Bouchra Khalili

Bouchra Khalili, Centre Familial de Ben Aknoun, Ben Aknoun Area, Algiers. Location of Katib Yacine’s house. Fig. 1: Théâtre de Verdure (2015), color photograph, 100 × 120 cm, © Bouchra Khalili/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Bouchra Khalili and Galerie Polaris, Paris

The filmic art of Bouchra Khalili, born in Casablanca in 1975, grasps the fundamental tools of cinema to prise open the frames of history and thereby offer an encounter with suspended truths of the globalized civic condition. Over the past decade, her work has pursued a connected pair of figures through the ruin and twilight of nation-states. These are: 1) the migrant whose stories, voices, and eloquent gestures animate Khalili’s montage; and 2) the militant Third World intellectual, whose wisdom and defiance sharpen the contours of her films as mappings of unseen insurgency.

These scenes are focused upon a single figure in the early works of this lineage. For example, the renowned The Mapping Journey Project (2008–11) presents eight video channels in which migrants trace on a map the archipelagos along their routes from the Maghreb, or from Bangladesh, to Europe. In Mother Tongue (2012), a chapter of The Speeches Series (2012–13), the words of anticolonial poets and critics are recited by migrants in Paris in languages without written form: Moroccan Arabic, Kabyle, Maninka, and Wolof.

More recent works such as Garden Conversation (2014) and Foreign Office (2015) venture into staged conversations between two protagonists but are again suffused with language and recalled scenarios of the 1950s to 1970s Third World era. As in all of Khalili’s works, the presence of nonprofessional performers heightens the living encounter with history, and through the use of montage offers what Khalili considers an “alternative historiography.”

The Tempest Society (2017) stands as the culmination of this syncretic process in which Khalili constantly maneuvers among the singular voice of the political subject and the shared chorus of the polis. Set in Athens, the work takes its historical cue from al-Assifa—translated as “the Tempest”—a theater group and social project formed by a North African migrant worker and two French students in 1970s Paris. Although featuring a group cast for the first time, the film continues to hone the director’s focus upon the transversal solidarity of what Pier Paolo Pasolini called the “civic poet.” That is, the profound and rebellious possibility of speaking through the singular subject to collective truths in order to transmit a mobilizing and defiant social voice.

—Vivian Ziherl

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Bouchra Khalili

Bouchra Khalili, Centre Familial de Ben Aknoun, Ben Aknoun Area, Algiers. Location of Katib Yacine’s house. Fig. 1: Théâtre de Verdure (2015), Farbfotografie, 100 × 120 cm, © Bouchra Khalili/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Bouchra Khalili und Galerie Polaris, Paris

Bouchra Khalili, geboren 1975 in Casablanca, nutzt in ihren Filmen elementare Techniken des Kinos, um historische Rahmensetzungen aufzubrechen und den Zuschauer mit verdrängten Wahrheiten unserer globalisierten staatsbürgerlichen Existenz zu konfrontieren. So hat sie im letzten Jahrzehnt zwei Figuren durch den Niedergang und Verfall von Nationalstaaten begleitet, die eng miteinander verknüpft sind: 1) den Migranten, dessen Geschichten, Stimmen und beredte Gesten Khalilis Montagen zum Leben erwecken, und 2) den kämpferischen Dritte-Welt-Intellektuellen, dessen Klugheit und Widerständigkeit die Bedeutung ihrer Filme als Kartografien unbeachteter Auflehnungsprozesse akzentuieren.

In Khalilis frühen Werken zu diesem Thema sind diese Szenen auf eine einzelne Figur konzentriert. So zeigt die bekannte Installation The Mapping Journey Project (2008–2011) acht Videokanäle, in denen Migrant_innen auf einer Karte ihre Reiseroute aus dem Maghreb oder von Bangladesch nach Europa nachzeichnen. In Mother Tongue (2012) aus der Serie „The Speeches“ (2012/13) rezitieren Pariser Migrant_innen die Texte antikolonialer Dichter und Kritiker in Sprachen, die keine eigene Schrift besitzen: Marokkanisch-Arabisch, Kabylisch, Maninka und Wolof.

Neuere Arbeiten wie Garden Conversation (2014) und Foreign Office (2015) zeigen bereits inszenierte Dialoge zwischen zwei Protagonist_innen, aber auch sie sind von Sprache durchdrungen und rufen Dritte-Welt-Szenarien aus den 1950er bis 70er Jahren wach. Wie in allen Werken der Künstlerin lässt der Einsatz nichtprofessioneller Darsteller_innen Geschichte lebendig werden und ermöglicht durch die Technik der Montage eine, wie Khalili es nennt, „alternative Historiografie“.

The Tempest Society (2017) kann als Höhepunkt dieses synkretistischen Prozesses gesehen werden, in dem Khalili fortwährend zwischen der singulären Stimme des politischen Subjekts und dem kollektiven Chor der Polis hin- und herwechselt. Der historische Anknüpfungspunkt des in Athen spielenden Werks ist al-Assifa (Der Sturm), ein Theaterensemble und Sozialprojekt, das im Paris der 1970er Jahre von einem Arbeitsmigranten aus Nordafrika und zwei französischen Studenten gegründet wurde. Auch wenn dieser Film als erster eine größere Besetzung aufweist, so verstärkt er doch den Fokus, den die Regisseurin auf die transversale Solidarität des „poeta civile“ oder politischen Dichters im Sinne Pier Paolo Pasolinis legt – die tief greifende, aufrührerische Möglichkeit, durch ein einzelnes Subjekt kollektive Wahrheiten anzusprechen und so einer mobilisierenden und widerständigen gesellschaftlichen Stimme Gehör zu verschaffen.

— Vivian Ziherl

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook