Aristide Antonas

Aristide Antonas, The Structure of Revenge (2016), painted plywood structure, four tables, forty stools, printer, three projectors, loudspeakers, and portable amplifier with microphone, installation view, Diplareios School, Athens

The day the EU agreed to a third Greek bailout, July 12, 2015, was the same day that Aristide Antonas chose to photograph Die Welt’s headquarters methodically lowering scaffolds to wash their high-rise glass-curtain wall. But then cities are always acting out—a cliché, an old joke, a wink, a tip of the hat, an embrace, a knife in the back.

While many are completely oblivious to all this activity, however antic or subtle, Antonas’s work is mostly about its gentle orchestration. Born in Athens in 1963, he is among those urbanists who do not offer solutions and master plans but rather protocols—loose instructions for sequences, routines, or relationships that unfold in space over time.

Something like theatrical scripts, the protocols are deliberately authored in a way that relinquishes authorship to others. The best scripts offer not overbearing stage directions but a text that is really only a trace of, or a clue to, the action that the performer chooses to play. That action is meant to be the real carrier of information that may even overwhelm the text. Antonas designs a few details, critical dimensions, or settings that are suggestive of activities. Then, like a good playwright, he leaves the performance to the city itself.

Many much more violent codes and instructions also pass through a city. Some are designed to generate disenfranchising loopholes that deliver the control of space to private power. Some are bureaucratic habits of unimaginative government that mistakenly value a deadening balance and consensus over a generative imbalance and dissensus. Some are just buckshot detonated remotely as well as locally. Many of the vacancies in Athens that Antonas contemplates are symptoms of these codes and dogmas.

Architecture culture has sometimes regarded the activism of the urban protocols to be too marginal or temporary—the compensatory weak activity of the powerless. But what if the dispositions suggested by these protocols, like the disposition of their designer, are more powerful by being less insistent? The components of Antonas’s designs are often ephemeral. They are indeterminate for being both more practical and more politically vigilant. As timed-release forms of an urban practice, they potentially have a longer presence in the city, remaining in place to respond to the moment when they are outmaneuvered. But then maybe the urban chorus that is most difficult to target has always been both more resilient and more precise.

—Keller Easterling

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The script, the manual, and the protocol

with Aristide Antonas

Architect and writer Aristide Antonas discusses some of the narratives in his work and addresses how the architecture of the Old Library connects to learning processes.

 More
Calendar

Aristide Antonas

Aristide Antonas, The Structure of Revenge (2016), bemaltes Sperrholz, vier Tische, vierzig Hocker, Drucker, drei Projektoren, Lautsprecher, tragbarer Verstärker mit Mikrofon, Installationsansicht, Diplareios School, Athen

Am 12. Juli 2015 beschließt die EU das dritte Rettungspaket für Griechenland. Genau diesen Tag wählte Aristide Antonas, um die Berliner Zentrale der Tageszeitung Die Welt und das systematische Herablassen der Gerüste für die Reinigung ihrer gläsernen Hochhausfassade zu fotografieren. Nun, Städte sind immerzu damit beschäftigt, etwas zu verkörpern – ein Klischee etwa oder einen alten Witz, ein Zwinkern, ein Kompliment, eine Umarmung, ein Messer im Rücken.

Nur wenige wissen um diese Vorgänge, wie grotesk oder subtil sie auch sein mögen. Antonas’ Arbeit hingegen widmet sich fast ausschließlich ihrer behutsamen Orchestrierung. Geboren 1963 in Athen, gehört der Künstler zu jenen Stadtplanern, die keine Lösungen oder Masterpläne offerieren, sondern Protokolle – lose Handlungsanleitungen für Abfolgen, Abläufe oder Beziehungen, die sich über die Zeit im Raum entfalten.

Diese Protokolle ähneln Regiebüchern für das Theater und sind bewusst so verfasst, dass die Autorschaft zugunsten anderer in den Hintergrund tritt. Die besten Regiebücher bestehen nicht aus kategorischen Bühnenanweisungen, sondern aus einem Text, der Spuren oder Anhaltspunkte einer Handlung enthält, die der Schauspieler oder die Schauspielerin darbieten möchte. Diese Handlung soll der eigentliche Informationsträger sein und hat bisweilen sogar Vorrang vor dem Text. Antonas entwirft ein paar Details, entscheidende Dimensionen oder Situationen, die auf bestimmte Aktivitäten schließen lassen, und überlässt – wie ein kluger Dramatiker – die Aufführung des Stücks der Stadt.

In Städten kursieren auch weitaus unbarmherzigere Codes und Handlungsanleitungen. Manche schaffen entmündigende Schlupflöcher, die die Kontrolle des Raums privaten Mächten ausliefern. Andere bestehen aus bürokratischen Gepflogenheiten fantasieloser Behörden, die lähmenden Ausgleich und Konsens fälschlicherweise höher bewerten als produktive Ungleichheit und Dissens. Manche wiederum gleichen Schrotladungen, die vor Ort und in der Ferne detonieren. Viele der Leerstände in Athen, über die Antonas nachsinnt, sind Symptome dieser Codes und Dogmen.

Die Architekturkultur hat den Aktivismus dieser urbanen Protokolle zuweilen als allzu marginal oder kurzlebig betrachtet – als kraftlosen, kompensatorischen Akt der Ohnmächtigen. Doch was, wenn sich die in den Protokollen angeregten Dispositionen – wie auch die Disposition ihres Urhebers – gerade in ihrer Zurückhaltung als wirkmächtig erweisen? Die Elemente in Antonas’ Entwürfen sind häufig ephemer. Ihre unbestimmte Natur macht sie zugleich pragmatischer und politisch hellhöriger. Als Formen einer urbanen Praxis, die über die Zeit freigesetzt werden, sind sie potenziell länger in der Stadt präsent, wo sie auf den Moment ihres Einsatzes harren. Vielleicht aber ist der urbane Chor, der am schwersten auszumachen ist, schon immer widerstandsfähiger und konkreter gewesen.

— Keller Easterling

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Elective Affinities: The script, the manual, and the protocol

mit Aristide Antonas und Quinn Latimer

Der Architekt und Schriftsteller Aristide Antonas bespricht einige Themen seiner Arbeit und behandelt die Frage, wie die Architektur der Alten Bibliothek eine Verbindung zu Lernprozessen herstellt.

 Mehr
Kalender