Wang Bing

Wang Bing, Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks (2003), digital video, color, mono sound, 554 min.

Now recognized as one of the most prominent filmmakers working in China, Wang Bing first came to the attention of the global film community with Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks, a nine-hour-long documentary undertaken over four years (1999–2003), an epic in both spirit and scale. He has since built a portfolio of a dozen feature-length films spanning documentary and fiction, as well as video and photographic works.

Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks bears witness to an era of tumultuous change in China by recording the gradual decline of Shenyang’s industrial Tiexi district. From this point of departure, Wang explores the very heart of contemporary Chinese society. This, like every work of his, is a narrative that privileges historical depth and breadth, taking for its subject those caught, carried along, or abandoned by the unremitting tide of change. They are all hostages to history.

Wang has been developing alternative, image-based narratives that run counter to mainstream discourses on present-day China. These methods express his historical awareness as well as his political attitude but do not diminish the films’ profound emotional texture. This texture, interwoven within a grand historical consciousness, forms Wang’s film aesthetics.

Born in 1967 in Shaanxi Province, northwest China, Wang remembers the social and political upheavals of the late twentieth century. He had a hard childhood, marked by the death of his father when he was fourteen years old. He dropped out of school and started work, shouldering the responsibility of raising the family. When his sister graduated from college, he enrolled at Lu Xun Academy of Fine Arts in Shenyang, where he took a course on photography. It was around this time that he chanced upon Hegel’s Lectures on Aesthetics (1818–29), which might have contributed to what he has acknowledged is the “conservatism” of his aesthetic approach.

Yet this classical sensibility, extended into the contemporary situation, has been transformed into a modernized aesthetic impulse. Wang Bing, by capitalizing on the democratizing possibilities of digital filmmaking, pushes the boundaries of documentary language. And this breakthrough of the limits of documentary as a genre redefines and expands its relationship with film. The passage of time only confirms his filmmaking’s import.

—Zhang Yaxuan

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Keimena #8: Ku Qian (Bitter Money)

by Wang Bing

“Time is money (bastard)” sang the Swans in 1986. The same refrain—deprived of its punk rage—drives the subjects of Wang Bing’s Bitter Money. The film follows country people moving to the city to be employed as textile workers on daily or seasonal contracts…

 More
Public TV

Wang Bing

Wang Bing, Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks (2003), Digitalvideo, Farbe, Einkanal-Ton, 554 min

Wang Bing gilt heute als einer der bekanntesten Filmemacher Chinas. Der internationalen Filmcommunity wurde er durch die neunstündige Dokumentation Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks bekannt, die sich über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren (1999–2003) erstreckt und durch einen epischen Geist und ebensolche Dimensionen charakterisiert ist. Das Œuvre des Künstlers umfasst mittlerweile ein Dutzend Langfilme in Form von Dokumentationen und Spielfilmen sowie Videos und fotografische Arbeiten.

Tie Xi Qu: West of the Tracks protokolliert den allmählichen Niedergang des Shenyanger Industriebezirks Tiexi und zeugt von einer stürmischen Zeit des Wandels in China. Dies ist der Ausgangspunkt für Wangs Auseinandersetzung mit dem Wesen der modernen chinesischen Gesellschaft. Wie alle Werke des Künstlers zeichnet sich auch diese Erzählung durch eine große historische Tiefe und Bandbreite aus. Sie nimmt sich all jener Menschen an, die vom unaufhaltsamen Strom der Veränderung erfasst, mitgerissen oder angespült werden – allesamt Geiseln der Geschichte.

Wangs alternative, bildbasierte Narrative stehen im Widerspruch zu den etablierten Diskursen über das heutige China. Seine Vorgehensweise zeugt von historischem Bewusstsein ebenso wie von seiner politischen Haltung, ohne dabei dem tiefgründigen emotionalen Gefüge seiner Filme Abbruch zu tun. Aus diesem Gefüge, verwoben in ein umfassendes Gewahrsein geschichtlicher Prozesse, entsteht die Ästhetik von Wangs Filmen.

Der Filmemacher, 1967 in der Provinz Shaanxi in Nordwestchina geboren, blickt auf die gesellschaftlichen und politischen Umwälzungen des späten 20. Jahrhunderts zurück. Er durchlebte eine schwere Kindheit, geprägt vom Tod des Vaters, als er vierzehn Jahre alt war. Daraufhin verließ Wang die Schule und begann, nunmehr für das Fortkommen der Familie verantwortlich, zu arbeiten. Nachdem seine Schwester ihre Ausbildung beendet hatte, schrieb er sich an der Lu Xun Academy of Fine Arts in Shenyang für einen Lehrgang in Fotografie ein. Etwa zur selben Zeit stieß er auf Hegels Vorlesungen über die Ästhetik (1818–1829), die den von ihm so bezeichneten „Konservativismus“ seines ästhetischen Ansatzes mitgeprägt haben dürften.

Doch diese klassische Form der Empfindsamkeit verwandelt sich, übertragen auf die heutige Situation, in einen ästhetischen Impuls, der sich der modernen Zeit anpasst. Wang nutzt die demokratisierenden Möglichkeiten des digitalen Filmschaffens, um das Vokabular des Dokumentarischen zu erweitern. Dieses Hinausgehen über die Grenzen der Dokumentation als Genre definiert deren Verhältnis zum Film neu und baut es weiter aus. Der Strom der Zeit unterstreicht dabei lediglich die Bedeutung von Wangs Filmkunst.

— Zhang Yaxuan

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Keimena #8: Ku Qian (Bitter Money)

von Wang Bing

1986 sangen die Swans: Time is money (bastard). Dieser Refrain ist es, der die Menschen in Wang Bings Ku Qian – allerdings ohne die Wut des Punks – antreibt. Der Film folgt Menschen aus einer ländlichen Region, die sich in die Stadt aufgemacht haben, um sich dort auf der Basis von Tages- oder Saisonverträgen als Textilarbeiter zu verdingen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen