The Society of Friends of Ulises Carrión: Word-of-Mouth: On the Early Reception of Ulises Carrión
with Magalí Arriola
Feb
25
7–9 pm
Parko Eleftherias, Athens Municipality Arts Center and Museum of Anti-dictatorial and Democratic Resistance, Vassilissis Sofias, Athens
Live stream available

Reflecting on some of the inventive and resourceful methods developed by Ulises Carrión in later life, Magalí Arriola’s presentation will revisit his practice in order to analyze the reception of his work within the burgeoning Mexican art scene of the late 1990s. Arriola draws parallels between Carrion’s notion of cultural strategies and the creative tactics developed by a younger generation of artists echoing or finding inspiration in his practice, as well as performances and events conceived by other artists of Carrion’s generation who, just like him, didn’t fit the local institutional scene of their time.

Carrion’s interest in the anonymous and the erratic, his approach to gossip and narration, his interest in cultural values, communication systems, and distributional networks were instrumental in his work and offer a link between two generations of artists who posed a series of critical questions around the role of the arts in a context that, for many years, remained preoccupied with the formal inscription of its cultural identity.


Magalí Arriola is an art critic and independent curator. She was a curator at the Fundación Jumex Arte Contemporáneo in Mexico City, where she organized exhibitions of artists such as Danh Vo (2014), James Lee Byars (2013, co-produced with MoMA-PS1), and Guy de Cointet (2012). She was chief curator of Museo Tamayo, Mexico City, where she curated exhibitions and projects with artists such as Roman Ondák, Joachim Koester, Claire Fontaine, Adrià Julia, and Julio Morales. Arriola has published extensively and has contributed to publications such as Artforum, Frieze, Mousse, Manifesta Journal, and The Exhibitionist. Arriola lives in Mexico City.

Posted in Public Programs

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Ulises Carrión:
Word-of-Mouth: On the Early Reception of Ulises Carrión
mit Magalí Arriola

FEB
25
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Magalí Arriolas Präsentation betrachtet einige Methoden aus dem einfallsreichen und erfinderischen späten Werk von Ulises Carrión neu, um auf diesem Weg die Rezeption seines Werks innerhalb der wachsenden mexikanischen Kunstszene der späten 1990er Jahren zu analysieren. Arriola zieht dabei Parallelen zwischen Carrións Begriff der Kulturstrategien und den kreativen Taktiken, die von einer jüngeren Generation von Künstler_innen eingesetzte wurden, die in ihrer Arbeit seine Praxis anklingen ließen oder in ihr Inspiration fanden. Diese Parallelen erstrecken sich auch auf Performances und Aktionen von Künstler_innen aus Carrións eigener Generation, die wie er nicht in die lokale, institutionelle Szene ihrer Zeit zu passen schienen.

Carrións Interesse an Aspekten des Anonymen und Erratischen, sein Gebrauch von Klatsch und Narration, sein Interesse an kulturellen Werten, Kommunikationssystemen und distributiven Netzwerken waren für sein Werk von großer Bedeutung und ermöglichen einen Brückenschlag zwischen zwei Generationen von Künstler_innen, die kritische Fragestellungen zur Rolle der Kunst in einem Kontext stellen, der lange Jahre von der formalen Einschreibung der eignen kulturellen Identität bestimmt blieb.

Magalí Arriola ist Kunstkritikerin und freie Kuratorin. Sie war Kuratorin an der Fundación Jumex Arte Contemporáneo, wo sie Ausstellungen von Künstlern wie Danh Vo (2014), James Lee Byars (2013, gemeinsam produziert mit dem MoMA PS1) und Guy de Cointet (2012) organisierte. Sie war Leitende Kuratorin am Museo Tamayo, wo sie Ausstellungen und Projekte mit Künstler_innen wie Roman Ondák, Joachim Koester, Claire Fontaine, Adrià Julia und Julio Morales kuratierte. Arriola hat zahlreiche Buch- und Katalogbeiträge veröffentlicht; u. a. schreibt sie für Artforum, Frieze, Mousse, Manifesta Journal und The Exhibitionist. Arriola lebt in Mexiko City.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

A Place Out of History

von Magalí Arriola

Ausgehend von historischen Fotografien, Schriftstücken und anderem Archivmaterial, erzählt A Place Out of History die Umstände der unwahrscheinlichen Begegnung von Tina Modotti, Fernand Legros, Henry…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.