Hiwa K

Hiwa K, This Lemon Tastes of Apple (2011), digital video, color, sound, 13:27 min., courtesy Hiwa K, KOW, Berlin and prometeogallery di Ida Pisani, Milan/Lucca

We are singular beings, but never identical to ourselves, I thought when Hiwa K asked me to play the piano part of Nick Cave’s “Stagger Lee” for his performance The Barkeeper Is Not Dead … Yet, on the occasion of the artist receiving the Arnold Bode Prize in Kassel in 2016. I had never before played piano, nor any other instrument, yet for Hiwa K I did.

Born in the Iraqi Kurdistan city of Sulaymaniyah in 1975, and now living in Berlin, Hiwa K was once a realist painter in his native country—and he continues to be one, though he doesn’t paint anymore. He is a social realist who doesn’t aim for an accurate depiction of a reality that could be but reinvents and transforms the reality at hand. For the Venice Biennale curated by Okwui Enwezor in 2015, he showed a bell cast out of military waste from the Iraq-Iran War (1980–88) and both Gulf Wars (1991, 2003), adorned with reliefs based on ancient works of art destroyed by such conflict in the Middle East. As the junk melted, and was given a new form, all the deafening noise of war was transformed into a resonant sound.

In his video This Lemon Tastes of Apple (2011), we watch Hiwa K marching with a crowd of protesters while playing Ennio Morricone’s tune from “Once upon a Time in the West” on harmonica. Things get hot—the protesters are teargassed and shots are fired, wounded men are carried past, bleeding. The march resumes amid chanting; Hiwa K plays as Daroon Othman seconds him on guitar. A lemon is passed from person to person, soothing the effect of the tear gas. Hiwa K recounts:

Saddam Hussein called Kurdistan–Northern Iraq “Allah’s paradise on earth.” I started to understand the irony after 1988 when I was told by some of our relatives who survived the chemical attack in Halabja that the chemicals smelled of apple.

This Lemon Tastes of Apple was shot on April 17, 2011, in Sulaymaniyah. The protest, never properly covered by international media, demanded the right to participation in the political process and the equal access of citizens to the country’s wealth. As curator Aneta Szyłak aptly puts it, the work occurred within the protest and is not a work about the protest. And it is from within this vast space of social dissent that Hiwa K acts—reminding us that we are ever in between, and that, even on arrival, we only look back to where the journey has begun and to where we shall, perhaps, never return.

—Adam Szymczyk

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet: The Works of Hiwa K

Join Anthony Downey, Hiwa K, and Adam Szymczyk to celebrate the publication of the first monograph on the artist’s work. The event is followed by a book signing with the artist.

 More
Calendar

The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook

with Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk, and Katerina Tselou

Please join documenta 14 Artistic Director Adam Szymczyk and Editor-in-Chief of Publications Quinn Latimer in celebrating the publications of The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook (both Prestel…

 More
Calendar

Hiwa K

Hiwa K, This Lemon Tastes of Apple (2011), Digitalvideo, Farbe, Ton, 13.27 min, courtesy Hiwa K, KOW, Berlin und prometeogallery di Ida Pisani, Milan/Lucca

Wir sind einzigartige Wesen, doch wir sind niemals identisch mit uns selbst. Das war mein Gedanke, als Hiwa K mich bat, anlässlich seiner Auszeichnung mit dem Kasseler Arnold-Bode-Preis 2016 für seine Performance The Barkeeper Is Not Dead … Yet den Klavierpart von Nick Caves Stück „Stagger Lee“ zu übernehmen. Nie zuvor hatte ich Klavier – oder ein anderes Instrument – gespielt, doch für Hiwa K tat ich es.

In seiner Heimat galt Hiwa K, geboren 1975 in der kurdisch-irakischen Stadt Sulaimaniyya und nunmehr in Berlin lebend, als realistischer Maler – und daran hat sich nichts geändert, auch wenn er das Malen mittlerweile aufgegeben hat. Er ist ein Sozialrealist, dem es nicht um die präzise Darstellung einer potenziellen Wirklichkeit geht, sondern um die Neuerfindung und Transformation der vorgefundenen Realität. Bei der von Okwui Enwezor kuratierten Biennale von Venedig 2015 präsentierte der Künstler eine Glocke aus militärischen Abfallprodukten des Iran-Irak-Krieges (1980–1988) und der beiden Golfkriege (1991, 2003). Die Reliefs, mit denen die Glocke verziert war, verwiesen auf historische Kunstwerke, die diesen Konflikten im Nahen Osten zum Opfer gefallen waren. Der Prozess des Einschmelzens und Neugestaltens verwandelte das ohrenbetäubende Getöse des Krieges in einen widerhallenden Klang.

Im Video This Lemon Tastes of Apple (2011) sehen wir Hiwa K unter einer Schar von Demonstranten marschieren, während er Ennio Morricones Melodie aus dem Film „Spiel mir das Lied vom Tod“ auf der Mundharmonika spielt. Die Dinge spitzen sich zu: Tränengas wird eingesetzt, Schüsse fallen, Männer werden vorbeigetragen, verwundet und blutend. Dann wird der Marsch unter Sprechchören fortgesetzt; Hiwa Ks Spiel wird von Daroon Othman auf der Gitarre begleitet. Um die Auswirkungen des Tränengases zu lindern, wird eine Zitrone von Demonstrant zu Demonstrant gereicht. Hiwa K berichtet:

Saddam Hussein bezeichnete Kurdistan-Nordirak als „Allahs Paradies auf Erden“. Ich begann die Ironie dieser Worte nach 1988 zu verstehen, als mir einige Verwandte, die den Giftgasangriff auf Halabdscha überlebt hatten, erzählten, das Gift habe nach Apfel gerochen.

This Lemon Tastes of Apple entstand am 17. April 2011 in Sulaimaniyya. In dem Bürgerprotest, der in internationalen Medien nur wenig Beachtung fand, ging es um das Recht auf Teilnahme am politischen Prozess und den gleichberechtigten Zugang zum Reichtum des Landes. Wie die Kuratorin Aneta Szyłak richtig anmerkt, berichtet Hiwa Ks Werk nicht über den Protest, sondern ereignet sich darin. Es ist diese unermessliche Sphäre des sozialen Widerspruchs, aus der heraus der Künstler handelt – und uns daran erinnert, dass wir stets in einem Dazwischen sind, dass wir – auch wenn wir ankommen – immer auf den Ort zurückblicken, wo unsere Reise begann und wohin wir, vielleicht, niemals zurückkehren werden.

— Adam Szymczyk

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet: The Works of Hiwa K

Feiern Sie gemeinsam mit Anthony Downey, Hiwa K und Adam Szymczyk die Veröffentlichung der ersten Monografie zur Arbeit des Künstlers. Im Anschluss folgt eine Signierstunde mit dem Künstler.

 Mehr
Kalender

Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

mit Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk und Katerina Tselou

Feiern Sie mit Adam Szymczyk, dem Künstlerischen Leiter der documenta 14, und der Chefredakteurin der Publikationen, Quinn Latimer, die Publikationen Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

 Mehr
Kalender