Angela Melitopoulos

Angela Melitopoulos, Corridor X (2006), two-channel digital video installation, color, sound, 80 min., made with the archives of the collective video editing project Timescapes/B-Zone, © Angela Melitopoulos/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Angela Melitopoulos’s work consists of complex cinematographic cartographies that assume the form of video installations. Introduced to video by Nam June Paik, she went on to elaborate the medium’s philosophical relation to time, memory, geography, and subjectivity, notably in her long-term collaboration with sociologist and philosopher Maurizio Lazzarato.

Since the late 1990s, the artist’s practice has been characterized by a unique relationship between research and the narration of political geographies, on the one hand, and her use of the nonnarrative properties of moving images, as geographies of affects and intensities, on the other. This has resulted in far-reaching explorations of the mnemonic landscapes of twentieth-century Europe, imperialist violence as seen through the prism of migratory experience, and deviant, minoritarian, and resistant subjectivities. Her narrative method insists on a subterranean collective memory of imperial violence and fascism. This shared history constitutes a commonality which is permanently endangered by the segmentation of memory and imagination through neo-imperial, neoliberal, and reactionary ideology.

The groundbreaking video-essay Passing Drama (1999), for example, deals with the memory of political refugees deported from Turkey to Greece in the 1920s, many of whom (including members of Melitopoulos’s family) experienced forced labor under the Nazi regime and repeated displacements thereafter. The film renders remembrance and forgetting as rhythmic structures through the interweaving of collective memory, subjectivity, and time. The moving image is linked to movement in space—a method of research and image-production that maps geography and psychology onto each other to reveal a different political imaginary.

Recent work by the artist, who was born in Munich in 1961, traces the geopolitical history of experimental forms of psychiatry tied to the struggle against fascism and disciplinary terror. This research is realized as audio-visual cartographies of what the artist describes as the “secret coding of communication of minority cultures,” as well as concepts such as “machinic animism” through which these codings, like the musical refrains of memory, can come to the fore. The revolutionary psychiatric practice and political activism of Félix Guattari provides a foil for Melitopoulos’s engagement with the current neoliberal onslaught on the social fabric, as manifested in the Greek crisis.

—Anselm Franke

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Crossings (2017)

by Angela Melitopoulos with Angela Anderson and Maurizio Lazzarato

Crossings is an experimental reaction to the current state of crisis in Greece, which operates as an audiovisual exploration of passing between different times and spaces.

A double-screen and live sound-mix…

 More
Calendar

Every Time A Ear di Soun, a documenta 14 Radio Program Presentation

with Adam Szymczyk, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Angela Melitopoulos, Hila Peleg, Emeka Ogboh, and Andreas-Peter Weber

Moderated by Vladimir Balzer
Musical interventions by Sonic Shadow aka Satch Hoyt with Earl Harvin and Dirk Leyers, DJ Lamin Fofana

Every Time A Ear di Soun, a documenta 14 Radio Program, is being presented…

 More
Calendar

Passing Drama

by Angela Melitopoulos

“In Passing Drama, ‘escape’ turns from a subject of narration into a cinematic theme about narration and memory itself. History is presented as a machine which devours minorities in order to feed…

 More

Angela Melitopoulos

Angela Melitopoulos, Corridor X (2006), Zweikanal-Digitalvideoinstallation, Farbe, Ton, 80 min, erstellt mithilfe der Archive des kollektiven Videobearbeitungsprojekts Timescapes/B-Zone, © Angela Melitopoulos/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Angela Melitopoulos, Crossings, 2017, zwei-Kanal-Präsentation mit Live-Sound, Griechisches Filmarchiv (Tainiothiki), Athen, © Angela Melitopoulos/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, Foto: Angelos Giotopoulos

Angela Melitopoulos, Crossings, 2017, Video- und Soundinstallation, Installationsansicht, Giesshaus (University of Kassel), Kassel, © Angela Melitopoulos/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, Foto: Nils Klinger

Angela Melitopoulos’ Werk beruht auf komplexen filmischen Kartografien in Form von Videoinstallationen. Von Nam June Paik in das Genre des Videofilms eingeführt, analysierte die Künstlerin in der Folge die philosophische Beziehung des Mediums zu Aspekten wie Zeit, Gedächtnis, Geografie und Subjektivität, insbesondere in ihrer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Soziologen und Philosophen Maurizio Lazzarato.

Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre verbindet sie in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis die Erforschung und Darstellung politischer Geografien auf singuläre Weise mit dem Einsatz von nicht narrativen Merkmalen bewegter Bilder im Sinne einer Geografie der Emotionen und Intensitäten. Dies führte sie zu einer tief greifenden Auseinandersetzung mit europäischen Erinnerungslandschaften des 20. Jahrhunderts, mit imperialistischer Gewalt, gesehen durch das Prisma von Migrationserfahrungen, und mit devianten, minoritären und widerständigen Subjektivitäten. Melitopoulos’ narrative Technik beharrt auf einem unsichtbaren kollektiven Gedächtnis der imperialen Gewalt und des Faschismus. Die gemeinsame Basis, die sich aus dieser geteilten Geschichte ergibt, ist unablässig bedroht durch eine auf neoimperialen, neoliberalen und reaktionären Ideologien beruhende Segmentierung von Erinnerung und Vorstellungskraft.

Passing Drama beispielsweise, ein bahnbrechender Video-Essay aus dem Jahr 1999, erforscht das Gedächtnis von politischen Flüchtlingen, die in den 1920er Jahren aus Kleinasien (der heutigen Türkei) nach Griechenland deportiert wurden. Viele dieser Geflüchteten (darunter Mitglieder von Melitopoulos’ Familie) mussten unter dem NS-Regime Zwangsarbeit verrichten und wurden danach wiederholt vertrieben. Durch das kunstvolle Verknüpfen von kollektivem Gedächtnis, Subjektivität und Zeit zeigt der Film Prozesse des Erinnerns und Vergessens als rhythmische Struktur. Das bewegte Bild verbindet sich mit der Bewegung im Raum – eine Technik der Exploration und Bildproduktion, die Geografie und Psychologie aufeinander abbildet und so eine andere Form des politisch Imaginären herausarbeitet.

In ihren aktuellen Arbeiten spürt die 1961 in München geborene Künstlerin der geopolitischen Geschichte experimenteller Psychiatrieformen nach, die eng mit dem Kampf gegen Faschismus und disziplinären Terror verbunden sind. Sie tut dies mittels audiovisueller Kartografien, die sich – um es mit den Worten der Künstlerin zu sagen – mit der „geheimen Kodierung der Kommunikation von Minderheitenkulturen“ beschäftigen. Dabei greift Melitopoulos auch auf Konzepte wie den „maschinischen Animismus“ zurück, die diese Kodierungen wie musikalische Refrains der Erinnerung sichtbar machen. Ausgehend von der revolutionären Psychiatrie und dem politischen Aktivismus Félix Guattaris, setzt sich Angela Melitopoulos mit dem aktuellen Angriff des Neoliberalismus auf das soziale Gefüge auseinander, wie er sich beispielsweise in der Krise Griechenlands zeigt.

— Anselm Franke

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Crossings

von Angela Melitopoulos mit Angela Anderson und Maurizio Lazzarato

Crossings ist der Versuch, sich der gegenwärtigen Krise in Griechenland in einer audio-visuellen Erkundung von Übergängen zwischen Zeiten und Räumen anzunähern.

Doppelprojektion mit Live-Tonabmischung…

 Mehr
Kalender

Every Time A Ear di Soun, ein documenta 14 Radioprogramm Veranstaltung

mit Adam Szymczyk, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Angela Melitopoulos, Hila Peleg, Emeka Ogboh und Andreas-Peter Weber

Moderiert von Vladimir Balzer
Musikalische Interventionen von Sonic Shadow aka Satch Hoyt zusammen mit Earl Harvin und Dirk Leyers, DJ Lamin Fofana

Every Time A Ear di Soun, ein Radioprogramm der documenta…

 Mehr
Kalender

Passing Drama

von Angela Melitopoulos

„Die Flucht als Motiv der Erzählung wird in Passing Drama zu einem filmischen Thema über Erzählung und Gedächtnis selbst. Historie erscheint als eine Maschinerie, die für das Wohl einer unsichtbaren…

 Mehr