Angelo Plessas

Angelo Plessas, Reading Statement #etinterbro5 (2016), digital video, color, sound, 5:16 min., courtesy Angelo Plessas and The Breeder, Athens, photo: Danushka Marasinghe

As I walked back from the communal showers, I paused at the gate to take in the scene. It looked like a kid’s drawing of a small village, straw huts on the edge of the desert. The sun was rising over the Dead Sea, and I stood in wonder of this strange situation. I was there as part of Angelo Plessas’s third Eternal Internet Brother/Sisterhood, taking place in and around a semi-abandoned camping ground on the West Bank in a disputed area between Israel and Palestine. The night before, our group of twenty had sat around a fire playing “Manifesto,” a game that Plessas had invented on the spot. He would read a paragraph from a book of art manifestos, and we had to guess the movement. As a group of art-world adults, gradually losing any pretension, performing for no audience, we found ourselves in a fantasy version of a children’s camp, yet in a politicized place where one could not avoid reality. Was this the artwork? Were we the artwork?

Plessas, born in Athens in 1974, makes work in and around the internet. He registers domain names like SymmetryOfChaos.com and places his characters in situations, or he Google Street walks around the globe and picks locations for his gatherings. After each Brother/Sisterhood (2011– ) gathering, he stages elaborate and mesmerizing installations with the documentation of these yearly events; works that he claims are not sculptures but “promotional stands” for future gatherings. Instead of people, the installations are inhabited by videos documenting the past proceedings, along with YouTube statements announcing the next venture. Computerized voices proclaim that “ancient mythologies can network our contemporary condition”; “The Internet should not be misguided as a tool but more as a structure against hierarchies and social conventions”; “We become slaves to our clicks and likes”; and “Through a lack of temptation for the unknown, the biggest global selling merchandise ever is our attention.” Plessas’s work often references social experiments from the earliest days of technology, alternative manifestos on how to be an artist, and made-up recipes for “emotional interfaces” and “new social horizons.” In the case of “Brother/Sisterhood,” and the newly introduced “Experimental Education Protocol” (2016– ), it appears that artists, writers, and thinkers are indeed the medium for Plessas’s work. He gathers and documents the way they produce or play, acting both as facilitator and coach, playground chaperone and activator.

Walking along the internet, you find more of Plessas’s fantastic social domains in the form of websites, as this was the artist’s earliest medium. In these online gatherings, Plessas’s abstract talismanic characters shift identities with a click, interacting with one another in social and emotional situations, just as we did during our days as part of the Brotherhood. Online and off, Plessas’s gatherings constitute a series of experiments toward a future society.

—Andreas Angelidakis

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood

with Angelo Plessas

The fifth gathering of the Noospheric Society since its initiation in October 2016 is both its first appearance in and around Kassel and an invitation to join the 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood…

 More
Calendar

Experimental Education Protocol

with Angelo Plessas

The Experimental Education Protocol is an alternative educational model founded by artist Angelo Plessas. Every edition takes place in a new location. Participants are asked to create educational models…

 More
Calendar

Tantra Rising

with Angelo Plessas and Mihalis Filinis

The fourth and last meeting of the Noospheric Society at Parko Elefterias is titled Tantra Rising. During this session artist Angelo Plessas invites meditator Mihalis Filinis to teach the Noospheric tantric…

 More
Calendar

The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising

with Mihalis Filinis and Angelo Plessas

The third meeting of the Noospheric Society at Parko Elefterias is titled The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising. During this session artist Angelo Plessas presents the latest edition of…

 More
Calendar

Cosmic Meditation

with Mihalis Filinis and Angelo Plessas

For the second meeting of the Noospheric Society the artist Angelo Plessas invites meditator Mihalis Filinis for an hour-long noospheric meditation session. The Noospheric Society is a communal place created…

 More
Calendar

Initiation to the Noospheric Society

with Angelo Plessas

The Noospheric Society is a communal place created by artist Angelo Plessas to rest in contemplation, an altar of digital detox, a therapy session, a place to explore our bodies and minds, a social environment…

 More
Calendar

Angelo Plessas

Angelo Plessas, Reading Statement #etinterbro5 (2016), Digitalvideo, Farbe, Ton, 5:16 Min., courtesy Angelo Plessas und The Breeder, Athens, Foto: Danushka Marasinghe

Auf dem Weg zurück von den Gemeinschaftsduschen blieb ich am Tor stehen, um die Szenerie auf mich einwirken zu lassen. Sie erinnerte an die Kinderzeichnung eines kleinen Dorfs: Strohhütten am Rande der Wüste. Über dem Toten Meer ging gerade die Sonne auf, und in Staunen versunken sann ich über die seltsame Situation nach. Ich war hierhergekommen, um an Angelo Plessas’ dritter „Eternal Internet Brother/Sisterhood“ teilzunehmen, die rund um einen halb verlassenen Campingplatz im Westjordanland stattfand, einer von Israelis und Palästinensern gleichermaßen beanspruchten Region. Am Abend zuvor hatte sich unsere zwanzigköpfige Gruppe am Feuer versammelt und „Manifesto“ gespielt, ein von Plessas vor Ort erdachtes Spiel: Nachdem er einen Absatz aus einem Buch über Kunstmanifeste vorgelesen hatte, mussten wir die dazugehörige Bewegung erraten. Schritt für Schritt fiel alle Überheblichkeit und Anmaßung von uns – allesamt erwachsen und der Kunstwelt zuzurechnen – ab. Kein Publikum beobachtete unseren Auftritt, und so fühlten wir uns wie in der Fantasieausgabe eines Kinderlagers, wenn auch an einem politisch brisanten Ort, dessen Realität sich nicht verleugnen ließ. War dies das Kunstwerk? Waren wir selbst das Kunstwerk?

Der Künstler, geboren 1974 in Athen, arbeitet im und rund um das Internet. Plessas registriert Domainnamen wie SymmetryOfChaos.com und erfindet Situationen für seine Figuren. Oder er reist mit Google Street View um den Globus, um passende Orte für seine Zusammenkünfte zu finden. Nach den jährlichen „Brother/Sisterhood“-Treffen (2012–) verwendet er deren Dokumentation, um ausgeklügelte und faszinierende Installationen zu inszenieren, die er selbst nicht als Skulpturen bezeichnet, sondern als „Werbestände“ für zukünftige Treffen. Keine Menschen bevölkern diese Installationen, sondern Videos der früheren Veranstaltungen, begleitet von YouTube-Ankündigungen des nächsten Projekts. Wir hören computergenerierte Stimmen mit Aussagen wie „uralte Mythologien können unseren aktuellen Zustand vernetzen“, „das Internet sollte nicht als Instrument, sondern als Struktur gegen Hierarchien und soziale Konventionen fehlgeleitet werden“, „wir werden zu Sklaven unserer Klicks und Likes“, „durch die mangelnde Versuchung des Unbekannten ist unsere Aufmerksamkeit das größte globale Handelsgut aller Zeiten“. Nicht selten verweist Plessas’ Werk auf soziale Experimente aus den Anfangstagen der Technologie, alternative Manifeste über das Dasein als Künstler und erfundene Anleitungen für „emotionale Schnittstellen“ und „neue soziale Horizonte“. In „Brother/Sisterhood“ ebenso wie im neuen Projekt „Experimental Education Protocol“ (2016–) scheinen Künstler_innen, Autor_innen und Denker_innen tatsächlich das Medium für Plessas’ Arbeit zu sein. Als Moderator und Coach, Schulhofaufsicht und Antreiber beobachtet und dokumentiert er ihre Arbeits- oder Darstellungsweisen.

Bei einem Spaziergang durch das Internet stoßen wir auf weitere seiner fantastischen sozialen Domains in Form von Websites, das erste Medium des Künstlers. In diesen virtuellen Zusammenkünften verändern abstrakte, talismanhafte Figuren ihre Identität per Mausklick, sie interagieren in sozialen und emotionalen Situationen, so wie auch wir bei „Brother/Sisterhood“. Ob online oder offline – Plessas’ Versammlungen sind als Experimente für eine Gesellschaft der Zukunft zu verstehen.

— Andreas Angelidakis

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Inner Outer Circle

mit Kommunen aus der Region Kassel und Angelo Plessas

Noch nie zuvor haben so viele Menschen auf diesem Planeten gelebt, während wir gleichzeitig einen nie dagewesenen Grad an Vereinzelung erleben. Kapitalismus, wie eigentlich jede Form der Ausbeutung, basiert…

 Mehr
Kalender

6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood

mit Angelo Plessas

Das fünfte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft seit ihrer Gründung im Oktober 2016 ist auch ihr erstes Auftreten in Kassel und in der Umgebung von Kassel; und zugleich eine Einladung, an der 6…

 Mehr
Kalender

Experimental Education Protocol

mit Angelo Plessas

Das Experimental Education Protocol ist ein alternatives Bildungsmodell, das vom Künstler Angelo Plessas entwickelt wurde. Jede Ausgabe findet an einem anderen Ort statt. Die Teilnehmer_innen werden aufgefordert…

 Mehr
Kalender

Tantra Rising

mit Angelo Plessas und Mihalis Filinis

Das vierte und letzte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft im Parko Elefterias hat den Titel Tantra Rising. Während dieser Sitzung lädt der Künstler Angelo Plessas den Meditationslehrer Mihalis…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising

mit Mihalis Filinis und Angelo Plessas

Das dritte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft im Parko Eleftherias trägt den Titel The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising. Während der Sitzung stellt der Künstler Angelo Plessas…

 Mehr
Kalender

Cosmic Meditation

mit Mihalis Filinis und Angelo Plessas

Für das zweite Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft lädt der Künstler Angelo Plessas den Meditationslehrer Mihalis Filinis zu einer einstündigen noosphärischen Meditationsübung ein. Die Noosphärische…

 Mehr
Kalender