Benjamin Patterson
(1934–2016)

Benjamin Patterson, What Is on My Mind? (1992), performance, Gallery Schüppenhauer, Cologne, photo: Wolfgang Träger

I.
unfold world map on floor. circle with pen, pencil, etc., city in which performance is being given. locate end pin of bass in circle.

It was action scores such as this from Variations for a Double Bass (1961)—playful, beyond-artiness and besides-commerce—that first drew my attention to Fluxus in general and to Benjamin Patterson (born in Pittsburgh, 1934–2016) in particular. Despite the fact that Patterson featured in several major shows in the Americas, Europe, and Asia, his work has been marginalized by a canon that affords greater space to less poignant practices.

Patterson’s work and personality were marked by his delicate sense of humor and subtle yet profound political deliberations. They are apparent in works such as Concrete Poem no. 6 (2005), made of concrete with the title written as an imprint in the negative, and in his numerous poems, scores, and writings. Methods and Processes (1962), for example, instructs the performer to “think of number 6; bark like a dog; think of number 6 twice; stand up (do not think of number 6); sit down; think of number 6; bark like a dog.” Art ad absurdum. In My Grand 70th Birthday Tour (2004) the artist invited his friends to celebrate with “Ben cocktails” at the summit of Mount Fuji.

His commentaries on the state of the world—Untitled (A Case for Bombing Pause) (1962), Pan Am (1990), Say Your Prayer (1990), to name just a few—were twinned with his own commitment to political action. Patterson took part in the 1963 March on Washington and believed that it was of paramount importance to participate in the Civil Rights Movement. Valerie Cassel Oliver has stated, in her essay “The Curious Case of Benjamin Patterson,” that he was deeply disappointed that this belief was not shared by his Fluxus colleagues in the U.S. For the first time he “felt the corporeal reality of his blackness among his liberal friends.”

Before he passed away, Patterson proposed for documenta 14 an installation and performance piece inspired by Aristophanes’s The Frogs (405 BCE) and an early work of his own, Pond (1962). This proposal, realized posthumously, involves filling the National Garden in Athens and Karlsaue Park in Kassel with a “symphony of croaking frogs.” Patterson’s “sonic graffiti,” composed of recorded frog croaks and a chorus of humans trained to imitate them, carries concealed political messages.

—Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

In Memoriam: Ben Patterson (1934–2016)

by Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

This script is not a eulogy. Actually you can't write a eulogy about someone you loved dearly, but didn't really know. This script is for, on, of, about, and with Ben Patterson and the vacuum he leaves…

 More
Notes

Benjamin Patterson
(1934–2016)

Benjamin Patterson, What is on My mind? (1992), Performance, Galerie Schüppenhauer, Köln, foto: Wolfgang Träger

I.
falte weltkarte auf boden aus. kreise mit füller, bleistift usw. stadt ein, in der die performance stattfindet. platziere stachel des kontrabasses im kreis.

Aktionspartituren wie diese aus Variations for a Double Bass (1961) – verspielt, jenseits allen Gekünstels und fern von kommerziellen Absichten – machten mich zunächst auf Fluxus im Allgemeinen und schließlich auf Benjamin Patterson (geboren in Pittsburgh 1934, gestorben in Wiesbaden 2016) im Besonderen aufmerksam. Obwohl Patterson auf mehreren wichtigen Ausstellungen in Nord- und Südamerika, Europa und Asien vertreten war, blieb seine Arbeit eine Randerscheinung in einem Kanon, der den weniger pointierten Formen künstlerischen Schaffens sehr viel Raum gibt.

Pattersons Werk und Persönlichkeit waren von feinsinnigem Humor und subtilen, aber dennoch tiefschürfenden politischen Gedanken geprägt. Beide Eigenschaften kommen in Arbeiten wie Concrete Poem no. 6 (2005), aus Beton gegossen mit dem in Umkehrschrift eingeprägten Titel darin, aber auch in seinen zahlreichen Gedichten, Partituren und Texten zur Geltung. Methods and Processes (1962) etwa enthält die folgenden Anweisungen: „an die zahl 6 denken; wie ein hund bellen; zweimal an die zahl 6 denken; aufstehen (nicht an die zahl 6 denken); hinsetzen; an die zahl 6 denken; wie ein hund bellen.“ Kunst ad absurdum. In My Grand 70th Birthday Tour (2004) lud der Künstler seine Freunde ein, das Ereignis mit „Ben cocktails“ auf dem Gipfel des Fudschijama zu begehen.

Seine Stellungnahmen zur Weltlage – Untitled (A Case for Bombing Pause) (1962), Pan Am (1990), Say Your Prayer (1990), um nur einige wenige zu nennen – gingen mit der persönlichen Bereitschaft zum politischen Engagement einher. Patterson beteiligte sich am Marsch auf Washington von 1963, und er war überzeugt, dass es nichts Wichtigeres gab als die Mitwirkung in der Bürgerrechtsbewegung. Er sei über die Maßen enttäuscht gewesen, dass seine Ansichten von Fluxus-Kolleg_innen in den Vereinigten Staaten nicht geteilt wurden, schreibt die Kuratorin Valerie Cassel Oliver in ihrem Essay „The Curious Case of Benjamin Patterson“. Zum ersten Mal „empfand er die körperliche Realität seines Schwarzseins inmitten seiner linksliberalen Freunde“.

Kurz vor seinem Tod entwarf Patterson eine Installation und Performance ausgehend von Aristophanes’ Die Frösche (405 v. Chr.) und der eigenen frühen Arbeit Pond aus dem Jahr 1962. Dieses nun posthum realisierte Konzept sieht vor, den Nationalgarten in Athen und die Karlsaue in Kassel mit einer „Symphonie der quakenden Frösche“ zu erfüllen. Pattersons „Klang-Graffiti“, das sich aus Aufnahmen von quakenden Fröschen und einem menschlichen Chor ausgebildeter Frosch-Imitator_innen zusammensetzt, ist angereichert mit einer Vielzahl verborgener politischer Botschaften.

— Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Zum Gedenken an Ben Patterson (1934–2016)

von Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Dieses Manuskript ist keine Trauerrede. Man kann gar keine Trauerrede über jemanden schreiben, den man sehr gemocht hat, aber kaum kannte. Dieses Manuskript ist für, handelt von, entstand mit Ben Patterson…

 Mehr
Notizen