Tribute to Anne Charlotte Robertson
with Haden Guest

MAY
16
Screening
8 pm
Greek Film Archive (Tainiothiki), Iera Odos 48 and Megalou Alexandrou 134-136, Athens

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 22: August 23–September 1, 1982​: A Short Affair (And) Going Crazy, from Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), Super-8 transferred to digital video, film stills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012) was a Massachusetts-based filmmaker who used her Super-8 camera and acute self-awareness to forge a radically intimate mode of first-person cinema. Although she was celebrated as an artist in her lifetime, only today is Robertson finally being acknowledged as an influential pioneer of the first-person diary cinema that has long flourished in the Boston-Cambridge area, perhaps best known in the work of Ed Pincus and Ross McElwee. The first of two programs of Robertson’s films at documenta 14 combines rarely seen shorter works such as Spirit of ’76, with three arresting chapters of the Five Year Diary, including the seminal Reel 22: A Short Affair (And) Going Crazy (1982), now featuring Robertson’s filmed spoken narration and added music track as well as a second performed voice-over integrated by the Harvard Film Archive, the sole repository of Robertson’s films and papers and now charged with the preservation of her films and legacy.


Special screening with Haden Guest, Director of the Harvard Film Archive

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, born in 1949, was a Massachusetts-based filmmaker who used her Super-8 camera and acute self-awareness to forge a radically intimate mode of first-person cinema. Although she…

 More
Notes

Tribute to Anne Charlotte Robertson
mit Haden Guest

MAI
16
Filmvorführung
20 Uhr
Griechisches Filmarchiv (Tainiothiki), Iera Odos 48 und Megalou Alexandrou 134-136, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 22: August 23–September 1, 1982​: A Short Affair (And) Going Crazy, aus Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), Digitales Video übertragen von Super-8, Filmstills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson, die 1949 in Massachusetts geboren wurde, war eine Filmemacherin, die ihre Super-8-Kamera und ihre scharfe Selbstwahrnehmung einsetzte, um eine radikal intime Form des subjektiven Kinos zu schaffen. Auch wenn sie bereits zu Lebzeiten eine gefeierte Künstlerin war, wird Robertson erst heute als einflussreiche Pionierin des subjektiven Tagebuch-Kinos anerkannt, das sich vor allem in der Gegend von Boston und Cambridge entwickelte, am bekanntesten vielleicht in der Arbeit von Ed Pincus und Ross McElwee. Das erste von zwei Programmen mit Robertsons Filmen auf der documenta 14 kombiniert selten gezeigte kürzere Arbeiten wie etwa Spirit of ’76 mit drei eindrucksvollen Kapiteln aus dem Film Five Year Diary, darunter das bahnbrechende Reel 22: A Short Affair (And) Going Crazy (1982). Die Arbeiten werden hier zusammen mit Robertsons gefilmter Narration und einer zusätzlichen Musikspur gezeigt sowie mit einem zweiten eingesprochenen Kommentar, der vom Harvard Film Archive hinzugefügt wurde – dem einzigen Archiv von Robertsons Filmen und Aufzeichnungen und heute damit betraut, ihre Filme zu erhalten und ihr Vermächtnis zu bewahren.

Sondervorführung mit Haden Guest, Leiter des Harvard Film Archive

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, die 1949 in Massachusetts geboren wurde, war eine Filmemacherin, die ihre Super-8-Kamera und ihre scharfe Selbstwahrnehmung einsetzte, um eine radikal intime Form des subjektiven…

 Mehr
Notizen