Borosana Shoe Issue
with Irena Haiduk

Yugoexport, Nine Hour Delay: Introduction Poster, A1, ad for vertical formats.

Yugoexport is a “blind non-aligned oral corporation” established by documenta 14 artist Irena Haiduk in 2015. Incorporated in the United States (where corporations are people), launched in Paris and headquartered in Belgrade, her process of incorporation continue.

The presence of Yugoexport in documenta 14 proceeds from the ground up – with the distribution of ergonomic footwear to the female workforce of documenta gGmbH in Athens.

All women (or rather all those, regardless of gender, seduced by the prospect of wearing ergonomic women’s footwear) employed for documenta 14 are eligible to receive a pair of Borosana Shoes within the rubric of Nine Hour Delay, a work that Haiduk initiated on a minor scale in 2012 and now incorporates into Yugoexport.

Of Nine Hour Delay, Irena Haiduk writes: “The Borosana shoe was first developed over a nine-year period (1960-69) at Borovo Rubber Industry Headquarters in Vukovar, Yugoslavia. After being designed and tested by the Borovo female workforce and an orthopedic surgeon, the shoe was mandatory for Yugoslav women working in the public sector. Borosana was launched in 1969, in white and navy colors, featuring an ergonomic platform, calculated as ideal for nine hours of standing without hurting the wearer’s spine. In the declining years of Yugoslav communism the model was withdrawn from mass production. Fabrication was abandoned when Vukovar became a war zone in 1991. Each time this project is exhibited Borosana becomes the official work shoe of the host institution advancing the constructivist maxim of great utilitarian design in service of the working woman. The shoe extends the architecture of labor and provides the wearers with a distinction between labor time and leisure time. Borovo remains the last public Yugoslav infrastructure. The inability to legally split and privatize the company’s public assets prevents Yugoslavia from fully formally splitting to this day. With every new step Yugoslavia persists (insists).”

This is the fullest iteration of Nine Hour Delay to date.

The Army of Beautiful Women grows.
The city becomes a runway and a production line.
All welcome to witness and listen to Irena Haiduk recount the progress of Yugoexport.


Irena Haiduk is against biography.

Posted in Calendar
Related

Irena Haiduk

On January 14, 2015, Irena Haiduk met with her Serbian compatriot Srđa Popović at Harvard University. This former leader of the Otpor! student movement, which helped depose Slobodan Milošević in 2000…

 More
Artists

Spinal Discipline

by Irena Haiduk

How to surround yourself with things in the right way—in accordance with Yugoexport’s founding maxim, these women’s elegant movements turn the city into a runway and a production line.

 More
Calendar

Members of the Army of Beautiful Women Read the In-corporation Documents of Yugoexport

by Irena Haiduk

Each Friday, as night falls, a member of the Army of Beautiful Women reads aloud in Greek from the in-corporation documents of Yugoexport, demonstrating the full use of this oral corporation’s principles.

 More
Calendar

#34 The Epic of Eleftheria

by Irena Haiduk and Eirini Vakalopoulou

In the East and Far East, the South, deep South, the other side of North, and the Far and the Deep West, history is mostly an oral technique. The poet is a witness. She records and weaves history and allows…

 More
Calendar

d14 Sessions #5

with Monika Szewczyk and Irena Haiduk

The future of Europe as a present. During this session, students are invited to make a present together. A present for the composer Fredric Rzewski in the form of a recorded conversation. Rzewski is an…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Borosana Shoe Issue
mit Irena Haiduk

Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Yugoexport, Nine Hour Delay: Introduction Poster, A1, ad for vertical formats.

Yugoexport ist ein „blindes, blockfreies, mündliches Unternehmen“, das von der documenta 14 Künstlerin Irena Haiduk 2015 gegründet wurde. In den USA (wo Unternehmen Personen sind) handelsgerichtlich eingetragen, in Paris eröffnet und mit Firmensitz in Belgrad, geht es seinen unternehmerischen Zielen weiterhin nach.

Yugoexport setzt diese Firmenziele bei der documenta 14 grundsätzlich fort — es geht um die Verteilung von ergonomischem Schuhwerk an die weibliche Belegschaft der documenta gGmbH in Athen.

Alle Frauen (oder vielmehr all jene, denen unabhängig von Gender die Aussicht auf ergonomisches Damenschuhwerk verlockend scheint), die für die documenta 14 arbeiten, sind berechtigt, ein Paar Borosana-Schuhe unter der Rubrik Nine Hour Delay zu bestellen, einer Arbeit, die Haiduk in kleinerem Maßstab 2012 ins Leben gerufen hat und die jetzt von Yugoexport übernommen wurde.

Über Nine Hour Delay schreibt Irena Haiduk: „Der Borosana Schuh wurde über einen Zeitraum von neun Jahren (1960–69) in der Zentrale der Borovo-Gummiwerke in Vukovar, Jugoslawien, entwickelt. Nachdem er entworfen und von der weiblichen Belegschaft der Borovo-Werke und einem orthopädischen Chirurgen getestet worden war, war das Tragen dieser Schuhe für Frauen, die im öffentlichen Dienst arbeiteten, verpflichtend vorgeschrieben. Borosana wurde 1969 in den Farben Weiß und Navy eingeführt. Sie besaßen eine ergonomisch geformte Sohle, die so berechnet war, dass die Trägerin der Schuhe neun Stunden stehen konnte, ohne dabei Rückenschmerzen zu bekommen. In den Jahren des Niedergangs des jugoslawischen Kommunismus wurde das Modell aus der Massenproduktion zurückgezogen. Die Herstellung wurde gänzlich eingestellt, als 1991 Vukovar zum Kriegsgebiet wurde. Jedes Mal, wenn dieses Projekt ausgestellt wird, wird Borosana zum offiziellen Arbeitsschuh derjenigen Einrichtung, die zur Ausstellung einlädt. Damit wird die konstruktivistische Maxime von großartigem Design im Dienste der arbeitenden Frau verfochten. Der Schuh erweitert die Arbeitsarchitektur und bietet den Frauen ein Unterscheidungsmerkmal zwischen Arbeitszeit und Freizeit. Borovo bleibt Jugoslawiens erste öffentliche Infrastruktur. Da es nicht möglich ist, die öffentlichen Vermögenswerte der Firma rechtlich aufzuteilen, wird auch Jugoslawien bis zum heutigen Tag davor bewahrt, formal vollständig aufgelöst zu werden. Mit jedem neuen Schritt besteht Jugoslawien fort.“

Dies ist bis dato die vollständigste Wiederholung von Nine Hour Delay.

Die Armee der Wunderschönen Frauen wächst.
Die Stadt wird zum Laufsteg und Fließband.
Alle sind herzlich eingeladen, dabei zu sein, zu sehen und zu hören, wenn Irena Haiduk vom Fortschritt berichtet, den Yugoexport gemacht hat.

Irena Haiduk lehnt Biografien ab.

Gepostet in Kalender
Verwandte Einträge

Irena Haiduk

Am 14. Januar 2015 traf Irena Haiduk an der Harvard University mit ihrem serbischen Landsmann Srđa Popović zusammen. Der ehemalige Anführer der Studentenbewegung Otpor!, die im Jahr 2000 Slobodan Miloševićs…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Spinal Discipline

von Irena Haiduk

Wie umgibt man sich auf rechte Weise mit Dingen – gemäß der Grundsatzmaxime von Yugoexport, werden die eleganten Bewegungen dieser Frauen die Stadt in einen Laufsteg und eine Fertigungsstraße verwandeln…

 Mehr
Kalender

Members of the Army of Beautiful Women Read the In-corporation Documents of Yugoexport

von Irena Haiduk

Ein Mitglied der Armee der Wunderschönen Frauen trägt die Yugoform-Schuhe, die von Yugoexport hergestellt werden, liest laut auf Griechisch vor und macht weidlich Gebrauch von den Gründungsdokumenten…

 Mehr
Kalender

#34 The Epic of Eleftheria

von Irena Haiduk und Eirini Vakalopoulou

Im Osten und Fernen Osten, im Süden und im tiefen Süden, jenseits des Nordens und im fernen, tiefen Westen ist Geschichte hauptsächlich eine mündliche Kulturtechnik. Die Dichterin ist Zeugin. Sie hält…

 Mehr
Kalender

d14 Sessions #5

mit Monika Szewczyk und Irena Haiduk

Die Zukunft Europas als ein Gegebenes. In dieser Session sind die Teilnehmer_innen eingeladen, gemeinsam ein Geschenk zu fabrizieren: ein Geschenk für den Komponisten Fredric Rzewski in Form eines aufgenommenen…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.