iQhiya

iQhiya, The Commute II (2016), performance, Cape Town, photo: Gerald Machona

There is something called the “hidden curriculum,” a term developed by educational theorists in the 1920s. If it were not so hidden, I could explain exactly what it is, but it always seems to conceal itself one layer beneath explicit content. It is present in the reproductive process that perpetually births structures and patterns and infinite versions of things that perpetuate those structures and patterns.

Without attempting to describe the texture of this thing, I think we agree, as iQhiya, that when we are together and alone, we all feel it. We all understand in our own various modes, at the particularities of our positions, the hidden curriculum. We understand it, not because we can see it, but because it tends to move against our own flow.

There are a number of bodies—human, institutional, or mechanical—who have swallowed the hidden curriculum, and who will talk into it and through it and according to it at any opportunity, regardless of whether or not they are even able to see it. In fact, we are born into it, and the process of separation of self from this hidden curriculum is a painful one.

Whether its underbelly is exposed to you through tear-gas and rubber bullets, through being teased about your hair at school, through the experience of physicalized violence, through the glassy blue eyes that stare through you, and the shock and surprise that “You made that?” or “You wrote that?” The hidden curriculum would have a number of people believe that they do not in fact exist.

As I said, when we—iQhiya, a collective of eleven members who all attended the University of Cape Town—are alone together, we might agree on having felt what this hidden curriculum does to each of us, but when we are being looked at, talked to, and seen, we are aware of the part of the hidden curriculum that renders us each similar versions of one type of person.

So perhaps it is the falseness of this leering and hiding curriculum that has brought us together, and encouraged us to learn outside of it—to learn from each other—and to collaborate, discuss, argue, and perform together. iQhiya is attempting to offer an alternative curriculum to Black women artists in South Africa, one that defies the structural injustices (lessons) of the hidden curriculum that we all came to uncover in our various experiences of the institution.

—Thuli Gamedze

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Monday

by iQhiya

iQhiya’s performative installation attempts to offer an alternative curriculum, defying the structural lessons of the hidden curriculum that we uncover in various experiences of (educational) institutions…

 More
Calendar

The Portrait

by iQhiya

The Portrait is an endurance performance that speaks to the role forced upon Black women in society, referencing the tensions between suffering and violence.

 More
Calendar

iQhiya

iQhiya, The Commute II (2016), Performance, Kapstadt, Foto: Gerald Machona

In den 1920er Jahren prägten Pädagogen den Begriff des „heimlichen Lehrplans“. Nun, wäre dieser Lehrplan nicht gar so heimlich, ich könnte ihn sehr gut erklären – doch scheint es sich immer knapp hinter greifbaren, klar umrissenen Inhalten zu verbergen. Seine Wirkung zeigt sich in der fortwährenden Reproduktion von Strukturen, Mustern und endlosen Versionen von Dingen, die ebendiese Strukturen und Muster erneut reproduzieren und perpetuieren.

Ich möchte hier keine Beschreibung dieses Phänomens versuchen, doch ich glaube für iQhiya sagen zu können, dass wir die Existenz dieses geheimen Lehrplans allesamt spüren, wenn wir unter uns sind. Wir alle verstehen, jede auf ihre Weise und in ihrer besonderen Position, seine Bedeutung – nicht weil wir ihn sehen können, sondern weil er sich uns immer wieder in den Weg stellt.

Dieser Lehrplan zeigt sich in vielerlei Gestalt – er spricht aus Menschen, Institutionen, Apparaten, die bei jeder Gelegenheit sich und andere nach ihm ausrichten, ob sie ihn nun sehen können oder nicht. Wir werden in ihn hineingeboren, und sich daraus zu befreien, ist ein mühsamer und schmerzvoller Prozess.

Ob man seine dunkle Seite nun durch Tränengas oder Gummigeschosse kennenlernt, durch Sticheleien in der Schule wegen der eigenen Haare oder durch die Erfahrung physischer Gewalt, durch glasig-blaue Augen, die durch einen hindurchstarren, oder durch die Betroffenheit und Überraschung in Sätzen wie „Sie haben das gemacht?“ oder „Sie haben das geschrieben?“: Der heimliche Lehrplan vermittelt vielen Menschen das Gefühl, schlichtweg nicht zu existieren.

Wie bereits gesagt: Wenn wir von iQhiya – einem Kollektiv aus elf ehemaligen Studentinnen der University of Cape Town in Südafrika – unter uns sind, mögen wir uns einig sein, die Auswirkungen dieses Lehrplans am eigenen Leib verspürt zu haben. Doch wir sind uns auch bewusst – wenn wir (an-)gesehen oder angesprochen werden –, dass er uns alle zu ähnlichen Versionen eines bestimmten Menschentyps macht.

Vielleicht war es also die Verlogenheit dieses zynischen und nicht greifbaren Lehrplans, die uns zusammengebracht und ermutigt hat, jenseits seiner Grenzen (voneinander) zu lernen und miteinander zu arbeiten, zu diskutieren, zu streiten und aufzutreten. iQhiya versucht, schwarzen Künstlerinnen in Südafrika einen anderen Lehrplan zu bieten – einen, der sich den strukturellen Ungerechtigkeiten (Lektionen) jenes geheimen Lehrplans entgegenstellt, den wir alle, in unseren unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen mit Institutionen, aufgedeckt haben.

— Thuli Gamedze

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Monday

von iQhiya

iQhiyas performative Installation versucht einen alternativen Lehrplan anzubieten, mit dem sie sich den strukturellen Lektionen eines verborgenen Lehrplans widersetzt, dem wir in den verschiedenen Erfahrungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Portrait

von iQhiya

The Portrait ist eine Dauerperformance, die sich mit der Rolle auseinandersetzt, die man afrikanischen Frauen in der Gesellschaft auferlegt hat, und bezieht sich auf das Spannungsgefüge zwischen Leiden…

 Mehr
Kalender