Friedrichsplatz

Friedrichsplatz, photo: Mathias Völzke

Constructed in the late eighteenth century as a way to expand Kassel from the old medieval town toward the flourishing Huguenot settlement nearby, Friedrichsplatz has often been employed as an arena for the display of political and military power. The statue of Landgrave Friedrich II overlooks his prized museum. The Third Reich used the massive square for military parades, draping all the surrounding buildings in the red and black of the swastika flag. After World War II, Friedrichsplatz became a centerpiece of urban regeneration. It was cut in half by Frankfurter Strasse to accommodate the influx of cars—and the attendant dream of modernity—and the square’s main cultural site, the Fridericianum, hosted the first documenta in 1955, another powerful symbol of cultural restitution. Since then, Friedrichsplatz has developed into a heterochronous marketplace. The square itself sits empty most of the time, while the city’s cultural institutions on the north side, as well as the disappearing shops that fostered the local economy in recent decades on the south, observe the steadfast progression on the Obere Königsstrasse of the chain stores that shape the global marketplace today.

Marta Minujín’s The Parthenon of Books (1983/2017) stands tall on Friedrichsplatz, effectuating both the history and the displacement of documenta 14. Its columns, made up of banned books, echo the neoclassicism of the columns that support the Fridericianum and art histories within. While Walter De Maria’s quietly grand permanent installation on the square invites us to travel a kilometer underground, Monument to Victims of Violence (1974) by Vadim Sidur (1924–1986)—temporarily relocated from the other end of the square—enters into a conversation with the monument to one of Kassel’s rulers. Hiwa K’s When We Were Exhaling Images (2017) reminds us of a longer journey on the surface, one that thousands of people still make every day seeking refuge. Other new works itinerate out from the Fridericianum: Daniel Knorr’s vaporous Expiration Movement issues from the tower of the building (Zwehrenturm), and Banu Cennetoğlu’s BEINGSAFEISSCARY, replacing the signage bearing the museum’s name, marks the site’s history and comments on contemporary Kassel and Fortress Europe at large.

Posted in Public Exhibition

Upcoming Events

JUL
29
8 pm, Friedrichsplatz, Kassel
Related

Long Night in The Parthenon of Books

On July 29, 2017, documenta 14 invites you to join the Long Night in The Parthenon of Books on Friedrichsplatz in Kassel…

 More
Calendar

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes
Arrival of the long-term riders in Kassel

by Ross Birrell

After three months and a distance of 3,000 kilometers, The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes horseback trekkers will reach the end of their route. On July 9, 2017 at 2 pm they will arrive at…

 More
Calendar

Groundbreaking for The Parthenon of Books

by Marta Minujín and Pierre Bal-Blanc

The groundbreaking for the first artistic work of documenta 14 titled The Parthenon of Books is planned for 3 pm on October 22, 2016, at Friedrichsplatz in Kassel. You are cordially invited to perform…

 More
Calendar

Friedrichsplatz

Friedrichsplatz, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Der Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts angelegte Friedrichsplatz, der bei der Erweiterung des mittelalterlichen Kassels in Richtung der prosperierenden Hugenottensiedlung entstand, diente wiederholt als Bühne der Demonstration politischer und militärischer Macht. Das Denkmal des Landgrafen Friedrich II. von Hessen-Kassel blickt auf sein geschätztes Museum. Das Dritte Reich nutzte den riesigen Platz für Militärparaden und verhängte alle umliegenden Gebäude mit schwarz-weiß-roten Hakenkreuzfahnen. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde der Friedrichsplatz zu einem Zentrum der Erneuerung. Die Frankfurter Straße teilte ihn in zwei Teile, um dem zunehmenden Strom der Autos – und dem damit verknüpften Traum der Moderne – gerecht zu werden; in der wichtigsten Kulturstätte des Platzes, dem Fridericianum, fand 1955 die erste documenta statt, ein weiteres deutliches Symbol kultureller Wiederherstellung. Seitdem hat sich der Friedrichsplatz zu einem heterochronen Marktplatz entwickelt. Der Platz selber ist die meiste Zeit leer, während die städtischen Kulturinstitutionen an der Nordseite sowie die verschwindenden Läden an der Südseite, Stützpfeiler der lokalen Wirtschaft vergangener Jahrzehnte, der unaufhaltsamen Übernahme der Oberen Königsstraße durch die heute typischen globalen Geschäftsketten zuschauen.

Auf dem Friedrichsplatz ragt Marta Minujíns The Parthenon of Books (Der Parthenon der Bücher, 1983/2017) empor und trägt nicht nur zur Geschichte der documenta 14, sondern auch zu ihrer Verlagerung bei. Seine Säulen aus verbotenen Büchern sind ein Echo des Klassizismus, der die Säulen des Fridericianum und seiner Kunstgeschichten im Innern anregte. Während Walter De Marias stille, große permanente Installation auf dem Platz dazu einlädt, einen Kilometer in die Erde zu reisen, erinnert uns Hiwa Ks Denkmal für die documenta 14 an eine längere Reise auf der Oberfläche der Erde – eine Reise, die Tausende von Menschen auf der Suche nach einer Zuflucht noch immer tagtäglich auf sich nehmen. Andere Arbeiten entweichen aus dem Fridericianum: Daniel Knorrs dampfende Intervention Expiration Movement (2017) strömt aus dem Zwehrenturm hervor; Banu Cennetoğlus Buchstaben an der Stelle des ursprünglichen Schriftzugs MUSEUM FRIDERICIANUM markieren die Geschichte des Ortes und geben eine Stellungnahme zum heutigen Kassel und im weiteren Sinne zum Bollwerk Europa ab.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Lange Nacht im Parthenon der Bücher

Am 29. Juli 2017 lädt die documenta 14 zur Langen Nacht im Parthenon der Bücher (The Parthenon of Books) auf dem Friedrichsplatz in Kassel ein…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes
Ankunft der Wanderreiter_innen in Kassel

von Ross Birrell

Nach dreimonatiger Reise und einer Wegstrecke von 3000 Kilometern erreichen die Wanderreiter_innen von The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes den Endpunkt ihrer Route. Am 9. Juli um 14 Uhr treffen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Grundsteinlegung für The Parthenon of Books

von Marta Minujín und Pierre Bal-Blanc

Am 22. Oktober 2016 findet um 15:00 Uhr die Grundsteinlegung für die erste künstlerische Arbeit der documenta 14 mit dem Titel The Parthenon of Books (Der Parthenon der Bücher) auf dem Friedrichsplatz…

 Mehr
Kalender