K. G. Subramanyan
(1924–2016)

K. G. Subramanyan, Ethiopian Nativity (1987), watercolor and oil on paper, 81 × 61 cm

Measuring 2.7 by 10.9 meters, The War of the Relics (2013)—K. G. Subramanyan’s final mural before his death in June 2016—is a rare and ambitious feat of the human spirit. Painted by an eighty-eight-year-old artist in a spurt of intense activity soon after major surgery, it is also charged with a sense of urgency.

There is, at first glance, no obvious narrative. The painting appears to be a jumble of images—heraldic motifs, icons, hybrid creatures, decorative embellishments—some familiar, some foreign, some mythical, others imagined by the artist; yet as we plough through this bewildering mass a pattern emerges, and with it a story of conflict. The chaotic composition, the motifs, and the title help us to recognize that it is a story of warring tribes, of sectarian hostilities, and religious intolerance. They also suggest that this war is being fought with medieval mindsets and modern tools, and that it is only one episode in a long, dark history of human confrontation.

This work is in many ways typical of the Kerala-born artist’s career-long engagement with the history and causes of conflict, which can be traced back to a children’s book he wrote and illustrated titled When God First Made the Animals He Made Them All Alike (1969). The fable tells how animals first created differences to beat the monotony of sameness, then fell so much in love with their disguises that they lost the ability to empathize. He returned to the theme in terracotta reliefs such as Generals and Trophies (1971) and Anatomy Lesson (2008), and paintings such as The City Is Not for Burning (1993), Massacre of the Innocents (2002), and Divided City (2002), each of which was completed in response to a conflict or civil disturbance.

A Gandhian activist before he became an artist, Subramanyan deplored violence in the name of language, culture, or religion, which he believed should serve to unite rather than divide communities. He devoted his career to interrogating why conflict persists in the world: “To assert a waning manhood? To express an inner hurt? To avenge an ancient grievance?”1 Placed against his life’s work, one sees that his anger came wrapped in love. “The best incentive for civilized living,” he argued, “can come only from loving the world.”2

—R. Siva Kumar

1 Lines from K. G. Subramanyan’s poem “Anatomy Lesson” (2008).

2 K. G. Subramanyan, interview by the author, in New Works: K. G. Subramanyan, exh. cat., Seagull Foundation for the Arts (Kolkata, 2014), p. 12.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

In Memoriam: K. G. Subramanyan (1924–2016)

by Natasha Ginwala

As the days pass by
And you gain in years

The past does not keep you captive.
—K. G. Subramanyan, from “A Near Vision” (Poems: Rhymes of Recall, Seagull Books, 2014)

A visionary artist and pedagogue…

 More
Notes

K. G. Subramanyan
(1924–2016)

K. G. Subramanyan, Ethiopian Nativity (1987), Wasserfarbe und Öl auf Acryl, 81 × 61 cm

The War of the Relics (2013), das letzte Wandbild, das K. G. Subramanyan vor seinem Tod im Juni 2016 malte, ist mit seinen circa 2,7 mal 11 Metern eine außergewöhnliche, ambitionierte Meisterleistung des menschlichen Geistes. Geschaffen von einem 88-jährigen Künstler in einer intensiven Schaffensphase nach einer großen Operation, vermittelt es zudem ein Gefühl der Dringlichkeit.

Auf den ersten Blick lässt sich kein eindeutiges Narrativ erkennen. Das Gemälde scheint aus einem Wirrwarr an Bildern zu bestehen – heraldischen Motiven, Symbolen, hybriden Kreaturen, dekorativen Ornamenten –, manche davon vertraut, andere fremdartig, wieder andere mythischen Ursprungs oder vom Künstler selbst erdacht. Doch während sich der Betrachter durch diese verwirrende Masse kämpft, beginnt sich vor seinen Augen ein Muster zu entwickeln und damit auch die Geschichte eines Konflikts. Titel, Motive und die chaotische Gestaltung des Bildes weisen darauf hin, dass hier von Krieg führenden Völkerschaften erzählt wird, von konfessionellen Feindseligkeiten und religiöser Intoleranz. Auch dass dieser Krieg mit mittelalterlichen Gesinnungen und modernen Mitteln ausgefochten wird und nur eine Episode in der langen, düsteren Geschichte menschlicher Konfrontationen darstellt, lässt sich daraus erkennen.

Das Werk ist in vielerlei Hinsicht charakteristisch für Subramanyans Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte und den Ursachen von Konflikten. Sie begleitet die Laufbahn des in Kerala geborenen Künstlers und zeigt sich bereits in einem von ihm verfassten und illustrierten Kinderbuch (When God First Made The Animals He Made Them All Alike, 1969). Die Fabel beschreibt, wie Tiere Unterschiede erfinden, um der Eintönigkeit ewiger Gleichheit zu entgehen, und sich dann so sehr in ihre Verkleidungen verlieben, dass sie ihre Einfühlungsgabe verlieren. In Terrakottareliefs wie Generals and Trophies (1971) und Anatomy Lesson (2008) oder auch in Gemälden wie The City Is Not for Burning (1993), Massacre of the Innocents (2002) und Divided City (2002) – alle durch Konflikte oder innere Unruhen angestoßen – greift der Künstler diese Thematik erneut auf.

Subramanyan, vor seiner Zeit als Künstler Gandhi-Aktivist, verurteilte Gewalt im Namen von Sprache, Kultur oder Religion. Diese sollten Menschen verbinden, nicht entzweien. Sein Werdegang war der Frage gewidmet, warum Konflikte in unserer Welt fortbestehen: „Um schwindende Männlichkeit zu behaupten? Einen tiefen Schmerz? Eine alte Kränkung zu rächen?“1 Angesichts seines Lebenswerks wird deutlich, dass Subramanyans Zorn im Mantel der Liebe daherkommt. „Der wahre Anreiz für ein zivilisiertes Leben“, so der Künstler, „kann nur aus der Liebe zur Welt entstehen.“2

— R. Siva Kumar

1 Diese Zeilen sind K. G. Subramanyans Gedicht „Anatomy Lesson“ von 2008 entnommen.

2 K. G. Subramanyan im Interview mit dem Autor, in: New Works: K. G. Subramanyan, Ausst.-Kat. Seagull Foundation for the Arts, Kalkutta 2014, S. 12.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Zum Gedenken an K. G. Subramanyan (1924–2016)

von Natasha Ginwala

Da die Tage vorüberziehen
Und du an Jahren gewinnst

Hält die Vergangenheit dich nicht gefangen
– K. G. Subramanyan, aus „A Near Vision“, in: Poems: Rhymes of Recall, Seagull Books 2014

Nach jahrzehntelangem…

 Mehr
Notizen