Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier performing Sferics (1981), sound installation and recordings of ionospheric disturbances for large-loop antennas, tape recorder, and playback system, Middletown, Connecticut, late 1980s, courtesy Alvin Lucier and Tilton Gallery, New York

On one side of the stage, a performer ignites a small flame, which stands out against the darkness; on the other side, another performer appears and vocalizes a sustained tone that rises and resounds throughout the concert hall. After some seconds of this single vocal act, a silence takes over, one that is finally punctuated by a sudden flickering of light—and as if under a spell, the flame gives way, shivering to the invisible touch of air as it is pushed by sound. Fire and voice are put into a profoundly gentle yet no less physical relation: the medium of air is brought out of hiding and made to oscillate, drawn out as a tangible presence linked to sound and awakened to one’s senses. This extremely delicate and lyrical performance may act as an entrance into the work of Alvin Lucier (born in 1931 in New Hampshire) and his unwavering engagement with how sound travels through the world.

Since the mid-1960s, Lucier has produced a range of important compositions that have influenced the culture of experimental music and the sonic arts. Early works such as Music for Solo Performer (1965), Vespers (1968), I am sitting in a room (1970), and Bird and Person Dyning (1975) establish a clear thread throughout his long career. By concentrating on sound as a physical phenomenon, Lucier has deepened the field of experimental music, often through research-oriented stagings dedicated to the act of listening, while at the same time extending new music composition through his unique strategies. Such an approach and sensibility only confirms Lucier as a vital figure within the sounding arts in general, further exemplified by his more recent orchestral works Diamonds for 1, 2, or 3 Orchestras (1999) and Slices (2007). Here the composer draws us into an array of glissandi and clusters of sound that articulate a rich aural experience, a musicality to excite the ear.

From the compositions of Lucier, we may extract a general theory of sound, one suggestive of how to inhabit the sonic world as well as to hear the not yet sounded. For his works manifest a studied rapture in relation to sound, highlighting its place between acoustic fact and acousmatic dreaming, between material reality and the elusive polyphonies animating it. Lucier guides us into listening deep, to seeing sound as a vibrant matter of daily life with fiery consequences.

—Brandon LaBelle

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

So You ...

by Alvin Lucier

Premiere of Alvin Lucier’s work for cello, clarinet, soprano, and nine amplified wine jars

 More
Calendar

Performance

with Charles Curtis, Alvin Lucier, Anthony Burr, and David Grubbs

Charles Curtis / Alvin Lucier, featuring Anthony Burr / David Grubbs, an evening devoted to the distinct relationship among performer, audience, and space within a musical performance

 More
Calendar

I am sitting in a room

by Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier performs his composition I am Sitting in a Room, which describes the resonant frequencies of the Odeion’s basement in interaction with his speaking voice.

 More
Calendar

In Memoriam: Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016)

by Alvin Lucier

I first met Pauline Oliveros in 1965 in Cleveland, Ohio. Pianist David Tudor had been asked to perform a concert at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland and invited Pauline and I to join him. I…

 More
Notes

Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier zeichnet für Sferics (1981) natürliche Radioemissionen aus der Ionosphäre auf, Middletown, Connecticut, späte 1980er Jahre, courtesy Alvin Lucier und Tilton Gallery, New York

Auf der einen Seite der Bühne entzündet ein Darsteller eine kleine Flamme, die sich von der Dunkelheit abhebt. Auf der anderen Seite erscheint ein weiterer Darsteller und artikuliert einen lang gezogenen Ton, der anschwillt und durch den Konzertsaal hallt. Nach wenigen Sekunden macht dieser singuläre Laut einer Stille Platz, die schließlich vom plötzlichen Flackern des Lichts durchbrochen wird – als wäre sie verzaubert, weicht die Flamme zurück und erschaudert unter der unsichtbaren Berührung der Luft, getroffen vom Schall. Feuer und Stimme treten hier in eine äußerst behutsame und zugleich durch und durch physische Beziehung: Das Medium Luft wird sichtbar gemacht und zum Schwingen gebracht, als greifbare, sinnlich erfahrbare Präsenz in seiner Beziehung zum Schall. Diese höchst feinsinnige und lyrische Darbietung mag als Einstieg in das Werk von Alvin Lucier (geboren 1931 in New Hampshire) dienen, in seine unbeirrte Auseinandersetzung mit der Bewegung von Klängen durch unsere Welt.

Seit Mitte der 1960er Jahre hat Lucier eine Reihe bedeutender Kompositionen erschaffen, die die Kultur der experimentellen Musik und Klangkunst geprägt haben. Bereits frühe Arbeiten wie Music for Solo Performer (1965), Vespers (1968), I am sitting in a room (1970) und Bird and Person Dyning (1975) geben eine klare Richtung vor, die die langjährige Laufbahn des Künstlers bestimmen sollte. Klang als physikalisches Phänomen: Mit diesem Ansatz hat Lucier das Feld der experimentellen Musik um zusätzliche Aspekte bereichert – nicht selten in Form von forschungsbasierten Inszenierungen, die dem Akt des Hörens gewidmet waren – und gleichzeitig durch seine singuläre Vorgehensweise die Neue Musik erweitert. Diese Haltung, diese Sensibilität unterstreicht die entscheidende Rolle, die Lucier in der Klangkunst generell spielt, wie auch die aktuelleren Orchesterwerke Diamonds for 1, 2, or 3 Orchestras (1999) und Slices (2007) zeigen. Hier entführt uns der Komponist in eine Welt der Glissandi und Klangagglomerationen in Form einer opulenten akustischen Erfahrung, einer Musikalität, die das Ohr stimuliert.

Seine Kompositionen führen zu einer grundlegenden Theorie des Klangs, die zeigt, wie wir uns die akustische Welt aneignen können, wie wir hören können, was erst noch erklingen muss. Denn in seinen Arbeiten manifestiert sich eine wohlkalkulierte Verzückung, die den Klang zwischen akustischer Tatsache und akusmatischer Träumerei verortet, zwischen der physischen Realität und den schwer fassbaren Polyphonien, die sie beseelen. Alvin Lucier lehrt uns, intensiv zuzuhören und Klänge als dynamische Elemente unseres Alltags zu sehen – mit berauschenden Konsequenzen.

— Brandon LaBelle

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

SO YOU (Hermes, Orpheus, Eurydice)

von Alvin Lucier

Premiere von So You … (2017) für Cello, Klarinette, Sopran und sechs verstärkte Weingläser

 Mehr
Kalender

Performance

mit Charles Curtis, Alvin Lucier, Anthony Burr und David Grubbs

Charles Curtis / Alvin Lucier, featuring Anthony Burr / David Grubbs

Der Abend ist dem besonderen Verhältnis zwischen Performer_in, Publikum und Raum während einer musikalischen Aufführung gewidmet.

 Mehr
Kalender

I am sitting in a room

von Alvin Lucier

Alvin Lucier führt seine Komposition I am Sitting in a Room auf, die die resonanten Frequenzen des Odeion-Kellers im Wechselspiel zu Luciers Sprechstimme nachzeichnet.

 Mehr
Kalender

Zum Gedenken an Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016)

von Alvin Lucier

Ich habe Pauline Oliveros 1965 in Cleveland, Ohio kennengelernt. Der Pianist David Tudor sollte ein Konzert an der dortigen Case Western Reserve University geben und lud Pauline und mich zur Mitwirkung…

 Mehr
Notizen