The Parliament of Bodies: A Place Out of History
by Magalí Arriola

JUN
20
Screening
8 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel

Magalí Arriola, A Place Out of History, 2017, Mexico, film still

Relying on historical photographs, documents, and other archival material, A Place Out of History narrates the improbable encounter between Tina Modotti, Fernand Legros, Henry Moore, Anthony Blunt, and Han van Meegeren, among other famous artists, prominent forgers, renowned art historians, and curators. It is the story of lives entangled in a series of murders, political negotiations, and power struggles,—all indebted to utopian thinking.

A Place Out of History leads the viewer through a labyrinthine space where fact and fiction are intertwined to reveal the true nature of the story. Magalí Arriola’s first film is an exercise in storytelling, an exhibition within a film that deals the impossibility of narrating a univocal version of history.

Please join us for the world premiere of A Place Out of History (2017, Mexico, 41 min.) starring Gastón Yanes and Zulu González and written and directed by Magalí Arriola. The screening takes place in the presence of the director and is followed by a discussion.

The film is screened in Spanish with English subtitles.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Word-of-Mouth: On the Early Reception of Ulises Carrión

with Magalí Arriola

Reflecting on some of the inventive and resourceful methods developed by Ulises Carrión in later life, Magalí Arriola’s presentation will revisit his practice in order to analyze the reception of his work within the burgeoning Mexican art scene of the late 1990s…

 More
Calendar

Das Parlament der Körper: A Place Out of History
von Magalí Arriola

JUN
20
Filmvorführung
20 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Magalí Arriola, A Place Out of History, 2017, Mexico, Filmstill

Ausgehend von historischen Fotografien, Schriftstücken und anderem Archivmaterial, erzählt A Place Out of History die Umstände der unwahrscheinlichen Begegnung von Tina Modotti, Fernand Legros, Henry Moore, Anthony Blunt und Han van Meegeren, sowie weiterer berühmter Künstler_innen, prominenter Kunstfälscher_innen und berühmter Kunsthistoriker_innen und Kurator_innen. Es ist die Geschichte von Lebenslinien, die durch eine Reihe von Morden, politischen Verhandlungen und Machtkämpfen miteinander verstrickt sind und alle utopischen Denkweisen verhaftet sind.

A Place Out of History führt die Zuschauer_innen durch ein Labyrinth aus Fakten und Fiktionen, die so verwoben sind, dass die wahre Geschichte ans Licht kommt. Magalí Arriolas erster Film ist eine Erzählung über das Erzählen, eine Ausstellung in einem Film, der von der Unmöglichkeit handelt, eine eindeutige Version einer Geschichte widerzugeben.

Sie sind herzlich eingeladen zur Weltpremiere von A Place Out of History (2017, Mexiko, 41 Min.). In den Hauptrollen: Gastón Yanes und Zulu González. Drehbuch und Regie: Magalí Arriola.

Filmvorführung in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin.

Der Film wird in spanischer Originalversion mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Word-of-Mouth: On the Early Reception of Ulises Carrión

mit Magalí Arriola

Magalí Arriolas Präsentation betrachtet einige Methoden aus dem einfallsreichen und erfinderischen späten Werk von Ulises Carrión neu, um auf diesem Weg die Rezeption seines Werks innerhalb der wachsenden mexikanischen Kunstszene der späten 1990er Jahren zu analysieren…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.