Beau Dick
(1955–2017)

Beau Dick, Volcano Woman Mask (2009), cedar, horse hair, and paint, 63.5 × 30.5 × 12.7 cm, installation view, from the group exhibition Lalakenis/All Directions: A Journey of Truth and Unity (2016), Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, courtesy Beau Dick and Macaulay and Co. Fine Art, Vancouver, and Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, photo: Michael R. Barrick

Beau Dick’s name in the Kwakw’ala language means “big, great whale.” His carvings often feature Dzunuk’wa, the “wild woman of the woods,” and her counterpart, Bakwas, “wild man of the woods.” These supernatural figures loom large in Kwakwaka’wakw cosmology and also in Dick’s practice. Bakwas is a stealer of souls. He lures his victims with poisonous food—toads, snakes, lizards, and maggots. Those who consume his offerings become Bakwas, forever trapped in the house of spirits. Dzunuk’wa is a cannibal. She lumbers through the woods, plucking out disobedient children and putting them in her cedar basket for later eating. Her giant face is black as though charred from a fire, and her red lips are always pursed as though about to cry out, “HUU! HUU!”

In Dick’s hands, masks are not simply masks, they are animate beings that have important roles outside the confines of contemporary art. He is continually short-circuiting their status as a commodity. In 2012, he removed the forty Atlakim (Forest) masks from the walls of his gallery and brought them back to his community in Alert Bay, where they were danced for a final time and then ceremonially burned. There is rebirth within this destruction, as now there is a responsibility to carve a new set of masks, which in turn keeps them alive.

A hereditary chief, Dick (born in 1955) is highly active in his community. As soon as the ferry docks, his hand is visible, from carved totem poles at the top of the hill to memorial poles near the shore of the bay. Lately, he has also been galvanizing those outside his village. In February 2013, inspired by the activist movement Idle No More and spurred on by his daughters Linnea and Geraldine, they walked south from Quatsino to Victoria, British Columbia, where in the presence of some three thousand people they broke a copper named Nunmgala on the steps of the BC Legislative Assembly. In 2014, he gathered even more supporters and broke copper on the steps of Parliament Hill in Ottawa. Dick, the maker of monsters, is exposing some too. The coppers broken on the steps of two houses of power are a call against colonialism and capitalism: “In breaking this copper we confront the tyranny and oppression of a government who has forsaken human rights and turned its back on nature in the interests of the almighty dollar, and we act in accordance with our laws.”

—Candice Hopkins

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

In Memoriam: Beau Dick (1955–2017)

by Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick was given the name “Walis Gwy Um,” which means “big, great whale” in the Kwak’wala language. His carvings tap into the supernatural, as though everything he made is invested with spirit…

 More
Notes

Beau Dick
(1955–2017)

Beau Dick, Volcano Woman Mask (2009), Lebensbaumholz, Pferdehaar, Farbe, 63,5 × 30,5 × 12,7 cm, Installationsansicht aus der Gruppenausstellung Lalakenis/All Directions: A Journey of Truth and Unity (2016), Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Kanada, courtesy Beau Dick und Macaulay und Co. Fine Art, Vancouver, und Morris und Helen Belkin Art Gallery, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Foto: Michael R. Barrick

Beau Dicks Name bedeutet in der Kwakw’ala-Sprache „großer, mächtiger Wal“. Seine Schnitzarbeiten stellen häufig Dzunuk’wa dar, die „Wilde aus den Wäldern“, sowie ihr männliches Pendant Bakwas. Diese beiden übernatürlichen Gestalten beherrschen die Kosmologie der Kwakwaka ʹwakw und dementsprechend auch die Kunst von Beau Dick. Bakwas ist ein Räuber der Seelen. Er ködert seine Opfer mit vergifteter Nahrung – Kröten, Schlangen, Echsen und Maden. Wer seine Gaben verspeist, wird selbst zum Bakwas und bleibt für immer im Haus der Geister gefangen. Dzunuk ʹwa ist Kannibalin. Sie trampelt durch die Wälder, schnappt sich ungehorsame Kinder und steckt sie in ihren Korb aus Lebensbaumzweigen, um sie später zu fressen. Ihr riesiges Gesicht ist schwarz wie vom Feuer versengt, und ihre roten Lippen sind stets geschürzt, als riefe sie „HUU! HUU!“

Dick schnitzt nicht einfach Masken, sondern Lebewesen mit einer großen Bedeutung außerhalb des begrenzten Bereichs zeitgenössischer Kunst. Er untergräbt beharrlich ihren Status als Kunstware. 2012 entfernte er vierzig Atlakim-Wald-Masken von den Wänden seiner Galerie und brachte sie zurück zu seiner Dorfgemeinschaft in Alert Bay. Dort ließ man sie ein letztes Mal tanzen, bevor sie feierlich verbrannt wurden. Die Zerstörung schließt eine Wiedergeburt ein, da sie die lebenserhaltende Verantwortung mit sich bringt, eine neue Serie von Masken zu schnitzen.

In seiner ererbten Position als Chief ist der 1955 geborene Künstler innerhalb seiner Gemeinschaft äußerst aktiv. Kaum hat man mit der Fähre angelegt, zeigt sich seine Handschrift in geschnitzten Totempfählen hoch oben auf dem Hügel bis zu Gedenkpfählen am Ufer der Bucht. Seit einiger Zeit gelingt es ihm, Menschen außerhalb seiner Dorfgemeinschaft zu mobilisieren. Im Februar 2013 marschierte er auf Anregung der Aktivistengruppe Idle No More und seiner Töchter Linnea und Geraldine von Quatsino in Richtung Süden nach Victoria (British Columbia), wo er vor etwa 3.000 Anhänger_innen auf den Stufen des regionalen Legislative Assembly eine „Nunmgala“ genannte Kupferplatte zerbrach. 2014 versammelte er eine noch größere Zahl von Unterstützer_innen am Parliament Hill in Ottawa und zerbrach auch dort eine Kupferplatte. Als Schöpfer von Ungeheuern entlarvt er nun auch Ungeheuer anderer Art. Denn das rituelle Zerbrechen der Kupferplatten vor den beiden Sitzen der Macht ist ein Aufruf zum Widerstand gegen Kolonialismus und Kapitalismus: „Indem wir diese Platte brechen, wenden wir uns gegen die Tyrannei und Unterdrückung eines Staates, der die Menschenrechte missachtet und sich für den allmächtigen Dollar von der Natur abwendet. Wir handeln im Einklang mit unseren Gesetzen.“

— Candice Hopkins

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Zum Gedenken an Beau Dick (1955–2017)

von Candice Hopkins

Beau Dick erhielt den Namen „Walis Gwy Um“, was in der Sprache Kwank‘wala „großer, mächtiger Wal“ bedeutet. Seine Schnitzarbeiten schöpften aus dem Übernatürlichen, als sei alles, was er…

 Mehr
Notizen