The Parliament of Bodies: Shame on Us: A Reading and Discussion
with Franco “Bifo” Berardi

AUG
24
8:30–10:30 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Live stream available

In response to the violence and volume of complaints and disparaging remarks received during the last week, we have decided to cancel Franco “Bifo” Berardi’s performance. We respect those who might feel offended by the title of Berardi’s poem. We don’t want to add pain to their grief.

However, we don’t want to simply accept these accusations nor abandon discussion and critical thinking. On the contrary, we need to activate the dispositive of The Parliament of Bodies to host all voices and encourage dialogue.

The new title of the event refers to multiple messages ending with the insult “shame on you,” as well as to Franco “Bifo” Berardi’s claim, according to which we should rather be ashamed of the violence of the necro-political techniques display by European governments to deal with the flow of migrants and refugees. What are we, collectively, ready to do with this shame?

Instead of fully canceling the event, we will open up The Parliament of Bodies for a session with Franco “Bifo” Berardi on Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 8:30 pm to foster a conversation including all voices, followed by a reading of his poem and a participatory discussion on the new faces of fascism and the current policies of migration in Europe.

The Parliament of Bodies is a claim for critical utopia when the possibilities of both critique and utopia seem to be vanishing. An experiment in radical democracy unfolding within the protected framework of an art exhibition, The Parliament of Bodies seeks to create a space of critical resistance and poetic insubordination that can’t hold itself aloof from concrete historical and social practices. Opposing formal parliamentary modes of representation, the plural enactment of The Parliament of Bodies works with radically heterogeneous embodied languages, with their complex historicity, which carry singular and collective traumas, as well as demands for responsibility and reparation. Yet, The Parliament of Bodies can’t be a space where the performative power of language can be used for violence. Challenging hegemonic grammars as well as already simplified ideological languages, The Parliament of Bodies demands that its participants step beyond fixed identity politics and naturalized positions, inviting them to engage in acts of deep listening and critical disidentification. It doesn’t seek a unified metalanguage. Instead, it aims to create networks of solidarity between different discourses and practices of working class, anti-racists, anti-colonial, anti-fascist, trans-feminist, queer-crip, and ecological struggles. Whereas these alliances can only be constructed while paying attention to the specificity of each and every history of oppression, it seems urgent to build a common critique of the underlying dominant capitalist and colonial epistemologies of race and sexuality that define contemporary conditions of life and death. You are invited to take part in this transitory gathering, becoming agent in its collective struggle.

—Paul B. Preciado, Curator of documenta 14 Public Programs


In response to criticism preceding the planned event with Franco “Bifo” Berardi”:

The intention of the planned discussion with Italian author and theorist Franco “Bifo” Berardi in conjunction with a reading of his poem within the program of documenta 14’s Parliament of Bodies is by no means to put the Holocaust into a relativized perspective. In its magnitude and systemic nature of state-orchestrated destruction of an entire race, the Holocaust remains a singular manifestation within human history. On the contrary, Berardi’s intention is to seriously and responsibly locate the Holocaust as the ultimate border reference for the extreme, violent, and systemic injustice perpetuated by national and transnational European institutional bodies toward the physical bodies of the refugees who attempt to flee to Europe and die during the flight, on land or at sea, or are detained in camps which are usually located outside of Europe or in the countries at its Southern borders. These highly policed camps are certainly neither transparent, nor are they built to open up any tangible future for their inmates. Instead, they serve the purpose of effectively removing the refugee “problem” from view of Europeans. The administrative apparatus, the technical and organizational means engaged to solve the “problem” by keeping refugees at bay and contained, are modern and highly advanced. However, while people are literally dying on our doorstep, the mainstream politics that enable the deployment of the technology in question remain hopelessly backward and incapable of tackling the issue head on.

We know very well what the result of such self-imposed blindness to the plight of persecuted and forgotten Others can be. The Holocaust was planned by the Nazi state and duly perpetuated by its functionaries and collaborators in Germany and in occupied European countries during a relatively brief period of time, while the “civilized” world—following the decisions of its elected politicians, who ignored the evidence of the few existing reports describing the plight of Jews in occupied countries, and through the passive stance of the majority of European citizens—chose not to see, not to know, and not to act. The brave and humanitarian acts of many known and unknown individuals could not change the outcome: the near-total extermination of European Jews.

The planned discussion and reading of Berardi’s poem within the Parliament of Bodies is a warning against historical amnesia, a call for an awakening of conscience and for collective action—and not an attempt to relativize the Holocaust. The discussion is not primarily concerned with the kind of memory politics that Germany has been dealing with for a long time, but rather with what is happening here and now, within and just outside of Europe.

—Adam Szymczyk, Artistic Director of documenta 14


​Franco Berardi is a writer and media activist. His last book, Futurability, was published by Verso. In the 1970s he was one of the participants in Radio Alice and contributed to the magazine A/traverso.​

Due to capacity limits we recommend to come promptly. People can enter the Rotunda at 8:15 pm; the event starts at 8:30 pm. Journalists are kindly requested to register under presse [​at​] documenta.de.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

The Destruction of Europe

with Franco “Bifo” Berardi

The Society for the End of Necropolitics invites you to a lecture in three parts by contemporary theorist Franco “Bifo” Berardi on the recent rise of nationalism and fascism in Europe and the possibility (or impossibility) of political resistance in the age of financial capitalism…

 More
Calendar

The Society for the End of Necropolitics

At the turn of the last century, African thinker Achille Mbembe developed an urgent decolonial critique of Michel Foucault’s concept of “governmentality,” the process through which techniques of…

 More
Public Programs
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Das Parlament der Körper: Shame on Us: A Reading and Discussion
mit Franco “Bifo” Berardi

AUG
24
20:30–22:30 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Als Livestream verfügbar
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Als Reaktion auf die Anzahl von Beschwerden und Anschuldigungen, die wir während der letzten Woche erhalten haben, haben wir uns entschieden, die geplante Performance von Franco „Bifo“ Berardi abzusagen. Wir respektieren diejenigen, die sich vom Titel von Franco „Bifo“ Berardis Gedicht angegriffen fühlen. Wir wollen ihrer Trauer keinen Schmerz hinzufügen.

Wir wollen die Vorwürfe weder einfach akzeptieren noch Diskussion und kritisches Denken aufgeben. Im Gegenteil, wir müssen das Dispositiv des Parlaments der Körper aktivieren, allen Stimmen Raum geben und einen Dialog anregen.

Der neue Titel der Veranstaltung bezieht sich auf viele der Zuschriften, die mit dem Satz „Schämen Sie sich“ endeten, aber auch auf Franco „Bifo“ Berardis Forderung, der zufolge wir uns viel mehr für die Gewalt und nekropolitischen Techniken der europäischen Regierungen im Umgang mit dem Strom der Geflüchteten und Migrant_innen schämen sollten. Was sind wir kollektiv bereit, mit dieser Scham zu tun?

Anstatt die Veranstaltung komplett abzusagen, werden wir am Donnerstag, den 24.8., um 20:30 Uhr, das Parlament der Körper für eine Veranstaltung mit Franco „Bifo“ Berardi öffnen, und dort eine vielstimmige Unterhaltung befördern, gefolgt von der Lesung seines Gedichts und einer partizipativen Diskussion über die neuen Gesichter des Faschismus und der aktuellen Politiken der Migration in Europa.

Das Parlament der Körper ist eine Forderung nach einer kritischen Utopie zu einer Zeit, in der die Möglichkeiten der Kritik und der Utopie im Verschwinden zu sein scheinen. Als ein Experiment radikaler Demokratie – das sich im geschützten Rahmen einer Kunstausstellung entfaltet – strebt das Parlament der Körper an, einen Raum des kritischen Widerstands und des poetischen Ungehorsams zu erschaffen, der sich jedoch nicht von konkreten historischen und gesellschaftlichen Praktiken distanziert. Entgegen formaler parlamentarischer Repräsentationsformen arbeitet die vielstimmige Aufführung des Parlaments der Körper mit radikal heterogen verkörperten Sprachen und ihrer komplexen Historizität, die singulären und kollektiven Traumata ebenso eine Stimme gibt wie auch den Forderungen nach Verantwortung und Reparation. Dennoch kann das Parlament der Körper kein Raum sein, in dem die performative Macht der Sprache als Gewalt genutzt wird. Indem hegemoniale Grammatiken sowie bereits vereinfachte ideologische Sprachen in Frage gestellt werden, fordert das Parlament der Körper die Teilnehmer_innen auf, über starre Identitätspolitiken und naturalisierte Positionen hinauszugehen und lädt sie dazu ein, sich auf einen Akt des tiefer gehenden Zuhörens und der kritischen De-Identifikation einzulassen. Das Parlament der Körper sucht nicht nach einer einheitlichen Metasprache. Stattdessen zielt es darauf ab, Netzwerke der Solidarität zwischen verschiedenen Diskursen und Praktiken der Arbeiter_innenbewegung, antirassistischen, antikolonialen, antifaschistischen, transfeministischen, queer- und behindertenpolitischen sowie ökologischen Kämpfen zu schaffen. Während diese Allianzen nur aufgebaut werden können, indem sie auf die spezifische Art der Unterdrückung aufmerksam machen, erscheint es dringend notwendig, eine gemeinsame Kritik an den zugrundeliegenden dominanten kapitalistischen und kolonialen Epistemologien von Rassismus und Sexualität zu schaffen, die die gegenwärtigen Bedingungen von Leben und Tod bestimmen. Sie sind eingeladen, an diesem Treffen teilzunehmen und Akteur_in in diesem kollektiven Kampf zu werden.

—Paul B. Preciado, Kurator der Öffentlichen Programme der documenta 14


Erwiderung auf die Kritik an der geplanten Veranstaltung mit Franco „Bifo“ Berardi:

Es ist keineswegs die Absicht der geplanten Diskussion mit dem italienischen Autor und Theoretiker Franco Berardi sowie der Lesung seines Gedichts im Rahmen des Programms „Parlament der Körper“ der documenta 14 den Holocaust zu relativieren. Der Holocaust ist in seinem Umfang und seiner systemischen Struktur die in der menschlichen Geschichte singuläre Manifestation staatlich organisierten und durchgeführten Völkermords. Das Ziel Berardis besteht vielmehr darin, den Holocaust verantwortungsvoll und ernsthaft als den ultimativen Grenz- und Referenzbegriff für das extreme, gewaltsame und systemische Unrecht auszumachen, das von nationalen und transnationalen Körperschaften in Europa an den realen Körpern von Geflüchteten verübt wird, die auf der Flucht nach Europa zu Wasser und zu Land sterben oder in Lager verschlagen werden, die für gewöhnlich außerhalb Europas bzw. in den Grenzländern im Süden von Europa liegen. Diese Lager sind streng bewacht, intransparent und gewiss nicht daraufhin angelegt, ihren Insassen eine konkrete Zukunft zu eröffnen, sondern dienen dem Zweck, das „Flüchtlingsproblem“ effektiv aus dem Blickfeld der Europäer zu entfernen. Der administrative Apparat, die technischen und organisatorischen Mittel, die dazu eingesetzt werden das „Problem“ zu lösen, indem die Geflüchteten auf Abstand und unter Kontrolle gehalten werden, sind hoch entwickelt und auf dem allerneuesten Stand. Dennoch bleibt die etablierte Politik, die den Einsatz der fraglichen Technik ermöglicht, hoffnungslos rückständig und unfähig, das Thema direkt anzugehen, während zur gleichen Zeit weiter Menschen buchstäblich unmittelbar vor unserer Tür sterben.

Wir wissen sehr wohl, was das Resultat solch selbstauferlegter Blindheit gegenüber der Not der verfolgten und vergessenen Anderen sein kann. Der Holocaust wurde vom Nationalsozialistischen Staat und seinen Funktionären und Kollaborateuren in der relativ kurzen Periode in Deutschland und den besetzten europäischen Ländern geplant und durchgeführt, während die „zivilisierte“ Welt sich dafür entschied – durch die Beschlüsse gewählter Politiker, die die wenigen Berichte über das Schicksal der Juden in den besetzten Ländern ignorierten ebenso wie durch die passive Haltung der Mehrheit der Bürger Europas – nicht hinzusehen, nicht wissen und nicht handeln zu wollen. Das mutige und menschliche Handeln zahlreicher bekannter wie unbekannter Einzelpersonen änderte nichts daran: Die nahezu vollständige Vernichtung der Juden in Europa fand statt.

Die geplante Diskussion und Lesung von Berardis Gedicht im Parlament der Körper ist eine Warnung vor historischer Amnesie, ein Weckruf des Gewissens, ein Aufruf zu kollektivem Handeln – und nicht etwa ein Versuch den Holocaust zu relativieren. Es geht nicht vorrangig um die Politik der Erinnerung, mit der sich Deutschland seit Langem auseinandersetzt, sondern darum, was hier und jetzt stattfindet, innerhalb und vor den Toren Europas.

—Adam Szymczyk, Künstlerischer Leiter der documenta 14


​Franco Berardi ist Autor und Medienaktivist. Sein letztes Buch Futurability (2017) ist im Verlag Verso erschienen. In den 1970er Jahren gehörte er zu den Betreibern von Radio Alice und schrieb Beiträge für das Magazin A/traverso.

Die Platzkapazitäten in der Rotunde des Fridericianums sind begrenzt. Wir bitten Sie frühzeitig vor Ort zu sein. Der Einlass beginnt um 20:15 Uhr. Die Veranstaltung beginnt um 20:30 Uhr. Die Presse wird gebeten, sich vorab unter presse [​at​] documenta.de anzumelden.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

The Destruction of Europe

mit Franco “Bifo” Berardi

Die Gesellschaft für das Ende der Nekropolitik lädt Sie zu einem dreiteiligen Vortrag des Schriftstellers und Philosophen Franco „Bifo“ Berardi ein. Berardi setzt sich mit dem jüngsten Aufstieg von Nationalismus und Faschismus in Europa sowie mit der Möglichkeit (oder Unmöglichkeit) politischen Widerstands im Zeitalter des Finanzkapitalismus auseinander…

 Mehr
Kalender

Die Gesellschaft für das Ende der Nekropolitik

Zu Beginn dieses Jahrhunderts entwickelte der afrikanische Denker Achille Mbembe eine dringliche dekolonialistische Kritik an Michel Foucaults Konzept der „Gouvernementalität“, dem Prozess also, durch…

 Mehr
Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.