Gordon Hookey

Gordon Hookey, MURRILAND! (2016, detail), oil on canvas, 2 × 10 m, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Gordon Hookey and Milani Gallery, Brisbane; photo: Sam Cranstoun

Gordon Hookey, Solidarity, 2017, acrylic paint on concrete, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA), documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Gordon Hookey, MURRILAND!, 2017, oil on linen and mural
, Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost), Kassel, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Michael Nast

TERRAISTS. Gordon Hookey—who was born in Cloncurry, Australia in 1961, belongs to the Waanyi people, and lives in Brisbane—paints words on images. YOU CAN’T HAVE OUR SPIRITUALITY WITHOUT OUR POLITICAL REALITY. Together they enact the reality of Aboriginal peoples in a sociopolitical system that can be traced back to the oppressive and exploitative operations of colonization. He bends and shapes English words, changing their meaning, appropriating a language that is not his own yet the only language he speaks. SORRY! / FUCK SORRY! / SORRY CAN GO GIT’T FUCKED! / GIVE’S THE REALLY, LUBBLY, DEADLY, BIG, SOLID, GOLDEN SORRY / POOR FELLA U.

History comes to us in words—spoken, written, repeated. It can be a scar on our body or a glow of hope in our minds. Hookey paints history as it is being made—in color, form, and stories. His interest in history painting came to fruition through a commission by research platform Frontier Imaginaries, which introduced Hookey to Congolese painter Tshibumba Kanda Matulu (also featured in documenta 14). In the mid-1970s, Tshibumba created a series of 101 paintings that represented the history of his nation, deeply torn by the trauma of colonization and shaped by the forces of militarization and economic neo-imperialism. On encountering Matulu’s work, Hookey considered what a painted history of his homeland, Queensland, would comprise, which resulted in an extensive series of paintings.

The creation history of what is referred to today as Queensland is at the core of the project presented at documenta 14 that spans a series of monumental paintings in Kassel and a public mural in Athens. Hookey juxtaposes the oral traditions transferred across generations of Aboriginal communities with the colonial genesis of Australia—the “exploration” of land, settlement, and erasure of Indigenous cultures, and the implementation of a national narrative to make History with a capital H.

The complexity of Hookey’s project opens up in the reading of these images. The transformation of written, spoken, and lived words into an image that collects the conflicting narratives of national and cultural identity, ultimately collapses history into itself. The multifaceted image that Tshibumba created with his 101 depictions is now captured in the singular image of history. In the same move, the work transposes multinarrative space to linear space, turns fracture into coherence, subversion into validation, and orality into the static record of time. Hookey’s images resonate as strongly as his words, and speak volumes.

—Hendrik Folkerts

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Gordon Hookey

Gordon Hookey, „MURRILAND!“ (2016), Öl auf Leinwand, 2 × 10 m (Detail), © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Gordon Hookey und Milani Gallery, Brisbane, Foto: Sam Cranstoun

Gordon Hookey, Solidarity, 2017, Acryl auf Beton, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA), documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Gordon Hookey, MURRILAND!, 2017, Öl auf Leinen und Wandmalerei, Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost), Kassel, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Michael Nast

TERRAISTS. Gordon Hookey – 1961 in Cloncurry, Australien, als Angehöriger des Waanyi-Volkes geboren und heute in Brisbane lebend – malt Worte auf Bilder. YOU CAN’T HAVE OUR SPIRITUALITY WITHOUT OUR POLITICAL REALITY. Im Zusammenwirken inszenieren Worte und Bilder die Lebensrealität der Aborigines in einem gesellschaftlichen und politischen System, das sich direkt auf die Unterdrückung und Ausbeutung im Kolonialismus rückführen lässt. COLONIALHISM. Hookey verdreht englische Wörter. Er ändert ihre Bedeutung, eignet sich eine Sprache an, die nicht seine eigene und doch die einzige ist, die er spricht. SORRY! / FUCK SORRY! / SORRY CAN GO GIT’T FUCKED! / GIVE’S THE REALLY, LUBBLY, DEADLY, BIG, SOLID, GOLDEN SORRY / POOR FELLA U.

Die Geschichte ist uns in gesprochenen und geschriebenen Worten überliefert. Sie kann eine Wunde auf unserem Leib oder ein Schimmer der Hoffnung in unseren Seelen sein. Hookey malt Geschichte in dem Moment, in dem sie gemacht wird – mit Farbe, Form und Erzählung. Sein Interesse an der Historienmalerei reifte im Zuge einer Auftragsarbeit für die Forschungsplattform Frontier Imaginaries, die ihn in Kontakt mit dem kongolesischen Maler Tshibumba Kanda Matulu (auch er ist auf der documenta 14 vertreten) brachte. Mitte der 1970er Jahre stellte Matulu die Geschichte seines eigenen, tief vom Trauma der Kolonisation zerrissenen und von den Gewalten der Militarisierung und des Neoimperialismus gezeichneten Landes in einer Serie von 101 Gemälden dar. Matulus Arbeit brachte Hookey dazu, sich mit der Frage auseinanderzusetzen, was alles zu einer Bildergeschichte seiner Heimat Queensland gehören könnte. Das Ergebnis ist die fortlaufende Malerei-Serie „MURRILAND!“.

Im Mittelpunkt der Serie steht die Entstehungsgeschichte des heute als Queensland bekannten Teils von Australien. Das Projekt wird auf der documenta 14 gezeigt und umfasst eine Serie monumentaler Gemälde in Kassel sowie eine Wandmalerei im öffentlichen Raum in Athen. Hookey stellt die über viele Generationen mündlich weitergegebenen Traditionen der Aborigines neben die koloniale Schöpfung Australiens – die „Erforschung“ und Besiedlung des Landes, die Auslöschung indigener Kulturen und die Durchsetzung einer Nationalerzählung, in der Geschichte zur kolonialen Geschichtsphilosophie wird.

In der Deutung dieser Bilder erschließt sich die Komplexität von Hookeys Vorhaben. Seine Umwandlung geschriebener, gesprochener und gelebter Wörter in ein Bild, das die gegensätzlichen Erzählungen nationaler und kultureller Identität versammelt, lässt am Ende die Geschichte in sich zusammenfallen. Die Darstellung eines Landes, die Matulu geschaffen hat, ist nun in einem singulären Geschichtsbild eingefangen. Im Zuge dessen überführt die Arbeit auch den multinarrativen Raum in einen linearen Raum und macht aus Brüchen Geschlossenheit, aus Subversion Affirmation, aus Mündlichkeit statische Chronik. Hookeys Malerei klingt so kraftvoll und lang wie seine Wörter, und „MURRILAND!“ spricht Bände.

— Hendrik Folkerts

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge