production…

 More
Calendar

Launch Event of South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1]

by Sotirios Bahtsetzis, Paul B. Preciado, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Marina Fokidis, Quinn Latimer, and Adam Szymczyk

Please join us for talks, readings, and conversation to launch the documenta 14 publication program with South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1]

South as a State of Mind, founded by Marina Fokidis…

 More
Calendar

Das Parlament der Körper: Communism will be the collective management of alienation*
(Der Kommunismus wird die kollektive Bewältigung der Entfremdung)
mit Nadia Bou Ali, Ray Brassier, Dimitra Kotouza, Mattin und Paul B. Preciado

SEP
5
Workshop
20–23:30 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Als Livestream verfügbar
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Frühere Revolutionstheorien räumten die Möglichkeit ein, in einem nicht-entfremdeten Zustand zu leben. Allerdings steht die Frage nach der Vermittlung und nach unserem Selbstverständnis heute radikal zur Disposition: Die Technik beschleunigt gewisse Formen der Sozialisierung, prägt jedoch auch unser Denken und unsere Interaktion. Die Neurowissenschaften stellen den althergebrachten Begriff des Selbst infrage, und Computer wissen mehr über uns, als wir dies tun. Der Begriff der Entfremdung ist wieder en vogue, dieses Mal jedoch ohne die Konnotation der Authentizität. Was heißt es, unter den Bedingungen realer Subsumption ein Subjekt zu sein, da unsere intimsten Informationen zur Ware werden (von unserer DNA bis hin zu unseren Entscheidungen und sozialen Kontakten im Internet)? Wo ist der Spielraum für unsere Handlungsfreiheit? Diese Fragen sind vorläufige Erfordernisse für die Beantwortung der Frage, wie wir eine gemeinsame Vorstellung davon entwickeln können, was Emanzipation bedeutet. Entfremdung ist als Begriff hilfreich, da er uns die Frage aufzwingt, was es heißt, entfremdet zu sein, was die Entfremdung hervorruft und was dagegen zu unternehmen ist – was unweigerlich das Thema der Subjektivität anreißt. Die Beantwortung der genannten Fragen verbessert unser Verständnis dessen, was es heißt, in der heutigen Zeit ein politisches Subjekt zu sein. Die repräsentative Demokratie erzeugt ihre eigenen Arten der demokratischen Entfremdung. Die Flüchtlingskrise zeigt, dass sie auf nationaler Ebene politisch nicht handlungsfähig ist, und doch ist es schwierig, Formen von Kollektivität herzustellen, die stark genug sind, den Lauf der Dinge zu verändern. Es herrscht eine anhaltende Spannung zwischen dem Mangel an einer Zukunftsperspektive – was Menschen dazu veranlasst, zu Fragen der Identität zurückzukehren (wie etwa der Ethnie und der Nationalität) – und einer ökonomischen Situation, in der mehr und mehr Menschen an die Grenzen ihrer Belastbarkeit gestoßen werden. Das ist eine Zeitbombe, die uns Fragen nach dem Kollektiv aufdrängt, die über die bloße Identität hinausgehen und eine Neubewertung der Idee eines Universalismus als Opposition zur universellen Äquivalenz des Geldes erfordert.

*Den Satz formulierte Samo Tomšič im März 2017 auf der Konferenz zum Historischen Materialismus in Beirut.


Nadia Bou Ali ist Assistant Professor im Civilization Studies Program und am Fachbereich Soziologie und Anthropologie der Amerikanischen Universität in Beirut. Zurzeit legt sie letzte Hand an ein Buch mit dem Titel In the Hall of Mirrors über die intellektuelle Geschichte des Liberalismus im arabischen Denken (Edinburgh University Press, erscheint 2017) und ist Mitherausgeberin des Bandes Lacan contra Foucault: Subjectivity, Sex, and Politics (Bloomsbury Press, voraussichtlich 2018). Ihre Interessen in Forschung und Lehre drehen sich um den arabischen Marxismus, kritische Gesellschaftstheorie und Psychoanalyse.

​Ray Brassier erwarb im Jahr 2001 einen PhD in Philosophie an der University of Warwick. Von 2002 bis 2008 war er Research Fellow am Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy an der Middlesex University. Seit 2008 ist er Mitglied der philosophischen Fakultät der Amerikanischen Universität in Beirut. Er ist Autor der Monografie Nihil Unbound: Enlightenment and Extinction (Palgrave Macmillan, 2007). Außerdem hat er die Werke von Alain Badiou und Quentin Meillassoux ins Englische übersetzt.

​Dimitra Kotouza ist eine Schriftstellerin und Wissenschaftlerin, die in Großbritannien lebt. Ihre jüngeren und im Erscheinen begriffenen Werke handeln von der Erniedrigung aufgrund von Rasse und Geschlecht sowie psychischen Grenzen von Identitätskrisen, der Bio-Überwachung von Grenzen und der Sexualität angesichts der herrschenden neoliberalen Regierungen und Mentalitäten (The Body of the Governed, Rowman and Littlefield, voraussichtlich 2018), neuen Formen des Aktivismus der Arbeit (Journal of Labor and Society), der Beziehung zwischen politischen Bewegungen und Migranten in Griechenland (Beyond The Greek Crisis, PM Press) sowie der Frage nach der Überwindung kapitalistischer Gesellschaftsformen, Identitäten und Technologien unter den Bedingungen der „realen Subsumption“ (What Is to Be Done Under Real Subsumption, Mute Books). Von 2011 bis 2015 schrieb sie ihre Dissertation an der University of Kent mit dem Titel Surplus Citizens (überflüssige Bürger) über die Widersprüche, denen sich der Klassenkampf in Anbetracht der Griechenlandkrise und der Fetischisierung des Nationalstaats gegenübersieht. Sie ist Mitglied der Herausgeberkollektive der Zeitschriften Mute und Endnotes. Seit 2015 ist sie Privatdozentin an mehreren Universitäten in Großbritannien.

​Mattin ist ein Künstler aus Bilbao, der zurzeit in Berlin lebt und mit Geräuschen und Improvisation arbeitet. Sein Werk setzt sich mit den gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Strukturen klanglicher Experimente und künstlerischer Produktion in Performances, Aufnahmen und Texten auseinander. Sein konzeptueller Ansatz zielt auf die Infragestellung der Natur sowie der Parameter der Improvisation, insbesondere der Beziehung zwischen der Idee der Freiheit und der ständigen Innovation, die sie traditionell unterstellt, aber auch den etablierten Konventionen der Improvisation als Genre. Er ist dabei, seine Dissertation an der Universität des Baskenlandes zu beenden, die von Ray Brassier und Josu Rekalde betreut wird. Zusammen mit Anthony Iles ist er Herausgeber des Bandes Noise & Capitalism (Arteleku Audiolab, 2009). Die beiden sind derzeit mit der Herausgabe des Bandes What is to be Done Under Real Subsumption? beschäftigt. Im Jahr 2012 veröffentlichten CAC Brétigny und Taumaturgia Unconstituted Praxis, eine Sammlung seiner Artikel, Rezensionen und Interviews zu Performances, an denen er beteiligt war. Beide Bücher sind online verfügbar. Mattin ist Künstler der documenta 14.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Mattin

Getrieben vom Wunsch, die sozialen und politischen Aspekte von Noise und Improvisation zu untersuchen, publiziert Mattin Bücher und gestaltet Situationen, in denen die „Ausstellung als Konzert“ konzipiert…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Das Parlament der Körper: The Strategy of Joy

mit Ross Birrell, Nita Deda, Hendrik Folkerts, Dimitris Ginosatis, Natasha Ginwala, Guillermo Gómez-Peña und Balitronica Gómez, Jack Halberstam, Trajal Harrell, Candice Hopkins, iQhiya, Élisabeth Lebovici, Catherine Malabou, Joar Nango, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Paul B. Preciado, Ibrahim Quraishi, Roee Rosen, Dim Sampaio und Adam Szymczyk

Im Kern der heutigen demokratisch verfassten Gesellschaften liegt eine Paradoxie, die das Wesen der Parlamente als Volksvertretungen und Deputiertenkammern betrifft: Sie sind schrittweise zu Versammlungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Sovereign Bodies: A New History of Sexuality in Three Chapters

mit Paul B. Preciado

Während sich Michel Foucaults Geschichte der Sexualität auf den Begriff der „Biopolitik“ stützte, um die moderne Formierung politisch-sexueller Subjekte zu verstehen, wird dieses Seminar die grundlegende Beziehung zwischen „Nekropolitik“ und sexuellen sowie Gender-Identitäten zum Ausgangspunkt nehmen…

 Mehr
Kalender

#0 Einführung

von Adam Szymczyk, Paul B. Preciado und Andreas Angelidakis
Kalender

d14 Sessions #8

mit Paul B. Preciado

In dieser Session spricht Autor, Philosoph und Kurator Paul B. Preciado über die Wandlungen von Geschlecht und der Politik des Geschlechts im Kontext neoliberaler Gesellschaften, sowie über die Produktion…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.