Romuald Karmakar

Romuald Karmakar, Die Nacht singt ihre Lieder (Nightsongs, 2003), 35 mm film, color, sound, 95 min., production still from Studio Babelsberg, Potsdam, 2002, photo: Pantera Film GmbH

Filmmaker Romuald Karmakar draws on the traditions of those who shaped the New German Cinema of the 1960s and 1970s. His films exist within an expanded spectrum of subgenres spanning experimental documentary to experimental fiction, bordering other disciplines, such as performing arts and visual arts. Throughout his filmmaking practice, Karmakar, who was born in 1965 in Wiesbaden, focuses largely on portraying the political history and contemporary culture of Germany. The direct, often radically minimalist analysis of his subject matter immerses viewers in an intimate and uneasy portrayal of environments permeated by rage, terror, and violence.

Karmakar’s feature films revolve around marginality and abjection, and they often refer to the question of genocide that is woven into German consciousness. Yet much of his documentary work renders the violence of speech rather than that of physical acts. Most notably are those historiographies that focus on the perpetrator rather than the victim: Warheads (1992) features mercenaries and legionnaires in a portrait of soldierly culture; The Deathmaker (1995) is based on the transcripts of the interrogation of mass murderer Fritz Haarmann, also called “The Werewolf of Hanover.” The Himmler Project (2000), meanwhile, reconstructs the Reichsführer-SS’s three-hour speech given to SS generals in Posen in 1943, infamous for its open acknowledgment and heroization of exterminating European Jews. In this film, the detailed reenactment of the speech act is based on a gramophone recording, and the staging on the criminal political system and its legitimation strategies. Speech permeates Karmakar’s more recent films as well. The Hamburg Lessons (2006) reenacts two of the sermons of Salafist preacher Mohammed Fizazi recorded in the year 2000. Fizazi’s speeches were regularly attended by the plotters of the 9/11 attacks when they were living in Hamburg, and his rhetoric in denouncing colonialism and Western imperialism, while privileging a totalitarian, martial interpretation of the Qur’an and Islam, is seen to have impacted the radicalization of the Hamburg group in Germany.

Whether focused on the story of an individual serial killer or collective extremists, the genocidal machine of Nazi and SS terror or the biographies of German mercenaries active in Africa, the Balkans, and elsewhere in the 1990s, Karmakar’s intimate filmic portraits reveal the structural and systemic ramifications of the sociopolitical conditions and historical circumstances that foster these milieus. Through a minimalist use of the speech act, Karmakar’s works place the viewer into the position of the addressee of these histories, directly confronting us with the internal logic of radicalized thought.

—Hila Peleg

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Denk ich an Deutschland in der Nacht

by Romuald Karmakar

Romuald Karmakar, Denk ich an Deutschland in der Nacht (If I Think of Germany at Night), 2017, Germany, 105 min., German and French with English subtitles

Denk ich an Deutschland in der Nacht takes a look…

 More
Calendar

Keimena #16: Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention (Democracy Under AttackAn Intervention)

by Romuald Karmakar

In December 2011, ten German intellectuals met in Berlin to discuss the current political crisis: how democracy had been undermined, weakened, hollowed out, and perverted by the so-called free market and its functions…

 More
Public TV

Romuald Karmakar

Romuald Karmakar, Die Nacht singt ihre Lieder (2003), 35-mm-Film, Farbe, Ton, 95 min, Produktionsstill vom Studio Babelsberg, Potsdam, Deutschland, 2002, Foto: Pantera Film GmbH

Der Filmemacher Romuald Karmakar ist geprägt von der Tradition jener Filmkünstler, die den Neuen Deutschen Film der 1960er und 1970er Jahre begründeten. Seine Arbeiten bewegen sich in unterschiedlichen Subgenres – von experimentellen Dokumentarfilmen bis hin zu experimentellen Spielfilmen – und berühren auch andere Disziplinen, wie die darstellenden und bildenden Künste. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis beschäftigt sich Karmakar, 1965 in Wiesbaden geboren, nahezu ausschließlich mit der politischen Geschichte und zeitgenössischen Kultur Deutschlands. Seine unmittelbaren, nicht selten radikal minimalistischen Auseinandersetzungen konfrontieren die Betrachter_innen mit intimen, beunruhigenden Porträts sozialer Milieus voller Wut, Angst und Gewalt.

Karmakars Spielfilme kreisen um Marginalität und Erniedrigung, auch die Frage des Genozids, tief im deutschen Bewusstsein verankert, wird immer wieder aufgegriffen. Seine Dokumentarfilme wiederum befassen sich vornehmlich mit Akten verbaler Gewalt und sparen physische Brutalität aus. Besonders bemerkenswert sind die historiografischen Arbeiten des Künstlers, die den Täter anstelle des Opfers in den Mittelpunkt stellen: Während Warheads (1992) soldatische Kultur am Beispiel von Söldnern und Legionären zeigt, beruht Der Totmacher (1995) auf den Verhörprotokollen des Massenmörders Fritz Haarmann, auch der „Werwolf von Hannover“ genannt. Das Himmler-Projekt (2000) wiederum rekonstruiert eine dreistündige Rede, die der Reichsführer SS 1943 vor Generälen der SS in Posen hielt und die berüchtigt ist für Himmlers unverhohlene Bestätigung und Heroisierung der Vernichtung europäischer Juden. Die detailgenaue Wiedergabe der Rede basiert auf einer Schallplattenaufnahme, während die filmische Inszenierung auf das verbrecherische politische System und seine Legitimationsstrategien zurückgreift. Sprache spielt auch in Karmakars aktuellen Arbeiten eine wichtige Rolle. So stellt Hamburger Lektionen (2006) zwei Ansprachen des Salafistenpredigers Mohammed Fazazi nach, die im Jahr 2000 aufgezeichnet wurden. Die Predigten des Imams wurden regelmäßig von den in Hamburg lebenden 9/11-Attentätern besucht. Fazazis Anprangerung des westlichen Kolonialismus und Imperialismus sowie seine totalitäre, kriegerische Auslegung von Koran und Islam gelten mit als Ursachen für die Radikalisierung der Hamburger Gruppe in Deutschland.

Einzelne Serienmörder oder kollektive Extremisten, Maschinerie des NS-Völkermords und SS-Terror, Biografien deutscher Söldner in Afrika, auf dem Balkan und anderswo in den 1990er Jahren – Romuald Karmakars intime Filmporträts zeichnen die strukturellen und systemischen Verästelungen der soziopolitischen Verhältnisse und historischen Gegebenheiten nach, die solche Milieus begünstigen. Durch den reduzierten Einsatz von Sprache richtet sich die Geschichte an den Betrachter selbst und erzeugt eine direkte Konfrontation mit der inneren Logik radikalen Gedankenguts.

— Hila Peleg

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Denk ich an Deutschland in der Nacht

von Romuald Karmakar

Griechenlandpremiere
4. Juli, 21 Uhr
Griechisches Filmarchiv (Tainiothiki), Athen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Keimena #16: Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention (Democracy Under AttackAn Intervention)

von Romuald Karmakar

Im Dezember 2011 trafen sich zehn deutsche Intellektuelle in Berlin, um die aktuelle politische Krise zu besprechen und zu diskutieren, auf welche Weise die Demokratie vom so genannten freien Markt und seiner Funktionsweise untergraben, geschwächt, ausgehöhlt und pervertiert wurde…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen