On Revolution (Preliminary version)
by Maya al-Khoury and Abounaddara

SEP
14
Film screening
9 pm
BALi-Kinos, Rainer-Dierichs-Platz 1, Kassel

Maya al-Khoury, On Revolution (Preliminary version), Syria, 2017, film still

On Revolution (Preliminary version)
Directed by Maya al-Khoury, 2017, Syria, 140 min.
Film in progress produced by the Abounaddara collective with the support of documenta 14 and other partners around the world


The screening will take place in the presence of Charif Kiwan, representing the Syrian film collective Abounaddara. Introduction by Adam Szymczyk, documenta 14 Artistic Director, and Pierre Bal-Blanc, documenta 14 Curator. A Q&A will follow the screening.

On Revolution is an invitation to immerse oneself in the daily life of a society seized by the desire for emancipation. It tells the stories of anonymous Syrians over the course of six years while striving to grasp the temporality of history in the making, of a revolution in our times. It looks into the question of how to make visible a revolution that has been rendered invisible by the smokescreen of geopolitics and media images.

Shot continuously since the spring of 2011, a preliminary version of this 140-minute film is presented at documenta 14, which contributed to its production. Directed by Maya al-Khoury within the framework of the Abounaddara collective, it is the first departure from the collective’s rule of anonymity since it was founded in Damascus in 2010.

Immersion is a major component of the film, an invitation to enter history without falling back on news images or resorting to didacticism and voiceovers. It aims to escape the media’s law of inertia while maintaining the requisite perspective for the viewer to remain within touching distance of the figures developing in radically different places and tendencies, both inside and outside Syria. Viewers will find themselves following characters whose overlapping and intersecting stories have come to constitute history. Yet, viewers will remain free to form their own judgment, since the camera following the characters avoids enclosing them within any national, religious, or political frame.

Maya al-Khoury’s approach resembles that of a historian adept at navigating micro-histories, following and connecting the paths of a few individual fates in order to make history visible. She deploys the stories of those who she has followed across successive stages of the revolution, to allow for the reduction in scale necessary to understand and empathize.


Born in Syria in 1969, Maya al-Khoury studied literature at the Damascus University and received a Master’s degree in Philosophy from the University of Vienna in Austria. In 2007, she was the assistant director of Damascus: The Smile of Sadness, a film produced by the Syrian National Film Organization. Since 2010, she has been working in the framework of the Abounaddara collective, which she co-founded in Damascus.

Abounaddara is an anonymous collective of Syrian image-makers aiming to empower their society to independently produce its own image. An artistic project that employs the aesthetics of cinema in a spirit of do-it-yourself and disorientation, Abounaddara is also a political project that plays on anonymity and dis-identification to construct spaces of resistance.

Entrance: 7,50 € / reduced 7 €

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Abounaddara

Since the start of the Syrian uprising in spring 2011, the Abounaddara collective has been engaged in a war of images unfolding on several fronts. First of all, there is a battle against the Syrian regime:…

 More
Artists

The Day of Judgment

by Abounaddara

Abounaddara has agreed to share this film with documenta 14; it is one of over 300 films produced on a weekly basis by an anonymous collective of Syrian filmmakers. By sharing these films on our website…

 More
Works

Dignity has never been photographed

by Abounaddara

Dignity isn’t well regarded at the moment. It’s seen as a normative concept, difficult to gauge and even more difficult to reconcile with artistic practices that tend to strive for emancipation from norms. It’s also a political argument that has been made by reactionaries and enemies of artistic freedom. Finally, it is an ideal that goes against the tide of nihilism in this atmosphere of triumphant post-truth…

 More
Notes

Something is Rotten

by Abounaddara

Something is rotten in the state of the media. Rotten to the point that today a man accused of war crimes can summon mainstream media to announce that reality has debunked their narrative, delighting in…

 More
Notes

We Are Dying—Take Care of the Right to the Image

by Abounaddara

In the spring of 2011, Syrians rose up against a dictatorship inherited from another era. Schoolchildren wrote “The emperor wears no clothes!” on the walls. Young people streamed into the streets and…

 More
Notes

The Syrian who wanted the Revolution

by Abounaddara

The Syrian who wanted the revolution is not in opposition. S/he does not belong to the system of opposition, the product of a power struggle in Assad’s Syria. S/he did not go out onto the streets to…

 More
Notes
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

On Revolution (vorläufige Version)
von Maya al-Khoury und Abounaddara

SEP
14
Filmvorführung
21 Uhr
BALi-Kinos, Rainer-Dierichs-Platz 1, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Maya al-Khoury, On Revolution (vorläufige Version), Syrien, 2017, Filmstill

On Revolution (vorläufige Version)
Regie: Maya al-Khoury, Syrien, 2017, 140 Min.
Ein in Arbeit befindlicher Film, produziert vom Kollektiv Abounaddara mit der Unterstützung der documenta 14 und anderen weltweiten Partner_innen

Die Vorführung findet in Anwesenheit von Charif Kiwan statt; er vertritt das syrische Filmkollektiv Abounaddara. Eingeleitet wird die Veranstaltung von Adam Szymczyk, dem Künstlerischen Leiter der documenta 14, sowie von Pierre Bal-Blanc, Kurator der documenta 14. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorstellung wird es Gelegenheit geben, Fragen zu stellen.

On Revolution lädt uns ein, in den Alltag einer Gesellschaft einzutauchen, die vom Wunsch nach Emanzipation ergriffen ist. Der Film erzählt die Geschichten anonymer Syrer_innen über einen Zeitraum von sechs Jahren, während er zugleich versucht, die Zeitlichkeit von historischen Ereignissen zu begreifen, die Zeitlichkeit einer Revolution, die vor unseren Augen stattfindet. Ebenso geht der Film der Frage nach, wie man eine Revolution sichtbar werden lässt, die hinter einem künstlichen Nebel aus Weltpolitik und Medienbildern unsichtbar gemacht worden ist.

Gedreht wurde ununterbrochen seit 2011. Auf der documenta 14, die an der Produktion beteiligt war, wird eine vorläufige Version des 140-minütigen Films präsentiert. Regie führte Maya al-Khoury, Mitglied des Abounaddara-Kollektivs, das hier erstmals seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2010 in Damaskus von seiner selbst auferlegten Verpflichtung zur Anonymität abweicht.

Immersion ist ein Hauptbestandteil des Films, eine Einladung, in Geschichte einzutauchen, ohne auf die Nachrichtenbilder zurückgeworfen zu werden oder mit dem erhobenen Zeigefinger in Stimmen aus dem Off zu verfallen. Er versucht dem Trägheitsgesetz der Medien zu entkommen und zugleich die erforderliche Perspektive aufrechtzuerhalten, die es den Betrachter_innen ermöglicht, dicht an den Charakteren zu bleiben, die sich innerhalb wie außerhalb Syriens in drastisch verschiedenen Situationen und Entwicklungen befinden. Das Ergebnis ist, dass wir Figuren folgen, deren sich überschneidende und kreuzende Geschichten zur Historie werden. Dennoch bleibt es den Besucher_innen freigestellt, ihr eigenes Urteil zu bilden, da die Kamera, die den Figuren folgt, es vermeidet, sie in einen nationalen, religiösen oder politischen Rahmen zu pferchen.

Maya al-Khourys Ansatz ähnelt dem einer Historikerin, die sich darauf versteht, Mikrohistorien zu durchschiffen, so den Wegen weniger Individuen zu folgen und diese miteinander zu verknüpfen, um Geschichte sichtbar werden zu lassen. Sie setzt die Geschichten jener ein, denen sie über mehrere aufeinanderfolgende Phasen der Revolution gefolgt ist, um den Maßstab zu verkleinern, was für das Verstehen und das Empfinden von Empathie notwendig ist.


Die 1969 in Syrien geborene Maya al-Khoury studierte Literatur an der Universität von Damaskus und machte einen Master in Philosophie an der Universität Wien. Im Jahr 2007 war sie Regieassistentin bei Damascus: The Smile of Sadness, einem Film, der von der Nationalen Syrischen Filmorganisation produziert wurde. Seit 2010 arbeitet sie im Rahmen des Abounaddara-Kollektivs, das sie in Damaskus mitbegründet hat.

Abounaddara ist ein anonymes Kollektiv syrischer Filmemacher_innen, die ihre Gesellschaft ermächtigen möchten, ihr eigenes Bild von sich zu produzieren. Abounaddara ist ein künstlerisches Projekt, das die Ästhetik des Kinos im Geiste des Do-it-yourself-Verfahrens und der Desorientierung einsetzt. Es ist zugleich ein politisches Projekt, das mit der Anonymität und der Nicht-Identifizierung spielt, um Räume des Widerstands zu schaffen.

Eintritt: 7,50 Euro / ermäßigt 7 Euro

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Abounaddara

Seit dem Beginn des Aufstands in Syrien im Frühjahr 2011 führt das Kollektiv von Abounaddara einen Krieg der Bilder an mehreren Fronten. An erster Stelle steht dabei der Kampf gegen das syrische Regime:…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

The Day of Judgment

von Abounaddara

Abounaddara hat sich bereit erklärt, diesen Film mit der documenta 14 zu teilen; er ist einer von 300 Filmen, die auf wöchentlicher Basis von einem anonymen Kollektiv syrischer Filmemacher_innen produziert…

 Mehr
Arbeiten

Würde hat man noch nie fotografiert​

von Abounaddara

Die Würde genießt heute kein hohes Ansehen. Sie wird als normatives Konzept begriffen, schwierig einzuschätzen und noch schwieriger mit künstlerischen Praktiken in Übereinstimmung zu bringen, die sich von Normen und Regeln befreien wollen. Es handelt sich dabei auch um ein politisches Argument, das von reaktionären Gegner_innen künstlerischer Freiheit vorgebracht wurde. Und schließlich ist die Würde ein Ideal, das in einer Atmosphäre, in der das Postfaktische triumphiert, gegen den nihilistischen Strom geht…

 Mehr
Notizen

Etwas ist faul

von Abounaddara

Etwas ist faul im Staate der Medien. So faul, dass heutzutage ein Mann, den man der Kriegsverbrechen beschuldigt, die Mainstream-Medien in Anspruch nehmen kann um zu verlautbaren, dass die Wirklichkeit…

 Mehr
Notizen

Wir sterben – Schützt das Recht am eigenen Bild!

von Abounaddara

Im Frühling 2011 erhoben die Syrer sich gegen eine überkommene Diktatur. Schüler_innen schrieben an die Mauern: Der Kaiser ist nackt. Mit dem Ruf nach Würde und Freiheit stürmten junge Leute die Straße…

 Mehr
Notizen

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte

von Abounaddara

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte, ist kein Oppositioneller. Er – oder sie – ist keine Angehörige des Oppositionssystems, das nichts anderes ist als das Ergebnis eines Machtkampfes im Syrien Assads…

 Mehr
Notizen
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.