Studio 14: Translating Europe
with Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani, and Roee Rosen

MAY
4
Discussion and screening
6:30–10:30 pm
Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), Vassileos Georgiou B’ 17-19, Athens

Translation is a buzzword in our increasingly hybrid, diasporic, border-crossing societies, and at the same time a highly ambiguous term, since it simultaneously represents the operation by which national, historical, and linguistic differences are bridged, and the pre-emptive process through which those very differences originate. Studio 14 introduces the notion of translation as a social practice that is different from the simple process of transfer, relay, and equivalency; as an alternative to the act that encompasses diverse populations in the national homogenization of languages and cultures. We explore the discourse of “foreigner to foreigner” where language is “forever in translation,” rooted in material practices of cooperation, organization, and conflict, starting from the experience of initiatives of solidarity with refugees in Athens, a heterogeneous language community enlivened by migrants from a number of countries across Africa and the Middle East. At the same time, we examine the construction of a homogenous official national language based on the experience of Slavic Macedonians in mid-war Greece. A research initiative to highlight the ambiguous meaning of “West” and the new shape of political concepts such as Europe, Greece, national language, and identity in the era of capitalist globalization, the “refugee crisis,” and the rise of a new nationalism.

9:30 pm, Screening
Roee Rosen, The Confessions of Roee Rosen, 2008, 56 Min.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen—painter, novelist, and filmmaker—is an astute critical voice in Israel. While his work deals primarily with the representation of desire and structural violence, Rosen, born in 1963, has…

 More
Artists

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

with Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art) present an evening dedicated to the premiere of Rosen’s new film The Dust Channel, the launch of his new book Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 More
Calendar

Studio 14: Greece: a (non-) European Country
by Yannis Almpanis

During a recent Eurogroup meeting, some European finance ministers allegedly told Euclid Tsakalotos that, while he may be right in protesting against the terms imposed by the IMF, he will ultimately have…

 More
Notes

Studio 14

Studio 14 is a research and a workplace driven by a multiplicity of different subjects; capable of giving rise to certain configurations; a process involving the fields of art, education, and politics; and oriented towards the forms of knowledge that circulate and are produced in those fields…

 More
Notes

d14 Sessions #10

with Roee Rosen

Alter egos and political provocation are just two of the methods used by the Israeli-American artist, filmmaker, writer, and teacher Roee Rosen. During the first part of the session, Rosen introduces two…

 More
Calendar

Studio 14: Translating Europe
mit Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani und Roee Rosen

MAI
4
Diskussion und Filmvorführung
18:30–22:30 Uhr
Athener Konservatorium (Odeion), Vassileos Georgiou B’ 17-19, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

„Übersetzung“ ist einerseits ein Modewort in unseren zunehmend hybriden, grenzüberschreitenden Gesellschaften, andererseits ein höchst mehrdeutiger Begriff. Denn Übersetzung ist der Vorgang, bei dem nationale, historische und sprachliche Unterschiede überbrückt werden sollen, und sie ist zugleich ein vorwegnehmender Eingriff, der gerade solche Differenzen hervorbringt. Studio 14 stellt den Gedanken einer Übersetzung vor, die gesellschaftliche Praxis und mehr als nur ein Vorgang der Übertragung, Vermittlung und Äquivalenz ist, und zwar als Alternative zum Eingemeinden verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen in die nationale Homogenisierung von Sprachen und Kulturen. Wir werden einem Diskurs „zwischen Fremden“ nachgehen, in dem Sprache „andauernd in Übersetzung“ ist und der auf materiellen Praktiken der Zusammenarbeit, Organisation und Konfliktaustragung beruht. Konkreter Ansatzpunkt sind Initiativen, die solidarisch mit Flüchtlingen in Athen arbeiten, einer Gemeinschaft heterogener Sprachen, deren Vielfalt von Migrant_innen aus etlichen Ländern Afrikas und des Nahen Ostens belebt wird. Zugleich reflektieren wir die Konstruktion einer homogenen Nationalsprache aus der Sicht slawischer Mazedonier_innen in einem vom Krieg zerrissenen Griechenland. Diese Forschungsinitiative soll nicht nur die Ambivalenz des „Westens“, sondern auch die neue Gestalt politischer Begriffe wie Europa, Griechenland, Nationalsprache und Identität im Zeitalter kapitalistischer Globalisierungen, „Flüchtlingskrisen“ und neu aufkommender Nationalismen in den Blick nehmen.

21:30, Filmvorführung
Roee Rosen, The Confessions of Roee Rosen, 2008, 56 Min.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen – Maler, Autor und Filmemacher – ist ein scharfsinniger israelischer Kritiker, dessen Arbeiten sich hauptsächlich mit der Darstellung von Begehren und struktureller Gewalt auseinandersetzen…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

mit Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst) widmen diesen Abend der Premiere von Rosens neuem Film The Dust Channel und dem Erscheinen seines neuen Buchs Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 Mehr
Kalender

Studio 14: Griechenland, ein (nicht) europäisches Land
von Yannis Almpanis

Während eines Treffens der Eurogruppe sollen mehrere europäische Finanzminister ihrem griechischen Kollegen Euclid Tsakalotos angeblich erklärt haben, dass er mit seinen Einwänden gegen die Bedingungen…

 Mehr
Notizen

Studio 14

Studio 14 ist ein Recherche- und Arbeitsraum, der von einer Vielfalt verschiedener Akteur_innen bespielt wird. Diese Akteur_innen arbeiten an der Herstellung einer bestimmten Konfiguration, ein Prozess, der in den Feldern von Kunst, Erziehung und Politik arbeitet und Formen von Wissen in Anspruch nimmt, die dort produziert werden und zirkulieren…

 Mehr
Notizen

d14 Sessions #10

mit Roee Rosen

Alter Egos und politische Provokation sind nur zwei von vielen Methoden des israelisch-amerikanischen Künstlers, Filmemachers, Autors und Lehrers Roee Rosen. Im ersten Teil dieser Session stellt Rosen…

 Mehr
Kalender