Maria Lai
(1919–2013)

Maria Lai, installation view, EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Maria Lai, installation view, EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (To tie onself to the mountain), 1981, black-and-white photographs, photographs by Piero Berengo Gardin, ​Archivio Maria Lai, Cardedu, installation view, EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Maria Lai, installation view, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Sardinian artist Maria Lai’s oeuvre is closely interwoven with literature and poetry, both formally and as related to content. Writer Salvatore Cambosu (1895–1962) was an important mentor and friend who was also influential to her work. She shared a close bond with him, not only in terms of literature but also to her homeland Sardinia—a land whose history and traditions were the subjects of their respective works. “Follow the rhythm” recommended Cambosu to Maria Lai, meaning harmony and scansion in poetry, which is reflected in her precise technique, the clear, occasionally edgy lines of her aquarelle and drawings, as well as in the sculptural objects made of textiles. It is this untiring exploration of the identity of Sardinian women that occupies Maria Lai and has defined the subjects of her work for over seventy years.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Maria Lai (1919–2013)

While living with her aunt and uncle near Cardedu in the Sardinian countryside due to poor health, as a child Maria Lai traced bold sketches on the walls of their kitchen with charcoal from the fireplace…

 More
Notes

Maria Lai
(1919–2013)

Maria Lai, Installationsansicht, EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen, documenta 14, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Maria Lai, Installationsansicht, EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen, documenta 14, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Maria Lai, Legarsi alla montagna (Sich an einen Berg binden), 1981, Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien, Fotos: Piero Berengo Gardin, Archivio Maria Lai, Cardedu, Installationsansicht, EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen, documenta 14, © Maria Lai/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Das Oeuvre der sardischen Künstlerin Maria Lai ist sowohl formal als auch inhaltlich eng mit Literatur und Dichtung verwoben. Ein wichtiger und ihre Arbeit beeinflussender Mentor und Freund war der Schriftsteller Salvatore Cambosu (1895–1962), mit dem sie eine enge Verbundenheit nicht nur zur Literatur, sondern auch zu ihrer gemeinsamen Heimat Sardinien teilte – das Land, dessen Geschichte und Traditionen Gegenstand ihrer jeweiligen Werke ist. „Folge dem Rhythmus“ riet Cambosu Maria Lai, und meinte damit die Harmonie und Skandierung in der Dichtung, die sich in ihrer präzisen Technik, den klaren, manchmal kantigen Linien der Aquarelle und Zeichnungen und auch in den skulpturalen Objekten aus Textilien widerspiegeln. Es ist die unermüdliche Erforschung der Identität sardischer Frauen, die Maria Lai ausfüllte und die Sujets ihrer Werke mehr als 70 Jahre bestimmte.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Maria Lai (1919–2013)

Als Maria Lai wegen ihres schlechten Gesundheitszustandes als Kind bei ihrer Tante und ihrem Onkel unweit von Cardedu in Sardinien auf dem Land lebte, malte sie mit Holzkohle aus dem Herd kräftige Zeichnungen…

 Mehr
Notizen