Cecilia Vicuña

Cecilia Vicuña, Quipu Mapocho (2016), mixed media including unspun wool, twigs, and string, ca. 2 × 1.5 × 1.5 m, performance view, Llolleo, Chile, courtesy Cecilia Vicuña and England & Co. Gallery, London

Although better known as a poet in her adoptive North American home (she has lived in New York since the 1980s), Cecilia Vicuña has stayed true to her youthful calling as a genre-bending visual artist for more than forty years, and her site-specific projects highlight the artist’s talent for composing poems in space, for a visceral lyricism in three dimensions. Vicuña refers to these particular works as “quipoems”—a contraction of poem and quipu; an online dictionary defines quipu, rather reductively, as “a device consisting of a cord with knotted strings of various colors attached, used by the ancient Peruvians for recording events, keeping accounts, etc.” A pre-Columbian type of writing, in other, more poetical words—product of a literary tradition that has given the world such luminaries as Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Nicanor Parra. Vicuña, who was born in 1948 in Santiago de Chile, is supremely aware of the weight of Indigenous history anchoring twentieth-century Latin American culture.

Blown up to the monumental proportions of immersive “soft sculpture,” her recent Athenian quipoem consists of giant strands of untreated wool, sourced from a local Greek provider, dyed a startling crimson in honor of a syncretic religious tradition that, via the umbilical cord of menstrual symbolism, connects Andean mother goddesses with the maritime mythologies of ancient Greece.

Her early figurative paintings made in the early 1970s juxtapose portraits of female poets (including Mistral) with a phalanx of male political heroes such as Karl Marx, Vladimir Lenin, Fidel Castro, and Chile’s very own Salvador Allende—though their steadfast masculinity appears deliciously corrupted by Vicuña’s trademark Pop-painterly touch, as evinced in the halolike garland of flowers surrounding Marx’s head or the curious genital imagery peopling the surreal landscape against which Lenin is portrayed. Painted in 1972, these portraits now look like melancholy mementos of a utopian moment cut short: a year later, a CIA-supported and Pinochet-led military coup spelled the bloody end of Allende’s socialist experiment, forcing the artist into a state of exile—first to London, then Colombia, then New York—from which she has never really returned.

—Dieter Roelstraete

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Ritual Performance

by Cecilia Vicuña

This performance is an integral part of Cecilia Vicuña’s contribution to documenta 14–a ritual involving the same Greek wool that was used in the production of her “quipu” installations at the…

 More
Calendar

Open day

with Cecilia Vicuña

A conversation within the “Old Library” designed by Aristide Antonas as a performative educational meeting space. Cecilia Vicuña addresses ancient and indigenous rituals as a potential model for the…

 More
Calendar

Native Foreigners

with Natasha Ginwala, Kyrillos Sarris, and Cecilia Vicuña

Guests open up current forms and strategies of artistic self-determination beyond, behind, or within institutions. The program brings together fans and scholars alike across space and time, for discussions…

 More
Calendar

Beach ritual

by Cecilia Vicuña

This performance is an integral part of Cecilia Vicuña’s contribution to documenta 14—a seaside sacrifice involving the same Greek wool that was used in the production of her “quipu” installation…

 More
Calendar

Cecilia Vicuña

Cecilia Vicuña, Quipu Mapocho (2016), verschiedene Materialien, u. a. ungesponnene Wolle, Zweige, Schnur, ca. 2 × 1,5 × 1,5 m, Performance, Llolleo, Chile, courtesy Cecilia Vicuña und Englund & Co. Gallery, London

In ihrer nordamerikanischen Wahlheimat – die Künstlerin lebt seit den 1980er Jahren in New York – ist Cecilia Vicuña in erster Linie für ihr dichterisches Werk bekannt. Dennoch ist sie der Berufung ihrer Jugendzeit treu geblieben und arbeitet seit mehr als vierzig Jahren als bildende Künstlerin in unterschiedlichsten Genres. Ihre ortsspezifischen Projekte sind Ausdruck ihrer Gabe, räumliche Gedichte zu komponieren, empfindsame, gefühlsbetonte Lyrik in drei Dimensionen. Vicuña bezeichnet diese speziellen Arbeiten als „quipoems“ – eine Verschmelzung von „poem“ (englisch für „Gedicht“) und „Quipu“. Letzteres wird in einem Online-Wörterbuch wie folgt definiert: „Aus einer Schnur bestehende Vorrichtung, an der mit Knoten versehene Fäden unterschiedlicher Farbe befestigt sind; diente im alten Peru zum Aufzeichnen von Ereignissen, zur Buchführung etc.“ Eine präkolumbische Art des Schreibens also, Frucht einer literarischen Tradition, der die Welt Dichtergrößen wie Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda und Nicanor Parra verdankt. Vicuña, 1948 in Santiago de Chile geboren, ist sich der Bedeutung indigener Geschichte als Fundament für die lateinamerikanische Kultur des 20. Jahrhunderts in höchstem Maße bewusst.

Ihr aktuelles „quipoem“ in Athen in Form einer immersiven „weichen Skulptur“ in Übergröße besteht aus riesigen Fäden ungesponnener Wolle. Letztere wurde von einem lokalen Lieferanten bezogen und auffallend purpurrot gefärbt – zu Ehren einer synkretistischen religiösen Tradition, die durch die Nabelschnur menstrueller Symbolik die Muttergottheiten der Andenregion mit den maritimen Mythologien des alten Griechenland verknüpft.

Vicuñas frühe figurative Gemälde, entstanden zu Beginn der 70er Jahre, stellen die Porträts von Dichterinnen (unter anderen Mistral) einer Phalanx aus männlichen Politikheroen (unter anderen Karl Marx, Lenin, Fidel Castro und Chiles Salvador Allende) gegenüber. Deren unbeugsame Männlichkeit wird durch den für die Künstlerin typischen Pop-Stil auf amüsante Weise unterlaufen. Beispiele sind die heiligenscheinähnliche Blumengirlande rund um Marx’ Kopf oder die merkwürdige, an Genitalien gemahnende Symbolik in der surrealen Landschaft hinter Lenin. Diese Porträts, 1972 gemalt, wirken heute wie wehmütige Erinnerungen an einen vorzeitig beendeten utopischen Augenblick: Im Jahr darauf setzte ein von der CIA unterstützter und von Pinochet angeführter Militärputsch einen blutigen Schlussstrich unter Allendes sozialistisches Experiment. Diese Ereignisse zwangen auch Cecilia Vicuña in ein Exil – erst nach London und Kolumbien, dann nach New York –, aus dem die Künstlerin nie mehr wirklich heimgekehrt ist.

— Dieter Roelstraete

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Ritual Performance

von Cecilia Vicuña

Diese Performance ist integraler Bestandteil von Cecilia Vicuñas Beitrag für die documenta 14 – ein Ritual, bei dem dieselbe griechische Wolle benutzt wird, die bereits während der Installation „quipu“…

 Mehr
Kalender

Open day

mit Cecilia Vicuña

Ein Gespräch in der von Aristide Antonas gestalteten "Alten Bibliothek" als einem performativen Raum der Bildung und Begegnung. Cecilia Vicuña befasst sich mit alten und ursprünglichen Ritualen als…

 Mehr
Kalender

Native Foreigners

mit Natasha Ginwala, Kyrillos Sarris und Cecilia Vicuña

Gäste erschließen aktuelle Formen und Strategien der künstlerischen Selbstbestimmung jenseits, hinter oder innerhalb von Institutionen. Das Programm vereint über Raum und Zeit hinweg Bewunderer wie…

 Mehr
Kalender

Beach ritual

von Cecilia Vicuña

Diese Performance ist integraler Bestandteil von Cecilia Vicuñas Beitrag zur documenta 14 – ein Opfer am Meeresufer, wobei sie dieselbe griechische Wolle benutzt, die sie schon bei der Herstellung ihrer…

 Mehr
Kalender