Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen, The Dust Channel (2016), digital video, color, sound, 23 min.

Roee Rosen, Live and Die as Eva Braun, 1995–97, mixed media on paper, installation view, Benaki Museum—Pireos Street Annexe, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Roee Rosen, The Dust Channel, 2016, digital video, installation view, Palais Bellevue, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Daniel Wimmer

Roee Rosen—painter, novelist, and filmmaker—is an astute critical voice in Israel. While his work deals primarily with the representation of desire and structural violence, Rosen, born in 1963, has created an artistic universe that treacherously undermines the normative implications of identities and identifications through fictionalization, irony, and revision. In untold variations, he typically links current Israeli and world politics with mythical and political references to European and Jewish history. Using a vast array of fictional characters and iconographic motifs and codes, Rosen frequently refers to, and transforms, not only the canon of the historical avant-garde and transgressive traditions from the Marquis de Sade to Georges Bataille, but also popular media, political propaganda, and classic children’s fairy tales.

Live and Die as Eva Braun, Rosen’s trailblazing installation and book of 1995–97, compel viewers to identify with and indeed become Hitler’s mistress. The work lays out a script that inverts the parameters of accepted histories and gives voice to the absurdity and obscenity of what is deemed unspeakable. Stringent on the textual level of the script, and delirious and hallucinatory on the painterly one, the work as a whole constitutes an elaborate, provocative meta-commentary on the politics of remembrance and identity formation, specifically the use and abuse of the Holocaust in present-day Israel.

Rosen’s most recent body of works is devoted to the fictional Russian-Jewish émigré Efim Poplavsky (1978–2011), aka Maxim Komar-Myshkin. As in previous projects (notably with Belgian-born female surrealist Justine Frank), Rosen has invented a biography and an oeuvre that is marked by the severe paranoia of an artist embroiled in Russian history and politics, in particular the figure of Vladimir Putin. Rosen’s new film The Dust Channel (2016) is the final chapter in the series that assumes the artistic life of Komar-Myshkin. It is an operetta with a Russian libretto set in the domestic environment of a bourgeois Israeli family, whose fear of dirt, dust, or any alien presence in their home takes the shape of a perverted devotion to home-cleaning appliances. Rosen associates dust figuratively with sand. The desert obliquely points to specific and current forms of xenophobia. The detention center where political refugees are held long-term and unrecognized by the state is in the Israeli desert and named Holot—the Hebrew word for sand.

—Hila Peleg

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

with Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen and Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art) present an evening dedicated to the premiere of Rosen’s new film The Dust Channel, the launch of his new book Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 More
Calendar

Translating Europe

with Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani, and Roee Rosen

Translation is a buzzword in our increasingly hybrid, diasporic, border-crossing societies, and at the same time a highly ambiguous term, since it simultaneously represents the operation by which national…

 More
Calendar

d14 Sessions #10

with Roee Rosen

Alter egos and political provocation are just two of the methods used by the Israeli-American artist, filmmaker, writer, and teacher Roee Rosen. During the first part of the session, Rosen introduces two…

 More
Calendar

Night Shift #6

with Roee Rosen
Calendar

Roee Rosen

Roee Rosen, The Dust Channel (2016), Digitalvideo, Farbe, Ton, 23 min

Roee Rosen – Maler, Autor und Filmemacher – ist ein scharfsinniger israelischer Kritiker, dessen Arbeiten sich hauptsächlich mit der Darstellung von Begehren und struktureller Gewalt auseinandersetzen. 1963 geboren, hat er ein künstlerisches Universum geschaffen, das die normativen Auswirkungen von Identitäten und Identifikationen auf boshafte Weise unterläuft und dabei auf Fiktionalisierungen, Ironie und Überprüfung zurückgreift. In unzähligen Abwandlungen verknüpft er meist aktuelle politische Entwicklungen in Israel und auf der ganzen Welt mit mythischen und politischen Bezügen zur europäischen und jüdischen Geschichte. Ein großes Spektrum an fiktiven Figuren und ikonografischen Motiven und Chiffren ermöglicht es dem Künstler nicht nur, immer wieder auf den Kanon der historischen Avantgarde zu verweisen und diesen abzuwandeln. Auch mit der Verletzung von Normen spielende Traditionen – vom Marquis de Sade bis Georges Bataille – sowie populäre Medien, politische Propaganda und klassische Kindermärchen werden von Rosen entsprechend eingesetzt.

Live and Die as Eva Braun, Rosens bahnbrechendes Installations- und Buchprojekt (1995–97), zwingt den Betrachter, sich mit Hitlers Geliebter zu identifizieren, ja, sich in Eva Braun zu verwandeln. Das zur Arbeit gehörende Skript stellt die Parameter akzeptierter Geschichten auf den Kopf und verleiht der Absurdität und Obszönität des für unaussprechlich Gehaltenen eine Stimme. Stringent als Text, delirierend und halluzinierend auf malerischer Ebene, stellt das Werk insgesamt einen raffinierten und provokanten Metakommentar zur Politik der Erinnerung und Identitätsbildung dar, insbesondere im Hinblick auf den Gebrauch beziehungsweise Missbrauch des Holocaust im modernen Israel.

Rosens jüngste Arbeiten sind dem fiktiven russisch-jüdischen Emigranten Efim Poplavsky (1978–2011) gewidmet, auch unter dem Pseudonym Maxim Komar-Myshkin bekannt. Wie bereits in früheren Projekten – man denke nur an die aus Belgien stammende Surrealistin Justine Frank – hat Rosen auch hier einen Lebenslauf und ein Lebenswerk erfunden, gekennzeichnet durch die akute Paranoia eines tief in die russische Geschichte und Politik verstrickten Künstlers (vor allem im Hinblick auf die Figur Wladimir Putins). Rosens neuer Film The Dust Channel (2016) stellt das letzte Kapitel der Serie dar, die sich Komar-Myshkins Werk annimmt: eine Operette mit russischem Libretto, die in der häuslichen Umgebung einer bürgerlichen israelischen Familie spielt. Deren Angst vor Schmutz, Staub und jedweder fremden Präsenz in ihrem Zuhause findet ihren Ausdruck in einer pervertierten Liebe zu Reinigungsgeräten. Rosen assoziiert Staub im übertragenen Sinn mit Sand, Die Wüste verweist indirekt auf bestimmte, aktuelle Formen der Fremdenfeindlichkeit: Das Internierungslager, in dem staatlich nicht anerkannte politische Flüchtlinge auf lange Zeit festgehalten werden, liegt in der israelischen Wüste und trägt den Namen „Holot“, was auf Hebräisch „Sand“ bedeutet.

— Hila Peleg

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Roee Rosen: Collapsing Comedy, Erotic Politics

mit Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin

Roee Rosen und Marcel Schwierin (Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst) widmen diesen Abend der Premiere von Rosens neuem Film The Dust Channel und dem Erscheinen seines neuen Buchs Live and Die as Eva Braun…

 Mehr
Kalender

Translating Europe

mit Jon Solomon, Tassos Kostopoulos, Vasso Nikolaou, Nasim Lomani und Roee Rosen

„Übersetzung“ ist einerseits ein Modewort in unseren zunehmend hybriden, grenzüberschreitenden Gesellschaften, andererseits ein höchst mehrdeutiger Begriff. Denn Übersetzung ist der Vorgang, bei…

 Mehr
Kalender

d14 Sessions #10

mit Roee Rosen

Alter Egos und politische Provokation sind nur zwei von vielen Methoden des israelisch-amerikanischen Künstlers, Filmemachers, Autors und Lehrers Roee Rosen. Im ersten Teil dieser Session stellt Rosen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Nachtschicht #6

mit Roee Rosen
Kalender